Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Football League 2023

• Registered Users Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Seadin

Derry had Cork pretty much beaten and took the foot off the gas. Cork were very lucky to get a goal in the last min of play. Positive to bring result back but It has to be a worry if Cork give teams a good lead in championship they won't be able to get back at them.

Post edited by Seadin on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Gael85

Comerford is injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭MacDanger

The rule about a deliberate foul inside the 21 being a penalty is a good one, didn't matter to the result today

Edit: I think if it happened again, Doc would be aware enough to foul him earlier

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,595 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Was at the Sligo Leitrim game, proper heat in it and big crowd, felt more like a championship game, Sligo were 7 points up and strolling early in the second half, then Leitrim scored 2 goals and took the lead with 5 minutes left, Sligo showed good composure to come back and win by 1, very enjoyable game.

Thought Sligo and Laois would get promotion, McConville's off to a good start with Wicklow.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The Division 4 League table on the RTE site is still showing Laois in second place.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/results/gaa/2023/6321/tables/

• Registered Users Posts: 26,346 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

They probably have it wrongly calculated to head to head.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,988 ✭✭✭Xander10

Thought Farrell said when asked, he hasn't come back to sit on the bench?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,311 ✭✭✭Robson99

Doesn't say a lot for all the younger keepers in Dublin when they have to go back for Cluxton

• Registered Users Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Butson

Is this a double header in Croke Park on Sunday?

There are probably over 100 clubs in Dublin. But it is not a given than any one of them will produce a County standard keeper. If there was someone better around during Cluxton's years, they would have been selected instead of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭homenotaway

It wasn't Farrell who said that (re Cluxton), it was one if the lads on TG4 yesterday afternoon, can't recall his name.

We're not talking about peak Cluxton years though. We are talking about no one being better than a 41 year old who is out of the game at a high level for a few years now.

It's either desperate or lazy I would say.

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ragwort and Stones

He'll fight for his place and if he's still the best all round keeper in Dublin he'll get it.

I don't see anything desperate etc in trying to see if the greatest goalie ever in gaelic football is still the best in your county. That's common sense neither desperate, lazy etc.

You're never too young or old for a team if your good enough. Mickey Linden was still coming on to play outfield at 41 to play for Down in 2003. He debuted for the Down seniors in 1980. Cluxton is a goalkeeper.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭celt262

I though they would have announced next weekends dates and times by now there must be a bit of craic going on with the Mayo request.

The Bomber Liston was brought back by Ogie Moran to Kerry, age 36, in 1993. He was 4 years or so out of inter county. He was 3 stone over weight.

He got 2 points v Dublin in a league quarter or semi final. Against Cork in the championship he was out of the game and looked like an old man. But Eoin hadn't kept himself in any shape and trying a comeback outfield.

Its a sad stae of affairs for all the millions pumped into Dublin Football that the have to rely on a 41 year old keeper. Laughable really.... and this a county that some were saying could / should be split in two

Pat Jennings, Peter Shilton, Dino Zoff.

There's a lot more millions pumped into the Patriots and Tampa Bay and they had an early to mid 40s quarter back.

Likewise all the soccer teams with goalies 40 plus.

Ya and Television pictures were Black and White back in those days

How much does the lad from Tampa get paid to stay fit ?

Cluxton is probably way fitter than your average 41 year old but can't be compared to a real pro. Also its not just his age it's the fact he had to come out of retirement to fill the gap.

I bet there are good keepers in Dublin but Dessie is either panicking or really bad at scouting.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,824 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

You don't buy GAA keepers ya know! That is myth making stuff.

On reflection from what I can see, if Cluxton is not starting he will be there as an experienced head around the dressing room. That influence alone is invaluable. Priceless something money can't buy. He is only there because Comeford is bansjaxed and they needed cover. It might not be as desperate as it first appeared in light of all the info

Wouldn't your county love to have the greatest keeper in the history of Gaelic Football in your panel? Imagine the influence and example to the younger players. A player who not only played the game at a high level, but reinvented the goal keeper role as Gaelic Football knew it.

Also regarding his age. Age does not really matter for goalkeepers in fact it is a benefit - experience a cool head.

Think of the the Italian soccer goalies Zoff - Buffon etc - icons of their sport and played for decades.

Plus as I said on another thread, Cluxton has the added bonus of keeping the dressing room spotless.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,651 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Looking for a goalie now you look at an outfield player. Most successful clubs no longer look at an underage goalie as the long-term successor to there goalkeeper problem. It's fairly similar in Hurling.

Ya he might come up through the underage country structure but it's not a given at county level. Most decent goalies at county level now have played outfield underage.

That is an issue and it not just Cluxton, add in Mick Fitz still first choice FB, Dean Ro knas freetaker and calling back Paul Manion and Jack Flash as solutions.

Eamon Fitzmsurice made the same mistake for 2017/2018 with Kerry by not cutting older players fast enough and looking at short term solutions which did not work out.

If hypothetically Dublin manage to win an AI this year where to them. Should he persist with older players for another year.

You have to be willing to take the short term hit on performance as younger players do not get better on the bench.

Slava Ukrainii

Well it's not that hard to stay fit enough to be a gaelic goalie at 41. Look at the number of amateur runners who win races all over the country at that age. Cluxton doesn't need serious aerobic fitness or power.

He never retired!! The fact is kis kick outs are phenomenal. He's a freak. No keeper hits a moving target like him. It's no slight on the young keepers but he must still be ahead of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭IRE60

• Registered Users Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭billyhead

Fitness won't be an issue for Cluxton. Keepers obviously don't do as much running as outfield players apart from some counties using them like an extra man i.e. Tyrone. His experience and advice will be invaluable to the new lads.

96 I'm sure. Jayo dropped by Mickey Whelan. Joe wasn't there for the 95 all ireland win.

Most of their careers were in colour. That has zero to do with their ability to perform at the highest level, over the age of 40.

If the Cluxton thing works, it's inspired; if it doesn't, it's desperation - these things will always be viewed in hindsight

D1 final fixed for Sunday, not unexpected I guess.

If this scheduling continues though, it will come to a head at some point where a county decides to field a weakened team in a league final in order to prepare for championship the following weekend and it'll be a big furore. Whether that means changing it so that no championship matches are scheduled for the weekend after the league finals or else just do away with the finals