Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,415 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

We started brightly vs Derry.. we are 0-02 / 0-06 up. Might be a tough day though the way the referee is handling himself….a number of frees awarded to Derry because seemingly a Dublin player of two looked at them. Bizarre. A fair bit of ‘simulation’ by Derry lads but their shooting has been poor to mixed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭MFPM

Yeah Dublin playing well so far. Fenton playing well, getting on a lot of ball. Couple of poor wides by McCarthy though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭rolling boh

pretty good first half much the best so far this league hope we keep it going would be a really good win if we get it

• Registered Users Posts: 18,778 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Much better so far at half time. But of order to it all.

Funny bit for me is Marty giving out about his co-comm pronunciation of Costello. Meanwhile Marty is oblivious to his own pronunciation of Lahiff - Lah-heef' he says!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Chalk and cheese from last week’s abysmal performance against Clare. They look so much more composed.

Two bad wides by James and he missed a handy enough goal opportunity, he scuffed the shot for the goal chance badly but finishing aside he’s playing really well in every other aspect, himself and Dean and Kilkenny doing really well as is Tom Lahiff…O’Hanlon made a super save to deny one of the Derry forwards a clear odds on goal when they were one vs one and about 8 meters from goal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

A bit of positivity on here at last. I will stick to my belief that no team will have it easy against us this year and we have as good a chance as any of winning the All Ireland. Too much class and experience. The likes of Fenton, Kilkenny and McCarthy will be desperate to climb the Hogan steps again.

Another silly tackle. Derry were going nowhere, a simple point. Some of our younger lads have a fair amount of naivety.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,976 ✭✭✭Xander10

, Derry goal...game on

Poor goal to concede. Could be a tasty gamr last 25 minutes. Lee Gannon is a lovely footballer chipping in with two points.

Feck it this will far from cushy now good test.

Derry stepped up this half and Dublin not as in control, the goal will boost them more. Ref is giving alot of soft frees. Dublin not really creating goal chances, a feature of their league do far...

Davy Byrne playing well. James McCarthy involved a lot (poor wides aside). Fenton back to his best first half. Some positives going forward.

Con and Costelloe need to improve. Con is a long way from his best. Costelloe has always been hit and miss. Dont think that will ever change. Deano offers very little from open play.

Two chances at a 45 for Rock and both missed...not great!

Kilkenny looks leaner than usual. Great score.

Derry have been better team second half definately upped the tempo. Crowd right behind them.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Somebody should check the ref's bags for sterling, because there is no way he is refereeing both teams the same in this match.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭rolling boh

we need to start scoring goals very hard to keep winning without them .

Basquel proving he can do it when it matters. Super score. An option off the bench for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,976 ✭✭✭Xander10

Soft free again

The Small and Scully frees were soft but once you tackle like that the chances are the opponent will make the most of it and as is the norm the referee nearly always falls for it.

Ball clearly picked off the floor by a derry player but ref blows a throw ball. Seriously..

Thought Dublin player was tackled high around the neck near the sideline just before Fitzimmons fouled.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Dublin poor in second half when Derry put it up to them.

Fair play to Derry. I am reminded of what an auld Derry fella used to say that Derry are always fit because they are always on the run.

Questions on Dessie again why not see the game out?

Ok never nice to lose but really Derry just about deserved it with their second half display.

We fell away badly and Derry seemed to be faster to the ball and more hungry.

We had some positives but plenty to work on.

We will get our revenge v Derry in league final.

Good Saturdays entertainment.

Off out now for few pints.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Think we were ridden by the ref today, so many calls given to one team not given to the other.

Be nice to have at least one more comfortable game this year, not sure I can take it 😂

Given the way Derry have been so far, it's not a bad showing by Dublin but a loss is a loss. Dublin gave up a five point lead so it's not great, no serious goal chances. O Callaghan is all too often too far from the goal and he was pretty anonymous tonight...

And the extra sixty plus seconds of injury time, on top of the posted injury time ? I’m not aware of any rule in the sport that decrees that because a team have possession around the opposing 45 that the referee must not blow up for full time ?