Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Best and Worst Taoiseach In Irish History

• 21-02-2023 05:45PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

For me the worst is Charles Haughey i just never liked the man. Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen wouldn't be too far behind either though! The best ones for me were Jack Lynch, Garrett Fitzgerald, Sean Lemass, John Bruton and Albert Reynolds. I always was of the opinion that Albert Reynolds face never fitted in with the Dublin elite. I suppose being from Cork i'd have to pick Jack Lynch as my favourite, but it would interesting to hear other peoples opinions on this.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Perhaps you should change your thread title to either indicate you are actually only looking for ones you like/don't like...

At some point all of the holders of that office did the country some good and like wise they all left office when we were feed up of whatever they were doing. Sean Lemass did a lot of good for the country, but he was also one of the men in the mohair suits, as was Haughey. And Haughey gave us the succession act, which was a very significant piece of law in the fight for social justice - At the time men were disinheriting their families and were in great opposition to giving up their right to do so.

Looking back over the last 60 years, the only period I can remember that was real hardship to live through was that of Liam Cosgrave, I really can't think of a single positive thing about it. There was the financial crisis, cost of living issues, the treatment of the president and the minister for hardship stuff etc... His is the only period I'd preferred to have skipped in totality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,612 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Haughey was a bit of a scoundrel for sure. his record isn’t blemish free…But his absolute achievements and accomplishments in office were far the betterment of the country for the most part. His CV as a Taoiseach is overwhelmingly positive.

A TD for 35 years, never failed to get elected / re-elected and oversaw great growth, improvements and prosperity for the country and the citizens.

worst by a mile, Leo Varadkar, you know for a fact that when you are listening to the man, he is an out and out chancer, hoodwinking people or attempting to. In November he made remarks that he was subsequently challenged in the Dail to withdraw, he said that housing costs are not lower for young Irish people overseas…errrr

What ? If life experiences won’t tell you, a quick google certainly tells you otherwise ffs. A disingenuous scoundrel, opportunist and sound bite pusher…he is fortunate that he came along in a time where certain streetwise qualities in certain cohorts of younger and middle aged people distracted by the woke virus are damagingly lacking.

fifteen years ago he’s have done well to warm the back benches…He’s not an individual fit or responsible enough or indeed good enough to be Taoiseach…

Post edited by Strumms on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Best in no particular order

Lemas ( effectively denounced the quarter century of disastrous economic governance under De velera and laid the earliest foundations of our modern economy

Haughey ( the most able and gifted man to ever hold the office though obviously extremely flawed morally)

Enda Kenny ( outperformed all expectations relative to ability, steady hand when we were completely ship wrecked )

worst in no particular order

Garret Fitz ( he couldn’t lead in a cabinet meeting about some minor bill let alone lead a country, an academic with no ability to get anything done )

Michael Martin ( the Fr Ted of Taoiseachs , complete and utter spineless gobsh1te who prides himself on having never not dodged a decision and instead set up a committee to spend forever looking into it, happily made Tony Hollohan de facto leader for most of the time he was Taoiseach)

Brian Cowen ( a cranky oul b0ll0cks who was also not much good for anything , got in the way of Brian Lenehan when he was desperately trying to make huge necessary cuts )

Leo Varadkar ( the most hollow, cynical phoney to ever occupy the position)

most over rated of the rest was Jack Lynch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,222 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Michael Martin has to be the worst ever Taoiseach. Probably a nice man but one incapable of making a decision on his own.

Eamon Ryan if he does get the the gig in a few years will likely turn out to be worse again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

Henry Grattan - I always found him duplicitous , but never banal.

A real Irishman.

Not alot of people know that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,374 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Surely everybody has heard of Grattan's Parliament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭AlanG

While not called Taoiseach, WT Cosgrave must have been one of the best national leaders. He held the country together, got us massive international recognition and oversaw the building of the National Grid (europes first) and Ardnacrusha power plant which was the largest in the world. That was a remarkable achievment for the Free State as it emerged from civil war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,612 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Martin just seems incapable of wanting to piss people off. Too determined to try keep everyone happy. That’s a flawed tactic as you can’t keep everyone happy and the only way to make a fist of that is constantly compromising your opinion, view, tactics and beliefs….

should stick to his guns.

Varadkar is several points worse however… Martin would be a significantly better Taoiseach is that dreadful individual was far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,099 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Lol a great lad all right.

Was quiet happy to have most of the population of Ireland with no rights, they even have a statue for the fooker.

I think he owns a tea shop is probably the best quote you'll get on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I think he cared about Ireland. There was no partition back then either, I completely comprehend the inadequacies of a Dáil inhabited by landowners, however don't forget, that was the only show in town?

He campaigned for emancipation and was a tireless patriot.

He instigated Penal law reform and drank heaps of stout if i remember correctly.

Different times, Ulster Presbyterians were the masterminds of the 1798 rebellion, go figure that one out?

Online discourse - the further back they were the better they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Aurelian

And like a fool I clicked into this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,412 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Every time this topic turns up I say the same intro thing - you can't judge the most recent few objectively. This let Cowen off for quite a while...

However, I'd still be reluctant to outright say he's the worst - he was dumped a lot of problems by Ahern and McCreevy. But he's definitely fighting for it.

Worst: Cosgrave Jr was utterly ineffectual and wasted a period when there were good opportunities for the country; leaving everyone broke. Voted against his own Government to prevent progressive legislation. Often forgotten as a candidate for worst, but he is mine.

Best: Lemass managed to pull away from DeV backwardsness and propel the country in to the 20th Century, more than halfway through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Leo Varadkar hates poor people, during the pandemic he was asked about the 350 covid payments for people who had to give up work, he was asked about the very high earners who wouldnt be used to living on such a small amount of money, the look of genuine sadness, compassion & empathy on his face for the wealthy people who were now going to have to 'get by' on 350 a week until they could get back to work. Ive never seen him express such concern for people who were being made homeless or children relying on soup kitchens for food or suffering developmental delays having been raised in small hotel rooms. Years ago, when questioned about the rising number of people who couldnt afford to move out of their parents homes to either rent or buy, his response was that 'parents help to pay for their adult children to move out & buy their own homes' insinuating that the house prices & rents dont need to come down & wages dont need to go up because everyone has the bank of mammy & daddy to rely on.. this was obviously his experience & he's so totally out of touch with anyone outside of his social class that he didnt give a second thought to the millions of people who dont have families willing or able to financially support their children & besides that, he put that message out there creating feelings of guilt & shame for many people who couldnt offer or access family support. Then he demonised people on social welfare while simultaneously highering their weekly allowance causing anger & suspicion towards people dependant on the state.

He put all his attention into tech & large american companies like no other industry exists, while nurses, teachers, social workers, childcare workers, sna's all struggled desperately to put food on the table as their working conditions worsened, wages reduced and more working people fell into poverty disproportionately effecting female workers & single mothers while forcing educated workers across all sectors to emigrate, the only ones who have any benefit of staying in Ireland are mostly male dominated fields such as tech & finance. So our health care, education and social supports are failing while the government reaps the profits from the big corporate companies.

He is running this entire country into the ground!

Cosgrave was probably useless but the 1970,s was an economic mess in the UK , USA and anywhere that we depend on, he might have been a waste of space but few would wish to govern during that period

We'd just joined the EEC which gave us the legs to get away from being dependent on the UK.

Instead there was just mass panic about trying to figure out how to protect our artificially propped up (by protectionism) clothes/shoes/car assembly industries from real competition. There were also attempts to stop basic changes like allowing married women to keep working, and pay everyone the same as married men (single men got less in many jobs) with the idea that it wasn't affordable; when increasing the labour force and spending potential would both have helped rather than hindered

So much could have been done then and wasn't. The agrifood revolution of the 90s could have happened 20 years earlier with better governance for instance - Cosgrave took over just as we now had 7 other, richer countries in a common market (not the single market) beyond the UK.

Those other countries were in recession due to the oil crisis

Not by the latter half or his term they weren't. The UK still was, Sick Man of Europe era, and we stayed stuck to them economically.

I did say this wasn't a common take on worst!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭crossman47

Worst was Haughey. He had accomplishments to his name but these are dwarfed by the way he demeaned the office for personal gain.

Best is a toss up between Lemass (saved us when we were in dire need), W. T. Cosgrave (led the state in its first ten years and handed over power democratically when there was a real danger that wouldn't happen) and De Valera (for facing down the IRA and then guiding us through WW2).

We were in the infancy stage was developing economic ties outside the UK to the broader mainland European market

That was my point, basically. His Government did bugger all to actually develop those ties; instead they flapped around like headless chickens at home with FG trying to prevent the Labour bit getting any modernisation (e.g. contraception) through; trying to continue to protect hopelessly uncompetitive industry and worrying about equal pay and so on.

Opportunity wasted and left easy stuff for Lynch/Haughey and even Fitzgerald to do that could have been done earlier.

Judging by the votes they got, the best were de Valera, Lynch and Ahern. Lynch was the leader of the last one party government, having got the biggest majority in the history of the State. He knew what people liked, so obviously they voted to abolish property tax, water charges, bin charges and motor/road tax. de Valera was the longest serving, Ahern is second. Obviously as part of coalitions, but the people loved what he had to offer, so he won three consecutive elections. What was not to like about tiger economics, with generous payments to savers and pensioners, and easily accessible credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭Rosahane

Best was WT Cosgrave who built a democracy and it's independent institutions such as the Civil Service Commission in the face of opposition by the nascent gombeen men.

Worst was Dev who only ever wanted unfettered power and riches and enabled the rise of the gombeen FF who profited from power.

Second best was Lemass who brought Ireland into the 20th. century.

Second worse was Varadkar with his globalist woke agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

The worst has to be Leo Varadkar,

He is a vile man with no connection to the common man & no concept how the majority of Irish people live, He has no interest in helping the people of Ireland & no respect for the position he is in ,

Its all about him , the sooner he is gone the better for the nation ,

We are unlucky enough that a junior doctor from India, met a farmer's daughter from Waterford when they were both working in a hospital in England. Neither of whom could have any concept of how the majority of Irish people live, when they decided to produce a future Taoiseach.

• Leo the worst. Cowen was Taoiseach at a difficult time, didn’t like his style but that’s just me. Séan Lemass had a good reputation, a bit behind my conscious time. I have Jack Lynch to thank for my employment at a time of very high unemployment. He lived nearby, always very pleasant and humble in presence when you’d meet him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭omeara1113

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Best: Bertie

Worst: Leo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

As ever the best time to be a Taoiseach in these threads was a long time ago, the most recent ones are always the worst in people's eyes.

Kenny probably the best in my lifetime I would say, given the hand he was dealt. Haughey the worst, closely followed by Ahern and Cowan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,055 ✭✭✭griffin100

Both his parents were in the medical sector, and Leo became a doctor. Could be inherited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭crossman47

I am no fan of Dev but you could not accuse him of being interested in personal riches. In his last years he fretted over his nursing home costs and whether he could afford them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Obviously timing is vital, Ahern claimed that the economy was "sound" when he left in 2008. Within months we were in the sh1t and Cowen was the worst Taoiseach ever ever ever.

Anyone who was Taoiseach during relatively good economic times (that weren't of his making) should be held to a higher standard.

Varadkar has to be up there with the worst of them. I can't imagine any of the others thinking it would be a good idea to, for a bet, include a quote from Mean Girls in an address to the nation.

"Responding to a question from host David McCullagh, who asked him if his use of the quote was appropriate, Varadkar responded: “I think any quote is appropriate if it’s appropriate in its context, whether it was written in a movie or by a poet.”

“Yeah, in the context, it was in the context of our ambitions as a country and I know that some people may be snobbish about those things, that a quote from a movie is different from a quote from a poet or a great author like yourself, but I don’t see it that way,” Varadkar added.

While McCullagh noted that it was a trivial issue, he pressed Varadkar further on whether his use of the quote was appropriate considering that many people had died as a result as Covid-19 and it has had a significant impact on the livelihood of thousands of people in Ireland.

“I think any quote in any speech is appropriate if it’s in context and, you know, I’ve used quotes from poets and other writers precisely to deal with the issue that you have raised,” Varadkar responded.

“The fact that there are over 2,000 people on this island who have died as a consequence of Covid, that they have families who are grieving, and there are 100,000 people out of work.

“And I’ve used quotes that I identified with that I think explain some of the feelings that they’re having and the darkness around that.”

Asked if it was a distraction from the serious message about Covid-19 in Ireland, Varadkar replied: “I think it was a distraction for some people, not for me.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Terrier2023

I believe Leo is the worst as he has no real love for Ireland,his experience of racism growing up has caused him to hate the Irish with venom and I think he is having his revenge now.

Best man was Garret Fitzgerald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

This is what i mean when i said he has no respect for his position quoting mean girls while addressing an nation in lockdown , who where losing loved ones, out of work , not seeing elderly relatives & missing important hospital appointments & hes making jokes ,

I swear to god iv no idea how he hasn't been booted out his arse , the lad has absolutely no respect for our nation ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,055 ✭✭✭griffin100

I think Leo is rapidly working towards being the worst, but not for the xenophobic like reasons stated above. And I would have been a supporter of his at the start.

He started off relatively ok, was excellent in the initial stages of Covid when some hard decisions had to be made, but has increasingly become detached from both the responsibilities of his position and wider societal issues. He often sounds like the leader of the opposition, and he has promoted some serious idiots into high office. He looks like a man bored with the role and disengaged from responsibility. I wouldn’t be surprised if he doesn’t stand for re-election.

The 1980s gave us two of the worst with Haughey and Fitzgerald swooping the job - from crook to incompetent and back again.

I was living outside of the country when John Bruton was in the chair and wasn’t following Irish politics and I remember coming home for a visit and hearing his being called Taoiseach. That was scary.

I am confident though that we have yet to see the worst. The thoughts of Taoiseach McDonald, Harris or McEntee fills me with dread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,486 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

DeVelera was the worst. He held the Country back for decades. Worst thing to ever happen to come to Ireland was DeVelera.

Sean LeMass was the best. He set us back on the right course to being a modern Country.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Best in my humble opinion:-

Sean Lemass - presided over the modernisation and industrialisation of Ireland in the 1960s when we were then an impoverished, agricultural backwater.

Jack Lynch - held fast and held his nerve when his govt and FF party colleagues were intent in escalating the very dangerous situation in the North. With a lesser Taoiseach the conflict may well have spread South.

WT Cosgrave - oversaw the first major slum clearances programmes and social housing schemes and the Shannon Scheme (Ardnacrusha dam and hyrdo) when the fledgling State was broke and recovering from the Civil War.

Enda Kenny - he may have been rather dry at times but he did help steer the country through the worst of the post-bubble crash and banking system collapse etc.

Worst:-

Brian Cowen - inept, incompetent and ineffectual.

Michael Martin - total lightweight with no leadership gravitas amd lacking in any vision.

Leo Varadkar - arrogant, smug, full of words but few meaningful actions. Out of touch with the hoi polliloi and their struggles. Neo-Thatcherite. Lacking in vision.

Liam Cosgrave - his 1970s coalition government made some disastrous economic policies that effectively ended the 1960s/early 70s economic boom which led to the lean 80s. The oil crises did not help but Cosgrave's government's policies made things much worse.

Post edited by JupiterKid on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭Rosahane

What about the Irish Press ownership?

The fact that he was ultimately unsuccessful in enriching himself is moot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,486 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

and De Valera (for facing down the IRA and then guiding us through WW2).

Your joking right. If I could go back in time I would make sure that vile man never came anywhere near Ireland.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

The hoi polloi love to see their politicians having fun with language. Bonus points if it annoys the highbrow media. Bertie Speak has a Wikipedia page. He used to like to upset the apple tart. So fair play to Leo for getting down with the common people by using film quotes, as well as more highbrow references.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

One thing that has to be acknowledged in the Lemass era and going forward was the role of T. K. Whitaker. Without him things could have been very different.

The most important thing about Kenny was that he did very little and that was what was needed. We (Swiss Banking) never lost confidence in the Irish economy because the problem as one of liquidity not insolvency and it would work itself out given time. Our only concern was that you'd get a government that would try to fix things and only make it worse breaking the winning formula.

I think you had to live through the Liam Cosgrave era to realise just how bad things were. The sense of hopelessness that covered the country was just unbelievable. Of course there was not a lot in reality that could be done, but the lack of leadership was very significant.

If nothing could be done, it wouldn't matter who was in charge. No point in having some demagogue selling false hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,290 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Absolutely not.

Garrett was a good man, too good for politics really. But in terms of policy, he got caught up in the weeds on too many things, it made him a very poor executive. Indecisive, slow, intransigent.

We need to frame the question being asked in this thread.

Are we considering the greatest / least political impact? The biggest or smallest advancement of the Country in their tenre? Their personal character, behaviour and legacy?

Or a mixture of all?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

TK Whitaker was the architect of modern Ireland - his brainchild was the 1959 Programme for Economic Expansion which was implemented in the 1960s and led to a rapid change for the better and the growth of the new Irish middle class.

Whitaker was also a firm proponent of EU membership and its benefits for Ireland. His plans effectively reversed the disastrous isolationism of the De Valera years.

A remarkable man. 👍👍

Pity the politicians didn't heed his advice and warnings in later years when their gombeenism and economic illiteracy wrecked our fragile economy in the late 1970s/early 80s.

I myself was born during the Liam Cosgrave years. Didn't he also oppose a contraceptives bill that his own government put forward?