Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryan Tubridy to step down from Late Late role when season ends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,928 ✭✭✭sporina

i hope they pick the right person for the job - regardless of gender..

hope its not Claire Byrne., too serious.. but I don't think she will go for it anyway.. work life balance and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Absolutely no way will RTE ever can the Late Late Show. It's an Irish institution with the cachet of being the longest running chat show in the world. Aside from that it's a brand name with a locked in audience of at least several hundred thousand viewers most weeks. Under Tubridy, RTE really went hard on maximizing ad revenue to the extent that between frequent and long ad breaks and the host endlessly pushing sponsored products and text-in cash give-aways, anyone would think the show only existed to print €50 notes for RTE!

It'll be very interesting to see which way it goes with a new host. The decision I think they will have to make now is, do they try to steer the show back to it's roots in Gay Byrne's time ie a more rounded show with serious panel debates and serious interviews that go way beyond the misery porn dross served up over the last 14 years, or do they double down on the Turbridy formula of parochial paddywhackery and just hope a new face can refloat this stricken vessel and chart a new course for calmer waters.

IMHO, they should go with the former. The Tubridy era has proven that Ireland can no longer command an interesting international lineup of chatshow guests with any regularity. Any Irish chatshow is scraping the barrel on a weekly basis. So instead of death, doom and gloom and instead of Declan Nerney and Nathan Carter on repeat, play to your strengths and choose a host that is comfortable with the lighter stuff but who can do interesting and thought provoking interviews which are compelling to watch. It would be nice to see a host in the mold of Gaybo or Michael Parkinson again, ie someone who is not awestruck or intimidated by their guests and who goes in well prepared to try to peel back the facade all these people erect around themselves.

I don't hold out much hope for a good choice because the people making the decisions know that a lack of quality doesn't necessarily correlate with poor viewing figures. That's how the last 14 years lasted so long. We can live in hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,446 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

One night a week shouldn't kill her.

It's a hospital pass anyway whoever gets it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,909 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

They would need to have a backup in place for CB too, she never works her radio show when the kids are off on holiday's from school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭bmc58

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭techman1

Looks like Daithi O Shea is in strong contention now, I think Claire Byrne will also rule herself out, He is the only one so far that said he is up for it. I just noticed on the St Patricks parade presentation he seemed to be the man, the only one that was in his comfort zone doing it. I know some are saying it has to be a woman but there are no real female contenders apart from Clare Byrne. I think all this it has to be a woman is just going through the motions so it appears that they really tried to get a woman for it but alas to no avail

Also he is succesful at presenting the Rose of Tralee which is almost like a necessary qualification given that Gay Byrne and a Ryan Tubridy did it (albeit briefly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Yes but the viewing demographic is steadily aging and on the way out. As it stands RTE are presiding over a show in terminal decline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,086 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Somebody on social media suggested Bob Geldof.

BOB GELDOF!

#carcrashtvpassthepopcorn

• He could interview Oliver Callan in his guises as other guests, they could take turns at it, the Toy Man could be kept going too, and back to being Gaybo for nostalgia… except I believe they do t get on with each other.

• He was a contender after Gaybo, my mother in her late 80s asked “who is he anyway, never heard of him?” so although he’d be an able and competent host they were playing it safe with somebody in-house who they had already reared & nurtured.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Need to have ability to do more than read off an autocue ...

He's pleasant and has the grace to laugh at himself .

But no great wit or interview technique.

Mind you , could be talking about RT there as well.

Dara O'Briain , Deirdre O' Kane and/ or Patrick Kielty .

Wit , humour, gravitas and clever enough to be able to conduct interviews without boring the pants off/ embarrassing everybody .

This guy is extremely popular with the target demographic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Alfonso Massive Scholarship

This - im in mid 30s and hardly anyone my age bracket 18-40 wouldn't watch it, - most in that demographics would either be out doing something else or watching something on netflix/disney/other streaming service and honestly i couldnt name a person in the RTE "circle" who the younger demographic of Ireland would give an actual **** about

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Yes, Ronan comes across surprisingly well on The One Show. Nice relaxed manner about him. He’s doing a much better job of it than Angela Scanlon. She got loads of opportunities but she’s just not up to it, something fake about her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,487 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Would co-presenting work for the LLS ?

What sort of format would it be, one for serious stuff and the other for music and celebrities ?

I'd be open to the idea but it's been a single presenter for so long it's hard imagine it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,305 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

That crossed my mind too. If you had two people who worked well together, it would be a nice change of gear, for the show.

I think it's a bit of a poisoned chalice but would love to see someone completely new, possibly from the UK (although I can't think who, offhand) take it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,928 ✭✭✭sporina

Mario - perfect solution - he can do both male and female etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,302 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,251 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

How about Nadine Coyle? I wonder would she move back to Ireland if she was offered The Late Late Show?

I think she would be good at it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Well if the cringeworthy shambles they turned Drivetime into-NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

If I were to talk about Daithi O'Se doing TLLS. It would give him a great amount of days off if he were to leave his current role from the Today show in Cork. His work schedule while doing The Today is quite strenous.

I think he said in some RTÉ show some years back that he goes down from Galway to Cork by Bus to do the Today Show. He stays in Cork for a few nights and than goes back home to the wife in Galway for the weekend.

It could be a big win for him to not frequently travel down to Cork every week to do the Today show. But would he be very committed to doing the late late show in Dublin if the job was offered to him?

I am just wondering with TLLS being one of the biggest presenting jobs in the country. Does Daithi or anyone else who will get the role have to regularly be present in Dublin to take part in frequent production meetings in Montrose about who could go on as a guest on the late late every week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,641 ✭✭✭squonk

That kind of meeting sounds like a talking shop so could easily be handled by zoom or similar. From what you’re saying though even if he traveled up in the Wednesday and back home in the Saturday it’s still be a big win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,171 ✭✭✭screamer

Dave Fanning, just stepped away from his radio show, lots of interview experience, can fill in any slots where guests don’t show on his own. Yep the DAFLATE show, has a nice ring to it.

On a serious note I wouldn’t rule out Mary Kennedy, ould ones and ould lads love her

Una Healy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,446 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why was he on on a Saturday afternoon?

They're genuinely clueless and on a mission to shread anything left resembling talent.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,305 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

It would be good to see then try something like rotating presenters on, say, a monthly basis. Keep them somewhat on their toes, that it's not anyone's show simply because they are in the right place at the right time like Tubridy was.

Not that it makes much difference to me since I don't watch it anyway, not since Tubridy took over. I would say some of the names being mentioned are more than comfortable with their existing highly paid slots and have no intention of jeopardising those.

I thought Tubridy would hang in there forever, I am surprised that he is leaving. I bet he is promised some cushy job to 'make up his hours' so that he still gets handed that ridiculous salary. Crazy stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Caquas

Here's an idea - let's give the job to someone who knows there's a problem and has a plan to fix it.

The LLS will continue its slow death if they give it to someone who gushes "...the greatest honour of my life... stepping into the shoes of broadcasting legends, ... the hallowed space of Studio One, blah, blah, blah." Anyone who says "longest running TV show in the history of the world" should be taken out back and shot - not so much for a brazen lie (does anyone in RTÉ actually believe that old canard🤨) but for thinking that this is a great achievement when they really should think "this station's management is so lacking in vision that it has been unable to kill off a moribund show".

LLS has been stagnating for over a decade and its ratings have plummeted. It thrived in an era when it had a virtual monopoly and serious issues had to be sugar-coated because we were easily shocked (Lesbian Nuns!). It has to find a new formula fit for the flagship programme of our national broadcaster. Late night chat shows in America used to mix the serious and the light. A history of the Sixties in America could be produced relying solely on material from the Dick Cavett Show, and to some extent his show influenced that history. A similar claim could be made for Ireland and the LLS under Gaybo.

Tubridy's announcement (jumped or pushed?) made headlines but the problem for the LLS is it no longer makes real headlines. Who was the last guest to spark a national debate on the LLS? Vicky Phelan made a powerful impact but the LLS was following that scandal, not leading the debate. Politicians have become so guarded that they never say anything interesting. The Taoiseach rushed out an apology last week for a bland, off-the-cuff remark about his time as an intern in Washington. He must have got a spanking from his media minders.

Laura Noonan has a good piece in the IT about chat shows and the problem of getting high-profile guests. Even the Hollywood stars filming in Ireland don't show up for the LLS these days because 

the allotted publicity period will arrive months after they’ve returned the keys to their Dalkey rental.

A good host can get an entertaining interview out of unpromising guests but that requires wit and spontaneity which were never in evidence from the three LLS hosts. Tommy Tiernan is at least trying in that direction. It is embarrassing to compare the A-List couch that Graham Norton assembles each week with the collection of recycled C-listers which Tubridy has to work with. And Norton has wit and charm to burn. Here's some early advice he got about chat-show guests

Does RTÉ have any strategy for developing talent? In a well-run station, there would be a pool of young presenters cutting their teeth on chat shows in the afternoon and late-night (yeah, like late, late. RTÉ used to go to bed at 9.30🤣 ). Instead, these shows have eternal presenters slowly turning geriatric before our eyes (I'll apologise tomorrow to all those who take offence at this unscripted remark 😎.) That leaves so few opportunities that they have to be reserved for Nepo babies like Lottie.

Never forget that Gaybo started the RTÉ gravy-train by threatening to go to Britain. They should have organised his farewell party but instead they doubled his salary. Which RTÉ "star" has made it big elsewhere? I can't think of any since Orla Guerin who left in the early 1990s (after she became a victim of a nasty media slur.) The end result is that RTÉ can't go abroad to lure home real talent which might resuscitate the LLS.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

Nah they're not gonna give it to someone who hasn't earned their crust in RTE.

McInernly is very new to RTE. Does he loyalty lay to RTE? Or could she jump ship if she does well and Virgin offer her a bucket of cash. That would be embarrassing for RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

Nah Daithi won't take it. He gets to work from Cork during the day where the content is aimed at grannies. He'd have to do a bit of work if he did the LLS.