Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do people stlll have radios In the house ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Butson

Had a Google Home but recently went back to the FM radio in the kitchen.

Actually nice not having yet another connected device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,526 ✭✭✭✭L1011

There is no functional emergency broadcast system in this country; the 'test' of one many years ago was 100% manual intervention and relied on a satellite service that ceased many, many years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I have that but it’s not bringing in any radio stations?

Would love to take it out from storage as you said, the sound is brilliant.

I have the kitchen radio on all day, morning to evening and also leave it ion for the dog when I’m out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I used to listen to it a lot in my teens. I had a Sharp clock radio in my room, and I'd listen to Radio 2/2 FM at night doing my homework. One of my abiding memories of studying for my Inter cert was hearing "Oh Mary" by The 4 Of Us over and over and over and over. My mother used to have the radio on in the kitchen all the time when I was growing up, mainly Radio 1, and my dad would listen to Radio Nova and Atlantic 252 in the car all though our childhood.

In my later teens I started getting into music that just wasn't played on the radio - metal, punk, hardcore, rap, industrial, experimental. There was a pirate station in Dublin called Alice's Restaurant that used to play a lot of alternative stuff, so we'd listen to that a bit, but even then my musical tastes weren't really being catered for. So I just spent all my money on records and CDs and blank tapes to copy other people's records and CDs, and just got our of the habit of turning on the radio. For years, all though my 20s when I was living with friends, I just never encountered a radio being on, except in a shop. We'd have our own music playing constantly.

About 20 years ago (when I was 30), I got a job in a very small company. It was just me and a husband and wife, who were older than me, in a small singled room office. They had the radio on all day. Between the inane chatter, the jingles, the same bland songs being played on every show, the "hilarious banter", the angry callers - it just absolutely melted my head. I couldn't wear headphones because it would be anti-social when you're in a room with just your bosses, and anyway it wouldn't have blocked out the radio. So I had to endure it. After 3 months I left that job for a better one in a bigger company, and there was no radio.

And to this day, I just can't stand the radio. I can't stand the music they play, I can't stand the ridiculous, cringy ads. I can't stand how they talk over the music I can't stand. I detest the fake cheery banter of breakfast shows. I absolutely cannot abide call-in shows. I even can't stand the bassy, warm, close tone of the news readers. I just can't deal with it. When I hear a radio on, all I can think of is all the other things I could be listening to, including silence.

You know that Larry David quote:

Hear the birds? Sometimes I like to pretend that I'm deaf and I try to imagine what it's like not to be able to hear them. It's not that bad.

I'm like that, but with radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I am aware that the Germans do have an emergency broadcast system on DAB+. The radio comes on automatically as long as it has batteries or is plugged in. Most likely Switzerland has a similar system. I am not aware if the UK even has one?

https://www.worlddab.org/public_document/file/1451/DAB__Emergency_warning_factsheet.pdf?1635785305

In Switzerland and Germany they also send automatic text messages to cell phones which are in a certain area with emergency messages. It's called KATWARN and NINA.

https://www.bbk.bund.de/EN/Home/home_node.html

https://www.bbk.bund.de/DE/Warnung-Vorsorge/Warn-App-NINA/warn-app-nina_node.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,081 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Oooo that's nice, going to try track one down for my new houses kitchen.

Although maybe it is nicer these days just asking Alexa to play Classic Hits or Radio Nova aswell though.

I have a vast mp3 and FLAC music collection and I do listen to 90% of my music that way on my various mp3 players and DAPs but I still think there's something way more satisfying about catching a random good tune on the radio than calling it up from a menu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,179 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

I am a bit older than the specified age range and I am a longtime radio anorak (and ex pirate broadcaster).

Not surprising so, that I have a large collection of radio receivers, dating from a 1927 crystal set, to a modern DAB and samples of each technical development in between (valves, transistors, internet, scanners, communication receivers). These days I use them occasionally to demonstrate their operation to young people, but in recent years, I have noticed that they are less and less familiar with the concept of listening to any form of radio. Their minds are blown when they hear of radio stations on ships, or when every village in Ireland had it's own local illegal radio station.

Even when I was involved with Dublin commercial radio in the early 2000's, I didn't believe the high listenership figures reported for radio in general that the JNLR survey produced, in the past decade in particular and working with young people, I am even more convinced that, unfortunately, traditional broadcast radio, has seen it's best days. The general responses to this thread would back up my assumption... even more so for the younger population, the people who used to be the potential future audience for radio.

I live in a radio shadow spot in Wicklow, so active listening these days is mainly online - sometimes to internet only stations but often to local/national broadcast stations that can not be received directly off air in my location. In the olden days, some specialised equipment and a degree of technical knowledge was needed to listen to radio from foreign lands, on short wave - these days it has never been easier through internet and phone app devices, but despite that being the case, the interest in doing so has faded, like the signals used to.

I still use a portable medium wave radio to tune into the once monthly Radio Caroline broadcasts from the last remaining pirate radio ship, Ross Revenge, on 1368 Khz (219 meters in old money), from the 20 Kw transmitter at Manx Radio on the Isle of Man.

https://www.radiocaroline.co.uk/#manx_info.html

In winter (when the signal carries further) I will also check out Radio Caroline's own 4Kw AM service on 648Khz, originating at the once secret UK military research site at Orfordness.

https://www.derelictplaces.co.uk/threads/orford-ness-military-base-awre-and-orfordness-transmitting-station-may-2020.38084/

I also have a 'Summit Freeplay' wind up (and solar) radio, in case of the alien invasion or zombie apocalypse and I have a radio transmitter and antenna on standby (old habits die hard) - when the aliens or zombies attack, someone still has to be able to call up the Americans for a bit of firepower, like they always do in the movies :)

It is inevitable that times change and technology and attitudes move on, but I do think it is a pity that young people will not experience the thrill of manually tuning across the radio spectrum to see what might be picked up. In my time, it could have been anything from a pop pirate ship, to a foreign nation propaganda station, or a shortwave numbers station, or wideband interference from the Russian Woodpecker (over the horizon radar experimentation), or amatuer radio conversations, or ship to shore communications, or the early Irish AM pirates of the 60's and 70's and then the FM Super Pirates of the 80's ....... the fascination was endless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,081 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Yeah I would say a graph of usage would be a sheer cliff face drop off the same as a graph of print newspaper readership, maybe car radios will keep it going a bit longer but it has to be doomed. We listen to music at work on laptops but anyone under 30 wouldn't even know the names of the stations now, they just go straight to Spotify or a YouTube playlist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,383 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

We have two of them. The screens have faded now. I wonder does anywhere repair them. Hard to find a equivalent replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,383 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I only listen to the radio in the car. The other half likes to have the radio on at home, morning etc.

Officially the figures show that listenership amongst the youth is holding up alright but I believe that there's something very smelly about these figures https://www.adworld.ie/2023/02/10/radio-listenership-figures-remain-high-but-mixed-fortunes-for-some-broadcasters/

What is your opinion on the way that listenership on "new" style devices like phones and smartspeakers are rather low here according to the jnlrs but over in the UK their rajars are showing about 25% of listenership via such devices?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,977 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

What does very smelly mean? Do you have any numbers from other sources?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,179 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

I haven't been directly involved radio for a while, so am not sure what specific questions are now being asked on the survey about listening on new devices. However, my direct experience on working with a considerable range of young people is that they are certainly listening to other 'new' devices, but they are not using them to listen to radio stations. They are using them to listen to streaming music playlist services or viewing music video on youtube.

That is only my opinion based on my most recent and current experience. Those who manage the survey can explain their findings and those that pay for it can ensure that they are happy with the approach it takes. The only people the JNLR has to satisfy are those who pay for it to be undertaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I bought a big Phillips Hi Fi system back in 1999 thinking it was the coolest thing ever, with a 3 deck CD player and two cassette tape players. My Dad has it now, installed in the dining room. He listens to RTE Radio 1 news on it religiously at 1pm every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭AlanG

Yes,

Without the radio on during breakfast in the mornings my kids wouldn't have a clue what was happeing in Irish news. What they listen to the rest of the time is controled by algorithms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,843 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I have a Roberts AM/FM radio that I bought about 20 years ago, I still drag it around with me if working out in the garage or to listen to the sport while taking a shower. Its a good strong unit, fairly kind on batteries and I like the analogue functionality of it, especially when Android Auto in the car is glitching and giving me the pip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,366 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I thought Creative pulled out of ireland but they still have a presence here apparently..they ‘should’ be able to advise.

q2, North Ring Business Park, Swords Rd, Santry, Dublin 9, D09 EV70 (01) 897 5700

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,366 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Working ok here, maybe needs an aerial ? I’ve one of those small loop style ones, think it came with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I had a fairly basic Roberts yoke in the old house but it didn't survive the move 5 years ago. When looking to replace it, I was dead set on getting a WiFi connected version so I could pick up radio stations from all over (for my sins I wanted some Irish radio here in the UK). Then I saw the price of them, £60-70 for starters iirc. The Echo Dot yokes were around £20 at the time so that was an easy decision. It's still working a treat and when refurbing the kitchen last year we put some Bluetooth speakers in the ceiling which work great for upping the volume when needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,665 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

I think we have about 15 radios mostly roberts, about half regularly used but almost every room has at least one radio that receives long wave for BBC Radio 4.

Wake me up when it's all over.

Roberts radios have the By Appointment logos, or at least they used to. The R900 which I have is probably the last "proper" Roberts, before they went Chinese. It is from the time in between where the names of stations e.g. Athlone were marked on the dial, and the modern time when there are memory presets. There are always a few R900's on eBay, with lots of other vintage radios. If buying an old one, watch out for ones which only have Long and Medium wave, or where FM coverage does not go up to 108 MHz.

Yes have a few of the old R900's but tbh they have mostly had their day with problems with the pots and switches - basically worn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

I much rather a traditional radio than a radio on a phone. My phone is so heavy with apps which are run a lot that a conventional radio makes more sense more sense for me. I am convinced it is more cost effective to as my phones seem to wear out fast as it is. I enjoy using the radio on the TV as well. Radio on a laptop/desktop is ok too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Suckler

I have had an Amstrad CD/radio for years but recently dropped the power adaptor and it stopped working. Was dismayed to see it listed as 'Vintage' when I went to try get a new one.

https://www.google.com/search?q=amstrad+MC2800&rlz=1C1GCEA_enSA1043SA1043&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiM7sHssPf9AhUZVKQEHfgUA6QQ_AUoAXoECAEQAw&biw=1920&bih=947&dpr=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭windowcills

Its unbelievable that some posters are using the radio channels on their TV

That must use 10 times more power then a radio, maybe even 100 times

Plus shortens the life of a e300-e2000 TV

I'd be surprised if the cost on the electric bill of runny a Telly v a Rado was more than a couple of cent, aslo there are radio stations on the TV that aren't on FM, RTE Gold being the most popular apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭lillycakes2

yep , we keep radio on at all times in Kitchen, Makes it homely. We are a couple in our late 30s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Radios are great and very handy I find. You can just have it playing in the background while you're working in the house or outside in the garden. In summer times when it gets hot and sunny, I usually sit outside in the back garden with a few cans and the radio turned on. So yeah, my family absolutely swears by having a radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,527 ✭✭✭Cody montana

I have an app and a Bluetooth speaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

Many of those tuners had atrocious quality, especially the alarm-clock radios with a thin wire hanging out the back for an aerial.

Modern chinese-made tuners with digital processing blow anything from that era out of the water.

Ironically you still have basic old school analogue tuners on sale at the same prices range as latest radios designed with 21st century digital technology. Similar to how mp3 players ended up cheaper than cassette Walkmen.

Some us aren't tuning into stations that you can't even get on most modern chinese-made tuners. Try getting BBC Radio 4 on Long Wave on a modern chinese-made tuner with digital processing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭French Toast

We've a basic LED clock radio in the bedroom. Handy to glance at the time without having to click a phone etc.

We also have a radio speaker on the window above the sink. We listen to the radio every morning. Fine background noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I have the second type of radio from the first post on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Yeah a few of them. A bedside digital alarm clock/radio, a mini HiFi for casettes or CD's should anyone need to play them (they don't) and a while back I invested in a cool little boxy 80's style ghetto blaster expressly for the bluetooth speaker in it. I listen to tonnes of radio, but the incessant repetitive ads do my head in, so I mainly listen to the show highlights in my own time on this speaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Bricriu

Jaysus, look what I did in that message of mine recently: I used that modern , Yankee word 'radio'.

I should have called it a 'wireless' - like all my people before me!

I'm off now to ready a cup of coco, and stick my feet into the back of the wireless to heat them up.

In order for there to be a Wireless, there had to be a Wire before that. Which was wired or cabled telegraphy, sending messages by Morse Code, originally overland, then undersea as well. That is reflected in the company name Cable and Wireless. Wireless (Telegraphy) only came into the language near the end of the 19th century. What you have warming your feet is a Wireless Set, later on people dropped the Set bit. TV's were also called Television Sets early on. Wireless has made a comeback for describing mobile phone communications.

Radio is derived from Latin, so no need to fret about it being too modern.

https://books.google.com/ngrams/graph?content=wireless%2C+radio&year_start=1800&year_end=2019&corpus=en-2019&smoothing=3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭andy1249

For most , its simply Battery vs Mains , "Wireless" meant batteries and portable vs mains and plugged in .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

I (50) have a clock radio for the bedroom. More because of the ruggedness of the clock radio (Easy to hit a button to snooze). But other than that, smart speakers around the house (Apart from office)

No, a wireless set could be battery or mains powered. The wireless bit refers to the method of transmission of the radio wave. Only a minority of people had electricity for a long time after wireless broadcasting started.

There were two batteries needed to power the old wireless sets. A dry battery, about the size of a brick, and a wet battery like a car battery. New dry batteries could be bought, but the wet battery had to be brought to the dealer every few weeks to be recharged. There were no portable sets in the early years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭sekond

That's exactly what I have - and for a similar reason. It sometimes feels like a bit of overkill now that I'm back in Ireland - but two long-ish stints in earthquake/tsunami zones over the years means certain habits are still ingrained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Run Forest Run

Radios everywhere in our house!

Mostly listen to radio in the car or working out in the home gym.

Not really a fan of listening when outdoors walking running etc, prefer to have all my senses available to me. I do quite a lot of driving at times, and I think I'd be lost without the radio tbh. Music is great, but sometimes you just want a human voice and some conversation. (even if they are talking sh!te!😆)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,227 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I have an alarm radio I still use about 20 years old I use as my alarm. I have a normal radio with a cd player and ipod Dock. I have an Internet radio, looks like a normal radio but has WiFi so can get stations around the world

• Dug my Sony ZSM-35 out of the attic after about 10-15 years sitting up there. Great FM tuner in it. Near the border, so I get good reception of BBC R4 etc. Have a DAB/FM/MW radio in the car. Would also listen to radio via apps on my iPhone. Can also get radio on the telly via Saorview and Freeview (UK), as well as satellite (Sky Box).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭Tork

Yes but it's in the back of a cupboard. Daytime FM radio in Ireland is seldom worth listening to where I live. The radio has been usurped by a good quality smart speaker, Tune-In and Spotify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭Hooked

Tis all Alexas and Spotify in our gaff (me 44) but I do have one in the garage to keep the dogs company during the days they are kept in and when I'm working in there myself. Can't bate the auld radio....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,189 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Yep +1 to that - it’s great how some of these brands have kept up with the times and added such features- love my kitchen radio would never be without it and I have a fairly high end portable speaker - I just like a radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,322 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Screens whether PC, tablet, phone or TV are thieves of time.

Radio is a good companion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭orourkeda1

Absolutely.

My nerd hobby is radio. I collect radios and radio memorabilia.

https://www.orourkeda.blog