Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You've been looking in the wrong direction, the dangers are coming from the right.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,065 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Ah ok. You're trying to pretend well known far right activists Gemma O'Doherty, Ross Lahive, Jana Lunden, Philip Dwyer are not organising people to harass librarians.

No lies here. As I said far right activists are harassing librarians to ban books.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,291 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Tell me how threadbanned

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Look at Georgia, the Georgian Dream party, affiliated to the Party of European Socialists grouping in the EU parliament has had to roll back legislation that the people viewed as a Pro Russian stunt.

Look at Cuba, North Korea, China all stepping up to help Russia.

Look at Scholz continuously prevaricating and rolling back on arms, the great work of the Swiss left Govt in blocking ammunition, same with Lula in Brazil.

The solidarity for Russia from Serbia's left PM, the internationalism of the Croatian President fighting tank deliveries to Ukraine and on and on.

It's a short list of Socialist leaders in Europe who non committal or support Ukraine.

We have seen the "peace movement" across Europe, organized by the radical left and Ukrainians been ran off the streets by them for waving Yellow and Blue.

The left in Europe has really stood up to the challenge and helped Russia. I think they are wrong to do it but I accept the courage of their convictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭crusd

2010 wants its talking points back. BCC is not what it was and are now falling over themselves to both sides issues irrespective of actual facts.

Also. Gary Lineker is not the BBC, he was not talking on the BBC and is allowed a personal opinion. The right however are only interested in free speech once it’s their speech

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭BoxcarWilliam99

The left are only interested in the importance of free speech when it's their right to free speech that is being restricted or punished.

See we can do it too.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,502 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I'm sorry, the left is objecting to Lineker in the UK?

Likewise, the left are the ones that persuaded the UK to split the Attenborough documentary and show the controversial bits on iPlayer?

And, when the Nazis marched in Skokie, IL back in the day, it was the ACLU that defended them. Remind me, they're on the right?

Well, Lineker attacked the language being used. The right wing pile in is not on what Lineker said it’s on his right to hold an opinion at all. “Only a footballer” “who is he to comment”. One side tends to attack the argument the other the individual.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Nosler

We all know that freedom of speech is only allowed if you express certain viewpoints...

If Gary was against immigration or multiculturalism he wouldnt have got a job with the BBC....

Everyone that works for a large corporation or council etc knows that you simply cannot express some opinions without losing your job

I think non European immigration is a disaster for Ireland and the rest of Europe. I think it will lead to civil war in Europe. However if I express that opinion I could get called into Human Resources and lose my job.

That's because your employer can do whatever they want wrt to your behaviour at work. Feel free to express your feelings; at work, or elsewhere, there might be consequences.

As far as the right-wing UK government goes, with the insidious relationship with the BBC highlighted by a loan to the sitting PM ffs, that's clearly a right-wing threat to free speech. Couldn't be more obvious, really.

You just expressed that opinion here. Do you expect HR to follow up on what you post on boards in your own time?

And - Andrew Neil was employed by the BBC for years but has now moved on to the even more liberal Channel 4.

The believe persists that BBC etc are biased against right wing viewpoints because they don’t air half baked fantasy shite like Fox or the daily mail. They are in fact just biased in favour of reality

The saddest thing about Fox is they openly admit to lying being part of their business strategy. The more lucrative the lies, the better. Direction comes from Murdoch - what do you think his other properties do? Rupert's no dummy, knows it's not a red/blue or labour/tory issue - it's about the greens.

And people just will lap this up. I think those "Nigeria 409" scammers pioneered this, the 'I am an ex general, send me $10,000 and I'll tell you where we buried the gold' stuff. There's a fair complement of people who absolutely believe this and can't be stopped from sending the money.

Well, smooth it out and call it "Woke persecution!" or "CRT!" or "Schroedinger's economic immigrants traveling our dinghies and taking away our jobs while on the Dole" and it's the same thing.

I think people are generally unhappy and the media, especially the right-wing media like Murdoch enterprises, provides them with more and more to make them unhappy, in order to lap up the $$. The left does, too, though I don't see it embracing and encouraging their staff to out and out lie.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

Lefties: "The far right culture wars from the US are being pushed in Ireland from organisations with money behind them!!"

Meanwhile....far right are consistently rejected at the polls.....we had people protesting in Dublin during the pandemic to support a man killed in another country....we had politicians like Ruth Coppinger try and make George Nkencho our George Floyd....we had teens being dispersed by guards on a beach in Galway during the pandemic shout and scream about 'police brutality'......we have 'Drag Queen Story Time' events being held in libraries here...we have multi nationals shoving leftist ideologies in their employees faces (who then support them for the coin).

• Registered Users Posts: 17,998 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The far right being consistently rejected in the polls doesnt make the original claim false, there's a good reason the likes of the Iona group and Youth Defense never opened up their books for audit and that's because they very likely were heavily funded by donations from US anti abortion groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

No one ever cares about leftist organizations getting funding from America though?

Sinn Fein got 1m in funding from America last year. No one minds that.

Yes but they declared it because legally they had to. Iona and youth defence hide their donations, nothing illegal about that as they arent political parties but the only reason to hide those things is if you are ashamed or afraid of where they come from.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

I think it's more so the bit about the 'why' you think that which leads to trouble with employers. People saying that immigration can be problematic if not handled well and pointing out rational demonstrable downsides is not from what I can see something which is going to cost you your job. But if you're going to come along and say something like "it's going to cause a civil war" then you're moving into an extremity that I imagine would need to have something underlying it which other people might take as extreme.

That's all the more so when you actually consider the relative stability and harmony of Western Europe over the past number of decades — "despite" free movement, Schengen and immigration — and compare that to less than 100 years ago when the worst wars and civil wars were being fought between 'homegrown' white Europeans. So even on a basis of identifying a trend, your view seems a bit extreme.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Started by the a*seclown who harasser that Ukrainian charity shop on Youtube? After getting his coin in Canada.

But, sure, nothing to see here, just some lads taking the p*ss. Just move on.

From Florida:

Man. No shame, banning "The Lorax" and "Hop on Pop." Books from this elderly boardsie's childhood.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

On that topic, I'd be very interested to know who's funding John McGurk's souped up blog, Gript.

Agreed nothing to see here

No Hitler support

No antisemite attacks against Tommy Robinson

No homophobic and racist attacks against Leo Varadkar

No threats to drag 160 TDs out of Leinster House

No threats to shoot Ukrainians with bullets in Dublin

No discussion about Ireland First needing guns

No threats to carpet bomb recent rally in Dublin.

Nothing to see 😶

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Interesting they appear to be aware they need to present a reasonable face to the public if they are ever to achieve mainstream success. But if the activist core is made up of members of that Telegram group, or others of like mind, that's never gonna fly. Won't be any need to wait for the mask to slip, it'll be practically transparent from day one...

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭BoxcarWilliam99

Nowadays people buy them online and they are shipped in parts over many months.

"Any decisions made must benefit the people of Ireland and the nation as a whole. Does this mean you have to be born in Ireland? No!

First and foremost, Ireland belongs to the Irish people.

Ireland First welcomes sensible immigration that doesn't overburden our economy and security. Our new residents are expected to contribute, integrate and respect Irish heritage, values, traditions and society.

Heritage of new residents should not infringe on the heritage of Ireland.

Nobody can expect accommodations contrary to Irish values..."

• Registered Users Posts: 14,215 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

so who are the sides fighting in this civil war?

Id bet willing to be heavily its gets funding from the same places the likes of Spiked in the UK get, the Kochs et al

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 12,703 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Nothing to do with Ireland and probably staged by some woke far left Librarian with purple hair take it to your usual Biden/Trump threads

• Registered Users Posts: 12,703 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Yeah you do know they take subscriptions from readers.

I'd be more interested on who is funding far left grifters like Mark Malone, the beacon Leah Doherty probably funded as NGO's and funded by our taxes.

Terry Pratchet