Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Always wanted to start a business, but I’m short on ideas

Options
  • 20-03-2023 11:27am
    Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭

Firstly I’d just like to state: I’m well aware I am going about this backwards.

I have no idea.

I’m a recent Business graduate in my mid 20s working in Supply Chain in the Foods Sector.

I have no real skills - so short of offering guitar lessons I don’t know what I bring to the table,

The industry I’m in is heavily regulated with insurmountable start up costs, so using what (little) industry insights I have isn’t really practical.

I enjoy my job and I’m learning a lot, if I was to start something it would be outside of Business hours.

so where does that leave me?

Short of starting a passion project of sorts (YouTube/TikTok), I don’t know what I can do to scratch that itch.

How did you go about it? How would you recommend someone in my predicament goes about it?

Should I be looking to learn a separate skill of sorts?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭n.d.os

I think unless you have a very particular skill, it can be hard to start a business and do well with it. The best businesses are always service based as they require very little money to start up and run. It's fun to start a business outside of your 9-5. These were the most enjoyable years for me. If you think guitar lessons are the way to go, maybe you should do that for a few years and build up some income to open a music shop or a music lessons school. Once you have saved enough money from the lessons, it's easier to get started.