Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Adult males being victimised in these days?

• Registered Users Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Relax brah

You seem incapable of a discussion hence resorting to name calling E.g. ‘incel,’ ‘weirdo’ - how do you expect a “discussion” to go with that type of bitter, spiteful and ignorant attitude?

Again; you are affirming what I stated.

I just want to take the opportunity to apologise to anyone here who in their capacity as a door to door salesperson has ever called to my door and has been victimised by my general policy of refusing to answer the door to salespeople (thank you Ring doorbell…)

I’m so sorry for victimising you in this manner. Please PM me if you wish to arrange financial compensation.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I run regularly in the early morning in my local park and I do say good morning to people. Runners usually nod at each other so I do that to other runners or a breathless hello but for other park users you gauge the situation. It is easy to tell if someone is going to respond to you or not. Where there is eye contact I will say good morning but where there isn't I won't. It is no more complicated that that.

It is a privilege to be able to goto a park in the early morning or late at night as this means you do not have any fear of doing this. Many people do have a fear of some degree and are more guarded about their interactions.

To be clear I do not think you are doing anything wrong but I might suggest you choose your moments.

Post edited by Pawwed Rig on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭Augme

I did retract the incel comment. As I said, not information to say for definite. But I woukdnt be surprised. Also, I don't remember where I said I was a feminist either.

You retracted your incel comment yet proceeded to call me a ‘weirdo?’ LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭JohnnyFortune

Sure there could be a Limerick and District Credit Union anywhere in the world (sarcasm)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,026 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Victimisation is persistent unfair treatment, in a groundless way, as an exertion of power, punishment or revenge.

What you describe isn't that. Its just your perception of their ignorance for their perception of your over-familiarity.

If I was out walking with my wife and we passed some people, either on their own or in a couple or whatever, I'd happily salute them, pass the time of day or whatever.

But If I'm out walking or jogging on my own, I might get talking to a guy in the carpark with a dog or some such, but when it comes to women, I just mind my own effing business unless they talk to me.

Why? Because too many cűntish guys DON'T mind their own effing business with women out in public and behave entirely wrongly towards and around them, even if their warped perception is that they are themselves "harmless".

You aren't any sort of victim lad. If there are any, its any woman that has ever had to walk in public with a bunch of keys threaded between her knuckles because of bitter experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

You clearly are though. Calling a man a creep and a incel because he questioned something about women is very "feminist" thing to do. You're on this site nearly 10 years too, so your previous posts are also a nod to that.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

The women who don't acknowledge you in the park, donyou think they should be forced to? Like, it should be illegal if they don't? Or, what exactly is the point you are trying to make?

You really do love digging holes for yourself, don't you? He's now not just an incel, but an incel who wants to force women to do things that they don't want. You might as well call him a rapist and a pedo while you're at it. It's honestly disgusting how low you're willing to go in the name of appearing right.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Agreed. Post history says a hell of a lot.

Don’t waste your time just put her on ignore and save yourself the hassle.

Delusional people like that can’t be reasoned with.

Im surprised moderators are actually tolerating it. That too says a lot about my initial statement

It's outright slanderous too, something that some of us would never get away with on here. I'll be ignoring them going forward though.

As I said early, not the sharpest knife in the drawer and this is becoming quite obvious. I said that feeling victimised and feeling too uncomfortable to go to the local park because women refuse to acknowledge a strange man smiling and saying hello to them is weird. It is extremely weird tbh.

Ans the while obsession with the "feminist" thing is weird as well. There's an awful bang on incel off the both of you at this stage lads. Don't be shy about it if you are, yous should embrace and be proud. Now, not saying yous are for definite though.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭archermoo

Okay, educate us. What is the proper response? He considers himself to be a victim because random women he doesn't know ignore him when he says good morning to them in the park. If he is a victim then that must mean that something needs to be changed so that he isn't a victim anymore. So what needs to be done?

I love digging holes? Talk about pot kettle. I never said hebwanted to force women to do things, I asked him a question if he did. As he said himself, he is a victim. Generally victims what some punishment to be given to the people who have wronged them. Or at the very least for their behaviour to change so they don't feel like they are being victimised anymore.

I'm simply wondering what does the OP want to happen so he doesn't feel like a victim anymore? You know, a bit of discussion the issue that the OP is so desperate for.

Men should suck it up

• Registered Users Posts: 6,282 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

What a nasty thread.

For what it’s worth: there has been a change in the way people interpret situations and it is most likely linked to the way that the media push the constant fear factor. The world hasn’t become more dangerous, but people see danger at every corner.

It’s totally ridiculous but there are plenty of groups who will encourage each other in pushing this narrative further and further.

There's no solution, because as free people we are free to do what we want once it's within the confines of the law. He's free to say hello, they are free to tell him to **** off.

I can't speak for him, but I assume his general point was about how society is evolving, or devolving, and that in the modern world, after years of feminist centric thinking, women now fear men more than ever, and that results in women feeling less comfortable with even saying hello back to a random man. In his view that makes him somewhat of a victim, a victim of discomfort, which was largely created by modern societal views of men. It's really a doubled edged sword, now more women fear men in general, and now more men likely feel more discomfort in those situation because they are consciously aware of this new trend. I've sympathy for both parties, which is something that can't be said for the feminists on this thread, who've no care about how this actually make men feel.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Mod note - cut out the incel nonsense.

A tiny minority of men are guilty of the above, the rest of us are decent and never even get near to thoughts about those acts never mind doing them, hence why it's driven by hysteria. Feminism makes us all guilty when only a few of us are really guilty. The fact that you can't see that is the very problem itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭batman_oh

She should be up for an oscar so - I've not seen such a convincing performance in any film before

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭archermoo

But see that's the thing. They aren't telling him to fcuk off. They're just ignoring him. They're just trying to mind their own business and get through their day.

What has changed in the modern world is that women have come to realise that they aren't the only ones that have been harassed or even assaulted. In the past that wasn't something that people talked about, so the fact that it happens to most women by the time they're out of their teens wasn't common knowledge. The victims assumed it was just them, and would internalise the bullsh!t they were told by society that it was really their fault. "You must've led him on." "If you weren't dressed like that..."

Being wary is only reasonable. It isn't because they think all men are going to try something. It is because there are enough that will that they can't afford to assume that anyone they don't know isn't. And that the safest thing in general is just not engaging. Granted, some men will fly off the handle at being ignored. But a lot more will take any kind of response as in invitation, and are more likely to get violent if rebuffed at that point. "She led me on, she deserved what she got". Most women I've talked to about it put the first time they were sexually harassed as being when they were still in school. Generally shortly after they got boobs. They deal with it most of their lives.

As to feminism, that is just the belief that everyone should be treated equally regardless of their gender. No reason to see it as a problem. Unless you think that one gender should be treated as better.

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

You are talking about certain murders / stabbings that made headlines last year which turned out to be foreign men? I remember in once case he stabbed two men and one woman in a single day, and the headlines only mentioned the woman...

And statistically men are far more likely to be victim of murder than women, so it really should be men looking over their shoulder.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Feisar

Video title should read: "mouthy git gets dropped". Christ you could see it coming, he sized her up and laid her out.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭beachhead

The point of the post may be that all men are potential rapists and should be treated like that without exception.Am I assuming correctly?

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭BagofWeed

I'm not happy to see the video but my point is that anywhere in the world the same result would occur but a lot of females here think they can act like this towards (Irish) men and that there will be no action taken against them.

As for the OP's post, I studied sociology and in my opinion Ireland is a strongly fear based society thus he shouldn't be surprised females won't say hello to him. Whereas countries where people are more used to social situations (larger populated nations) there is less of a gender divide such as in the UK thus UK females are far friendlier even to strangers.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Nah man, feminism doesn’t do shìt, simply because feminism doesn’t have that sort of influence - most people ignore it and don’t care for it. It’s why they ramp up the hysterical rhetoric, in order to get attention and try to convince anyone to take them seriously.

The OP is engaging in similar hysteria driven nonsense by trying to suggest that men are somehow being victimised because women don’t salute them. It’s absurd, and it’s about as true as the whole women carrying keys because they imagine they’re going to be attacked. Most women don’t care for that sort of silliness in my experience, nor do they care about the media driven hysteria about how dangerous society is for women and children or any of the rest of it.

The OP feeling “genuinely hurt” though by the fact that their salutations aren’t reciprocated, that’s peak victimhood complex right there.

No, for the purposes of this thread I'm happy to focus on the rapes and murders committed by Irish men. Bring a bit of balance to Current Affairs.

Maybe that explains why the OP is uncomfortable in the park? Haha.

• I’m female, I love friendly people and would be delighted to greet you back if I met you. If you started to chat me up in a certain way as a total stranger out of the blue I might step back a bit, but a reference to the weather, or my dog (if I had one) would be fine. The vast majority of guys are 100% fine. I’d be way more nervous of gangs of antisocial types in certain parts of the city.

I have done plenty of solo travel in Scotland, wild parts, islands, provincial towns. I’ve got into casual conversation with lots of people, men and women, in places like that friendly banter and mild curiosity about the visitor is the norm.

Nah man, feminism doesn’t do shìt, simply because feminism doesn’t have that sort of influence - most people ignore it and don’t care for it. It’s why they ramp up the hysterical rhetoric, in order to get attention and try to convince anyone to take them seriously.

Even for you, this is taking the biscuit. Modern feminism is deeply ingrained in Western society, from gender quotas, feminist NGOs, wage gaps lies, to endless new articles about the victimization of women. It's been on the go for the last 10 years, ramped up massively since MeToo. We had a young women killed by a foreign man only a year or so ago, where all men were to blame for the act, and not just some. This was pushed by politicians, the media, NGOs, and all the typical feminist minded people who post online. But no, feminism has no power, none at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Not sure what the “even for you” bit is about as I’ve never cared one way or the other for feminism, but yeah, that’s all true what you’re saying, and it’s also true that there aren’t too many people who take that shìt seriously, hence why I said that feminism doesn’t have the sort of influence or power that a small number of people claim it does.