Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Broke my bollix

• 06-02-2023 12:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,852 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

am I going mad or is this not an expression for laughing really hard at something?

the expression "I broke my bollix so hard at that joke"

google came back with nothing or urban dictionary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

It derives from side splitting or tits off.

I spell it bollocks, as opposed to bollix. I would pronounce them different. Bollix is pronounce Boll eeecks, bollocks is boll ox.

They can have different connotations. For example

" wud ya eva get ou of me face you stupid bollocks " you woulld emphasise the ox there, if you say bolleeeks it doesn't have the same eumph or clout to it? You could get laughed at in a degrading manner by someone.

If I thought or heard someone say something that was garbage or untrue, depending on how moronic the person waffling was, I could well retort " That's Bollocks " or " that is a total load of Bollocks, go on out of that " etc. It depends on what you are trying to infer.

I hope that might clear it up for you a little.

Oh yeah another one is when you get arrested or banged up and you haven't a hope of bail and you are getting bird for sure..that is plain and simple " caught by the bollocks " or " pants around me ankles and me arse in the air "

interestingly " caught by the bolleeecks " can be a reference to a friend who seems to have vanished for a while, whereas he is actually in the early stages, or later stages even, of a relationship that he has no option over because he is mad about her..... " caught by the bolleeeks ( she has him ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭triona1

Yes I broke me bollix laughing is more a Dublin thing to hear,I'm from Dublin and broke me bollix laughing at this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭ottolwinner

I’ve heard it said plenty mostly by people I know in Dublin.

more often heard I worked my bollocks off. For giving something all you had.

urban dictionary that and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Yeah, you'd never say "I broke me bollix" in relation to something funny. It would have to be "I broke me bollox" (or "bollocks" for Southsiders, but it's the same difference).

And you're right about "stupid bollox", bollix would not be appropriate there. You could call someone a "little bollix", though. "C'm 'ere, ya little bollix, I'll bleedin' batter ya!". However, I'd defintly say "Don't mind that little bollox! His ma's a brasser.", so it's not a universal rule.

"Ask me bollox!" would also be correct, as is "I will in me bollox!". "Bollix" is actually very rarely used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Only Dubs ( particular kind of Dub ) can “ broke me bollix “ but anyone can “loose their bollocks “ , Sean Quinn is a case in point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

“She’s got balls” f**k is that. Something to be admired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,687 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Loose or lose, M? Have only heard the latter mentioned, never the former.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭Tork

Loose bollocks sounds almost as painful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

Broke me bollix? means broke me bollocks...has nothing to do with laughing unless you said you broke your bollocks laughing, you could've broke your bollocks working or doing anything ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

I broke me bollix at the fact Google knows nothing about the term. Especially since their European HQ is situated in an area where people are used to breaking their bollixes all the time.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I will in me bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Madeoface

Never mind the Bollocks.

“Broke me bollocks” would always refer to someone cracking up at something. Usually in a situation where it may not have been appropriate to laugh.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Also can be used in terms of hard work. And it's bollix, as in "you little bollix".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭standardg60

Isn't bollix just the singular of bollox? So you'd say ya little bollix, but i broke my bollox laughing or i lost my bollox on that job.

Or am i just full of bollox? :-)

You know what they meant no need to be a grammar nazi

ive always found that funny too cos balls are tender and weak by comparison to the lady equivalent. 😂

@ Greg - Yes I fundamentality agree with your take on this. You are quite right about the different mannerisms and local dialect between different sides of the city. Being an erstwhile south sider I would definitely struggle with some local slang, once I get past Cadburys I actually haven't a clue where I am be honest? I basically have called the entire far Northside, once past say Cadbury's, as either Donaghmede, Coolock or Santry. I just play the southside card after that, which is a bit lazy in fairness, but unless I am going to Parnell Park or a date to the cinema in Omni, I would have no have reason to be over that far anyways. I do use the Grand in Malahide for carrying out my affairs, but I don't classify that as the city really, that is North County Dublin and always was. I do struggle with social climbing types or posh northsiders, I just don't get it at all? Why would you start climbing from the wrong side of the river? Talk about pissing into the wind?

I find northsiders great in fairness, very helpful and a charming aptitude to strangers which is admirable. Considering they can only ever meet me in the dark and that I am an almost 15 hundred year old Vampire Lord they have shown profound bravery in their communications. They were always sound. But some of those reserved climbing types on the coast road don't know what they are at, it looks cheap all said. They would get eaten up at a dinner party in Monkstown or Sandycove, I can hear the sneering giggles and dead pan from a mile away. No one does the posh chunt better than a genuine one from the South side, it is innate and watching clowns from Sutton, Howth, or wherever they fathom is in the same region, sat there struggling with a generic accent can be excruciating. Just wasting their time and its' at total load a bollocks when you think about it? They would get more respect if they started being themselves, no one really cares where you live, except the dicks who do care?

Just a small comment on your assertions Greg, forgive me for throwing this out there, but when dealing with adolescents as an inference I would tend to go for eeks or Bolleecks, which you are spelling Bollix, if you get me? I would associate it with the gender of my annoyance. Like I wouldn't call a teenage girl who upset things a bollocks or a bollix? More likely " stupa liiddle bitch, tramp, wagon, so and so. Which is interesting as when the female gender grows to adulthood I would be keeping the terminology, however no change in articulation? I may ramp up the nouns also, for example I would never refer to any female under say 17 years of age as a chunt or a tart, they have plenty of time to be hearing such descriptions, I wouldn't want to be spoiling it for them? Maybe that's bollix and you might call that a bit ageist or sexist, but it is just an observation that birds get a completely new vocabulary in terms of how their behavior is being perceived, whereas for blokes, they get the same vocab, but the pronunciation is changed. I think that is unique and really shows what a really great grasp of interpretation of the English language we have in Dublin. I notice when having the cupla focal with a Dub the convo can be a bit more understandable as when say talking with someone as Gaelige from say Galway, Kerry o r elsewhere. Kerry not so bad, Donegal minorly decipherable but they dovetail that with not talking to dubs anyways, but no, the worst is Mayo or Galway Irish, I haven't a phucking clue what they are on about, it is total bollocks altogether.

I always love when you post @Count Dracula cos it’s like reading a short story.

Nah it’s not but the Mrs tells me you are by no means in the type of pain reported by men who’ve been kicked in the bollox

I also know a fella who had a ball kicked so hard it went inside him

never knew a woman who had her lady parts kicked inside them!

Plus blue balls. Trying running the morning after being frustrated. Women have it easy.

You say that but once a month my entire insides aren’t the subject of biological torture

Agree but when you get the end of some of them you do feel like you've wasted a bit of your life

Blue balls happened a lot more than once a month for me!

Sorry, R, but that wasn’t the case. The mention of Sean Quinn confused the issue as I wasn’t sure if they said “loose your bollocks” in Quinn Country.

If I’d known what the user meant I wouldn’t have asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭NeutralHandle

Thread disappoints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Ozvaldo

A few Dubs trying to claim broke me bollix will ye ever fcuk off its said all over the country.

Never mind the bollix

Well it will with posts like that.

However, your username is perfect advice for Gameoverdude for his blueballs issue

Sorry Mad Maxer, apols for a bit if grammar Nazism, but first up, you loosen your belt or lose your mind? Just sayin.

I would disagree with your example on going broke however. More likely to lose your bollix at the races or the casino. Overspending has various terminology, but if I spend too much time in Monto on a mad one I would " have gotten bleedin fleeced off the shower of chunts" kind of thing.

Quinn was neither riipped off ( fleeced ) or did he lose " his bolleeks" ( note the minor reference here when referring to him as a child, it is implied that he was careless or childish with his banking investments, so whilst he is a fully grown man, whose personal wealth has been severely compromised, he is still standing however.

This is quite subjective, but I would tend to offer more than one superlative. I think when referring to Quinn's massive losses, you might say " jaysus , he made awful bollocks a that, didn't he " followed by " blew a fortune so he did" or something to that effect. The dog on the street knows he isn't skint altogether. If you are skint broke you are bollixed basically. Hate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭NeutralHandle

Title suggested grievous yet amusing injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Nothing to add other than I learned a thing of two in this thread.

• The female equivalent of balls are the ovaries, and went they get a ordinarily harmless ruptured cyst the pain is so excruciating it leads to nausea & vomiting, I’m guessing exactly the same level of sensitivity in male & female gonads. Difference with guys is the fully exposed and much more vulnerable, but on the other hand they are a source of pleasure when properly handled during intimacy. Female gonads are so deeply hidden they are out of reach of the pleasure zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,309 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Count Dracula. You were made by a Northsider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,309 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I can't believe this was yet to be posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Its a dublin expression, google is not the best source for dublin slang,

https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Ask%20Me%20Bollix i think google employs mainly middle class workers probably from many countrys , working class dubliners have there own slang, eg i,m bollixed ,eg i,m tired .

they are based in dublin for tax reasons and also ireland is seen as a good place for tech companys to have an office in, versus say germany or france .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Use Google Advanced Search, Exact Word or Phrase. These two results are from Boards in 2010 and 2015 and there are others.

"I'm forced to agree....broke my bollocks laughing at that sketch but the knigth rider thing was approaching lameness, the green mile skit, slightly less so."

"Nearly broke my bollocks laughing when she started doing the sucking and the noises started! With a blindfold on, I'd be terrified she was a nutter and let a bleeding panther in at it."

Thanks Layne Pitiful Oasis, it is really kind of you to share that.

I am struggling with the pronunciation of your name. I am saying Ry coo. How is that working out?