Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 40,006 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The "leaders" names are printed beside the party in my post.

They are also the 2 "parties" organising the bulk of the protests.

So, who did you think the OP was referring to?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,518 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

We also need unskilled workers - hospitality, retail, the health service, the care home sector, construction, transport, agriculture etc are hugely dependent on people who don't have degrees.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

All the do gooders at that march while immigrants out working on a Saturday for terrible pay.

The thing is, nearly 6B worth of taxpayer funds is being spent on these NGOs. Isn't that the ultimate grift? 6 Billion Euro! We can surely abolish 90% of these and put the money into housing, healthcare etc instead? I'm sure even you'd agree the money would be much better spent there.

Btw, when you say "bootlickers", is that some sort of term for "pro-establishment"? Because in recent years, objectively speaking, it's the right who have been anti-establishment. Covid restrictions and mass immigration, for example, were protested by the right and supported by the left. So, wouldn't that make the left the "bootlickers"? Unless the term means something else I'm unaware of.

Yes, NGO employees are required to turn up as part of their job. These people are being payed from our taxes; 6B a year across the whole industry. It's very simple; I think you're just pretending to not understand.

I just looked up a video, and sure enough, it's a load of NGO members in Parnell Square holding up the flags of their particular groups. This event looks like a St. Patrick's Day Parade for NGOs more than anything. They're marching for their salaries as well as "anti-racism".

Again, these groups are a massive waste of taxpayer funds that would be FAR better spent elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭pauly58

Rather than time for a zero refugee policy, I would suggest we weren't in any position to take any Ukrainians at the start, let alone those from other countries, but it wouldn't look too good if Varadkar had to go the the bosses in Europe & say we've made such a bollox of our housing over the last thirty odd years, I'm afraid we don't have any spare, in fact we have over ten thousand homeless of our own.

Then they might ask well how about your health system ? Sorry, we've made a pigs ear of that as well, no room for any more.

Personally, I have every sympathy with people in Zimbabwe, having had two good friends, one in 1980 in the UK & another here more recently, I know how democracy works African style, but Ireland is too small to even try to make a dent in Zimbabwe's problems, they have a population of nearly 16m, so I would ask the well meaning I'm sure, but naïve posters here, how many should we take ?

The thing is, nearly 6B worth of taxpayer funds is being spent on these NGOs. Isn't that the ultimate grift? 6 Billion Euro! We can surely abolish 90% of these and put the money into housing, healthcare etc instead?

Where do you think that 6 billion goes? You have no idea have you? 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Are the prorests themselves not a straw man argument from both points of view, if the discussion is centred around Irelands immigration policy.

Both the Pro and Anti immigration protests are low in number.

So they are largely irrelevant in terms of reflecting public sentiment.

The recent Indo? Poll said 56% were against the current govt policy and 14% were unsure. Leaving only 30% in favour of the current policy.

The Poll perhaps reflects more of a Macro view of how the population feels vs both sets of protests that are micro views.

If the Poll doesnt represent wider opinion, what would be a better measure? I dont know the answer.

I'm aware it's distributed across different subsets, including to provide public services. However, a lot of it also goes towards lobbying and campaigning. Even if only 20% of the overall budget was dedicated to lobbying and campaigning, that's still over 1B euro down the drain.

There's a clip of an African lady at the United Nations laughing about how many NGOs there are in Ireland. The quote is as follows:

(addressing the Irish representatives) "In your country, is each person a member of an NGO?" (cue laughter from the room) "Given the large number of representatives who came here just on the subject of racial discrimination, it seems to me that there must be a lot of NGOs. I'm convinced that must be the case".

She's not wrong 🤣

It's going exactly where you said it should go.

But for some reason you want to abolish 90% of it. Now it is 20%?

You seem to really have thought it through anyway. 👍️

I wouldn't be looking for answers in polls.

In October the figure was 61%, but 72% said we should do all we can to stand by Ukraine.

The pollsters get paid per question, so getting a detailed view is expensive and rarely done.

The papers do it for headlines.

I used 20% as a conservative figure re: lobbying and campaigning to make a point. It's probably higher, judging by the amount of garbage we're being lobbied with in recent years.

As for the rest, I'm sure an awful lot is also being wasted and mismanaged. Everybody knows this country specialises in wasting money; just look at the HSE if you want a prime example of wasting and mismanaging funds. It's a shambles. So yes, we can probably manage to get rid of 90% and not be much worse off than we currently are 😄

Seriously, the entire funding allocation needs to be analysed, dismantled, and then rebuilt by a team of competent people free of the corruption plaguing this island. We can get SO MUCH more bang for our buck than we currently do. How's the Children's Hospital coming along, lol.

Epic random made up numbers. 😂

You can blame right of centre governance and their policies of farming out responsibility, you know which direction to vote next time. 👍️

Publicity of this march today could lead to an increase in refugees coming here given that #refugeeswelcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Yeah, dont disagree.

The hard part is cutting through the extremists, whom shout the loudest at either end of the spectrum, and really understanding public sentiment.

There doesnt seem to be a way to accuratley measure it and if it is changing etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

Looks like a massive turn out for the 'Ireland for All' anti racism march in town today.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,518 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The thing about polls is that you can be for or against something without being particularly energised by it. I think way too much was read into the 56% saying recently that Ireland had taken in "too many refugees" in the last year. They might answer that in an opinion poll without ever even having reason to discuss the subject with family or friends i.e. not a priority or burning issue for them. You might as well be asking them about wind farms or the Irish Protocol.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭Economics101

I see that Bernadette McAlliskey was leading the Ireland for All march to-day. Also Christy Moore performing Viva la Quinta Brigada, This looks like a very far-left led demo to me.

Frankly the espousal of immigrants' right by the far left put me off immigrants' rights just a little.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Massive crack down the social lines in this country now

all those flags and organisations that used to represent you now don’t

• Registered Users Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Juran

100% agree. There are 3 Irish lads at this very minute living in our housing estate, with their parents, each in their early 20's, sitting on their h*les with zero qualifications or skills, hanging around the local park smoking dope most days, recieving €230 each week from the social welfare department. Plenty more of these boys & girls in this country to meet a lot if the unskilled workers needs in industry & hospitality.

Is that immigrants rights everywhere, Irish abroad, etc? What a horrid little world that would be.

Personally I preferred Christy when he was having the craic, but he wouldn't convince me to think immigrants anywhere should have less rights.

That would be bonkers.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Fair play to them. At least they are marching/protesting in an organised and dignified way. Unlike the stupid cowards that form mobs outside accommodation centres and shout idiotic slogans all night.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,508 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

in fairness it was a very left wing March.

All the unions and NGOs there and to top it off, the bould christy moore god bless us singing some left wing anthem

• Registered Users Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Clearly, you’ve never heard of automation and AI. Quelle surprise.

The technological revolution is only just getting started. It will eliminate everything from high IQ white collar jobs, creative jobs, that’s before we even start on blue collar labor.

If you have any intellectual curiosity at all, I suggest you play with Open AI’s ChatGPT, recently acquired by Microsoft. I can assure you that your confidence in your ever egregious statements, will be significantly undermined.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I do find it odd that groups like forsa and the national women's council have gone all in on this - particularly the latter as most AS are coming from countries with cultures not too keen on women's rights.

In any case we may be starting to see a split cement itself in society but isn't clear yet how firm the pro migration control side in their opinions. When looking at support for each side one has to consider that it is much much politically safer to be open about your support for migration than to be against it. This is perhaps playing out in the relative visible sizes of each group and looks like it isn't reflective of polling on the matter

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It will be the equivalent of what container ships did to the communities just down the road from that protest today

they just don’t know it yet

• Registered Users Posts: 82,412 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Huge crowd there today at the march. Probably 5 or 6 thousand people showed up on a Winter day.