Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Football League 2023

• Registered Users Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

They need to be more competitive in next years League. Playing in the Tailteann this year might or might not help. There is a bit of extra motivation for players in that the winners get into the Sam Maguire in 2024, but it could go the way of the Tommy Murphy, with counties and players losing interest. The second tier idea has had a poor record.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Kildare vs Meath is now a qualification match because 6th place is heading for the Tailteann Cup because Westmeath are not getting promoted.

Is it not the promoted teams from Div 3 that are heading to the TC rather than Kildare or Meath.

I take it you mention Westmeath because they won the TC last year and get an automatic slot in the Sam McGuire.

If that is the case then the runner up in Div 3 (i.e the second promoted team to Div 2) gets bumped.

But you also have the case where Sligo, Leitrim or London will get to the Connacht final, thus bumping the winner of Div 3.

Kildare and Meath are safe unless another Div 3 or 4 team reach a provincial final.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,347 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Ya you are right it's the runner up in D3 who lose their place to Westmeath. I completely forgot about the promoted sides.

Malachy Clerkin has a scenario where Kildare (or Meath?) could be out of the Sam, unless they get to the Leinster Final?

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2023/02/27/format-change-means-kildare-in-the-tailteann-cup-is-far-from-impossible/

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭TipsyMcStagge

Brilliant fair play I've been trying to figure out what way it works all day so Kildare and Meath are safe unless a division 3 or 4 team gets to either the Munster Leinster or Ulster finals.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Treble double

So what, none of the two of them have a snowballs chance in hell of winning the All Ireland anyway. I would also add that I wouldn't fancy either of them to win the Tailteann.

Kildare people saying they would rather be in the Tailteann than the Sam, is up there with the Roscommon manager saying he was glad that Monaghan beat them.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Not sure about the other provinces but all it would take in Munster is Clare beating Cork in the opening round.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Westmeath's Tailteann cup spot was already accounted for, so the only way for 6th in Div 2. not to make Sam Maguire is if a Division 3 or 4 team reaches a provincial final. You'd need some unlikely results like Clare beating Cork or Cavan beating both Armagh and Donegal for that to happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Those results wouldn't be a massive surprise imo

• Registered Users Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

RTE interview.

Roscommon manager Davy Burke has said that one grain of solace from Sunday's defeat to Monaghan is the fact that nobody will be talking about their winning streak anymore.

Despite being considered as possible relegation candidates before the start of the 2023 Allianz Football League season, wins over Galway, Tyrone and Armagh saw talk instead turn to a potential Division 1 final appearance.

Those ambitions were tempered by the 0-14 to 0-11 loss in Clones, and for Burke that’s not entirely a bad thing.

"There’s a lot of talk, a lot of unwarranted talk. We’re a good, hard-working team, we’ve decent players, but we need to turn up every day and do it," Burke told RTÉ Sport.

"I’m glad that whatever that run was, [it] is over now, to be honest with you."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Is the Connacht final not guaranteed to have a Division 3/4 team in it?

• Registered Users Posts: 447 ✭✭eastie17

Yes it is

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭TipsyMcStagge

It is but they take the spot of the top team in Division 3

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Yes, that and Westmeath's spot from winning the Tailteann Cup use up 2 of the 16 Sam Maguire spots. This leaves 14 spots, 7 for provincial finalists and 7 from the league.

Though realistically most if not all of the 7 provincial finalist spots will be held by taken by teams who finish high up in the league and so the spots will shunt downwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

GAA best format competition drawing to a exciting finish.

Div 1 who can join Mayo in the final anyone of Roscommon, Tyrone, Galway, Kerry could?

Relegation Donegal 99.9% down already and one of Armagh, Monaghan will join them. Can the latter provide the great escape again? It's possible against a Mayo team starting 7 lads making their first starts this year (all sure to be rusty)

Two games of interest in Division 2 are Louth v Dublin basically a promotion play off and Kildare v Meath whereby the loser will end up in the Tailteann Cup if Cavan or Clare reach their provincial final.

Div 3 Fermanagh need to get something in Breffni Park or Offaly can claim promotion instead of them.

Promotion play off between Leitrim and Sligo in Div 4 with Wicklow looking likely to also claim promotion thanks mostly to that win again Laois

A Pity all games are on at roughly the same time on Sunday. HQ could easily have scheduled half for tomorrow evening with more TV or GAAGO coverage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Always_Running

He was referring to the run Roscommon was on. I believe it was 11 league games unbeaten and hadn't lost for two years. He felt such a run was getting unwanted media attention for his honest hard working bunch of players. Of course no manager would be happy when they lose but that was the blessing in disguise he was trying to take out of the defeat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

It is the best format competition. It'll make it tricky if they had to tamper with it.

The All-Ireland championship could be 4 groups of 5. It would give all teams 2 home games and 2 away games. To expand the championship groups would have to go in tandem with reducing the league by 2 rounds.

Football could cater for 2 groups of 6 in Division 1, being more competitive than hurling. Everyone understandably will be reluctant to change the league.

This weekend is a huge missed opportunity.

We have the climax of the best intercounty competition we have, but all of the games are on at more or less at the same (between 1 and 2pm starts.

There is no rugby on, no EPL, so nothing on TV sport as such on all weekend. They could have Division 3 and 4 finish today, and Div 1 and 2 tomorrow, or some combination to make games accessible. There is an extra hour daylight tomorrow afternoon, so one set of games could start at 1 and the other at 3pm,to allow for tv coverage and people could go to their own game and watch another none. There are make or break games in every division that would make good tv viewing.

Hype the **** out of it, the championship is only 3 weeks away! Great chance to claim back the airwaves and the public's attention after the egg chasers had a free run in recent weeks.

Great opportunity missed.

Assuming that the TV audience would not be too interested in football Divisions 3 and 4, you are going to have 4 games in Division 1 which have to start at the same time, and the same for Division 2.

TG4 have chosen Galway v Kerry as their live game, with deferred coverage of Dublin v Louth. In between there is live coverage of Kilkenny v Cork in hurling. If coverage was being switched to RTE 2, all the games in a Division would have to be played on Saturday. Your choice for what games should be shown, would not match everyone else. People in England can cope with 10 Premiership games being on at the same time on the final day of their league.

No rugby exept RTE are showing Ireland Womens 6N and Munster and TG4 are showing Connacht at the times you mentioned.

And with the 2 slots taken tomorrow it doesn't leave much time.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,771 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

If Cavan are good enough to beat Armagh then they would have every chance against Donegal, who are not in great shape right now.

While Cork are doing better this year, Clare could beat them. After all Cork will be in the AI series anyway and beating Clare will only mean a later beating by Kerry in Munster.

Assuming....

Why be so unambitious?

Hype it. There is live feeds coming back to RTÉ/TG4 during all these games. Select one game in the given division, say the winner takes all Sligo Leitrim game in D4, show it live with inserts of other games taking place at the same time here and there..... oh, look, a goal in this game here so and so and show the goal quickly before returning to the main game. If you have to show D3 and 4 together to make up a show then do, but be ambitious and give it go.

If the product can't compete with feckin minority sports like women's rugby and Celtic league rugby then God help us all! Ambition and creativity is what's needed.... Stream it free as a once off if the channels don't want to show it, promote the sh1t out of it and and take them heads on!

I would say go to a match, and enjoy that experience. If you need to know what is happening elsewhere, easy to keep in touch. Just me, but that is what I normally do, and watch the highlights Sunday night.

Gaelic Football might be bigger than rugby but Leitrim is not bigger than Munster. Most people are not like fans dedicated enough to be here on a forum and won't watch a match that is not their team so viewership would be tiny.

But far more importantly than that it's not how TV rights work. RTE and TG4 are not gonna win the rights to anything anymore if they undermine a sport by sticking another sport on at the same time. Rugby have a deal and sells it's advertising based on that deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,824 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I was just wondering in general what posters think about the lower rated team (based on previous five years performance) being given the option of home advantage. Just thinking of Dublin v Louth for example. If it was played in Louth instead of Dublin suddenly the match would have a different feel to it. And Louth would have a much better chance IMO.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

No it's a league you get your home games and away games.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,824 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

But it is not really a home/away league is it? The teams don't play each other twice. I was just thinking from a neutral perspective. If the bigger team is not going great they wouldn't relish having to travel to a small tight provincial ground. With draw in neutrals as well as adds to novelty and potential of upset. That is what I was thinking anyway.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.