Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VW main dealer repair times?

• 11-04-2023 8:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭

Hey,

I bought a 191 VW last September, It came with a one year VW warranty from a VW main dealer.

The car went into limp mode over the weekend and seems like it is not firing on one of the cylinders.

I rang the VW dealer this morning to make arrangements to bring the car in to get it fixed to which I was told that the next appointment was in June for diagnostics checks? After a bit of discussion and an absolute rigmarole of having to go through AA to bring the car in instead of driving at 5 minutes to the dealer, I hope it will eventually be seen at some stage today or tomorrow.

My question though is, are people really waiting 2 months for a main dealer to look at their car if they have an issue and it's not covered under the VW assist? Surely to God this can't be how they actually operate in this day and age. Do they think people can wait 2 months without a car?

Am I the one that's delusional for thinking this is chronically bad service or have VW always been this bad and I've just not been aware as this is my first VW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Is this your first time dealing with a main garage?

I've used VW/Toyota main dealers in the past & always had to wait for servicing or any repair work. Granted maybe not months, but deffo weeks.

Main dealers generally always have a delay with scheduling & rarely look at anything quickly

Also cronic shortage of mechanics for workshops at the moment.

Sligo Metalhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

VW warranty might come up a replacement car, they should pick up yours and you pick up a loan vehicle from a hire company. They're pretty quick to fix once you have a hire car at their expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭_DMac_

Hi, yes that's what I've done now. It was an absolute rigmarole to get it into the garage as they wouldn't take it in if I drove it over in limp mode.

They will only pay for the replacement car for 3 days though and then it's at my expense which I find a bit hard to believe. Hopefully they will have it fixed by the weekend.

*deleted as didn't include person I was replying to 🤦*

Been dealing with main dealers for many years and never seen anything like this. Usually a week to 10 days for something not urgent but 2 month wait for a diagnostic check on a car in limp mode is ridiculous.

It's ok. I'll just leave the car I paid 25k for 6 months ago sitting on the road for 2 months until you get a chance to look at it.

It's a very poor way of doing business and I don't know how they can think that is an acceptable response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Nobody likes having to wait for appointments but why do people jump to the "bad service" explanation, as if the dealer wants to turn work away? Do you really think it happens just for the craic?

Workshops buy hours from technicians and sell them to customers, it is literally their entire business model. One technician can work 40 hours a week, they pay him 40 hours and want him to work on cars for 40 hours so they can sell the time. They don't want him working for 10 hours because then they could only sell 10, they want him to work for 40.

That also means they book 40 hours worth of work into their workshop, because if the cars aren't there he can't work and they don't have anything to sell.

So why on earth would they tell you they cannot work on the car this week if in fact they could? Why would they pay the technician for 40 hours and leave him standing around with no work to do? Of course they wouldn't, they want and need him to be working.

Your booking isn't 2 months away because the dealer just decided they didn't want to do the work, it is 2 months away because their workshop scheduling shows that as the next available time. Because for the next 2 months they predict their workshop to be 100% productive. Because to work at your car they need to move some other customer back in the queue.

The chronic lack of new technicians is of course a huge factor but it all comes down to the same equation, hours needed against hours available. Maybe it isn't acceptable, but that's a meaningless word if they can't change the equation by buying more hours.

Thank you for that explanation of supply,demand and the concept of time but that's not what I was asking about.

Ok. Good luck with wanting to be considered a more important customer than everybody else.

Again that's not what I was asking either. I asked was it commonplace for there to be a 2 month wait to get your car checked out in a main dealer?

I never once said I expected to be treated better than anyone else. 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭mk7r

At the moment if a main dealer (or even independent) is reasonably well established then yes it's normal at the moment, we have a customers car waiting 6 months for a new subframe currently from the local dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭User1998

I mean if you walked into a grocery shop and there was no staff to assist you, the aisles were a mess, there were products missing and you had to que for a long time, that would be considered bad customer service. The same applies here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Iodine1

It is simply not good enough. Garages and main dealers allow some space for emergencies also. I have had instant attention from the many main dealers I bought cars from so I would say its just that garage, too interested in selling new models and maybe expensive Audis etc perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Girl Geraldine

Main dealers are generally a shower of ignorant cúnts. The only thing they understand is their own language.

So If i was in that situation I'd lump the car down there and park it up across the front door of the show room and go in a fúck the service manager to high heaven and refuse to move it until they agree to bump it up the list.

If you walk into a shop and all the staff are flat out busy with other customers, then what do you want them to do? To serve you they have to ignore a different customer and then that person is angry instead. It is a zero sum game.

Because thats the equivalent, not the messy aisles stuff you made up, it is all about the capacity of the staff.

Not having capacity is not the same as poor customer service.

Its not so much that they allow space for emergencies, more that workshop planning cannot be exact because they can't always predict how long a repair is going to take, for obvious reasons.

So a fault found and fixed quickly can free up some space. A fault that turns into a wiring hunt needs to have buffer time available in the planning. The emergencies are generally eating into that buffer time, even when there is none available.

So of course for obvious reasons they cannot have everybody demanding that their special car gets treated as an emergency, otherwise you have real emergencies stuck behind self important people who demanded special attention. Thats generally why there is a "rigmarole" involved.

Your wrong there. Poor customer service is the result of not having the capacity.

In the example of the shop, if the hiring manager fails to hire enough staff and manage turnover then this will result in a lack of staff in the store and thus a poor customer service to anyone who walks through the doors

The same applies to VW here. For you to say having to wait 2 months for VW to even think about looking at a car which has a major fault and is under warranty is not poor customer service then what is it?

Do you think its good customer service? Because they are trying their best?

Before continuing the conversation, are you aware of how desperately hard it is to hire trained mechanics? Not just hard, brutally hard, no matter how much money is thrown at them?

Because the implication that they just hire some staff suggests that you are not.

I have technicians in Dublin earning 70k a year and one earning near 90k, I know companies hiring general ops for their workshop on €26-30 per hour, we still cannot get trained staff because they simply are not out there. It is not a wage issue, it is a decade of kids not entering trades or wanting the job issue, and overbooked garages are the end result.

As a complete side issue, I completely disagree with the implication that a garage needs to be bigger than it wants to be just to meet demand. They are private businesses at the end of the day, if they want to limit their headcount then that it their choice, no matter how it affects capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭jorry

Don't make me laugh Op bought a vehicle assured by a VW Warranty... Not a longmile road merchant.

? Wonder will they send Op a satisfaction survey when matter is resolved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

My VW dealer has been 4-6 weeks the last two times for them to even look at the issue, and that was for problems on a brand new vehicle.

First issue was solved through VW assist after a very heated phone call.

So I wouldn't be surprised with your situation. Abysmal service in my opinion even in spite of shortages of techs, it's not like it happened overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭mk7r

But a shop is a finite space, as is a garage. There are only so many lifts and service bays, once they are at capacity then what can you do?

We have this issue as an independent, there is about a 2 month backlog ATM because there are more customers than people to do the work, no room for expansion, capacity is absolutely maxed out. It is becoming an issue in general the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭beachhead

All dealers have gone the same way-from budget brands to top range.A normal service can be a 6 weeks wait or more whether they advise you to have it or you make an appt.

They are probably always putting warranty and guarantee work at the end of the list because there is nothing in it for them, it costs them money.

The paying customer repair work will get priority because they will be in a hurry to fleece them.

What you could do to suss them out is get a friend to ring up saying they have an out of warranty VW car with a problem (think up of something very expensive) and see how fast they can look at it. I suspect if there is a chance of making money they will be look at it sooner.

Then show up with your car and tell them oh ya your friend had to cancel but said you could take their appointment time.

You can't just say "in spite of the shortage of techs" as if that is just a small matter that we could fix if we wanted to.

It doesn't matter if it happened overnight or in slow motion unless something can actually be done about it.

If you can't get into a fancy restaurant they get called busy, if your hairdresser is booked out they get called "in demand", but when a garage is booked out it is abysmal service. Funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭teediddlyeye

I dunno why people say this. It's complete boll0x. The manufacturer pays the dealer for warranty work.

"I never thought I was normal, never tried to be normal."- Charlie Manson

They get paid by the manufacturer for warranty work but only a low rate, a fraction of what they could nail a paying customer for.

But the barber or fancy restaurant hasn’t sold you an expensive car with a supposed 2 year warranty, a warranty in which they are failing to uphold if it means your car is off the road for the 2 months.

Look, if I call VW or any other garage and ask for a service and they tell me its a 2 month wait, thats fine.

But if I’ve spent upwards of €30,000 and have been promised a 2 year warranty and I get told that I can’t drive my car for the next 2 months because they are busy then that is a completely different story.

If they can’t commit to carrying out warranty repairs in a timely manner then they shouldn’t be giving warranties.

I think the only way to get car dealers to do anything is to go in and bang on the desk and make a scene and tell customers in the show room that they are a shower of cúnts and not to buy anything off them.

My father did this for my mother some years back when she was getting fobbed off with shít service by a dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭monseiur

Agree with you User1998 100% or an alternative is ''If the main dealer can't commit to carrying out warranty repairs in a timely manner they should be obliged to supply a like for like vehicle free of charge until all repairs are carried out''.......that would make them sit up take note of their shoddy service. As an aside - main dealers are currently charging €105 per hour labour so it's no wonder they're pushing the warranty repairs to the back of the queue.

You all shouldn't listen to the clown talking about warranty work, trust me, warranty repairs are generally always priority.

• They are more likely to be breakdowns which do indeed bring an expectation of quicker response times
    • They are more likely to be defects rather than planned service work, which again gets them priority
    • The warranty rates are generally based on retail recovery rate so are linked and comparable to your retail sales anyway
    • They have an established invoicing procedure, so no messing about with delinquent customers or chasing cash sales
    • It is far easier to get an expensive warranty repair approved than it is to get some internet know it all to believe that they do actually need an expensive part
    • If parts aren't available they can be more easily escalated to emergency VOR for warranty repairs

Seriously, don't listen to the mouthpiece talking rubbish about beating counters and blocking doors, they haven't a bulls notion.

Again, "can't commit" means not having the capacity to immediately start every single job that shows up at their door.

Many would love to increase capacity but cannot get trained technicians for neither love nor money, what should they do about this?

Stop selling cars with warranties they can’t honour.

Since warranties are a legal requirement that means the answer is to stop selling cars. Fair enough.

It won't help anybody in the short term, but those warranties will run out eventually and that will help I guess.

Of course then the problem will shift to all the people with older cars who can't get repairs done, but perhaps that is for another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭monseiur

To clear some of the back log perhaps the main dealers should consider 'farming out' some of their work to approved (by them) independent garages, they could supply parts etc. 99% of panel beating, body work, spraying etc. is done by third parties for the main dealers.

They have no choice for specialist work and are very glad of that, believe me.

But for mechanical work the independents have the same problem as the dealers, too much work and too little staff. Any good independent is going to look after his own customers first and has no interest in dealing with the many hoops that the dealer has to jump through.

That's before getting into all the other issues that would make it unfeasible.

Besides, if I signed off an independent as an approved service workshop today, by tomorrow somebody will be complaining that they couldn't take their car until next week.

You have hit the mail on the head here. This is the sensible answer. Waiting 2 months for a service or something scheduled regular maintenance is perfectly fine and I see no problem with that as you know it's coming and can plan in advance.

The issue of having your car parked up because they won't/can't look at it for 2 months is not bad service, it's a terrible business model.

As an aside to all of this the car was towed to a different VW garage yesterday and they rang me today saying the car was fixed and ready to go. So all in all it took them about an hour to diagnose and fix the problem but if I was to have accepted the the initial response from the dealer my car would have been parked up for 2 months because of a faulty spark plug.

Do we really think that's an acceptable performance from a main dealer?

I suppose other options would include outsourcing 3rd party warranties, or perhaps outsourcing the warranty repairs to a select few approved garages using main dealer parts.

Now I know this will never happen, but it’s just a thought if they can’t keep up with the work and provide their warranty customers with timely repairs.

What do you think they should do to change it?

And don't say "hire more staff", because they can't get them.

So what should they do?

A "select few approved garages" is literally what the main dealers are.

If a select few outsourced bodyshops can carry out bodywork repairs on behalf of VW then the same can be done for mechanical repairs.

Like I said, not gonna happen, but could be easily done.

Why can't they get mechanics?

Keep in mind it was mentioned in this thread that they are charging €105 per hour for labour.

How much do you think the mechanic gets out of that?

The reason they can't get mechanics in main dealers is because they are paying them peanuts and not alone is getting mechanics a problem but retention is also a problem for mechanics is it not?

To be fair it’s difficult to get mechanics at any level. I have a few friends who were trying to hire mechanics for months with no luck.

Oh I'd agree that it's hard to get them, the problem goes back over a number of years though as the pay has always been poor when starting out so young lads don't bother considering a career as a mechanic. I have mates that are mechanics as well and they have all said the same. Very few people want to be mechanics anymore as its not "seen" as a well paid job.

I am well aware this applies across the board in all trades as everyone is being pushed into the university route instead of the trades.

I know exactly how much they get out of it, I pay the wages. And all the many, many, many bills.

I already said in this thread, I have techs picking up between €70k and €90k a year, they bring home more than I do because of the overtime. If you want to call that peanuts then more power to you.

Not all mechanics earn top dollar but most garages are pure meritocracy, if you are good then basically you name your price. Or what, do you really think in a world where good mechanics are like hens teeth that they don't have bargaining power when talking money? Do you know how many times I have had the conversation that starts with "Rival place has made me an offer...". That is why retention is a problem, because they are constantly getting approached by all the companies out there desperate for staff.

But sure whatever. I guess all those dealers are leaving money on the table and not bothering to fix cars because they just don't want to pay any money to the only people qualified to do it.

It is a made up qualification. There is no legal requirement to be a time served mechanic, like there would be for being a RGI plumber or an electrician.

So you are only hiring experienced techs/mechanics. Who is training all the apprentices?

You don't need a qualified tech to do simple jobs around a garage.

You do however need to entice more young folks into being a mechanic or in 15 years time there will be none left anyway when they all retire.

I understood that you are on the dealer side of it and have your reasons to justify the delays in service but this comes down to younger mechanics being paid poorly and having no interest in making a career out of it and has now resulted in garages/dealerships cutting the backs off each other to get their hands on the few "qualified/skilled" mechanics available.

The customers can't fix this problem for garages. The garages need to fix it, by enticing and training new mechanis, instead of saying they can't get staff.

Unless ye start offering proper money and benefits, noone will want to work at this job.

You might think 70k is bit money but to be honest, for what is often a dangerous and dirty job, I wouldn's start the van for that money. No-one will in Dublin anyway. Why would you, when you could be a commercial electrician clearing €500 a day easy if you. Double that for out of hours work.

Our apprentice programmes are now the only way we can get new technicians, we put a lot of time into them and are quite proud of the result. Of our 40+ technicians over 60% of them came to us as first year apprentices and then decided to stay with us when they qualified. A couple of apprentice of the year winners too, we have some fantastic staff learned their trade with us as kids.

I don't need to justify anything, I just find it lazy and boring these threads where people complain about garages and awful service without really knowing what is going on. We have some fantastic service advisors that go out of their way to help people, why are they considered bad service advisors just because there is more work than the workshop can physically do? Its not like they broke the damn car on you, they just don't have ten pairs of hands.

I mean, you are telling the likes of me that we need to get more staff, when we have been pulling our hair out for years trying everything and anything to do exactly that. As if we don't already target schools and invite kids in for work experience, as if we don't already work very closely with FAS/SOLAS. And thats us with a good reputation for training people up, its worse again for the smaller places.

And I find it lazy and boring when I find my car parked outside my house because of an issue that I didn't cause and the garage tells me they can't look at it for 2 months.

What is the point of buying from a main dealer when this is the service you get? You pay it for a premium of a main dealer you expect somewhat better service.

I'm not targeting you in particular but for some reason you seem to think I am. I'm saying that the problem with the supply of mechanics is across the board but you seem to think I'm only talking about your garage in particular.

This is going around in circles anyway, but it's good to get your take in that you think from the garages perspective its perfectly fine for someone to have to wait 2 months to have their car looked at for an issue that leaves the car unusable and is not routine maintenance.

The reason no mechanics can be found any more is that the job was rubbished for years. It was always the lowest paid trade you could have, by a good margin, and what was always said was why the hell would you serve your time 4 years to get paid marginally above minimum wage for your career, and have to do nixer work just to make ends meet, when you could become a plumber or electrician in the same time and be absolutely coining it in, with as much nixer work naming you price fro cash if you want a little extra.

It doesn't matter that you are paying more acceptable wages now. The damage to the reputation of the job has been done. because of that it is seen as a shít low paid job and nobody wants to be doing it.

This is decades of absolute miserliness coming back to bite car dealers.

Believe it or not, I spent a year as an apprentice back in the mid noughties for a main dealer.