Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the ideal monitor size for text-based work and casual gaming?

Options
  • 06-03-2023 2:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 31,062 ✭✭✭✭

Rather than polluting the ultrawide thread with more of my nonsense I thought I'd start a new thread.

Warning: This post will be quite boring and personal.

As I've been working from home for a few years now, I've steadily optimised my working environment in terms of hardware, software and lighting. I'm possibly borderline obsessive tbh.

I used to work on a 2017 27" iMac with glossy Retina screen at 5120‑by‑2880 resolution. This is still my gold-standard for text clarity, but I now use a 32" LG at 4k (3840 x 2160). Why? Because I'm now on Linux (specifically popos, an Ubuntu variant), and although I can run Linux on the iMac it won't drive the display to full resolution, and the desktop PC I run is faster.

Linux has decent scaling options now, and I tend to run 150% scaling to keep everything a comfortable size. I've experimented with no scaling (100%) and increasing font sizes in applications, but it doesn't produce as good results as scaling the whole OS.

My viewing distance is about 70cm, which coincidentally is the width of my 32" screen.

I've experimented with my LG C2 55", and that works OK at ~120cm viewing distance. So I'm pretty sure that viewing distance = horizontal screen dimension is a good rule of thumb. Any closer than that (on either the 32" or 55") and regardless of OS scaling or font sizes, I feel myself moving away so I can see the edges of the screen without excessive head/eyeball movement.