Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Petrol brushcutter "strimmer"?

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Local dealer does oleomac and tanaka.
    he recommends the tanaka and says the older oleomac were great but he's not struck on newer ones.
    says contractors around here use 42 or 47cc tanakas.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Are Husquvarna not what they used to be? We've a 35cc 2 stroke and it chews through most things for the last 10 years. Induction coils went about 4 years back when it was left out in the rain but it's grand now.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I bought mine secondhand 3 years ago off the local plant hire for €150 a takana I'm sure. Never gave an ounce of trouble. Plant hire will always have a trouble free brand which is a good indicator of the brands they use.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭P_Cash

Thought the way ye were talkin the tanaka was value for money,
    http://www.smlawnmowers.ie/tanaka/brushcutters-strimmers-county-longford/

Pricey enough

• Registered Users Posts: 5,138 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Stihl or Oleo Mac not exactly cheap either. Always worth spending good money on any small engined machine IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

P_Cash wrote: »
    Thought the way ye were talkin the tanaka was value for money,
    http://www.smlawnmowers.ie/tanaka/brushcutters-strimmers-county-longford/

Pricey enough

That's still value for money, have the 4200, got it for 500.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,809 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Sorry to rehash an old thread but anyway ....

I'm looking for a good robust brushcutter /strimmer for the farm. I'm thinking about this one - https://robertkee.ie/product/honda-umk-435-eue-brushcutter

It's 4 stroke and weighs 7.6kg. Does anyone have one? Would it be too heavy? I have a Honda 4 stroke water pump 8 years now and happy with it.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users Posts: 14,408 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I've had a husqvarna 135 r for 15 years. needed a new primer bulb last year

• Registered Users Posts: 18,661 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ya it will be quite heavy. I bought a Stihl one last year.cannot remember the model it cost around the same money.

I did not like either the weight or ergodynamics if the Honda. The Stihl is a beautiful strimmer to work with.

I had one previously and it lasted nearly 30 years.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I've enclosed the strap on the pole saw in pipe insulation, held in place with two tie wraps. It definitely distributes the cross body weight of the saw.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,809 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Just to update, I ended buying a Husqvarna 543RS. I got a flat 4 blade cutter with it, but I bought the Oregon heavy duty curved 3 cutter. It's a serious animal to cut briars. It weighs 800g compared to the one I got with it that weighs 475g.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Jees only seeing this now.

Hard to believe I have my Tanaka coming on 7 years.

An animal of a yoke I have to say. Never gave me a days bother and it's not for the care it gets.

Only problem I have is breaking cord when cutting rough stuff. (Large brambles, small whin) tried 4mm cord but went back to the next size down square.

It's not the machines fault at all it's just abused

• Registered Users Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭poker--addict

Sounds like basically you pay for what you get.

I got a petrol power washer in lidl years ago for around the house and family house, no care, does maybe 10 days work a year and gets left sitting, still going strong maybe 7 years later.

not sure I will find the same with bushcutter or branch cutter

😎

• Registered Users Posts: 6,809 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

I got 1 of those, it never worked. I was sent back for repairs and still didn't work. Got a refund in the end.