Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Film forum off topic/random chat thread

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Looking at Banshees getting all this awards love, and then The Wonder getting some too, I feel weirdly neutral about them.

I haven't seen Banshees yet, so I don't have an opinion on the film itself, but as far as them being Irish films.... I dunno.

Obviously An Cailín Ciúin is extremely Irish, so kind of unfair to compare them to it, but I just don't feel like Banshees or The Wonder are Irish films in the same way something like Wolfwalkers was, to use a recent example.

I'm not saying they're not Irish films either, to be clear, and obviously the majority of cast and crew are Irish, I'm just not able to muster the same excitement about the films themselves being nominated for things.

Anyone got any thoughts or feelings on it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,527 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I think it's probably not a coincidence that the two Irish films that did get nods were both of the "oh god, we're all so poor, religious and miserable" variety of Irish film; An Cailín Ciúin wasn't exactly a laugh-riot but it had much more empathy in its core, with the sadness more about one's heart breaking than Angela's Ashes adjacent misery porn of the other two.

Came up in the Banshees thread, but that seems to be the kind of Irish film that international distributors and institutions prefer; and historically it's born out by the kind of Irish films that have won international gongs.

I think that's the thing about Banshees, and the reaction to it abroad, that makes me question it. It feels like the kind of film we used to make when we had our eye on appealing to as broad an audience as possible, instead of making things that were recognisably Irish to Irish people. (Doesn't help how much they're pushing "feckin" as a marketing tool, even on their FYC ads)

If you think of the most globally successful Irish things of recent years, Normal People and Derry Girls, they're very Irish, to the point people from other countries need explainers for a lot of things in them, from language to cultural oddites. They make me think we've moved beyond the "stage Oirish" we used to think we had to peddle to get an audience outside of Ireland.

As for The Wonder, I didn't personally like it that much, but I think the storyline kind of lent itself to having non Irish people telling it, so the fact it doesn't really feel like an Irish film is probably deliberate.

I'm attempting the annual March Around The World challenge on Letterboxd again this year, and looking for some recommendations.

Looking at my world map, the entire content of Africa is sorely lacking in green. Anyone got any recommendations for films from literally any country on the continent? Preferably ones that are actually set and made in those countries, not just American films that filmed there.

Any gems from any non English speaking country would be welcomed to. The easier to access, the better. I don't have Netflix at the moment, but do have Prime, Mubi, Now TV (Sky), and not against paying a few Euro to rent something.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,445 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

The Senegalese classics Black Girl and Touki Bouki both recently made the Sight & Sound top 100 and are both excellent IMO. The latter’s director also made Mandabi which is highly regarded, although I haven’t seen it personally. The Battle of Algiers is also a masterpiece - one of the great revolutionary films.

For more modern films, Timbuktu, I Am Not A Witch, and Atlantics are all superb, although I think in all cases are international co-productions but predominantly made in Africa.

Most of those should be accessible on some platform or another.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,193 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Mostly in English language but not trying to ape Hollywood.

Canada - Director Atom Egoyan. Exotica or The Sweet Hereafter are distinctly Canadian set movies.

He is of Armenian ancestry and some of his films such as Ararat and Calendar are filmed both in Canada and Armenia-Turkey and the plots are influenced by Armenia's tragic history. There are subtitled scenes.

And for Latvia if you can track this down...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 86,516 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Woody Harrelson and Olivia Colman to star in film of the Bob Dylan musical Girl From the North Country

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,527 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Looks like we're getting yet another Riddick movie, once again directed by David Twohy (who hasn't directed anything since the last Riddick film in 2013).

Such a strange franchise: born from what was a fairly simple, effective Alien action horror flick. Then turned into a fairly mental Space Opera with the sequel, though I remember much less of th third.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,424 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

I only found out the third movie even existed a couple of years ago, and haven't bothered watching it

Definitely agree that as a franchise it's a bit bizarre, takes the idea if a character driven franchise to the extreme. I feel like you could literally delete every other character from the second film and you'd have the same level of plotline

I guess Vin Diesel is looking for the next paycheck now that the Fast and Furious series is winding down (although I'm sure there'll be a dozen spinoffs and side stories)

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

The video game is meant to be good.

And this was the franchise he left the The Fast and the Furious and XXX franchises for.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

90s character actor mainstay Tom Sizemore suffered a brain aneurysm and is in a critical condition. Guy had one speed but he was always had a bullish charisma

Looks like the near mythological Napoleon script of Stanley Kubrick's, one he had been supposedly working for years on & off, is heading to HBO as a 7 part mini-series via his old friend Steven Spielberg. No series order yet, or suggestion Spielberg will himself helm it, but reads like production is close to kick off.

Kubrick had originally planned the film after the success of 2001 and did extensive research on the French Revolutionary leader. He had planned to film the movie across Europe, in France, the UK and Romania with around 40,000 soldiers.

At various stages David Hemmings and Jack Nicholson were set to star as the leader, who reigned between 1804 and 1814 with Audrey Hepburn set as his wife Josephine.

However, as a result of the cost of filming the release of Sergei Bondarchuk’s adaptation of War and Peace and the commercial failure of Waterloo, the film was abandoned and much of Kubrick’s work went into his 1975 film Barry Lyndon.

Spielberg has been involved since at least 2013 with the intention of turning it into a miniseries. True Detective’s Cary Joji Fukanaga was set as a director in 2016 with David Auburn, the Verve and Code Entertaiment-repped playwright behind Proof, writing.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,298 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

🤣

I love a bit of Jack. But him as Napoleon?

Fkn ell.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,445 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

The project has been in the works for a long time under Spielberg, so still a 'wait and see' if it actually transpires.

It's a safe assumption at this stage that Cary Joji Fukanaga will no longer be involved given the various allegations that have emerged.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,275 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Who Killed Captain Alex? is supposed to be hilarious. The makers will send you a signed dvd for a tenner. Must get around to ordering one myself....

Signed DVD! Who Killed Captain Alex – Wakaliwood Supa Store

Full film is on youtube too probably.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Like John Wick and hate Nazis?

*warning for blood*

• Registered Users Posts: 11,424 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

Hmmm. Guess that phase when I was a stickler for WW2 accuracy isn't gone; I'm bristling at the obviously modern Tank dressed up as something from the 1940s 😂

I saw it over the weekend at DIFF. It’s totally preposterous, and for the first half bloody good fun with a set of ludicrously gory setpieces. It lost some momentum for me in its second half though, especially with a very CG heavy finale. Couldn’t escape the sense that it was also very clearly (cynically?) designed for international commercial appeal. But there’s enough fun stuff in it to have a damn good time as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,298 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Post edited by Tony EH on

And Sizemore has passed away, age 61. That's so young these days, RIP.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,872 ✭✭✭ebbsy

At the cinema in Newbridge this evening for the 8.30pm showing of Creed 3.

There was a couple behind me with a toddler that they allowed to cry to sleep during the movie.

First time I have ever seen that.

Why would anyone bring a toddler to the cinema and is Creed not over 12s for the fights?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,872 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I think the movie is 12A ?

Ok if you are going to see Toy Story etc.

The poor child.

Some people are very selfish and don't care for others. Whatever about suitability of the film (it's debatable the toddler would understand or be able to process), it's selfish of the parents to drag a noisy toddler into a screen, disrupting others.

I'd welcome a return for academy award winner Brendan Fraser to The Mummy franchise and guilty pleasure George of the Jungle

Netflix pulls the plug on Nancy Meyers' latest movie; don't ask me why 'cos it makes no sense, but I always mix up Meyers and Nora Ephron - so had presumed the former was also dead.

Reading the headline though, I initially rolled my eyes at Netflix once more being árses - oh, but the Russo's get €200 million - but then I read the article. A budget ceiling was put of €130 million!!! With Meyers herself pushing for 150, hence the breakdown. If anyone can figure how this concept would require blockbuster money, please enlighten.

The film would have centered on a young writer-director who falls in love with a producer. The pair make several successful films before breaking up, both romantically and professionally. They are forced back together when a new, great project arises, and they find themselves having to deal with high stakes and volatile stars.

Scarlet Johansson doesn't come cheap, I'd imagine.