Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2023 **No Ticket Sales / Requests ** - It'll be grand

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭optogirl

Johnny Marr. I'm happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭ChannelNo5

• Registered Users Posts: 3,792 ✭✭✭Fanirish

• Registered Users Posts: 5,005 ✭✭✭endainoz

Mary wallopers, saw doctors and the wolfe tones, I'm a bit jealous of that!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Some disclosure; Had access to a slightly earlier peek so this was pre-written ready to hit post. I'm not that quick at doing my homework!

Not great. Yet again not one single act that i'd be excited about seeing. A proliferation of pop, in various guises, once more. I guess that's what the youth like. Plenty of singer songwriters with a very "barest hint of indie so as not to offend, yet portray a deep and edgy seriousness" type sound. A lot of music for teenage girls.

How many acts would i pay to go and see at their own gig? None. A big fat zero. The ones i'd be any way interested in; Idles, Amyl, KKC, Viagra Boys, Murder Capital, Gurriers, i've all seen multiple times and frankly don't like any of them enough to pay the required door tax anymore.

Chalk are the one act that i hadn't heard of that the guitar folks can get on board with. Fontaines/Gilla Band etc. type vibes.

Nia Archives is promising as she's on a Junglist tip.

999999999 and Charlie Sparks for the techno (although both can be cheesy which is annoying).

Lovejoy are very much landfill indie to my ears but some here might like them.

Bakar and Cat Burns appear to be all over the shop stylistically, to the point where i think some folks here will like and also hate chunks of their material.

I suspect some will actually be quite happy with that lineup. Pull 10-15 acts outs that they'd go and see plus more to discover.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kg703

Bit of a disconnect between headlines and undercard - will split the crowd nicely. Not sure if Ill go this year though - I've seen those recently who I would want to see and I already have tickets for ATN. I wonder who the blur is! Surely someone will figure it out

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭ChannelNo5

Happy enough with not going now. Johnny Marr and lightening seeds would be my pick of that lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

not a hint of Jerry Fish tent in that either

Ava max is the blurred act.

playing lollapalooza Berlin for festival republic the week after.

Jesus it’s worse than I had expected. Johnny Marr will be awesome. But Jesus that’s a dire lineup for a top dollar festival ticket.

i mean, if it’s raining, I don’t know if I’d be arsed leaving my tent

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Wooderson

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Jaysus, is she even that popular to sub the killers?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭LowOdour

It is what it is, wasnt expecting much but at least enough there now to start finding some recommendations

Only 4 on my must see list - Idles, Johhny Marr, Viagra boys, Young Fathers

And will go along to these if nothing clashes Amly ATS, Mary Wallopers, Murder Capital,Saw Doctors. I expect MW and SD sets to be jammers. Will be staying well away from Wolfe Tones

She is subbing David Guetta at lollapalooza Berlin so I’d assume festival republic are in belief she is that popular

• Registered Users Posts: 12,590 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Always announces much later, say July/Early August.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Bunch of number 1’s in ireland

When the acts are so bland they have to be blurred out on the poster

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Going to be a lot of Tri-Colours bateing around the place.

Hasn't thrown a lot new into the mix for me, Mary Wallopers, that lad Jamesie Marr is supposed to be alright...

Fight like apes will be on the list as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kg703

Oh wow, I wouldn't enjoy her at all now. Thanks for the info!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

I don't know, Ava Max is a strange one. The logo doesn't match the general layout of this blurred logo, so I'm not sure.

This would be my first EP. Based on this, I don't think I'll be going. It's a pity.

Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭dav09

Lineup seems to get worse every year, just comparing 2018 (which had a lot of commercial mainstream acts but still some decent ones at that and a really solid undercard too) to this it's like two different festivals, still more to come but hold out no hope. Feels like FR really almost fully targeting teenagers now and a few family acts thrown in. Same ol' acts too get booked. Dreadful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭SachaJ

Look like they blew their load on the top row and f*** all budget for the rest of the lineup.....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,590 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Not the best announcement but here's the acts I've narrowed down too.

Idles (first time seeing them)

Jamie XX (Seen him numerous times)

Johnny Marr (will be the third time seeing him but always consistently good)

Rick Astley (Will check him out for the craic)

Amy & The Sniffers (First time seeing)

Ham Sandwich (Will give them a bash for first time)

King Kong Company (May wander in for a gawk)

Mary Wallopers (These lads always deliver)

Murder Capital (May give them a third or fourth look)

Wolf Tones (Will check them out for a laugh, must be as old as Melvin Benn, always thought they were more wolf than tone though)

Viagra Boys (will endeavour to catch them this year)

Young Fathers (Will definitely catch them)

Chalk (recommended by a few folk)

Gurriers.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra (First time catching them).

Post edited by bodhrandude on

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Think a few here might like Unknown Mortal Orchestra too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Lot of research to do as don't know a lot of them but have added Johnny, lightning seeds to my will defo go see and fight like apes, ham sandwich and the Saw Doctors to my depends on what else on list. Hopefully the research will throw up more but based on comments here not so sure

• Registered Users Posts: 391 ✭✭Paddy2012

Are you sure? The logo looks like it has a dog in it to me, I was thinking it was maybe Boygenius.

Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

I assumed people already knew them so didn't mention them (Obligatory music snob post from myself 😉).

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene