Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What businesses are successful these days in small towns?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,777 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,532 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nowso

Krispy Kreme donut shops

• Registered Users Posts: 16,011 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Do people not die or get married in the town? (Are these two things related

I am sure they do lol.

Yes there is.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

That would not work here either tge units too small. Besides there is a well established very busy one in the town. The last thing in it was an auctioneers you know the people who advertise properties for sale.

Yes Donut shops seem popular.

Or maybe a health shop could work. None of them in the town.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Noticing a lot of gyms popping up in smaller towns and doing well for themselves.

Fitness in general is a huge growth area: yoga, pilates, jiu jitsu/other martial arts, HIIT training, crossfit, all that business.

Lads and ladies on the local GAA teams are more likey to be looking after themselves than in yesteryear, and they've kind of become the "third space" in a lot of places. Throw-in a low-fuss coffee dock in the gym to hang out in after and you have a tidy little business.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,365 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The wholefood, organic local produce is viable. Each town can carry one.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Maybe an old fashioned hardware shop. If there isnt a woodies or b and q nearby. Or kitchen shop

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Zero waste type shops/bring your own packing like this are starting to become popular

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

No donuts shop. Be gone in no time. Suppose if you have the kitchen you and create crepes, falafel and tacos. It's a fad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭mikemac2

CrossFit gym. You don’t need a high street place with expensive rent. An industrial unit will do

These days drinking is down, smoking is down and people will pay for fitness training. You could split the rent if someone else runs martial arts classes

As with everything, research is required

In our town a closed down factory was turned into a CrossFit gym and seems to be going well

Nope. How many trainers of different knowledge do you need. Loss of money unless people are complete fools.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

I live in Dundrum - it's a hugely built up area of Dublin with a town, massive shopping centre and huge apartment blocks.

Places that are ridiculously popular here are;

- Gym

- Coffee Shops / Cafe's

- Barbers

- Cosmetic Dentists

- Donut Shops

- Gaping Stores

• Registered Users Posts: 17,555 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Again, ditto for cafes. Was driving from Waterford to Dublin a while back and decided to go off the motorway to grab a bite to eat. Ended up in Thomastown, which seemed like a nice little village. I found at least 4 coffee shops to choose from which seemed disproportionate for the size of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,730 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Clamping companies.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Glaceon

The last time I was in a particular Irish town which I won’t name, it was pretty much all Chinese takeaways and barber shops!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Indestructable

It's almost certainly Edenderry. Though I didn't think 7,000 live there.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,171 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Mentioned before but Coffee shop was what first came to mind. How about a Magic/Joke shop with costumes etc. might do ok with the younger ones? Anything that appeals to women seems to do ok too.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Kloppo

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭Honesty Policy

0ur town has a 'proper' Gelato shop which sells icecream, good coffee, crepes, waffles, smoothies etc. It is always booming- winter and summer. Their product is very good and the building is decorated trendy and is clean. They seem to just have gotten their brand and product right.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,010 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

OP, your parents own this unit, and it's available to rent, right?

Are you looking for suggestions on a business to open in it yourself, or are you looking for ideas for a business type that will take it on?

If it's the latter, it won't really work if you decide "Ok, it's going to be a dog groomers." and then expect a dog groomer to magically appear while you turn everyone else who's interested in it away.

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭patspost

Is there a Nail bar in town?

They would appear to be doing well.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Edenderry I'm guessing, a town designed by idiots.

Ms

Yes there is a fed in town alright.

Yes that's right.

I would like to think I was but just not a good time for me to do that.

I was looking for ideas for them but ye I think they will just put it put there and see what turns up.

It's a small enough unit so it certainly is not going to be a bowling alley.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,172 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Add a coffee dock station and you have a great little earner.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 4,892 ✭✭✭enricoh

A big supermarket opened beside a small grocer that was on the go donkeys years. Everyone said that'd be the end of the grocer.

Went in Sunday for ice creams , was probably waiting 10 minutes in the queue. One young one full time on the ice cream machine n other lad helping. I'd say they could'a pulled in a couple of grand Sunday alone from ice cream alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,117 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Bookies are flying up everywhere. Any half decent town has least two or three.

Coffee shops, Butcher doing solid.

The local takeaway is where the serious cash is though I reckon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Is there a launderette/ dry cleaners/ ironing service? Local bnb's or hotels use them for bed linen and towels, tourists in campervans, families use them for duvets, curtains and big items that dont fit in a washing machine. Plus, lots of people hate ironing. Theres one or two near us and they are mad busy, open 7 days.

Vegetarian food cafe or take away.

Salon for facials, botox etc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

GP surgery or a specialist service like a physiotherapist or a podiatrist. People travel miles to see a good physio.

Photographers are always busy with weddings, communions, christenings etc but not sure if they need a shopfront.

Would the unit be big enough for a bicycle shop? No shortage of demand there.

Post edited by mrslancaster on