Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings part 4 - Read OP before posting - updated 30/12/23

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Issac Kemala shot dead tonight, his body found at a Wicklow reservoir, he was known to gardai, he had a 6 month old baby daughter and was engaged to be married.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭Spencer101

Believe there’s some quirk that he can’t be rearrested for 24 hours or something. Think all the stories about him visiting family and going to his favourite Chinese are fairy tales. If he’s somehow acquitted he’s out of the country in the 2 hours after. SCC will I think convict him. It will take a fairly imaginative judgment as tapes ambiguous and Dowdell a fantasist. A thin case to put it mildly but think they will convict.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭Jeff2

He said "yeah" and that was put down to Gerry being half deaf and Dowdall rambling on.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Captain Fantastic 1984

There's absolutely not enough evidence to convict beyond reasonable doubt. And having listened to a few podcasts in relation to this, whether its a judge or a jury they still have to convict beyond reasonable doubt. If there's a shred of doubt he has to be found not guilty. And to me theres plenty of doubt. Nobody can 100% say hes guilty. There's too much ifs and buts.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Thats what will make the guilty verdict all the more funny and satisfying. The case is flimsy. No way is their enough evidence as you say.

But fxxk him. The misery he has inflicted on the community. He deserves everything he gets.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭Tintin101

I'd appreciate if you stopped being misleading in your posts.

For clarity here is what was said.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭Jeff2

I'd appreciate if you stopped being misleading in your posts.

Really me being misleading in my posts. Show me misleading posts.

That what you have posted is not a clear admission to anything, just answering a rambling Dowdall to get on with the journey.

Course vinny ryan, darragh Evans, ger mackin and few others

• Registered Users Posts: 13,416 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

"The court finds Paul Murphy GUILTY of assisting a criminal organisation by providing access to a vehicle."

• Registered Users Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Once Murphy was guilty they will all be guilty.

Good riddance.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,187 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Will he still get his €200k per year in salary +expenses+ MEP pension?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,792 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Judgement only barely stopping short of calling some of the defence witnesses liars

All going good so far. The defence witnesses are being ripped apart.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,792 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Spoke to soon - conclusion directly calls them liars.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,395 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Jason Bonney has been found GUILTY.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 18,131 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

An inconvenient truth!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Monk should just not bother coming back after lunch as he is being found guilty. End of.

As we all suspected Gerard will be found guilty. It's the correct verdict and thank for the SCC is all I can say.

The defence witnesses really were a shitshow. When the court finds John Dowdall more credible it says it all. There will be no chinese for Gerard tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

(pushes all chips to the centre of table) Gerry walks on murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭juno10353

"Ms Justice Burns: "Case against Gerard Hutch that he was one of the two" gunmen

Case is he was present and an "actual shooter." This case is based off the evidence of Jonathan Dowdall."

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Ms Justice Burns now speaking on Dowdall reliability.

"Dowdall, she says, served eight years for false imprisonment, threat to kill, assault causing harm. In June 2022 he and Hutch sought to have evidence against them dismissed. Their application failed. In December 2021 his solicitor contacted gardai about possibility of providing information."

"As bail was consented to Dowdall was released."

The court is in "no doubt" his bail enabled gardai to speak to him on his way to the airport.

At conclusion of a meeting Dowdall was told to gather thoughts and put pen to paper. Dowdall was of opinion guards were to return to him. Guards of view he was to come back to them.

Dowdall was asked how he wanted situation to end up. He said he was willing to give evidence. He met gardai again 12 July. Further info was imparted in relation to Regency.

Letter dated August 2nd sent to gardai set out history of communications and referenced neccesity for a nolle prosequi on the murder charge if Dowdall was to give evidence.

Hutch's counsel suggested it showed lack of interest by gardai in what Dowdall had to say. "The court tends to agree."

• Registered Users Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭bigroad

They need to turn the visitor centre back into a prison.

Justice Burns says statement was taken from Dowdall "after a long drawn out process" ten days before trial.

"It cannot be said Jonathan Dowdall found God." He was acting "out of self interest," Judge Burns said.

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

Dowdall's character being hockeyed.

Judge Burns says "court of view Jonathan Dowdall obtained a significant benefit by providing a statement to An Garda Siochana"

Judge Burns: "The court is in no doubt if someone was to make a life for himself in the perilous situation he's now in, it is Jonathan Dowdall."