Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FEC committee & final report - **UPDATE post 442**

• Registered Users Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Not trying to give them ideas here but if they were so worried about semi auto centrefire rifles, why are they only banning some of them and not banning them all, ie. pre 18th September 2015 safe......post 18th September 2015 unsafe. Absolute bollix. This is purely for optics. Won't stop a single 'Regency Hotel' style shooting.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 bruman

An outright ban causes more legal complications for them in terms of legal challenges etc. The grandfathering route is more simplified.

If the legislation was passed today & they said no more new licences from today & everybody who has a licence is grandfathered, there is no issue and nothing can be done about it.

But by backdating legislation 7 years, IMO, that is unconstitutional.

As far as I’m aware, you can’t backdate a law and only legal challenges will prove this.

I stand to lose a number of post 2015 licensed rifles here so I am watching things very closely and have started the initial consultation process with a solicitor experienced in this field. Nothing can be done in terms of the legals until the legislation is passed.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Correct on every point, bar maybe the fact of him being backed into a corner.What's better optics to say you had two "pro-gun" members on your committee, that you handpicked yourself, with little or no regard to protocol, interviews etc to be able to say at the end."Well, the pro-gun lobby agreed to these measures themselves! IOW openness and transparency and accountability on their selection went out the window.

The quickest way to stop this whole FEC and process now in its tracks, is simply we have to demand a high court judicial review of the FEC and how the minister chose them and demand our orgs initiate such.

As for the BS about these rifles being a danger to public safety and using international incidents...A very poor excuse as one learned DC judge once said when this was raised. "We are not in America! Or any other EU country. We are dealing with the laws of Ireland, so such comparisons are not even academic or moot!"

And this is the crux. Look at the history of this over the last decade. Both AGS/DOJ have failed to bring in this ban on SACFs or Centrefire handguns.

Failed in banning the remainder of the CF pistols because they thought IPSC was the only discipline in town

Failed in the District courts and High courts to prove that either SACFs were assault rifles and failed to prove that CF pistols had no sporting purposes.As well as showing up their own corruption by being caught out in Evidence tampering.

Failed in the Dail to convince the legislature that these firearms are a threat to the public.After a vicious and underhanded campaign of throwing shte at all types of guns and hoping something would stick. All it showed up was their incompetence in dealing with firearms licensing and the utter weakness of PULSE and the fact that the two groups of guns were involved in 0.00001% of gun crime in Ireland of the licensed groups

Failed with the EU legislation to ban semi-auto firearms. Which was never going to fly in the Union anyway, and just tacked on without ANY consultation the Mag azine ban and the banning of converted to SA-only former assault rifles. Not even giving people the option of a buyback of their now-lost private property.

So this is the only left for them to quare the pitch. Rework the firearms legislation to THEIR benefit and "modernise" it to EU standards by taking the no doubt worst aspects and give us nothing worthwhile in firearms variety or choice for this licensing no doubt.

All so some politician from some fancy lad college can make a name for himself by picking low-hanging fruit,[or so he thinks].

Not on our watch!

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭BSA International

Judicial Review? Where's the cash gonna come from to cover that?

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Rick Dalton

The junior minister overseeing this is James Brown TD for Wexford isn't that correct?

Wexford in my opinion (being a Wexican) is one of the strongest shooting counties in the country with many game conservation clubs coming under primarily the NARGC banner. Offhand I can count at least 6 gun dealers whose livelihood depends solely on their businesses as well as a gunstock maker and I am sure other indirect dependents. There is an active clay pigeon shooting scene with a number of clubs active year round.

James Brown received just over 8000 first preference votes in the last general election. Surely this contains a fair number of people involved in the shooting industry in Wexford.

NARGC or the other organization's will have their membership figures for Wexford. James Brown should immediately be written to highlighting how many of his constituents are keeping a keen eye on this review and that he will be held to account at the polls should he be seen to unjustly attack our sport and livelihoods.

The book stops with him and we hold the lobby. We have the power to wipe him out should he oversee an unjust or unfair review.

As a member of Wexford gunclub I will write to the NARGC and ask them to issue such a letter. They can dress it up a bit but the message should be clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭garrettod

@Rick Dalton

I'm amazed that the local clubs haven't done some of that stuff already, to be quite honest.

This has been going on for quite some time, and the clubs can't say that they didn't know about it.

Club members, their families, and their friends, living in his constituency, could quickly bring this muppet to heel, I'd have thought.

Thanks,

G.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

Unfortunately a lot of folks are still unaware, internal comms from the NARGC to clubs and members have been sod all regarding it, and a lot of folks are only aware of the parts that affect them, potentially more silencer and optic regulations and know nought of the other bad agenda items.

Actually, as an addendum to that, a lot of gun clubs and hunters are still not aware of the change to transport of ammunition in locked containers back in 2019. And that is something that directly affects them, and something the NARGC was going to issue a "robust response" to the minister at the time.

Still waiting on that response lol

And not tarring just the NARGC, several of the big orgs are extremely bad at communicating pertinent matters to their members, which I suspect is a holdover from the backroom deals era but is rather ill advised at this stage given those deals never amounted to anything productive from what I can see.

Post edited by otmmyboy2 on

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

Haven't listened to this yet, but Irish Hunting Podcast on the FEC and legislation with the head of the NARGC:

https://open.spotify.com/episode/4w2HqdnRiC1kQqpAJronxQ

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

Yup that is a problem alright.But it is the only option to stop this here and now,and probably get the current FEC disbanded and slow or stop this. Once it is in the Dail and being debated,there is little or no chance of much being changed. Choice is now,some pain in our collective pockets,or a lot of pain in further legislation?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Feisar

Silly question regarding the locked boxes for ammo transport. I got no letter saying my obligations had changed and generally people don't go looking up current legislation every other day or at all for that matter. Only for here I wouldn't have known. I appreciate ignorance is of the law is no defence however it is unreasonable to expect people to be looking up laws every other day. For a simplistic example why do we have speed limit signs on motorways, sure we all know it's 120kmph.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

You might want to check again about speed limits on motorways. I can tell you, from experience, that speed limits on M1, M50 and M3 are NOT ALWAYS 120kmph. As an example of new laws or interpretations, if you exit the Port Tunnel, unless you are in the right hand lane, you are considered to be on the M50, and M50 local rules apply to you, i.e. on ramp/off ramp/airport access and 80kmph rule. Money maker for PTB

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

I get where you are coming from, and in a sane, rational country or reality even I would completely agree, how were you to know that a minute change was made in a piddly little piece of law that no-one but law nerds and the doj ever have anything to do with?

But unfortunately the reasoning from the PTB will be that "ignorance of the law is no excuse". Exceedingly stupid, a complete fallacy, and particularly since most FOs didn't hear about it til months after the legislation was in force how is a reasonable normal person expected to know? The only hope you would have with regards to not knowing a law had changed would be the judge taking that factor into account during sentencing, but that is really not a place you want to be relying on such an individual's whim.

Irish solution to an Irish problem, as usual. Push the onus onto the segment who can't/won't fight back, who are also the ones on the hook legally.

Exact same as firearm renewals when you think about it, if your licence expires, even if you have a renewal in, you are in possession of an unlicenced firearm, legally speaking, and all the penalties and consequences that entails.

In real day to day terms it is ignored by AGS so long as your application is in as they are usually the reason you haven't got your new licence yet, but at the end of the day, legally, you are still on the hook and they are not.

It is utterly ridiculous, pathetically stupid, and sadly the case in many aspects of our law, not just firearms.

There's no doubt that the communication from the NARGC and all other relevant groups has been very poor - but there is enough of us here, to start making a racket across other social media, and to also give our club committees a bit of hassle, and then to encourage our friends and family to do the same, and then spread the word further, so actions are repeated by our fellow licence holders.

You can be sure as hell that everyone reading this, would pass it on to their friends and family, if it was a way to get a free pint, or a free fiver etc. :-(

I agree with Grizz, we should be tackling this now, not after the horse has bolted, and some nobody Jnr. Minister has just circulated a document around the Dail, about restricting laws in relation to firearms!

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Feisar

Correct and right, I was just looking for a generic type example.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 39 bruman

Perfect analogy of the current situation;

Government announce in 2015 that they intend to ban diesel cars.

Fast forward to 2023, government announce they are banning diesel cars and that they will not permit any diesel cars registered after 2015 to be taxed, thus rendering them illegal to use on the roads.

Same thing as is happening with the SA CF. It it happened with diesel cars, there would be absolute uproar.

I see things are very slowly starting to come to life, across social media, regarding this issue - far from being at the level that they need to be at, but everyone can help raise awareness, and encourage others to do the same!

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭judestynes

Having read the minutes from the FEC meetings so far I have noted the DOJ and AGS have on several occasions brought in SME's from the Garda tech bureau and the NPWS. Why haven't the shooting org representative's brought in SME's to counter the states points?

That is the 10 million dollar question!I'm starting to wonder are those two being "leant " on somehow?Or are they just like a pair of deer caught in the ministerial spotlight?

I'd suggest a strong alcoholic beverage to accompany listening to that. You will need it, or have a shot every time you hear Dan say something that he should have been well briefed up on before going on this podcast or should have been well aware of happening months ago in his capacity of head of NARGC!

What, you mean like, eh, getting an exclusive training contract, for example?

Nah, surely that would mean that the individual had a conflict of interest, so should not be on the committee :-)

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭J.R.

FURG

'We have been informed today Thursday 16.3.2023 by the Department of Justice, that they will not meet us, and they are going to produce their Report without any input from us or indeed any ‘user’.

NARGC sent this letter to all TD's and Senators yesterday.

They said that they have received some good feedback on it so far.

Thanks for info. Good to see NARGC getting 'stuck in' 😉.

Have emailed TD's in my area. Waiting on replies.

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭kunekunesika

Thanks for the update. Seems to be a clear message.

Thanks for sharing that.

To say that I'm absoutely livid, after reading it, is an understatement - we clearly have a little dictator on our hands, and he needs to be stopped, quickly.

I think everyone needs to be sending emails, making phonecalls, and paying visits, to their local FF politicans, and telling them in no uncertain terms, that we'll actively campaign against every FF candidate to ever stand in our constituencies, unless this little upstart is brought under control.

Same thing then for the FG politicans in our constituencies, given they have the actual Minister for Justice portfolio.

Thanks,

G.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Here is a site where every TD is listed by county.

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/members/

Need to give every one of the FF members hell, then quickly move on to the FG'ers...

It needs to be very clear to them, that James Brown will be responsible for them losing their jobs, at the next election, if they don't put a stop to him, now.

No more playing "Mr Nice Guy", as the more we do that, the more we get walked on...

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭J.R.

The "Irish Hunting Podcast" has sent a letter to their local TD's and have shared the letter wording on Facebook, for anybody to use/modify if they so wish.