Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick of this country

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Whatever about anything else, Boston roads were designed by someone having a nervous breakdown who wanted to watch the world burn.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭Psychedelic Hedgehog

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Murph85

Regarding Boston. I've been there. Everyone complains about tax. There, they can earn nearly ten times what you do here, before paying the top rate. You don't have poverty cases losing over half their salary over a pittance... even then their top rate was 43.5 %....

"Traffic, the quality of the roads, tolls, the cost of commuting by train or bus, tax, how tax was spent, who deserved what supports, who didn't deserve what supports, the performance of government, the cost of housing etc

I feel that if the OP moves to Australia, after a number of years they will find themselves complaining about the very same things they complain about in Ireland.".

You are the one totally out of touch. You think Australia, the UK, Germany, US. Have these welfare wonderland we do here? Welfare bonuses, free luxury housing, endless allowances. Just opting not to work for decades? They don't, it would never be tolerated. Total delusion from many on this thread...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,838 ✭✭✭✭elperello

No council in the country is going to evict tenants from social housing and force them to move in with strangers.

If people want to share that should be facilitated.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,248 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

It’s a poor country. Look at the decades it takes to build and implement capital projects… Metro, Children’s hospital, roads and other transport infrastructure…

eventually when they are built, they will have to serve a population way over the predicted population that they were ever designed and planned for.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Private renters are not very important to anybody.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

You are the one totally out of touch. You think Australia, the UK, Germany, US. Have these welfare wonderland we do here? Welfare bonuses, free luxury housing, endless allowances. Just opting not to work for decades? They don't, it would never be tolerated. Total delusion from many on this thread...

But I'm not talking about specific policies.

I'm talking about now people perceive those policies, and what people complain about.

You go to Australia and you will find plenty of the population complaining about how much the government spend on indigenous people and indigenous communities and how all they do is sit around drinking all day and never working a day in their lives.

Sound familiar?

And plenty here who think the grass is always greener would not be long joining them in their complaining.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭quokula

This is a cross border collaboration where the state is covering the cost, so I don't see the what the issue is exactly. The people are getting the care they need, and it's a mutually beneficial scheme which sees Northern Irish people in their thousands availing of healthcare in the republic too. Cataracts is the number one reason for people travelling north, while hip and knee replacements are the primary reasons for people travelling south. The island isn't that big so no need to duplicate particularly specialised services when you can collaborate in this way.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

It's far from third world.

But it's also been going backwards over the last ten years or so from the eyes of this long term emigrant returnee.

Most services I have experienced or encountered since coming back have gotten worse, health, policing and schooling in particular. Significantly worse, in your face worse. I saw both my parents and my SO struggling very badly to get timely medical treatment. That's hard to see. And it was never that bad before. At least you could see a GP when you wanted. Finding school places is a nightmare. Thinking of paying the money and going private just because it's so difficult. Don't need childcare but I heard it's brutal aswell.

Public transport, trains the same, buses much better, luas ok. But otherwise decades behind in terms of things like metros , fast intercity trains etc.

A lot of the capital looks grotty, the train stations, the main thoroughfares and much of the suburbs. Should be much better given the amount of money being spun out of the place. It's an absolute disgrace how our capital city is treated by the national government.

What has improved immensely are many of the country towns, which have improved road networks, repainted houses, and fully populated. The countryside dotted with rich dairy farmers, second homes and retirees from the cities. But now stretched again by the wave of refugees.

The cost of living is insanely high in Ireland if you come back from anywhere 'reasonable'. I mean easily 2x many other developed countries.

Taxes are through the roof in Ireland as well with the government eating more than 50% of every Euro circulating in taxes and fees . Most of the cost of living is actually due to high government taxes (hence the 2x cost of living mentioned above), but ask Joe Soap and they don't seem to know/care and mutter something about 'taking care of the homeless'. Guess what, they are taking 50% of your take home of middle earners and up but they ain't taking care of much.

It's likely we will be leaving again, facing big challenges with housing and schooling and the health service here, hope to keep a holiday/retirement home here or strike it rich, keep dreaming (that is if the government doesn't take that out of existence also). For one year overseas on the same salary I can save 2-3x compared to what I save in Ireland, plus very low capital gains tax so maybe that's the wisest choice. Retire at 57 rather than 67 sort of deal.

P.S. For all the foks talking about Australia try coming back to Ireland from the large parts of the world that aren't California, NYC or Sydney etc i.e. you are used to just living in an average cost of living place. Jeez it's fecking hard to adjust.

P.P.S Those who claim Ireland is a 'rich' country. The government pulls in a shedload of taxes. They spend billions on foreign aid programmes and housing and giving welfare to refugees. But we don't have any decent trains or metro. It's hard to describe how outdated, shoddy and **** looking the DART and the diesel commuter trains in Ireland are compared to many countries, Creaking, polluting, noisy, Breakdown often.

I lived in a country that many Irish would think is developing yet it has high speed trains, metros in many cities, unbelievable fast internet and mobile across the whole country, shopping malls that make Dundrum look like your local 7-11, well funded national parks, excellent health service. Also the disposable income of many Irish doesn't seem that high. Not so many luxury cars or nice new cars about.

But yeah you will get Irish thinking Ireland is somehow more advanced and richer than countries that can design and make nuclear power plants or semiconductors or high speed trains or their own jets and ships . Ireland is not richer. It doesn't even have jet fighters for **** sake. It barely keeps a few navy boats in operation. It doesn't feel richer. Irish people worry a lot about their daily and monthly spending on things like heating and fuel, which isn't so much of a concern in a lot of the world (this is an issue across Europe in particular of course). If it's so rich they would driving or heating their houses with little concern. The amount of debt per person is actually very high in Ireland and that is obviously constraining or at least worrying the finance mandarins in government so they seem reluctant or unable to invest in big ticket infrastructure projects over the long-term.

Post edited by maninasia on

• Registered Users Posts: 16,117 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No sh1t, really? What do they get up to? Are you going to generalise a whole section of the population?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,939 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

You are the one who brought gender into it, so it’s a bit rich to go accusing others of generalising.

And here’s an example of what Irish men get up to? Have you any views on him having nothing to do?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I returned after 8.5 years away in 2019. People have been sound to me. My wife who never lived here before 2019 has been warmly welcomed into the community too. I try to not wear the country I moved from on me. It does not define me. I don't need to say "back in X we did y all the time". Where I was is rarely relevant if I'm sharing an anecdote. I'm also more interested in now and into the future. I changed while abroad but I also have changed since moving back to Ireland...I'm not going to get hung up on who I was while gone.

I'm not sure of any countries which are different in regards to policies. We have a constitution which requires public referendums to change. Other than that, we elect representatives to set day to day policies. I have only had to contact my local TD or councilor a few times and always at least got a response. In one case it was very unhelpful and the person pointed to EU legislation as an excuse but that is fine, I won't give her a vote next time.

For every point of contention you mentioned, I can draw a comparison with something similar in the other countries I lived in.

Planning is an interesting one. Not only is political by party, it can be political by township. Where I live, they don't give permission to those not from the community. Most of my neighbors are siblings or cousins. Those of us not from the area originally are all living in second-hand dwellings that the cousins of the other families own but then where I lived before moving home, there were associations also dictating planning permission and even dictating maintenance and upkeep of the homes e.g. lawn decorations, outdoor lighting, paint colour etc.

On Gov projects, there was a light rail that took years to build. The construction phase ended up putting some shops and restaurants out of business and when it was finished, the result was a train that went 15mph and covered an area most people didn't commute through. Just like the Galway Limerick rail line that was finished around the same time the motorway was completed and the train had a longer travel time.

The health system is the worst aspect of Ireland, imo. It is an even greater crisis than housing, imo but seems to play 2nd or 3rd fiddle to it.

It could be that no matter where you go in the world, there is a big bag of sh1t waiting for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

Would it be the case that you were highly paid relative to locals wherever you were living? How would it be to live there on an average of below average salary? It might also be the case that in Ireland you are paid in and around average. I find in a lot of these comparisons, you have someone say working as an English teacher in China (before Xi kicked them out) making a decent wage relative to the locals, when they come back home they aren't highly paid anymore. It is always easy to get along in a country if you are in the upper tier of earners. Of course this might not apply to you, but if you are talking about a country that we would consider "poor", then I am assuming you weren't paid normal unskilled local wages.

The development level of the country is extremely high with very few poor people , East Asia and parts of South East asia are already surpassing Ireland in some aspects of development.

Yes I was doing well there salary wise although there were millions richer than me too, there are very few truly poor people there and safety net is pretty good, high savings rates, much better health service with a lot of subsidized housing but less long term dole. Basically there is no expensive subclass of permanent social welfare dependency, taxes stretch further. CGT is almost none existent on your stock investments. No DIRT tax. No USC. Far less of the money circulating is captured by the government and there is still a healthy cash economy. In Ireland its obvious to me that its all the taxes and fees added together that are crippling regular folks. 23% VAT and even 13% VAT would be very high sales taxes on a global basis. Excise and fuel taxes same problem.

Japan recently increased their sales (vat) tax to 10% and it kicked off a huge furore.

Irish people accept these high taxes but in many cases seem unaware how much they are getting gouged by their own government. .

55% of petrol cost is from tax. That adds huge price pressures through the economy. Their taxes and subventions and standing charges on electricity and gas do something similar. They will be increasing the carbon tax every year also.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/cheap-petrol-dublin-4-taxes-23338929

• Registered Users Posts: 13,348 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

There are very few TDs or pol parties that want to reduce taxes in Ireland.

Lobby groups want ever more regulation, more taxes, more State interventions.

More State intervention is seen as the solution, not the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Edited out

Post edited by mikemac2 on

I dont ascribe to everywhere is the same it's just a different bag of shite. Some simply have more shite than others.

That said I agree there are some aspects in Ireland that are very good such as acceptance of immigrants. General warnth of people. Too good in a way as the place is absolutely jammed now :).

The towns and smaller cities are more charming and have improved over last 15 years.

What's most disappointing is how they , the gubberment, made of gombeen political parties , waste the vast tax revenue they collect and how workers get screwed with almost nothing back in return. And it doesn't seem to ever change.

Ireland has many advantages in terms of its climate, the geopolitical location, the fertile land and the GDP and foreign investment it should be doing better these days. It's disapponting more than anything when you look at the state of Dublin. It really pisses me off how badly it is managed in particular. The transport network often depending on 150 year old rail lines and stations....since the British left over a 100 years ago they did a very shoddy job.

No surprise when most of the lobby groups, NGOs , are actually funded by the state. Of course these people always want more taxpayers money for their own causes and jobs.

Well I wasn't talking about necessarily poor people as such. My point was that if you find yourself in the higher end of the income bracket, it is easy to live anywhere. That is why I was suggesting that when you moved back to Ireland the salary you were earning was just normal, so you were dealing with the problems that the average person has and you didn't have to deal with that in the Asian country. In Ireland, I wouldn't really have to think about the cost of things, housing etc and certainly not something that is such a small cost as petrol or diesel. In Singapore (not sure if were living there), you have to pay a big chunk (80k) to get a "Certificate of Entitlement" to buy a car.

Have people missed the steady reduction in taxation that has happened over the last few decades in Ireland?

Even in the last budget income tax changes were made that lessened the burden.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Murph85

Lol! These " reductions" aren't even indexed linked to inflation. You haven't a clue... varadkar himself has said this is an issue...

Minuscule changes. The thing is in Ireland, it depends on where you are on the income scale to how you will perceive the level of taxation. The tax take from low earners is very, very low relative to other European countries (about 4k less on 20k than Germany for example). This changes when you move up the income scale, I think it was around 75k or so where you paid more than in Germany. So, we have one of the most progressive tax systems in Europe, which you can argue for or against. The kicker is that the services are absolutely awful (I know the institutionalised PS employees like AndrewJRenko will say different). The state really struggles with pretty much everything that involves efficiiently allocating services in a timely manner. A good example is hospital appointments, when you eventually get seen, you will be given a time and you turn up to find that 50 others are there at the same time. They could try to stagger the appointments a bit better, but that would be more work I presume, so you end up waiting hours. It basically says "we don't give a f**k about your time". I would wonder what they would think if they were treated the same in private businesses, say turn up to a restaurant and find that everyone else has the 7pm booking? 😃

Have a look at this table and graph from Social Justice Ireland and see how the effective tax rates have plummeted since the turn of the century.

And if you don't want to believe them, do your own calculations.

The graph is V shaped in the case of high earners. It was much lower in 2008 but has bounced back to around 2000 levels. Low earners have much lower levels of taxation than 2000, but I am not sure that was the point you were trying to make.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,348 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

To be fair you are correct.

There were cuts in effective income tax rates during the Celtic Tiger, yes.

However, I tend to focus on the entry point to the 48.5% rate being crazy low.

He is not correct. They ignore inflation over a more than 20 year period. What a joke.

Plus rates have gone up for a bunch of these since 2008 even according to their calculations. Look at it again.

In 1996 the tax rates were 27% and 48% for the standard and higher rates respectively.

The standard rate for a single person was up to IR£9,400.

That IR£9,400 converts to €11,844 which adjusted for inflation is €20,152.

Currently the tax rates are 20% and 40% and the standard rate is up to €40,000.

So not only are the rates 17% to 25% or so lower than they were, the point where one enters the higher rate is almost double.

But government, NGOs etc etc.

Sources

Inflation calculator

1996 tax rates

I don't recall them having the 8% USC rate in 1996 though. So, you are just looking at the tax bands, when what is most important is the total % deductions, Tax + PRSI + USC. You are also picking arbitrary times and comparing them to now. 1996 is almost 30 years ago. We could also pick 2008 which is 15 years ago and it would indicate a trend for increased taxation.

I'll check the PRSI rates later.

I left Ireland in 1996 because like the OP I was "sick of this country"

But when I returned 6 years later I was happy to see the changes.

Don't forget to check the USC rates or lack thereof in 1996. It doesn't matter what they call it, if it is taken from your salary, with no additional benefit, then it is a tax. It should really have been called the "Public Sector Solidarity Levy" to reflect the real intention, to prevent the need for redundancies in the crash.