Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parochial Houses.

• 07-04-2023 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭

Is there still a house in every parish or have a lot of them been sold off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Guildenstern

I'd say still a house in every parish where there is a priest. Where else are they going to live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

They have huge houses all over with very few priests. Plenty of room to share.

Can't be healthy going home to an empty gaff anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,508 ✭✭✭Tow

I am sure there is at lease a house in each parish. But there would have been several per parish.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,459 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Alone is at least healthier than when they were going home to the alter boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Our parish has 2 or 3 (definitely 3 a few years ago but think there's only 2 priests now so I don't know) and not small cheap houses either.

Could never understand why they couldn't share as they are 3 bedrooms and 2 bedrooms are big....then a box room which is a box!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

There is one in Bridgetown. But nobody knows where it is.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2056568366/bridgetown-parochial-house

Sharing accommodation, while necessary for so many people today can be difficult and stressful. The majority of priests are likely in their fifties and older, maybe even older than fifties 🤔 It doesn't seem fair making them live together. Just because they are single men doesn't mean they wouldn't like to have their own space and live independently.I'm not saying that should happen in a large house though. That's something that does need to be looked at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,508 ✭✭✭Tow

Back in the day they would have had housekeeper. It was not unknown for the housekeeper to live in, and some cases be more like a wife.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,370 ✭✭✭✭elperello

In some bigger parishes there is a Parish Priests house and a Curate's house.

The Curate's share their accomodation.

I expect that with the reduction in vocations there will be quite a few houses being either sold or repurposed.

Plenty sold off already I'd say. I know 2 off the top of my head, big old square houses, needed a tidy bit of work to modernise but look well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,380 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

three here…

each priest has his own house. Always been the way..

Two of them will be three bedroom houses. The other is a bungalow I’m guessing is a two bedroom job.

by my guess that’s about 1.5 million in church assets just to accommodate 3 lads….one is semi retired…

each property is a 1 to 3 minute walk from the church door….

there are nearby two bedroom apartments that could be bought for about 270,000 each. Less upkeep costs etc..

It's not really about sharing though.

Why do they need a home built for a family? There are 2 bed houses in the area but not as close to the church.

Plus with a little bit of creativity the 3 bed house could very easily be converted into two units.

They are getting a "free" house I'm sure they can handle a little bit of discomfort.

Most of them do share,it's only rural parishes that they have their own house,which a lot of them hate apparently because of the loneliness.

There's a local that's the size of a small Hotel,must be worth millions,I think there's three of them in it. No idea where the money comes from to maintain all of these places,the priests need living expenses too.

That would be an ecumenical matter

I'm far from rural and neither is Strumms..... we're not same locality but I've an idea where he's based.

Like him the houses would be close to 1-1.2 million, which just seems madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

My local parochial house is empty and has been for a fair few years at this stage after the priest retired we also do not have a local priest anymore since nobody to take over(who the hell would want to be a priest anyway). A priest comes over on a Sunday to say mass in the local church. One mass a week now on a Sunday buy a priest from another parish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

Parishes in my estate most parochial houses are on church grounds now. Down sizing or getting rid of assets I haven't a clue but my parish what was the former PP's house is now in private hands as for the current PP his house is beside the church next to the garage where the gardening equipment is stored. Jammy get falls out of bed into work and has plenty of storage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭dockysher

They all have lovely Parochial houses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,361 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Surely the same should apply to all old people in council housing?

Older priests are at least still working. People are gonna get a shock once the priests die and there's no one to do funerals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,380 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

They’ll just import priests.

scanning the list of lads in the Dublin diocese… by surname recognition there are ‘about’ 55 lads with very ‘international’ first and second names whom given the general age profile of priests which is now of a very aged profile, they weren’t born to immigrant families who settled here… most sound Eastern European and African….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Ramasun

Plenty of spare rooms in them. Peter McVerry should be on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,370 ✭✭✭✭elperello

For the most part we are talking about old men doing a tough job.

Many of them are struggling as it is and past retirement age.

These houses are their homes.

Soon enough the houses will be empty and then the parishes/diocese can decide what to do with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,279 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Our parish priests house is housing a Ukrainian family and our local priests house was sold to Focus Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭beachhead

I am sure that back in the day when the church(es) started acquiring these houses the concept of apartments did not exist.I think most in the religious life would prefer there own front door i.e. access to the street.Who knows what scuzz they would be sharing an apartment block with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Parishioners pay to build and maintain it. Goes in the name of the Bishop from day one. No need for a full time priest in the area anymore and the Bishop sells it and the locals don’t see a penny of it. Nice long term ‘investment’ for the Church.

Post edited by hoodie6029 on

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,854 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Most sold off around here. There's one parochial house for a single priest covering three parishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,854 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

The funds from the last one sold here were used to extend the community centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭wildwillow

One fairly new house not in use and not on parish grounds. No idea why it hasn't been sold. So large and well fitted out , it would easily accommodate a family.

Other much older and larger house very close to church grounds is in use by one Priest.

Fair play to your community for getting that done. I know at least three parishes my scenario has happened. Depends on the Bishop I suppose…

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭French Toast

The local one here is a handy bungalow. Built in the late 80's afaik. The curates house was sold and turned in to a family home at the same time. Fine block of a 2 story house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,847 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Just as most weddings no longer take place in a church, it won't be too long before most funerals won't either and the world will keep turning. Then we'll wonder where the many billions in funds provided by the Irish people over the decades, often more than they could afford, went.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,361 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Sure - who do you see is likely to step in to the master-of-ceremonies role, and what venue will be used.

AFAIK Ireland has been singularly slow as both training celebrants and providing venues.

All you need is gravediggers and a few bodies to lower a coffin.

Even if you are religious a funeral is after the fact, won't hardly make any difference at the pearly gates.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

More like one in a deanery at this stage I’d imagine. The parish I grew up in used two have two houses when I was a boy and they were sold off at least a decade or more ago and the money was used to refurbish the community hall and the local football pitch. Last I heard the bishops had been advised to abolish parishes and operate on the deanery level as there were no remotely enough priests to staff parishes.

On the same note there were two convents plus the brothers teaching in the catchment area also all gone. The residential part of two were just turned into school rooms and the third now houses community services offices.

I now live in Switzerland and when I came here 30 years ago there were two churches in the parish, two houses, plus a rented one for three priests and an equal complement on the the Protestant side. Today it’s all gone. There is one church of each demonstration opened and closed by a parishioner, mass is said every third Sunday and the nearest priest is over 20km away.

On the other hand I now have a Sikh template within 200m of the front door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Don't know where you live but over this side of the country most people still get married in a church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

2 houses in my parish the CC and PP houses were sold off about 20 years ago and the priest used the money to build a small house for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

There are cases of rural churches that no longer resident priests. The priest just drives in for mass. Leaving houses empty is not favoured by dioceses. The houses will degrade and the churches could be robbed. I know one cases where one is rented to a woman for say 400 euro or so. That is a fairly commo. n practise. Others would be sold off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

Yes , today billions in funds go to NGO sector to promote dogma , the ordinary person still gets a lecture only instead of from the pulpit, it’s in the papers or on tv/ radio

meet the new boss ( same as the old boss)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

Actually no. Bishops do not own parochial houses. The diocese owns it.

And who runs the Diocese and make the decisions on property sales etc ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭HazeDoll

They were happy enough to have collected money from generations of lower class Irish scuzz. It's about time they had to share their living conditions.

Jesus sought out the poor, the oppressed, the shunned, didn't he? The priests should be climbing over each other to emulate Jesus and live among those the rest of us would consider to be undesirable neighbours.

Unless... unless they're pompous old men who have been grifting their living from the uneducated and gullible while keeping as much distance as they possibly can...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭lucalux

three or four empty parochial houses around me at least

one older house was replaced by an absolutely massive new priests palace, sorry, house (think dermot bannon style) about ten years ago, both empty now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

Bishops don’t own anything. Priests don’t own anything. The diocese owns any property. The bishop is over the diocese but he wouldn’t be buying and selling properties. It’s not run like a corporation. Did you think that whoever was the bishop “owns” the buildings?!?

“lower class Irish scuzz”. I’ll just leave that description of your own ancestors including probably your possibly still alive grandparents sitting right here for all to see.

“the rest of us would consider to be undesirable neighbours” is another absolute beaut….

No….wait “uneducated and gullible” is absolutely perfect too.

Tell me you think you’re far superior to everyone else and that you hold more or less everyone who’s not you in total contempt WITHOUT blah blah blah….

Read the comment to which I was replying then pull your horns in.

No idea what you're getting at by mentioning my grandparents. Weird comment to make, in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

One of the greatest failures of the power vacuum created in 1921 was how the Roman Catholic church managed to ironically sneak ( get it ) back into the forefront of modern Irish society. When the Brits turned off the taps, the gunmen knew we were phucked and basically handed education, health and with that massive social authority and influence, to a religion which denies its' members the preference of their own personal conscience, matrimonial rights of its entire senior membership, a prehistoric attitude to the role of females in society ( still followed btw ) and first nibs on influencing and coercing the next 10 generations of Irish people?

The Penal laws might get a bad rep, but they may have had a point as well as a purpose.

Except for Brain Darcy, a saint amongst them. They didn't like that either, but without him we might still be back 30 years. Dude should be beatified.

They are not our halls anyways? They are privately owned by the Roman Catholic Church or Eaglais na hEireann where they have retained ownership.

If you’re Irish going back a few generations then the “scuzzy lower class uneducated gullible undesirable neighbours” ( 99% of the population of Ireland for 100s of years) you refer to in your very telling post include your own grandparents.

If you can’t understand that then I can’t help you.

And if you won't read the thread you're beyond help.

You're very interested in my grandparents. I hope this helps.

My grandparents: Two were farmers eking out a living on the side of a mountain in the west of Ireland. They saw the value in education and every one of their numerous offspring finished second level and all but one went on to third level. This was done against the advice of their parish priest, who felt very strongly that education was not for the likes of them, particularly where the girls were concerned. There is a letter to this effect written by the priest that my Grandmother used to show people who mentioned religion to her.

My other grandparents were from slightly more privileged backgrounds and politely disregarded priests, though they were married in a church and baptised their children. My grandmother used to tell us to turn off the radio when the angelus came on, she said it gave her heartburn.

I don't know why you felt the need to mention my grandparents in a thread about priests' accommodation.