Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Police unit high speed chases, anyone ever been killed?

• 27-03-2023 7:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I saw 3 Garda Policing Unit vans absolutely bomb it hrough a busy residential street over the weekend, they were trying to catch up with a drug dealer. Now they were easily going 80 in a 50 zone and this was a street with a Spar and a pub and several homes in a built up area.

I was thinking if anyone had been crossing the road or even in a panic when they heard the sirens and moved the wrong way they were 100% dead not a hope of surviving. Are the Gardai exempt from arrest if they happened to kill some awl wan crossing the road after a bend or someone unlucky enough to have been in the middle of the road at the time?

Even with the best of training, im amazed people havent been killed during these extremely fast chases through narrow streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

they have been in the UK. There's a shift in policing that when they know the identity of the suspect and/or if the suspect doesn't provide an immediate danger, they just let them go. because it's not worth it to risk peoples lives in a high speed chase for someone that they would get later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭eusap

Lights and Sirens don't give an entitlement to break the rules of the road, at red lights they should proceed with caution so i guess they could be charged for Death by dangerous driving if it was proven the garda car was being driven dangerously.

I think a couple of years ago two there was some deaths on the stillorglin dual carriageway as a result of a pursuit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭pgj2015

what do you suggest? they not go above 30 mph?

they chase bad guys, sometimes innocent people get killed during these chases, $hit happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I don't recall any incidents where members of the public were killed. However about 20 years ago Gardai Michael Padden and Tony Tighe were killed when their car (which was probably stationary or nearly so) was rammed at high speed by a car being chased by other Garda vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭eusap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,261 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

There was this case from nearly 20 years ago now.

Garda driver was responding to a call involving youths acting suspiciously around parked cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Didn’t a Garda crash into a bus stop on Milltown, around 2005, killing an elderly lady?

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,198 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I wouldn’t say a van, in a residential area doing 80 in a 50 is safe. Vans have different handling characteristics to cars…. Slower breaking, not nearly as manoeuvrable, prone to tipping if empty and involved in an accident at speed….even clipping a kerb at 40 and it’s trouble.

I’ve only driven vans maybe a dozen times and not for a number of years but always felt while out driving them, errors and certainly errors with speed weren’t situations you didn’t want to end up in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The law allows official Garda drivers, who have completed the relevant course (now, back in the day the Chief could give permission), to breach some road traffic legislation as long as it is required, within the course of their duties. But, they are still responsible for all actions. There are plenty of cases of crashes, but thankfully not many of fatalities as a result of losing control. I didn't even know about that one above tbh.

It's a scary thing, breaking road traffic laws while trying to maintain sight of the suspect, who cares far, far less about the people around them. Permission has to be given to initiate/continue, constant updates are required from the "chase" car, driver concentrating on driving, observer doing comms and keeping control/other units updated to position, direction, etc. Can be called off if too dangerous. Most cities would have good CCTV coverage so can watch the suspect car until it goes to leave the area and then begin the chase outside of the more populated areas, or set up a checkpoint/trap, etc.

Realistically, this all happens so quick that it's hard to get it all right all the time. But before I left, "Chiefs permission" was changed to just permission to drive the patrol cars normally. You need to have the course done now to activate the lights and sirens while the vehicle is moving. Not sure if the number of courses increased though, I was only around for 1 round of applications in my 10 years, but it also heavily relies on who you know, no different to any organisation in that respect.

I will say though... some buzz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭crusd

I believe, but am open to correction, that if a guard was shown to have not taken due care and attention to the safety of others while engaged in a chase that required them to go outside the normal rules of the road they could be prosecuted. Eg. they are permitted to use their training to peruse a suspect however must also be conscious of potential dangers to others and moderate their driving accordingly. I would not have huge confidence that charges would be brought though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Green Peter

A Garda is far more likely to be prosecuted as the DPP will run with any half arsed case v a Garda just to be seen to be prosecuting. In some countries emergency services have two driving licences, one for their emergency services work and the other their personal licence. It's unfair to be asked to respond to emergencies to a demanding public and risk the license you use in your private life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

was there not three burglars killed trying to flee from gardai? they were on the wrong side of the road and crashed into a truck. sometime last year or maybe a bit earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Not long ago a garda was convicted of dangerous driving causing death. I believe he knocked down an elderly deaf lady en route to a robbery.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,857 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i was passed by a high speed chase on griffith avenue a few years back; witnessed a collision between the chasees and another motorist (they screamed off with the car sounding like a load of irons in a washing machine). about ten seconds later, a garda car came shooting past.

was curious about them having given chase (was a northern reg audi they were chasing, presumably stolen for a job) as it was i think just shy of 4pm so would have been schoolkids etc. about.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Did the elderly deaf lady have a reputation for doing robberies?

In the past month , I’ve seen eight Garda motorbikers escorting a gang of VIP visitors in fancy minibuses, and four Garda bikers escorting the Ireland team bus heading to Lansdowne.

The thought struck me that the arrangements were designed more about creating a buzz for the lads on the bikes than about providing safe passage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I always thought it was so they arrived exactly when they were meant to

why can’t they just leave earlier like the rest of us?

have you never been stuck in unexpected traffic no? 🤔 a garda escort isn’t for safety it’s for expediting your arrival.

the army escort things that require protection (think the bank runs)

Like I said, why can't they leave earlier? Why don't they travel around 3-4pm for an evening match, avoiding the rush hour, and do their final meal and other preparations at the ground? I doesn't seem like a great use of very limited Garda resources to be facilitating last minute travel for a private event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Loudest crash I've heard and I'm a few minutes away from the scene of that particular one

Police escorts are standard enough for these things and look lad if you can’t understand why footballers for example don’t leave hours before a match I can’t help you.

I know it's standard enough, but that doesn't mean it's right. It certainly doesn't mean that it is a good use of Garda resources. I suspect if the biker lads weren't having such craic doing the zoom zoomies through traffic, there might be a different view taken on such requests.

All the grounds have top class hospitality facilities, as good if not better than anything the team hotel can offer. No reason why they can't be at the ground earlier, if that's what they need to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Loads of people been killed in this manner but it has all been swept under the rug by the Narda press office and the families given big payouts to stay quiet*

*May contain traces of truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Re: the reason bikes are used for escorts is it allows them better navigation to stop traffic. Allows them to zoom ahead through traffic to make way, etc. You know they're right fancy if there's a hape of Garda cars doing the escort!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Yep, if you’re going to do an escort like this, I can see that the bikes make sense. The real question is whether it makes any sense to use scarce Garda resources to save a bit of time for a gang of overpaid lads to kick a ball around a field.

I'm also pretty sure these overpaid lads pay for the pleasure. Or at least their organisation do. At least, most do anyway. Visits from heads of state pay for the extra security during them. Soccer grounds pay for Garda presence during certain games. I'd be about 80% sure the soccer/rugby people pay too. Then again, the richer one gets the less they pay so maybe not. A handy bit of OT if it's going. Unless something happens, then it's no longer a handy bit of OT.

Yes, I’m aware that the organisers pay Gardai for resources used at such events. I’d wonder if the Garda escorts are included, as these payments are normally meant to cover the Garda resources in and around the ground. But even if they are included, that doesn’t mean it is still a good use of scarce resources. Garda resources shouldn’t be just available to the highest bidder, or whoever can afford to pay. There should be some public interest or public safety test to make sure that it really makes sense to allocate these resources. I’d imagine that the Gardai involved may be quite happy, with the bit of overtime and the bit of a buzz from the nature of the job, but again, that doesn’t mean it is a good idea.

Edit:

This extract from Garda FOI requests would suggest that ‘traffic control’ duties are NOT charged to the organisers.

If the cops on the bikes are in on overtime then there is no waste of garda resources. If they weren't doing the escort they wouldnt be in work.

That would assume that this is the only possible overtime requirement at that time, which is by no means certain. But even ignoring the overtime issue, it does mean that these bikes (a limited resource) are unavailable for use for other services, like enforcing traffic law. It also creates a safety issue for both the officers themselves and for bystanders, by driving at speed through heavily populated areas, possibly causing other road users to panic in response to the lights and sirens. It just all seems so unnecessary, for a scheduled football match.

the riders are trained to ride at high speed. and your nonsense about drivers panicking is just that. Escorts are one of the duty the motorbike cops are there for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

There’s also also a reciprocal arrangement with other countries. It’s really not a big deal.

If they were absolutely needed elsewhere, they’d be elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

They don't generally drive "at speed", though, mainly because it's still a coach they're escorting and the streets and roads around Lansdowne and Croke Park don't really lend themselves to speeding. Garda A on motorbike arrives at junction, stops to prevent other traffic coming on; other bikes and the coach arrive and go through at normal speed; Garda A catches up (on what they know to be an "empty" road) when last one passes, doing regular motorbike acceleration and speed.

As for "enforcing traffic law", well, that'd be nice, yes, but I've seen them drive past illegally parked cars and vans way too often to actually expect that to happen.

Football teams aren’t countries. This isn’t a reciprocal diplomatic arrangement with another country. It is a courtesy to organisations running sports events, to make it easier for a tiny number of participants to get around.

If it’s not a big deal, the organisers will have no difficulty in making other arrangements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭mikethecop

In the event of a pursuit being authorized , which they rarely are ,its mostly at night and on the motorway networks, it is made very clear to the drivers of the patrol cars involved that they are responsible for anything that goes wrong their fault or the scumbag being chased. Any investigation would be lead by GSOC who can and will force a prosecution regardless of the situation .

Vast majority of the garda fleet are 1.7 eco diesels entirely unsuitable for policing anyway with untrained drivers so it rarely happens anyway.

Some one mentioned a deaf lady who was killed , but not that she stepped through a gap that had been cut in a fence straight onto a busy road in front of a patrol car one blues and twos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

”no big deal” = not a big deal to me, and to 99.99% of people. You care about it, and that’s fine, but surely you realise the vast, vast majority don’t?

It is a diplomatic arrangement btw. If Ireland stopped doing it for opposing teams, it would become a bigger issue. They won’t though. Because a) they’re happy to receive the same treatment elsewhere and b) they know the vast, vast majority of people don’t mind it happening here

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

My cousin was killed due to a high speed police chase. She was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

This is a copy paste from an article about it at the time:

"Joyce, who was drinking with four others in the car as he drove at up to 160km/h on October 23rd, 2014, was on bail at the time. He was facing two counts of threatening and abusive behavior and had also been charged with criminal damage and trespass.

He had previously been disqualified from driving for six months after being convicted on three counts of dangerous driving.

He received another suspended sentence of eight months in 2013 for theft as well as suspended terms of one month for theft in 2014 and on an unrelated charge last year of refusing to give his name to gardaí."

Suspended sentences all over the gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

its not just to give the biker gards a buzz,there'd be a high element of security...no escort,the coach has to stop for traffic lights,other traffic etc,coach gets surrounded by fans/rival fans and at best is late to the grounds...so keep them moving

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

pps wheres my wheres my rte macaroons,kevin?

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

The conduct of the gardai when it comes to pursuits shows everything that is wrong with the culture of that crowd. Young fellas taking patrol cars out on joyrides for the buzz with the lights and sirens.

There was a case a few years ago where a car was chased from Bray to Ballymun and back again. 20+ Garda cars and the helicopter. They did not even know why she failed to stop.

Someone could be getting a hiding somewhere with the guards refusing to attend or waiting it out till its over. But all of a sudden they can find 20+ cars and a chopper for a chase on a normal Monday evening. Remember that when you call them and "there's no patrol car available"

The best solution for this is for them to get to the ground early, 3-4 hours before kick-off, to avoid any rush of fans.

Yes, I do realise that, but the discussion has to start somewhere. So let's start it here. If we never did this before, and the FAI came knocking and said 'we want take four or six Gardai (which is probably half of the motorbike cops on duty in the city at any one time) so we can get the coach quickly through traffic, breaking lights and all that', would anyone think it is a good idea?

Don't threaten me with a good time though. If opposing teams stopped doing it, then people in their cities would have more police resources available for actual police work.

Where was the incident with the deaf lady?

The bikers travel at a fair speed, leapfrogging the coach through traffic, and getting far enough ahead to make sure they have the junction clear when the bus arrives. It's not just on the roads around the stadium either. I saw a coach on Suir Road last week around 6pm, being escorted to Landsdowne with at least four bikers, making a huge amount of noise and fuss.

And all for what? So that the players can stay in the fancy hotel until the last minute?

Baba Yaga got the main reason right, to keep the flow going so the "famous people" won't get swamped by fans. If fans knew there would be no escort, they'd be causing traffic/safety issues trying to get at them. Fans are idiots and will step out in front of traffic just to get closer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Saw a team bus travelling for a match 2 weeks ago with Garda escort. Dont imagine there would be too many fans surrounding bus in March during the league

There weren’t any fans around the coach at Kilmainham, heading to Landsdowne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I am sure it has happened.

I once knew of a Garda who was suspended for almost a year for not retrieving all the casings from an Oozi he fired at an INLA gang speeding down Merrion Road after a bank job, Cobra squad i think he was in?