Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie Ahern rejoins Fianna Fail

• 08-02-2023 8:35pm
    Administrators Posts: 413 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭System

This discussion was created from comments split from: Bertie ahern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,381 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Mod - I've split this out of the 2 year old thread on Bertie, it deserves its own fresh thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭StreetLight

Step 2: Presidential candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭BarryNumber1

**** should be strung up by his nut sack. Go ahead, ban me.

I really, really hope this happens, just so he is utterly humiliated.

FG must be pissing themselves, all the bad news around Hep C compensation, nursing homes, and then FF go an pull this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

May as well. Everybody hates them even more now than the last time they destroyed the f**king country, so bang on. Get Pádraig back too, we're still paying for all their gold plated pensions regardless. Just another reason for the ordinary citizen to dissociate yourself from the absolute sham of modern day politics.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

He must think we all have very short memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

He'd want to be careful or he'll upset the apple tart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

FF really don't want to win the next election do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

This is Ireland...he'll win a seat, not a bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,860 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

The boom is going to get boomier.

🤪

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

The party leader who proposed expelling him in the first place is now delighted to be welcoming him back.

The whole system is nuts.I mean he didn't just lose a row and walk off, he wrecked an entire economy with his politics.How he can be allowed back is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I wonder how he paid his fees, FF don’t appear to take cash…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

As a former FF supporter this move will just steadfast my decision never to vote for the party again. The party at that time did untold damage to the country. Maybe we are as passive as people say we are if this lad ends up in the Aras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭howiya

The only person Bertie has ever been bothered about is himself

If FG had any integrity, which they don't, due to the fact they are a political party, they would pull out of government right now. They spent the first tenure of their current ruling regime decrying every single aspect of Ahern's rule, blaming all the hardship, all the trauma, all of the disaster on his policies.

If they just conveniently forget/ignore all of that right now, they are just as complicit, because it shows them up for what they are, two faced hypocritical shysters. And that's what they all are. All of them. A regime of entitled scum laughing at you and me, the ones who pay their way.

I'm actually delighted at this. It finally proves the political establishment literally do not give a single solitary f**k about the ordinary citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Pistolpete1

Bertie will run in the next presidential election and Dublin alone will elect him.

He need 500K-800K votes and i guarantee he will get it too.

Watch this space..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Delighted. More votes lost for the power swap.

As he admitted he lied to the Mahon tribunal yet??

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• A joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Tomaldo

Phoenix magazine said a few months ago FF want him back for the 25th anniversary of the GFA, which is this year. They don't want Sinn Fein to get all the glory for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

It’s happening!!!

Yeah so lets bring him back for the 15th year anniversary where he bankrupted the entire country and the countless generations basically sanctioned to pay it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

😂 it’s the first thing they came into my head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

At least now he would have an excuse for not having a bank account ,he could say Ulster Bank closed his account .

He's a grand lad. I remember him standing in the rain waving to me as I drove past him on the night of an election.

He couldn't get the tree in front of my house cut down though. Maybe he's not such a grand lad after all and the tree is still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The MINISTER FOR FINANCE had no bank account

think about that

you deserve everything you get you goldfish brained shower of fcuks

He will crash and burn. The Dubs aren't that stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I hahaha have today rejoined dadadada Fianna Fail papapapapa party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Was he paid in cash directly as a TD, minister and Taoiseach?

He has the option of bitcoin now - he's finally got a good reason for not needing a bank account (well not one anyone needs to know about...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

Is he going to get a bank account too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Here come the good times baby. next we will here Lillies bordello is open til 5 am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

I never condemn wrongdoing in any area.

Bertie Ahern, 22 February, 2006, in the Dáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Whats the problem, Sh'rr he only won it on the horses, bring back the good old days of the FF tent at the Galway races - a run for President , he must be on the champagne again

"Sitting on the sidelines, cribbing and moaning is a lost opportunity. I don't know how people who engage in that don't commit suicide"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Funny thing is,Bertie isn’t even in the top three of worst Taoiseach we’ve had since 2008

Ahhhh who could forget Brian Cowen...such a great leader...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Cowen is the third worst in the past fifteen years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭MudSpud

Needs to pay his tab in Fagan's. Cat & Cage and The Goose have long cut him off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I think FF are banking on some kind of 90s nostalgia vote where those who enjoyed the fruits of the Celtic Tiger and an end to the Troubles are now in that category of elderly voter who nevwr miss an election.

His presidential campaign can only be about harking back to former glories and ignoring difficult questions (remember the Mahon tribunal or that time he stormed out of an interview with a German journalist who asked him about his role in the recession?). It will be gaslighting of the highest order.

Its disappointing (at the same time, reassuring) that FF folded and let him back in. Disappointing that they haven't learned anything, reassuring because it shows that they are still the same at the heart of it.

I hope he gets slaughtered innthe presidential elections but I fear he will get a decent amount of votes, especially if he's up against the likes of Sean Gallagher and Peter Casey; I reckon it'll be a case of the devil you know for a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

Bertie Ahern is the reason I stopped voting for Fianna Fail. Expelling him did not change that. Consequently, his re-admission does not concern me. It is a matter for Fianna Fail voters only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

It's absolutely hilarious that FF allowed this. The utter f*cking contempt they have for everyone is supposed to be hidden, yet letting Bertie back in with a likely run for President is basically peacocking that contempt.

I hope that interview of Bertie being questioned by the German interviewer from Conflict Zone is just played on a loop for the entire next Presidential election. Never get tired of watching it.

The timing is odd to me. The FFG government is wall-to-wall corruption and cronyism stories since the start of the year and they announce Bertie is back. Weird. What do all these advisors do??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭howiya

Saw this last night for the first time. I wonder does he think he'll be able to avoid these questions if he runs for election.

He'd be completely caught out in the debates sure. It won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Is it a concern for FF, or any party, other than shouting about it? Its not as if the others are full of saints, or the Dail, loads of dodgy politicians elected election after election.

Just today's news really, probably won't be long till someone else takes the dodgy headlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I think that's the point. Throw it in now when FG are in charge and there's already a bunch of FFG corruption/cronyism stories, and hope the dust settles on Bertie by the time the Presidential election and next General Election starts to take shape. Throw Bertie in front of any positive stories (opening of new buildings, commemorative events etc) in the next year or two for the photo ops then talk about how great he is now and hope enough people forget about the whole "absolutely corrupt to his f*cking core" thing.