Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is housing really that bad or is it just another hyped up 'crisis'?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭combat14

housing / house prices are shocking here for example article in indo today raising issue of dublin house buyer paying the typical dublin house price of 500,000 by using the inheritance from parents (335,000 provided in advance of parents demise if they were that "lucky") and then buyers still struggling even with loan to income now raised to 4 times earnings to pay the remaining balance of 165,000 euros

there is something seriously wrong with the country

• Registered Users Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Glaceon

I personally know someone who lives in Ballinasloe and commutes to Dublin three days a week.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,826 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The housing crisis is a major part of the staffing crisis.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Don't be fooled into thinking supply is part of the issue here. If the developers had a million houses lying empty they'd leave it that way if selling them didn't line their pockets enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭TagoMago

You'd expect London to be more expensive because it is a major global city, a massive financial centre, one of the most influential cultural hubs in the English speaking world, a playground for the rich and famous, by far the largest economy of any city in Europe.

Galway is lovely but would hardly be considered a city outside of Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Rocko

The Government have welcomed well over 100,000 migrants to Ireland in 2022 and will welcome more of the same in 2023.

The Government have failed miserably in increasing really important things like housing, building hospitals / schools and holding onto doctors / nurses etc.

There will be serious trouble down the line when all these migrants want a house.

The migrants will be housed first before any returning Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭notAMember

Is that really what you understood from what I wrote?

No market functions unless it is beneficial for both the buyer and the seller. If the service provider can't make ends meet, they take their skills and leave. That's just reality. And that's what happened. The approach of keep the beatings going until morale improves didn't work. But sure keep it up. See how it goes.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭notAMember

More vilification, that will make them come back alright. Try how car rental companies contribute cars. Or hotel's contribute rooms. Or tool hire companies provide tools.

Who pays for the free accommodation in your socialist paradise ancapailldorcha? The tooth fairy is out of cash at the moment.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,617 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

You already know the answers to those questions. Rental companies actually buy cars while hoteliers build hotels. Landlords are just parasites who buy a house on credit and then expect someone else to pay back the loan. The privileged whining does not change this.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users Posts: 19,431 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Throws shade about "socialist paradise".

Doesn't have the cop on to realise everyone can see that all they want is to sit on their hole and have others work to pay for everything for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Landlords are in business .. like every other business , if circumstances change they'll change their business model - but at the moment they're making a killing , and are lobbying for "no change"

Anyone who has a house wants their home values to stay high especially if they've a high mortgage..

A lot are objecting to any change in the local environment ( new estates ,higher buildings ) , which makes planning and development expensive.

A lot object to social housing being built near them - it may devalue their house - and with the way our local authorities work ,a couple of "concerned" councilors can stymy any development ,

Add to that land hoarding /lack of land taxes for land banks undeveloped buildings ,

Developers struggling to get finance

Lack of building staff

Add to that our population has gone up by 10% in less than a decade ..

And an inbuilt hatred for apartments/ modular builds , emergency builds ..

We're all to blame - but the last couple of governments have achieved very little ..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

Ah come on for a normally sensible poster calling landlords "parasites" is flat out hate speech. It's very out of character for you. It makes Farage look like a sensible person when talking about Brexit.

All that attitude has done is drive the rental market into a death spiral. Your post is a perfect example of why we have a serious rental crisis. Large numbers of landlords have left the rental market due to attitudes like this and resulting mess of laws introduced by the government responding to attitudes like this. Which has meant more landlords have left which has resulted in more hate which has meant more landlords have left. Its been fantastic for first time buyers as increased the supply of property on the market. But for anyone who cannot afford to buy and has to rent its been a disaster. Less places to rent and worse landlords(ie the ones who don't pay tax and ignore the various regulations, people who can tolerate the hate)Posts like yours are one of the reasons the rental market is as bad as it is.

Also you are wrong about all landlords buying houses on credit. The property funds that are an increasing share of the rental market generally provide their own capital.

But then again who needs "parasites" investing in the Irish property market? Its not as if we need houses built or experienced a major recession because the Irish banking system and government finances were reliant on the sentiment of the property market.

I'm being sarcastic as the alternative to property funds is to use government borrowing and leveraging Irish banks to completely fund the building of necessary houses. That strategy already blew up in the country's face 15 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭Francis McM

Well, as someone else said "Those 26 pieces of stupid legislation hammering landlords, putting in rent freezes, slaughtering people on tax, made it incredibly difficult, expensive, and risky to be a housing provider or developer. So we said feck ye, and left the market and took our business elsewhere."

Was talking to a builder recently. He said the government has introduced too many silly regulations, is criucifying builders on tax, fu@@ed builders and the industry when the crash came, and not trained hardly any new people. All the builders that are left now in the industry now are like him, oldish fellows. Young people just want risk free soft government jobs with big pensions, and well paying computer jobs he said.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,774 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I'm calling shennanigans there. On that kind of wage and having to sleep rough. Nah. I suspect there's other stuff going on there, i.e. the person has issues. If I was thrown out of my house today, I can guarantee a family member or friend wouldn't see me on the streets tonight. And with a decent wage, I wouldn't even need friends or family. Fair enough, I mightn't be able to get somewhere to rent in my town straight away, but it wouldn't take me any more than a few weeks to a month to get sorted.

69 properties looking for someone to share in Co. Limerick on Daft right now. Many more are advertised by word of mouth. I suspect the person in the article isn't very good at looking after themselves.

You know, not every landlord is screwing their tenants with sky high rents, so your above statement is incorrect. Plenty of landlords contribute housing at a decent price to their tenants........they are not all like scalpers.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,534 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I used to be an accidental landlord, but I don't envy them. Everyone thinks they are all raking it in, when many are struggling.

Add to this the fact that many aren't allowed to increase rent while their mortgages are shooting up, plus if their tenant decides to stop paying, they can't evict them. Yeah, being a landlord is fantastic.

Isn't that the whole aim of business though, whether or not you are a shopkeeper or a developer? The whole reason for any of us to work or go into business is to make money, or to use your words, line our pockets enough.

Without developers you'd have fcukall houses. And I mean fcukall.

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭Dslatt

There are homeless people all over this country on good wages. I know several. Anyway someone not having any friends or family, of which there are plenty of people does not mean that the current housing situation isn't an absolute farce landed on us by decades of that shower in the Dail.

Agreed, the housing situation was landed on us by decades of that shower in the Dail. They neglected to build social housing for donkeys years.

I have to ask the question, if those homeless people you know are on such good wages, where are they living now? I'm sure they aren't on the streets, are they?

You don't see people criticising shopkeepers for putting up their prices when their suppliers put their prices up? Is it not a similar situation. Costs for making bread go up, cost of bread goes up. Cost of paying for house goes up, rent goes up? Are they not similar?

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

What is the distinction between a hotelier and a landlord?

Both buy buildings on credit. Both rent out rooms. Both use the profits from that venture to pay back the loan.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭megaten

Its pretty dire.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭Gusser09

We have **** all houses. Greed. governance and developers have led us to this point. It's a dysfunctional sector and it's heavily weighted in the developers interest.

I've always asked a certain question when I hear developers crying about the lack of profits.

How much profit do they want to make out of a 3 bed semi?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,617 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Nobody needs a hotel though. That's the difference.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

Belfast: SF claim theres a housing crisis and campaigned to start building a new super estate which is going to be called Glenmona at the foot of blacks mountain west Belfast. It's supposed to be an 85 acre urban village when completed, the reality it'll be another high density slum and wrecked no sooner built. Plenty of houses available in nationalist areas but they've high levels of crime and anti-social behaviour. Smart, building another slum instead of cleaning up the problem areas.

The ground works on the new estate have started, hopefully I'll be out of this town before it's completed but interesting to see if SF stay true to their remit, mixed social and affordable housing. Now SF did leave the remit open by stating it's primarily for people in a housing emergency. Meaning? It's a bit open ended has no clear definition. The current build nearing completion built as more or less units for people with disability mobility problems and off certain ages down the road from where I live I await with unbated breath to see who gets 1st dibs, I doubt I'll be surprised.

Landlords don't contribute anything. That's my point. They don't build anything and they don't work for their rents. They just buy scarce assets and make a killing for doing next to nothing. If that's not parasitism, tell me what is.

Hate speech? Seriously? Landlords aren't a persecuted ethnic group, they're a class which makes a killing for no effort and now whines incessantly during a cost of living crisis about things not being sufficiently skewed in their favour.

I stopped at "hate speech". State of this.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,952 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I dont think there's a crisis.

There is, as there has been for many years, a lack of free home next to mummy crisis. You know, a home in the GDA which many working folks, myself included in a household with 125-150k combined income, cannot likely afford.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

No one needs to rent a house. Just live with your parents.

I can do lazy generalisations too.