Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Back in the real world off Liveline.

The citizens assembly after listening to experts want Ireland's food exports curtailed.

Vladimir Putin did a hell of a job on the European Union environmental ngo's. First they shut down Germanys nuclear reactors, then went after the Dutch food exports, and now Ireland's are in the cross hairs.

The phucken place is gone beyond a joke.

Go and live in phucken siberia or Northern Africa off your lentils and beans.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I thought Three billboards was pure brilliance, in a gut wrenching sort of way of course. The ending in particular where they opt to decide along the way, just trying to make the best out of horrendous circumstances is sadly all to common in the real world.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭enricoh

Joe feels your pain- just not when he's off on his hollyers spending his 400k a year salary!

A neighbour dropped me in 5 different bottles of craft beers after I done her a turn. I reckon diageo have nothing to be worried about- I'm on the last bottle n determined not to pour this one down the sink! Each one was worse than the last, maybe my taste buds aren't sophisticated enough for lemon zest IPA with pineapple n mango.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭DBK1

Some of them craft beers should be fed to lads in prison to deter them from ever committing any more crimes when they get out for fear they’d have to drink them again!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,213 ✭✭✭Grueller

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

I remember at the time it was released (ive never seen the film btw) , An Garda Siochana had a post up about The Three Billboards outside Borris in Ossory to combat drink driving over Christmas i think, we were in NZ with a fella from Borriss doing plenty of socialising and keeping her between the clipex posts at the time as there were no ditches there.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Gave a fella a hand jump starting his car a few weeks back at the local leisure centre for helping him he gave me he gave me a bottle of some IPA blue labelled and ive yet to touch it yet. Is Kilkenny a craft beer? Had a few nice ones tonight in town after a road race, never had it here before only in Oz and NZ.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Those IPAs are tough going alright, but some of the lagers,pilsners and stouts are superb, imho. First taste is just yum yum, which is not the general reaction when drinking the mainstream súlach served in pubs.

Given its blandness, digestibility and business/family history, its some triumph of marketing that has led to Guinness' adoption as an Irish national emblem

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

as with many stories I’d expect there are two sides to this.

its not like there aren’t women obsessed with land ownership either. I’ve a sister who would stick you with a grape to get another square foot of land.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Jjameson

• Registered Users Posts: 9,259 ✭✭✭tanko

If there’s a glut of grain in Europe why are the aul nuts in the local Co op store so expensive. Does the Irish milling cartel only buy the dearest grain they can find.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Jaysus, we’re going to fall out now. And I used to follow every word you said on here about cows, grass, and life in general.

Guinness is beautiful. I’d have a few draft cans at home and a real one in the local village at weekends. How can you not like it???

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Our road is used as a short cut for people going to work in a large pharmaceutical factory near me. At this stage I have to time when I cross cows on the road or if I decide to go up and down the road with machinery. One evening back in January we were pumping slurry across the road but we had to use ramps so the cars can go over the pipe. I counted 90 cars in the space of 3.5 hours.

Wednesday evening I was crossing the cows back for milking. Usually takes 5 minutes and if more than 5/6 cars are waiting we stop the cows and leave them through. On Wednesday evening I left off the cows, car arrived on after one minute, he just went on his phone, two minutes later three more cars pulled up and the third car started blowing the horn. Lucky for the driver I was in the field hunting out the cows, my mam stopped the cows and waved on the traffic. The impatient driver sped passed and the car behind him stopped and apologised for the impatient driver. He then helped cross the last few cows.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,519 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

A few weeks ago we were bringing 6 suckler cows a few hundred yards down the road. Local dickhead in his Mercedes with his precious son blew the horn 2 or 3 times behind us. I'd say we were on the road for 2 minutes. Some people haven't a clue

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Any of us can be in a hurry from time to time, though it's the same muppets always in the hurry. The cows were there before them & will still be there when them lads are long gone (irony is they were hurrying home to eat the cow, likely)

I had a good one lately. Well it could have easily been disaster.

I had a guy coming full belt on a bicycle as hard as he could go just as I was standing on the road with cows coming out. I stopped him and told him there'd be a stampede if he didn't stop. He never said a word and just barely stopped and then took off back the road he came from , weaving from side to side of the road and about 100 yards back did loops till the cows crossed and then weaved from side to side of the road even in front of oncoming traffic till he got to the gateway and then took off like a bullet again.

No acknowledgement as he passed... nada.

He must have been on some GPS cycle app trying to beat his own or others time on the road.

As he passed on I was thinking there's some eegit looking to kill himself.

Our local dickhead drove right through my father myself and about twelve ewes we were gathering up (road runs through the commonage. Straight through, never a thought of stopping. Joke was on him as he left the road which had recently been upgraded and the drop from the new tarmac to the verge was higher than the underside of the........... yup...... Audi.

Crrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrunchhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Got to tell him, the concise version, what I thought of him across the seat his mother was sitting in too. Wasn't a bad day after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,397 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I always appreciate irony.

In this case farmers giving out about people not having patience, from my own experience, farmers are the most impatient people I've ever met from both a professional & personal point of view 🙂

To me it's a poorly flavoured stout compared to others, but that's no exception to most big brands. That said, they've the gas and cream effect down pat, and have addressed the issues that used to make it look and taste like sewer water in many pubs when I was younger.

I still find it pretty indigestible though, I'd have a very sound stomach, and it's the one thing that will upset it.

One thing is though, that such is the emotional brand attachment to Guinness, most craft breweries only release a stout if its top quite stuff, so it's actually one of the best bets if trying a craft meet in draught. White Hag, and Nine White Deer breweries produce superb stouts.

The political history of Guinness should have made it stouta non grata in thus country, but maybe like many things, we're well able to turn a blind eye when it suits.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I’ll try those ones you mentioned. And now that you’ve brought up the Guinness history it’ll be hard to forget it. Being a modern billion-euro multinational kinda takes the gloss off it too now that I think about it

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

The rules of the road state a farmer moving livestock is one of the people a driver must stop for. I'm sure these lads in their Mercedes or audi look down on farmers and feel they can do what they like

• Registered Users Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Were the Guinness family not impartial? Thought they looked after both sides pretty well

In a Jamie Bryson sort of way, they were financially backing an Orange Army with Carson when Home Rule was on the cards pre 1916.

We might have to share one sometime in the interest of peace and reconciliation!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,397 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

It sure does state that.

It does turn into a very grey area however

Section 31 deals with the duties of the drover and provides that the person in charge of an animal, which is being driven along or on to a road, shall take all reasonable steps to ensure that the animal does not obstruct other traffic or pedestrians.

Coupled with cow **** all over the road surface, its not exactly a strong position for a farmer to be in when arguing with the impatient drivers on the road.

BTW I'm not an impatient driver & I will turn off the car & help out if needed with a strangers cattle 🙂, but I understand millions of drivers won't

• Registered Users Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Gillespy

The history of Guinness isn’t black or white.

Was sitting in the jeep at 2 am on Thursday morning waiting for the vet. We were calving an Angus at outfarm and it was beyond me, massive calf. I was using the lights of the jeep as light. When I got back into the jeep there was a high pitch buzzing noise. Thought it had over heated or something. Turns out it was the little keyring fence tester I have on the keys of the jeep. ...

• Registered Users Posts: 21,421 ✭✭✭✭Water John

My wife told our impatient neighbour a few weeks ago, that she was staying put as my wife was in charge of the road.