Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Adult males being victimised in these days?

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

Having lived abroad for a number of years what i have noticed is that Irish women are much, much less open to new people / strangers than women in other countries.

I think some of this is Irish cultural heritage - everyone lived in small villages until recently and knew everyone else. Another part though is media hysteria here which does not exist in other countries. Men and women get murdered by bad people in every country in the world but it's blown up out of proportion here compared to its statistical reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

everyone lived in small villages until recently and knew everyone else.

Surely village nature would led people to be more friendly not less? I know when I'm in Dublin I often have to remind myself to not say hello to people, which is the default in rural areas. I remember being in rural Donegal for a few weeks a few summers ago, and the "blow ins" or tourists stood out a mile, because when you said hello to them, while they often said hello back, there was a shock/surprise in their hellos, because it was not normal for them. Yet every local gave you a warm and confident hello because it what they do everyday.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Relax brah

THANK YOU!

Honestly, thread has turned absolutely nasty. Saying hello to someone makes you a creep these days apparently.

Like you, I’ve travelled the world. Spent time in hostels and love speaking to random people, you always have something to learn and make friends as a result.

Walking around with a smile in the park and wishing someone a good morning deserves a public flogging by some of the people posting here.

Sad to see and I wish them nothing but the best. They are very angry at the world

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users Posts: 20,047 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

No: women, however have been actual victims in far worse ways, for millennia. In their millions.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,943 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Why do you use the terms female and men?

not men and women?

He should ashamed for doing that as you should be for applauding it.

A punch like that has killed people in the past.

Thug low class behaviour.

Sorry but you are playing the victim here. . Even the title of your thread is a them and us. You are over analysing things and reading too much into it.

Some people are friendly and chatty, some are not.

Since I got my dog, men, women, children of all ages are way more wanting to start conversations than if I was just walking round myself.

if you are hurt that women don’t respond, then you may need help building your resilience and coping skills.

Don’t let that type of rubbish ruin your day or your mood. If they want to say hello, grand, if they don’t, grand as well.

It is not about women not responding ffs

the point of the thread is to the state that people are much less friendly they once where (95% women,) I’ve been made out to be a “creep” or an “incel” for saying good morning to someone male or female if we make eye contact walking past one another.

It’s a simple as that - yes I am a victim as our other people who experience the same. The rationale behind the “victim” label is, this is all new. People have twisted my words that I jump out of bushes scaring people. To be clear I don’t say good morning or hello to every single person I walk past.

I walk around with a smile as I am grateful person to be able to have a routine that enables me to enjoy the fresh air in the morning. If I make eye contact with someone i will smile and say good morning.

I have since now been compared to a “rapist” on that basis - please explain to me how exactly that is justified?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It’s obviously more than just people are much less friendly than they once were, when 95% of the people you’re referring to are women. Why not just say women instead?

I don’t think the premise has any real basis anyways, you’re just older, seems to be the most reasonable explanation. It’s definitely not because you’re a man and they’re women, because that’s just silly, and the idea that men are being victimised or that you’re a victim because women aren’t as friendly to you as they once were when you were younger? You must surely be able to see why people would see your claiming to be a victim as a stretch!

Ah now stop, if you were going to start a thread about people in general being less friendly, then the title of your thread would have reflected that and you would not have singled out women for not responding.

The thread reads as starting a gender fight and it’s disingenuous now to suggest otherwise.

If you are happy and go around positive, then just keep doing that. You don’t know hie others are feeling though and they might not want to engage with strangers so that’s just the way things are.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭archermoo

"These days however, I’ve noticed that women look the other way or just ignore me - men are absolutely pleasant and fine with it."

So, if it isn't about women not responding then why did you specifically say both that it was the women that look away or ignore you and that the men were fine with it?

And no, people not saying "good morning" back to you doesn't make you a victim. You are not entitled to their attention. It is great that you are a positive person. But you should know that if you try to engage the same women in conversation every day, even though they've ignored your attempts in the past, that will likely be considered creepy behavior by them. And I haven't seen anyone comparing you to a rapist. But those women that are ignoring you don't have any way of knowing that you aren't one. It isn't like rapists wear signs. And so a lot of women have learned over the years that simply not engaging strangers is the safest course of action for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Feisar

I didn't applaud, I stated facts. Sometimes there are consequences to running ones mouth of, she was aggressive and got what she got because of it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

What are you a victim of? Some women not saying hello?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 14,160 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Given your post history on here, it's not hard to imagine why Irish women are not very open to you, you're not exactly brimming with optimism and good vibes. I actually find Dublin to be really friendly by all accounts, both men and women.

I smile and say good morning to anyone regardless of gender if they make eye contact.

No man has ever turned their head or looked at me in disgust as a result. So yes, it is just women but to iterate (again):

1. I don’t stop and go up to say hello to any person regardless of gender
    2. if we make eye contact I will make the effort to say hello - I am a friendly person

Nothing more than that. I do feel we as males are victimised due to the media narrative and this feminist movement which is evident in this thread.

In fact many people in all ages have talked about this. This is why porn and sex is such a great weapon against men; it keeps men passive and docile. I Just look at the way women pick mates - they do not think "what can i offer this man" they think "what will this man do for me" men are objects to women - objects to be used.

It's funny - i grew up following the feminist path and was such an advocate for 'equal' rights for women. Now i am the exact opposite and understand women do not want equality - i honestly understand why, in previous ages, men made things the way they did - all generations of men have been under attack by women.

Endless men in history have had to sacrifice their lives so that a woman can have a better life and then they still complain that it isn't enough. If our history of great men doing what they have isn't enough for women then nothing will be...

• Registered Users Posts: 40,007 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Jaysus. 😨

Nothing like a good Saturday evening boards manifesto to get things moving.

And just like that…….BOOM!

The truth always shows itself!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Relax brah 😬

Claims the thread is about people being less friendly than they once were then goes off on a mad rant about women 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It just sounds like you’re trying too hard tbh, and it’s coming off completely the opposite of the way you intend to come across, which might explain why it’s off-putting, because it just seems fake and insincere.

I think you’re looking for all sorts of complicated explanations for what appears to be nothing more than that. It’s just not something I’ve ever experienced because I don’t go out of my way to be overly friendly to people or expect them to be overly friendly with me, that kind of behaviour puts me off, but not to the point I’d want someone to feel bad over it. By way of example I was at a work do recently and one woman was overly friendly coming at me with her arms out looking for a hug.

That sort of thing is just weird to me, I’m not into it at all, but someone obviously had a word with her because she came back later and was saying she hoped I wasn’t upset and stuff. I felt bad for her because she couldn’t have known, and someone else making her aware of it I could imagine she felt bad because I knew her intention wasn’t to make me feel uncomfortable, it was just her personality and I wouldn’t want her to think she had done anything to feel bad about. It’s perfectly normal behaviour, I’m just not into it is all.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,007 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Mad rant about women and feminism 🤣🤣🤣

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

What you describe here sounds like you have a bit of cop-on and social awareness. Maybe the OP doesn't have that. It's hard to know why they wouldn't use discretion, if they have the social skills to figure it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭lmao10

A very cringeworthy thread.

OP: FFS, it's not about women.

Ron Howard voice-over: It was about women.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Weird incels. Explain please. I'm presuming you're not attacking the poster?

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭squidgainz

hahahahaha WOW. You were doing okayISH but that is a hilarious mask slip.

Scroll up a tiny bit and look at what the op posted. That's a **** weird opinion in anyone's book.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Again. Weird incels. I don't agree with the initial postors opinion, but that sort of talk is insulting and bullying.

Yeah, porn is a weapon that keeps men docile? What? Nobody forces men to watch that dreadful trash, some of which features women depicted as being completely degraded.