Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FEC committee & final report - **UPDATE post 442**

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭BSA International

I do agree with all above. I remember when we were lucky to have 1 x rifle and 1 x shotgun......I reckon we're heading back to those days again, sooner or later 😞 As long as we are a minority with little to no political clout it's inevitable.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

No single body can finance this as they'll seek funding from their members and the NARGC won't as there are less than 100 affected by it and with no class action abilities in Ireland it'll be a case by case scenario.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Well,i enquired and will say it again.This could be stopped by a high court judicial review of FEC and how it was put together.BUT we are looking at between 30 to 50 K. So do we hold fire until we see what other "recommendations" come out of this report and include the SACF ban in the package?Or do we press on on a single issue?I'll bet you any money IF any org willing to challenge this will be going for.if they can be bothered that is.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭BSA International

It's a lot of money for little return as the report will be issued and even if a court action were taken and faults found the content of the report will be known to the Minister and his intent is well known given his creation of the FEC and the criminal justice bill.

I'd, excuse the pun, keep your powder dry until there is something actionable and then the FEC can be included.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

I like the way they keep emphasisng there will be consultations with firearms stakeholders within 6 months[Simon Harris].

Will it ber meaningful consultations or will it just be the usual "We have to listen to you peasants because we need to be seen doing a sham working of democracy,giving you yokels a say,but we have already made up our minds?"

Also, again only an academic subtlety, but the rifle is still your property you just cannot possess or use it. So their argument will be to sell it or surrender it. Easy for them to say when they haven't invested a minimum of €1,500 up to €3,500 for one.

Who can you sell it to? You can't sell it to NIor the UK as they are prohibited there. Maybe Germany if you are lucky and can re-export it, just make sure it has German or other proof marks as otherwise that gun cant be sold publically over there until in proof. [France and Italy its too complicated with the paperwork] So you'll get pennies on your euro for a gun dealer having to reproof the gun.

Same if you sell it to a vulture posing as a gun dealer here. They can't sell them and will give you pennies on the value so they can shove it into their private collections. Same as happened with the CF pistols in many cases.

There is another option,but I'm not discussing it on boards here where aGS/DOJ are reading up possibly.It's going to be a poor 2nd place for those SACF owners.All 39 KNOWN according to the DOJ own figures released. So all in its good time.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭itisnotgrand

Did they vote as a party or individual? I know now who is on our side and who lost my vote

• Registered Users Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭garrettod

Don't hold back - let them them know that they've lost your vote, and perhaps more importantly, that you'll campaign against them, lobbying your friends and family to also vote against them!

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭garrettod

Talk about arrogance... 😡

This little upstart really needs to be made redundant, and all of his parliamentary colleagues told exactly why!

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭LONG DRAG

Ok in Layman's terms, what exactly are they looking to ban, sorry just up to speed with this.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭TheEngineer1

Basically a ban on any semi auto rifle that isn't .22lr, .22 mag, or .17hmr.

Based on the FEC minutes we could also be seeing restrictions on silencers, and night/ thermal vision rifle scopes.

There is also talks of confining shooters to the land permissions they used to apply for their license, and confining the use of your gun to the purpose for which you sought it for (ie, if you got a shotgun for hunting, you wouldn't be allowed use it for clay target shooting)

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭LONG DRAG

Thanks Lad👍

Slight but IMPORTANT correction Engineer!

Basically a ban on any semi-auto rifle that isn't .22lr, .22 mag, or .17hmr. That was licensed post-SEPT 2015.

There is also talks of confining shooters to the land permissions they used to apply for their license, and confining the use of your gun to the purpose for which you sought it for (ie, if you got a shotgun for hunting, you wouldn't be allowed use it for clay target shooting)

When you think about this. I'm utterly puzzled by what they are actually trying to achieve here??? Every, single, gun that we own has to be "good reasoned" before a license is granted. So if you put down for your shotgun and at the moment shooting clay pigeons,is accepted Defacto under game and vermin shooting good reason.Which you would put on the form anyway...What does this achieve?

Ditto for permissions/property that you hunt on. You have to put down lands that you own/hunt over/are a guest, agent,invitee,etc,or club membership. It's there already in your original application...What would this achieve further?

Its not like we have free state land [bar the foreshore perhaps?] where we can range far and wide with our guns in the 1st place,as this isn't the US,and its unheard of in most of Europe.

It impresses me that this was some ministerial fukwitt asking a question he/she hadn't a clue on the application process and threw that into the FEC for an answer.

Post edited by Grizzly 45 on

September 2015 is the date.

Cheers Cass.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭J.R.

Minister Browne statement on publication of reports of Firearms Expert Committee

"I did not, however, wish to delay the publication of these reports, which I know have been the subject of considerable interest in the shooting community. In the interests of transparency, I am also publishing in full the minutes of the Committee’s nine in-person meetings.

Without wanting to pre-empt the consultation process, I believe that there is a great deal in these reports that will be welcomed by stakeholders and I am looking forward to seeing the responses and in due course to engaging personally with interested parties."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭J.R.

Firearms Expert Committee

Second Report

4.6 RECOMMENDATION

Page 24

Part one is a partial train wreck and also has some good points as well.

Part two sofar is a complete and utter trainwreck with a plane crash on top of it! If you have a substantial number of firearms[unspecified what number is unspecified] Recommended you get gun dealer level of security inc CTV and timelock.

Game clubs to become registered like gun clubs. Cumpulsory insurance policies for all firearms applications.Training,refresher training for people who have years of experience....LADS WE ARE GOING TO BE FUKED...BADLY.if we don't get off our holes and start moving heaven and earth to stop some of this lunacy.

Post edited by Grizzly 45 on

• Registered Users Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

They voted along party lines. It's a whip system so if a FF/FG/GP TD from Carlow decided that this legislation was a pile of shyte and decided to vote against their own party's instructions, they'd 'lose the whip' and essentially be suspended from the party. All FF/FG/GP TDs voted for it and all opposition TDs voted against it.

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

Its stealth ban, no cap on number of firearms but you will need a firearms dealer level of security, they dont even state for what amount of firearms...no restriction on where you hunt but you must have it written , oral permission is not good enough and if stopeed without written you could lose your licence, 90% of my permissions are verbal, farmers dont like written permission, it will also essentially stealth ban visiting your friend for a days hunting.

NPWS stating thermal is dangerous as you cant ID animals, or tell the difference between a small bird up close or a big animal far away, what thermal are they using? thermal now you could count the hairs on a fox.The Report states one commitie member diagreed stating Thermal allowed for IDing targets but this was disregarded. And that high end thermal could fall into the wrong hands!! Jesus wept lads.

NV only if you can prove no other device suitable..how do you prove a lamp is not suitable to a super that doesnt want to issue NV.

Lots of reference to training, thats a money racket and I wonder if a certain FEC member will be offering that facility. Our own screwing us again.

Lads be under no illusion this is an attack and needs to be dealt with seriously and as a united front. Just because you dont own a semi or thermal..Look at the way they are just banning or stealth banning items, they will keep at this till we have nothing left. No consultation until its too late and a token gesture.

Read the report, it states ''however no evidence was provided by an Garda Siochana to support this view''.. yet they still went ahead and reccommended you need security the same as a dealer. Completely ignoring evidence and pushing ahead with Brownes and the guards agenda.

We need stand as a shooting community and push back on this utter attack on our sports and property. It is completely biased, unfounded and political theater at best, agenda driven with an axe to grind and possible financial gain at worst

Summary of recommendations by the FEC;

Semi Auto Center Fire Rifles: No Consensus. FEC Members have presented individual views on suitability for licensing to the minister

Center Fire Pistols: No Consensus. FEC Members have presented individual views on suitability for licensing to the minister

Rimfire Pistols: Majority of FEC recommend a review on mag capacity. Majority of FEC suggest an increase in mag capacity to 10 rounds. AGS disagree and want to keep the 5 round limit

Short shotguns: FEC recommends a legal barrel limit of 45cm and overall length of 90cm

Short rifles: FEC recommends legislation to allow legislation to shorten rifles. Recommends surveying rifles in the state to establish a minimum legal barrel length.

Airsoft & Paintball: No regulation changes discussed

Air rifles & Air pistols: FEC recommends relaxing licensing and storage requirements

Firearms styled on assault rifles: FEC recommends defining an assault rifle better in legislation. 3 members suggest excluding visual appearance from legislation. AGS wants to include visual appearance in legislation

Licensing reccomendations;

-Online Licensing

-Review of individual licenses for each firearm (ie, issue one firearm license instead for all firearms?)

-Review allowing RFDs to make like for like substitutions on the holders license without needing new applications to AGS

-New license card with photo

-Extend hunting permits to align with the duration of firearm licenses

-Centralization of license applications

-Establish non-judicial appeals mechanism

-Letter of intent to refuse issued to applicants prior to license refusals to allow applicants to provide further info that may impact decisions

-One FEC member suggested reviewing reloading laws

Clay targets: Framework to expand authorization of clay target shooting (align with pistol & rifle shooting)

Limiting the purpose for the use of firearms: I don't really understand the "limiting the purpose" recommendations?

Locations & circumstances: FEC seems to be recommending requiring written permission to hunt on lands

Inexperienced hunters: FEC seems to be suggesting that they be required to hunt with experienced hunters (compulsory training license or similar to car driving "N" plate perhaps?)

Hunting clubs: FEC suggests compulsory membership of a hunting organization

Number of firearms one may possess: No recommendation but maybe more security requirements for large amounts of guns

Silencers: No changes - but some funny wording about ear protection that I don't really like

Thermal scopes: FEC proposes a ban

Night vision scopes: FEC proposes using these for professional use only or only with proper training?

Training & qualifications;

-Range training for first time firearm applicants to agreed national standard

-Night time shooting training program for night shooters?

-Minimum number of hours at a range for firearm license holders so license to be valid and eligible for renewal

RFDs: Different licenses for RFDs and Gunsmiths

Thanks for the above. Saves a lot of reading.

Short shotguns: FEC recommends a legal barrel limit of 45cm and overall length of 90cm

Now a EU standard across the union since 2017 ,bar here of course.

Short rifles: FEC recommends legislation to allow legislation to shorten rifles. Recommends surveying rifles in the state to establish a minimum legal barrel length.

Sounds like a lot of unnecessary work when they have an EU directive to work off?

Firearms styled on assault rifles: FEC recommends defining an assault rifle better in legislation. 3 members suggest excluding visual appearance from legislation. AGS wants to include visual appearance in legislation

AGS still being thick about this,despite being slapped in the dist courts on this point multiple times. Amazing no one on this committee mentioned this fact,form does not follow function.still trying to bring back the "Idontlikedelookodatnow" clause.

Licensing reccomendations;

-Online Licensing

Good,means having to rebuild the PULSE system tho to accomadate.have they money for that?

-Review of individual licenses for each firearm (ie, issue one firearm license instead for all firearms?)

Liscense the man not the gun.Good

-Review allowing RFDs to make like for like substitutions on the holders license without needing new applications to AGS

Good,if also applicable to restricted firearms.Would sort out the CF handgun swop matter.

-New license card with photo

Won't happen, unless they change the license format. If you add a pic to our current format,it would look too much like a Garda warrant card.[Not that many people know what one looks like in the 1st place] So too open to abuse.

-Extend hunting permits to align with the duration of firearm licenses

Good/bad?Seeing our hunting season is pretty much Sep1st to Feb 28th PA.Does that mean a license is only valid for 6 months?

-Centralization of license applications

Good,IF it is only dealing with license applications.

-Establish non-judicial appeals mechanism

NOT GOOD! This will be used as another blocker in the application process and delay licenses further! As it stands if you have no satisfaction,you can take the Super directly to the Dist court, and let a judge decide. With this you will have to probably go thru this process before you could go to court.As we have seen with FEC, what's the betting the people appointed will be, political appointees, anti-gun ex Gardai, chronically understaffed that they will probably deal with a dozen cases per month if we are lucky,and will be so slow anyone will give up on trying to appeal a decision? This is one that MUST be killed!With fire!!!

-Letter of intent to refuse issued to applicants prior to license refusals to allow applicants to provide further info that may impact decisions

Point being?Apart from creating more paperwork for AGS/gun owner?Usually a phone call can sort that out these days.Why fix something that ain't broke?

-One FEC member suggested reviewing reloading laws

Nice but wont happen as that's another big tin of worms

Clay targets: Framework to expand authorization of clay target shooting (align with pistol & rifle shooting)

Thats the end of flappers and charity shoots so.Even if the lead directive doesn't kill them.

Limiting the purpose for the use of firearms: I don't really understand the "limiting the purpose" recommendations?

Still trying to figure that out too

Locations & circumstances: FEC seems to be recommending requiring written permission to hunt on lands

Pretty much have that already

Inexperienced hunters: FEC seems to be suggesting that they be required to hunt with experienced hunters (compulsory training license or similar to car driving "N" plate perhaps?)

Who trains the trainer.What makes you an experienced hunter qualified to teach a newbie?Will you need to be cleared by aGS for working with minors/children?Awkward and will need a lot of work.

Hunting clubs: FEC suggests compulsory membership of a hunting organization

Pretty much are mostly NARGC clubs around the country?So benefit?Proably looking at the point of view of insurance on an individual gunowner

Number of firearms one may possess: No recommendation but maybe more security requirements for large amounts of guns

VERY DANGEROUS Talking about gundealer levels of security [IE timelocks and CCTV]for a "substantial amount"[not specified] of firearms!! Why not simply go for a point where you need a genuine safe once you reach the specified number of substantial firearms?

Silencers: No changes - but some funny wording about ear protection that I don't really like

Thermal scopes: FEC proposes a ban

Unenforceable and ridiculous as technology has moved on again with clip on to day scope devices that can be bought from China or East bloc countries?

Night vision scopes: FEC proposes using these for professional use only or only with proper training?

Sounds half assed like the thermal and the silencers proposition.

Training & qualifications;

-Range training for first time firearm applicants to agreed national standard

-Night time shooting training program for night shooters?

HMMMMM Wasnt a certain individual on SCovi and late of FEC suggesting such awhile back?Someone with Min Browne's ear??

So well then cant they train us to use thermal and night vision,that "only military personnel use and have difficulty using!2 or some such Bullshite? Dear God if they are going to base our shooting off the national drivers license centre,going on how ineffective that organisation is in getting people to sit their licenses and pass rates...

-Minimum number of hours at a range for firearm license holders so license to be valid and eligible for renewal

Doing what?shooting,yakking and drinking coffee? Who is going to verify and count your scores that you actually shot out there to qualify.its a massive logistical endeavour between a rifle range,and the aGS.

In fact it sounds like someone went and read up on the German system and got it arse over tit!

RFDs: Different licenses for RFDs and Gunsmiths

About the only sensible thing in the whole part two.

I think the aligning hunting and gun licenses thing is more like your deer hunting license would be valid for 3 seasons with your gun license rather than having to apply yearly as is the case now

While only a report of recommendations it's very worrying reading.

Some of it is either unworkable or unenforceable. The land permissions issue is one that stands out to me. Like most others I have more permissions on a verbal agreement with one or two outright telling me they won't give it in writing. So do I lose that permission by forcing the land owner to sign a bit of paper?

The "for purpose" point will finally put to bed the debate about what you apply for and what you use it for.

The training bit is yet another attempt to monetize something that has always been free. I'm concerned about vested interest groups once again pushing for this.

Same with the night shooting training. One member of the FEC supposedly representing shooting sports called for the outright ban of night shooting so I'm wondering where this idea came from.

The thermal/NV thing was always going to come back and bite people in the ass. Too many don't know the laws and like with pistols between 2004 and 2008 the number of them being used/bought shot up so quick it was going to raise a flag.

I'm also concerned that only one member of the FEC opposed the proposition on them. We had two reps so it should have been two against.

So much more to unpack which no doubt will be discussed in depth over the coming days/weeks.

And some Breaking news !!!

Fabian Connolly was in contact with FUNI. He wishes to state that he does NOT stand over this report,as there were some aspects that he wanted to be included in the report which he was assured would be and these two reports do not have his approval.He emailed Browne on these matters and was not even given a courtesy reply.

https://www.facebook.com/FirearmsUnitedIreland/

• Registered Users Posts: 12 mud dog

Does he have proof of this ?? Copy of the email ???

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭bmmb88

AGS making sweeping claims again but with no statistical backup

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

But what is worse is when they admit they have no evidence the committee still went ahead and recommended stricter security..almost as if there was an agenda ..