Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does the future hold for Donald Trump? - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

That Dominion trial is coming a lot sooner that Id thought, jury selection is on April 14th then the trial begins on April 17th and is expected to last six weeks. Also Dominion got 6,500 pages of internal Fox emails during the discovery process. In them Rupert Murdoch states that the election fraud line carried by Trump is "really crazy stuff". Then the day after the Jan 6th insurrection the penny finally drops for Murdoch and he realises his network riled up the Trump base so much with the stolen election stuff that he emailed "Is it unarguable that high-profile Fox voices fed the story that the election was stolen and that January 6th an important chance to have the result overturned’? Maybe Sean and Laura went too far. All very well for Sean to tell you he was in despair about Trump, but what did he tell his viewers?” and he later pondered with an executive if Hannity and Ingraham had "gone too far". Its like Rupert woke up on January 7th to see the Capitol building absolutely wrecked and only then he thought to himself 'oh bollox, what have we done'.

I think given these emails we will be seeing Rupert as a witness as he was fully involved behind the scenes in the direct aftermath of the 2020 election, even discussing when to call Pennsylvania for Biden. On Trumps outburst at Fox calling Arizona for Biden Murdoch said in an email "Fcuk him" even though Fox went on to sack the election analyst responsible for the Arizona call. After the Arizona call Fox executives were getting so much heat from MAGAs that they were panicking one said it was an existential threat to the Fox brand and if they didnt appease their audience quickly the company would suffer greatly. It was at that point they latched on to the Dominion story put out by Guiliani & Powell in an effort to rescue Trump supporters from switching off.

It should be a very interesting trial. With 6,500 pages of internal Fox emails about to get unredacted we are going to see the internal workings of the Fox news network for the first time ever and the lengths they were willing to go to push Trumps base into idea of a stolen election which eventually led to them ransacking the Capitol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,047 ✭✭✭✭banie01

"Proving innocence via a trial has nothing whatsoever to do with the legal presumption of innocence in court. They are entirely separate things. Presumption of innocence is a legal concept, whereas proving innocence via a trial is about public perception."

This is a dangerous fiction.

In being brought before a court, every accused enjoys the presumption of innocence. Further, being found "not guilty" is an affirmation of that innocence by a court in every Common law system bar Scotland where a "not proven" as an acquittal declaration can be issued.

What courts in US offer "innocent" as a verdict alternative to "not guilty"?

By your logic, an accused person could once a case is lain against them initiate an action in the criminal court with the Prosecutor as respondent and seek the criminal court to declare them innocent.

There is no such action possible so far as I am aware but I'll happily defer to an example.

To be clear, where a court returns a "not guilty" verdict that in and of itself is a vindication of an accused's innocence.

There is no further verdict or declaration of innocence to be gained in criminal court.

"Trump has been publicly accused of crimes. He has now been indicted for some of them. Pelosi's tweet was pointing out that at this point if he is as innocent as he claims the trial will prove that, and there isn't any need for him to exhort his followers to violence again."

Yes I agree that this is what Pelosi's thrust was. Yet her phrasing was poor.

The trial doesn't need to nor should even be implied to mean that Trump needs to prove his innocence.

He doesn't, he enjoys that presumption and as such unless found "Guilty" he is wholly innocent unless and until proven otherwise.

Pelosi's tweet frames the indictment as Trump needing to prove he is innocent.

Now I do believe he has criminal liability for a whole host of crimes.

In none of those likely indictments will Trump need to prove his innocence, nor will any court (Outside of Louisiana, and that's as I'm not familiar with Hybrid Law criminal declaration) issue a verdict of innocent.

TLDR: I agree with you, Trump needs to face the courts. I disagree with Pelosi's framing of any criminal action in terms of a need to prove innocence. Legally, he is until proven guilty.

A not guilty verdict is an affirmation of that innocence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭archermoo

You don't seem to actually be reading what I'm writing. I stated that the idea of proving one's innocence via trial is explicitly NOT meant as legal terminology, but is specifically referring to public opinion. And in response you go on about how "innocent" isn't a verdict given in court. I never claimed that it was. I was never talking about verdicts at all. As I stated before presumption of innocence is a legal concept. The idea of proving you are innocent via a trial is about public perception. It isn't a legal argument.

Pelosi didn't frame any criminal action in terms of a need to prove innocence. She pointed out that if he is innocent a trial will prove that to the public so there shouldn't be any need for his to try and get his followers to riot. I get that you aren't familiar with that particular turn of phrase and so you don't like it. But it is VERY common in the US, despite what the Trump followers are pretending at the moment. It is just a shorter way of saying "Going to trial and being found not guilty will prove to the public at large that you are innocent of the charges that were leveled against you". And with Twitter character count is important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,933 ✭✭✭✭looksee

To be clear, where a court returns a "not guilty" verdict that in and of itself is a vindication of an accused's innocence.

You have just proved the point, how do you get a not guilty verdict without a trial?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,101 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Really, Pelosi is the problem here?

Trump has called for violence,posted a pic of him with a baseball bat and the AG. GOP are calling the AG Soros backed.

But Pelosi use of a phrase is the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,445 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

what did trump (allegedly) do?

i know he was indicted for paying hush money to stormy daniels.

are they saying he raped her, shagged her, something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Pelosi's 2nd sentence in the tweet, that phrase you have said is very common, fair enough.

No one is above the law, and everyone has the right to a trial to prove innocence.

That is the sentence that Trumper's are latching on to. It implies that Trump must prove his innocence. That without exculpation, that the charges listed in the indictment are all fait accompli.

They aren't, Pelosi's words are being twisted to present the NY indictment as being a furtherance of a political hit job on Trump and that the verdict is already in.

Now I do note that you say that particular phrase is common parlance in US but not here. It's astonishing how rare it is online in the form Pelosi used. A form that places the burden of proof upon the accused, versus the far more common formula of,

every person should be presumed innocent unless and until proven guilty.

Oh 100% agree with you.

Trump is the nutter and bad actor.

The issue with Pelosi's phrasing is the fuel it is already giving the far right and Trumper's in claiming the NY fix is in 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,292 ✭✭✭✭briany

@banie01

The issue with Pelosi's phrasing is the fuel it is already giving the far right and Trumper's in claiming the NY fix is in 😉

The fire will burn either way, independently of Pelosi's comments. The only difference is that Pelosi may want to beef up her security detail for at least the next 18 months.

I'd hope after her husband's close call, that she is being well protected at this stage?

No doubt some of her Trumper opponents could easily believe that despite no longer being speaker, that she is the one orchestrating the accountability he must face.

Like she is still somehow speaker, Trump is still POTUS and this will all end for them in '24 when shouts fooled ye 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,766 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Something else - they both admit to consensual sex while Melania was home with baby Barron in 2006. TFG picked her up at a golf tournament, shagged her, promised her a gig on Celebrity apprentice. The latter never happened. Fast forwarding a bit, Daniels tried to sell her story twice, first in 2011 to "InTouch" which, when it reached out to Trump was threatened by Trump attorney Michael Cohen. Again in 2016 when TFG's the nominee, to National Enquirer. Around the same time, other squeeze Karen McDougal is selling her "I had an affair with TFG and all I got was crabs" or some such story to the Enquirer, who paid her off but never published her story. When the Pussygate tape breaks, Daniels pops up again at the Enquirer, gets a deal but doesn't get paid until sometime later, when Michael Cohen directly paid her off while waiting on money from TFG. This eventually leads to jail time for Cohen, who got his money, somehow, from the Trump campaign

TFG is accused of using campaign funds to pay off Cohen and lying left and right about it.

For a pro-Trump timeline, see below. There's lots of them out there:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,481 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

For Trump's insurrectionists and other ...fans, Pelosi BREATHING is a trigger. Remember those "tourists" yelling "Where's Nancy".... although I'm sure someone will say "they were looking for a tour guide called nancy".

Always remember: There are people here who believe that video even the GOP don't believe (obviously the GQP believe it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭archermoo

The thing is the two quotes you mention don't have anything to do with each other. They aren't different versions of the same thing. The idea that someone should be presumed innocent until proven guilty is a legal construct that talks about how how the justice system should work. On the other hand the idea that everyone should have the right of going to trial when they have been accused of a crime so that their innocence can be proven in court is about public perception of someone who has been publicly accused of a crime.

Yes, someone should always be assumed to be innocent until it has been proven that they are guilty. However public perception generally doesn't work that way. And pretending that it does just because that is how the justice system is designed in naive. Another way it is phrased is that everyone deserves their day in court. Which means exactly the same thing.

And no, her tweet doesn't imply that the charges are all fait accompli. Quite the opposite. If he isn't innocent then a trial is unlikely to prove that he is. She is well aware that a lot of people assume that he is guilty. I certainly do. So she offered up that the trial would be his opportunity to prove us wrong. And more importantly hoped that he wouldn't incite his followers to riot again. You know, since the last time he did that she had armed men running around inside her place of work screaming about how they wanted to find and kill her.

I saw the tweet before I ever saw any of the far right types trying to twist its meaning. I thought she was being exceptionally polite to a man that has never been anything but vile to her. It wouldn't ever have occurred to me that telling someone that everyone has the right to a trial to prove their innocence could ever be misinterpreted as saying that he was presumed guilty and would have to prove otherwise in court. To me that would be like hearing someone say "Have a nice trip" to someone going on holiday, and that being interpreted as them hoping that the person will trip over something and injure themselves. It just doesn't make any sense.

It makes much more sense to accept that she was just saying that if he is innocent the trial will prove it to everyone. Rather than assuming that somehow she doesn't understand how the burden of proof works in the justice system of the US. She's been a member of the House of Representatives since 1987. She isn't a lawyer, but she has been around the law for a very long time.

Fun fact. The guy that attacked Pelosi's husband is Canadian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,029 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The burden of proof is never upon the accused in a court. But at the end of a case if the accused is found innocent, they will still have proven their innocence. All of this is just another Trumpcult storm in a teacup over absolutely nothing. Funny how they're so concerned over phraseology and terminology all of a sudden.

so essentially used campaign funds (donations) to finance the payoff.

just a very basic google search gives me this:

https://www.fec.gov/help-candidates-and-committees/making-disbursements/personal-use/

Using campaign funds for personal use is prohibited.

Commission regulations provide a test, called the "irrespective test," to differentiate legitimate campaign and officeholder expenses from personal expenses. Under the "irrespective test," personal use is any use of funds in a campaign account of a candidate (or former candidate) to fulfill a commitment, obligation or expense of any person that would exist irrespective of the candidate’s campaign or responsibilities as a federal officeholder.

More simply, if the expense would exist even in the absence of the candidacy or even if the officeholder were not in office, then the personal use ban applies.

from my reading of the above, if the payoff would have happened regardless of trump running, it is illegal. if no payoff necessary unless he ran, then its grand.

i presume bragg will argue that the conditions for the payoff existed before trump ran, so should be deemed illegal. this will be further complicated due to bragg using federal law to prosecute at a state level when that is the purview of the feds. presume if they win, it'll end up in the supreme court.

'twill be interesting to see how it plays out

Indictments will be out on Tuesday. I'd wait a day or two for the legal eagles out there to pore over them and get some perspective. This stuff's headache-generating to follow.

I think a better take might be, "Used campaign funds to pay off Cohen, then lied about it." It's the coverup that always gets 'em, cf. Nixon, Richard M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Taking down Fox News and trump in a few months would be sweet.

Just read up a bit on this, thanks. Seems like one of the actors in the scheme was "one-time Texas Governor John Connally." Now, if I were a CT type, I'd point out that's the same guy who was in the car with JFK when JFK was shot. Connally was shot, too... The guy is certainly there for big sneaky political events...

this is something that is cropping up more and more these days, see man utd thread re mason greenwood.

if someone is innocent until found guilty, simply being found not guilty equals innocence. else, you aint innocent until proven guilty.

re pelosi, she's clever. i would say deliberately phrased that way to rile up trump supporters

i reckon you're right. shut down opposing viewpoints. groupthink is prob the best way forward.

I agree that she was being quite restrained in what she said. Particularly given the harm he has caused her family. No argument on that front from me.

The issue, and it wasn't one I believe she intended is how her choice of words can be construed and indeed is being in many circles. Her formula places the burden of evidence on the accused. That's not how criminal law works, we agree on that 😉

Her phrasing is being flagged by multiple commentators as troublesome. The formula of words used in her tweet raises flags for legal practitioners.

Yes, she's not a lawyer and thankfully her turn of phrase will have no more effect on the court than as just that. A turn of phrase.

It is fuel to the fire for Trumper's tho, and even just looking at who thanked my prior post on it, makes that fairly clear.

Bang on, apart from how I'd interpret the not guilty verdict and most practitioner's I know would too.

Their innocence doesn't need to be proven, They are in all purposes innocent before the court from the get-go. Rather than proving anyone's innocence, it's vindicated or reconfirmed by the court.

I know it seems pedantic and semantic, but the reason I'd lean that way is that an accused need offer no evidence, not even testimony in their defence and still be found "not guilty".

They need not present anything at all to disprove a case against them. An accused need take no affirmative action whatsoever in their defence and thus need offer no proof for anything to be found as proven.

I know it seems like splitting hairs, but these are precisely the types of "nothings' that the Trumper's turn to being in their favour.

I don't really have anything more to add to the good news of a Trump indictment other than that.

Nancy's turn of phrase won't make a blind bit of difference in court. That's the important thing, it won't stop our Trumper friends latching on to it for a bit of CT bolloxology tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,958 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The admission might be new but I always thought it was common knowledge that a deal was done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,958 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Nothing Pelosi says has any bearing on the charges against trump or the outcome of any trial.

I literally said that in my post, twice.

But thanks for the confirmation 😉👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,499 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Look, a squirrel/Pelosi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,029 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Neither Pelosi nor anyone else is saying that the accused "needs" to prove their innocence. However, the fact still remains that once a trial has ended and the plaintiff has failed to make the charges stick, as it were, then the accused has proven their innocence in the case, which is all that Pelosi has said. They will have been "vindicated", as you say, which literally means "proof that someone or something is right", according to the OED.

As for evidence being offered, all parties being evidence to a trial. It would be foolish in the extreme for one's council to bring zero evidence to defend their client in the hope that they could merely count on breaking the court's case that's levelled against them without it. You can bet your bottom dollar that Trump's lawyers have been furiously building a defence in order to "prove" their client's innocence.

There's nothing wrong with what Pelosi has said or in the way that she phrased things. What is wrong, however, is that certain quarters want to make people think she means something that she didn't actually say.

Am I certain quarters?

There is nothing wrong with pointing out Pelosi's 2nd sentence as troublesome, it is. It implies that Trump must carry the burden to prove his innocence.

That's clearly not at all what she meant but, it's very much how it's phrased. That's already been highlighted by other commentators and tbh? We all know that's not what she meant. But much like Alice and the raven, some folk take it literally and place weight on what she said, rather than what she meant.