Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FEC committee & final report - **UPDATE post 442**

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭TheEngineer1

I've been writing the IFA to make them aware of the impact that these proposed laws will have on predator control, especially the impact on thermal and night vision for fox shooting at night. Didn't receive any replies unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Zxthinger

Why don’t we just either fully adopt the German system or the PSNIs system.

If the German model is selected then farmers will see their guns gone unless they adopt training c120hrs.. lol

They failed to highlight the nonsense related to crossbows being restricted and seek redress.. Instead they suggested mandatory insurance and range membership base on this original blunder.

When will they see the light and deregulate these.

A small crossbow might be a kin to a pistol but it’s one shot mate..

A large crossbow is massive and too difficult to conceal lol and not effective beyond that range for which a compound bow or long bow used..

The short rifle barrel issue is a non issue that has been popularised here. If it’s sold here with and legally obtained then it’s legal.

The industry standard from the US is a min barrrel length of 16inches or 400mm and this would be a more suitable figure to start at.

What is the deal with the Black powder that no one has mentioned and did the panel decide not to mention it. perhaps they should ask the PSNI how they do it’s

• Registered Users Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Why don’t we just either fully adopt the German system or the PSNIs system.

No thanks to either... Lets adapt the Czech,Polish,or Austrian or at a bad 3rd the Italian system then.

They failed to highlight the nonsense related to crossbows being restricted and seek redress.. Instead they suggested mandatory insurance and range membership base on this original blunder.

When will they see the light and deregulate these.

A small crossbow might be a kin to a pistol but it’s one shot mate..

A large crossbow is massive and too difficult to conceal lol and not effective beyond that range for which a compound bow or long bow used...

Beats me why anyone would want one of these "high tech low tech" [Modern technology and materials applied to a low tech device that has been about for centuries]sporting equipment?When there are vids aplenty on YT these days that shows lads out in the Far East building very powerful Xbow devices out of household junk and the local scrap pile, that have as good an effect as 900 euro graphite and fibreglass pully and cable device. Feck it one guy Todd Cutler of Todd's workshop shows how to make one using either a bushcraft knife or a plain old handsaw! Easily made,kills pretty good, throwaway...So what now ? Ban junk piles and elastic bands?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭delboythedub

"To ban guns because criminals use them is to tell the law abiding that their rights depend not on their own conduct but, on the conduct of the guilty and the lawless" . I remember when the guns here were Called in someone in the shooting mags stated that if you ban guns only criminals will have them. we thought this guy was off his head .but now when I look at the amount of legally held CF pistols V non legally held pistols in Ireland today that guy was right sadly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭garrettod

Very true, delboythedub.

That old saying "If guns are made criminal, only criminals will have guns", needs to be drilled into every single persons head - as its 100% true!

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭jb88

Right next Door, neighbouring constituency.

If you have ever been to these constituency offices, its recently graduated politics grads and tea makers whom you end up seeing in a lot of cases. This one is no different.

He has completely ignored and put off meeting me and others.

Have had fellow party members talk to him and urge him to meet and still he ignored everyone. No use, doesnt care. Not interested in you me or anyone else with an opinion. Typical second generation politician, who thinks his father's name will carry him. Well that wont wash next election.

The only way to solve that is take away his job next election

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

While I agree, the problem is, that by then we have lost our private property and been lumbered with even more unneeded restrictions on our sport

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭BSA International

All TD's are operating like this now. Back in the day when you went to a TD's clinic you met the TD not the boy in the office. This is why TD's have lost touch with reality on the ground!

Anytime I have to meet these people I specify to the office monkeys that I want to speak to the organ grinder in person one to one on constituency business concerning my area.Their job is to shield the TD,so your job is to figure out how to get around those people with a viable excuse that sounds plausible but generic and non threatening.

Next step up is of course a picket of his clinic

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Need to put massive pressure on all Fianna Fail TDs, insist that they take the matter to MeHole, and spell it out, that ALL of their jobs are on the line here, not just Browne's. 😡

No harm doing similar with FG, thereafter...

Keep reminding them that there are 220,000 - 250,000 licence holders (no need to mention that some people have more than one licence 😉), all of whom have family and friends, so that's a hell of a lot of votes!

Thanks,

G.

It would be great to get some support from the farming community on this, help turn up the heath even further on FFGG

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Feisar

While I appreciate the sentiment this is simply not the case. No ones job is on the line over what is a fringe pastime that many consider strange these days.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

That's the problem though. There are easily 100,000 people here who own guns. Gun owners = voters. If they decided to vote a certain way, plenty of politicians would sit up because there's enough votes there to get them kicked out of their job. Instead, they get to sh1te on law abiding gun owners with no consequences.

The problem here is that local politics is like a Monarchy. My grandfater voted for his grandfather and your son will vote for his son.

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭delboythedub

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭Chiparus

I wrote to him , I think he is getting quite a few.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

And ignoring them all. I think he has refused to meet some shooting organisations and his secretary is giving people the brush off on his behalf when he is written to about the semi-auto ban. They are essentially being told to fcuk off.

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭freddieot

And it's not just 100,000 votes. All my family will be voting AGAINST, these idiots next time round. I reckon 4 votes and counting just here and that's before i count friends etc. Anyone local whose name is on the record as voting to do down any aspect of shooting/hunting/rural sports in general, won't even get into the driveway. We will vote for anyone that stands the best chance against them.

Problem is we are not enough in politicans faces about this.We are playing with the Queensbury rules while they are dirty street fighters.Browns and Harris'clinic should be under seige by gunowners every weekend.No doubt they would go bawling about "extreme right wingers"to the media.(Whilst conviently forgetting they have armed Garda protection because of their office).Good!It would give us a chance for us to give our side of the story in MSM ,as us extreme right wingers should then be entitled to airtime as well to refute the charge.

This is all about today ,using msm PR and social media to win a propaganda war,before any sort of discussions take place,and we have alot of learning and catch up to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Feisar

Why are we right wing? Just asking for discussion, not trying to be argumentative.

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

Because anyone who is against the governments stance on something these days seems to be branded "right wing".

Its happening in a lot of Western countries and is just intended to deride and dehumanise the state's opponents in the eyes of people who dont read past that label before dismissing what that "right wing" group is complaining/protesting about.

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

Great, thanks,it's really important that his local constituents tell him what's going to happen, if he carries on like this.

Might be no harm to force MeHole into the conversation too, though, given its going to be his party that pay the price at national level, for the actions of this rouge small time politican.

In fact, I believe thats what we all should be doing, insisting that our local FF people raise it with MeHole and get you a response from his office - then the party leader has a problem, that can't simply be ignored.

(thereafter, do the same with FG, given they control the actual Minister for Justice position😉).

The Easter break and Joe Buden's visit should not be used by the politicans, to conveniently forget about this issue.

We are a law abidinv, but very powerful group, and it's long past time that we flexed our muscles, to protect our sport, and our rights (to equal treatment, respect etc.)

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

Minister Browne has been getting a lot of attention from his local constituents.

Ferns GPA did a good letter and many other clubs besides.

He has received a lot of attention from Wexford RGC also.

If they get a meeting on this subject it will be with Justice dept civil servants in tow.(they were told this)

The vibe is "don't worry about the FEC, that is just a talking shop, there will be plenty of consultation.."(they were told this)

I do not think that is acceptable. Temporary measures introduced by the Government will be permanent-look at USC etc..

B man

The Ferns GPA letter to politicians

Dear Minister, TD or Public Representative

I am writing to you on behalf of Ferns & District Game Preservation Association as I have been asked by the committee to contact all our local public representatives for support in opposition to the new firearms Licencing legislation that is being considered by Minister of State for Justice & Equality Mr James Browne on the recommendations by a Firearms Expert Committee selected and set up by the Minister's Department.

Ireland already has one of the toughest gun ownership laws in Europe and these new rules will put firearms ownership and their legal use out of the reach of many newcomers to shooting sports such as Clay pigeon shooting, game hunting and target shooting .

Current Firearm Licence holders too will be affected by these new requirements due to new costs and constrictions on the use of their firearms.

I can't begin to stress to you what a devastating effect these ridiculous new requirements, if introduced and written into law will have on nearly all the people connected with shooting sports in your constituency and you would be surprised how many of us there a re.

After the GAA, shooting is one of the biggest sports in Wexford, with over three and a half thousand firearms licenced in the county.

It is beyond belief to think that the Garda authority and the Department of Justice could be so flippant and uncaring as to try and implement such far reaching and oppressive regulations on firearms owners.

If you are not familiar with the contents of the Firearms Expert committee proposals, please ask Minister of State Mr Browne or someone in Government to explain and I am sure it will lead you to realise that these requirements that they intend to implement are an injustice to the decent law abiding firearm licence holders in your area... We are not criminals .

If you wish to contact Ferns & District GPA we will explain in greater detail what the new legislation will mean to us or we would be happy to meet with you to highlight the issues that are most likely going to ruin shooting sports in this country .

Ferns & District GPA have nearly 100 members, that's 100 families and friends who will be watching closely to see which of our public representatives will help us in our struggle to prevent these ridiculous requirements being shortly passed into law by the Justice Minister.

The names of the politicians who helped us and to what degree, will be sent by Ferns GPA texting service to all members of our Gun club just before the next elections and a copy of this letter will be circulated to the 64 other Gun club secretaries here in Wexford .

We are asking for your support and look forward to seeing what you will do to help the thousands of decent people who are licenced Firearms owners in your constituency.

If you are not in agreement with us we would also be pleased to hear YOUR views or opinions on the new proposed Firearms Legislation and happy to discuss these with you.

Ends

Hi All,

I don't want anyone to think clubs or individuals in Wexford are not doing their bit to drive home the issue to Minister Browne.

Thank,

Berettaman

Consultation? Gardai are reducing ammo allowances with no consultation.

We all know a politicans promise is worthless.

Politicans only care about one thing, that's there very comfortable livelihoods - so sadly, it needs to be made very clear to them, that is what they'll lose, if they allow Browne to railroad these changes through.

As a sporting community, we've been far too tolerant, and far too nice, for far too long. It's time to flex our muscles, and kick a bit of a$$ - metaphorically speaking.

Thanks,

G.

I agree time to stand up to the constant attacks on our sports.

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

The vibe is "don't worry about the FEC, that is just a talking shop, there will be plenty of consultation.."(they were told this)

Yeah about as believable as a fox saying he wont eat any of your hens,as he is a great friend of the hens

We make it quite clear to this lot of snakes we DO NOT believe or trust them on this issue,and use their own words from Pat Rabbite TD "Shure,you'll say anything to get a vote.!"

Meanime.

Dont know if any of you follow the Irish hunting podcast over on Spotify?

It seems that the two lads who do this were off up in the Dail last week where they met their local TD and apparently have wrangled an open invitation for the various shooting groups to have a day in the Dail giving their submissions and presentations to all interested Govt parties!.

IF this is true, and I can't see why it shouldn't be. This is probably the best news we have had in a long time, as it finally gives every organisation a say if they want on this.

Link here.https://open.spotify.com/episode/6E5pos0zh3I6rI0E8KMJBw Episode 30 road trip to Lenstir house Skip to 18mins in to appx 43 mins

Start asking your orgs as to when they are going to start moving on this folks.

Post edited by Grizzly 45 on