Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Exactly, making him look better than he is. Stick Gomez right full and tell him to focus on shutting him down. It's what good teams do.

The lad has all the room in the world to do damage, you cannot name TAA at right full in this kind of game, it's 3 at the back when they turn us over and counter quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,497 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Yea, but in these games I'd deal with it myself rather than rely on another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Not sure I can do another 45 minutes of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

In hindsight, yes, but it's not what is expected of a possession-based team. It would be like blaming TAA for passing back to Adrian for his f*ck-up in the Atletico game a few years ago. It's a standard, expected, pass. Allison blew it... far too casual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

In fairness most teams have the same game plan against us :(

Strangely calm watching it, wasn't expecting much.

You have to put it on Madrid early, like a good boxer they adapt and get the measure of you as the game goes on.

It's a shame we don't seem to have the nous to adapt and try to be more defensively aware when in the lead.

We have the personnel to play the counter attacking game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Good half in fairness, Fabinho has so much room in the middle if Thiago had that much space he'd destroy them.

Need that intensity to return, we did it well for the first 20 minutes but then dropped off, every time we drop intensity we loose concentration and give away sloppy chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

It's effectively 0-0 again with no away goals. so just need to win any sort of way now and take the lead to Madrid.

I'd even just try hang in there til 75 ish and then use Bobby Jota & Keita etc from the bench for a fresh burst of energy and go for it then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,954 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Tbf I think that's Madrid's plan to an extent, if it was Thiago instead of Fabinho I doubt they'd allow him that space

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

unfortunately it does look like going for away goals is out of the question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

We would have worked on not getting caught in midfield and giving them the chance at quick counters ,it's there biggest weapon that's why people on here a rightly annoyed with Bajectic,

He put us in the vulnerable position if it was Hendo or Fab theyd be slaughtered for it

But Becker most do better and ultimately he should have dealt with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,510 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Him and Cody need to be way more physical.

Zero pressure once the man is between them and the ball.

Devestating to have thrown that lead away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,052 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Bloody hell, had a work call for that entire half, with the match on in a window - very very hard not to freak out (for better and worse) many many times over the course of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,801 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Madrid have definitely grown into this game. They seemed to have nullified Nunez and Salah in the last 15/20.... We need to match the same tempo as the first 20 minutes as anything else and Madrid will take full advantage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,504 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

I’d absolutely be getting Naby Lad on for young Stef to start the second half. He could really do a bit of damage whereas the young lad just looks a tiny bit out of his depth, not awful but I think this game has come just a bit too soon for him.

he put us in trouble but we had the ball twice to do something with it....the danger was avoided until it wasnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,730 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Fcuk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭patsy sally

So soft

• Administrators Posts: 54,123 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Oh dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

So easy. Nobody moved except Militao.

And we’ve sh*t the bed. Had a bad feeling with Modric standing over the ball in that spot, you’d always fancy him to pick someone out.

Ah here fcuk off, centre half free header in the 5 yard box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,954 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

That one's unforgivable, from the initial foul onward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Laughable defending

That's a joke

Wouldn't see that in the park

F*cking dreadful, defence is shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭patsy sally

Now the diving and cheating starts

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭strawdog

Embarrassing to allow a free header like that at this level

Now Vinicius starts his ****

fck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,615 ✭✭✭Damien360

Basic defending error. We really are poor. Mind you, so are RM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Everyone ball watching.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

That's embarrassing lads. Absolutely embarrassing to allow a free header there. What other team does that? Wtf is wrong with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Why do Madrid seem to score with every. single. chance they have in games vs us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Joe Gomez whilst not totally at fault for every goal but by God he could've dealt with the 3 of them a hell of a lot better.

just have to make sure if they are getting a card to make sure to land a blow on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

F*cking Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,510 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Embarrassing to be honest.

The team would never have thrown this away so nonchalantly in previous years.

TBF it was easy for him. Just look for the one person moving. So simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,801 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

This game is done with Real just sitting back now!

I expect Modric to pull the strings this half now when the intensity drops.

These f*ckers just have our number. Now watch them defend like we should have and counter us at will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Whoever invented zonal marking knew S.F.A about defence

Need to soak it up, but we're not out of it

Thank goodness away goals weren't a thing any more or we'd be totally done.

Think it was too high, not sure it was a push, but let's see a replay

Not sure Nunez was getting it, but certainly eased out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,297 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Real allowed to foul as much as they want

That wasn't a zonal marking problem, that was a rubbish defending problem.

The positive is that Gakpo looks better and better with each minute he plays for us. Looks like he’s going to be a very good signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,694 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Where was VAR on that shove?

Clear push, and no check, wtf, this is what VAR is for, and this is why VAR is so annoying