Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Losing is a habit that you don't want most of your first choice team to get into.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Massive bonus with Munster getting the draw after a string of other results going against us, maybe predictably, in the last week.

It's a bit more of a free hit now, seventh will hopefully be enough for Champions Cup rugby and a slightly more possible quarter final matchup.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Bizarre but a Try

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭freddie_

After the Munster draw, what do Connacht need today?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

They are guaranteed 7th. 7th is European qualification unless Sharks wins the URC or Treviso or Scarlets win the European Challenge Cup. 7th faces Ulster in the URC QF.

If they beat Glasgow they can get 6th. 6th will mean European qualification unless Sharks or Bulls wins the URC and Treviso or Scarlets win the European Challenge Cup. 6th faces Stormers in the URC QF.

I think everyone would have happily taken seventh before the round of fixtures started yesterday - or at almost any point in the season to be honest.

None of the results that would knock the seventh placed team out of the Champions Cup would be expected to happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭tintedgreenglasses2016

amazing tackle by Tiernan

• Registered Users Posts: 17,340 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Prendergast and Bealham off at half time. Big losses. Oh and Buckley.

Choosing seventh and fresher legs with those changes I think.

time for Tom. jack has been awful

We've had 30% possession, 35% territory, and he's spent most of the game on the back foot or tackling. No one would look good at ten for us.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Shehal

With all the pressure and now what looks like a try that crooked throw earlier is looking to be an incredibly costly one.

Probably not the worst thing, the only way Connacht were getting out of that was conceding a try. At least now they've time to respond.

Does that hooker have a screw loose or something, who the f*ck does and overthrow in a line out. Cost them about 50 metres in the end.

jack is not muck. Post edited

Post edited by tintedgreenglasses2016 on

This Connacht team has a talent of shooting themselves in the foot, you know he wouldnt have knocked that on if this was a 2 score game...looks it will prove to another incredibly costly mistake ...

Incredibly good pressure there from Connacht...but this is Connacht after all so ofcourse they have to follow that up by conceding yet another cheap & needless penalty that will likely have grave consequences for their chances of winning this game.

Glasgow going for 3 points which if they score probably seals them the game.

And ofcourse now that they are 2 scores down they wake up and then go down the other end and score a try! Conversion added meaning a penalty will win Connacht the game, 29-27 to Glasgow.

Fulltime Glasgow win 29-27. In the end maybe the best result for the play offs (granted Connacht will nervously watch the Challenge cup hoping for Scarlets/Benetton to NOT win) but overall I dont think Connacht did enough tonight to deserve to win as they made far too many poor mistakes, they did give it a good crack though so deserve a LBP at least.

Pity. Good effort

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭dockysher

What date will ulster match be played? Or has it to be decided?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Jesus christ the last half dozen posts make my eyes bleed. Who's got the time to post such constant negativity

• Registered Users Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

You have been posting that complete shite under about fifteen different usernames for the last five years. Would you ever cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,137 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Because Connacht just qualified for the Champions Cup in spite of themselves.

There are some super players on the squad (Hurley Langton looks good now) but the error count among others is not acceptable for a team with any real ambition, which I know Connacht have.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭AccidentallyOnside

Good first half.....second not so much.

Can someone explain the Glasgow try where the player throws it forward to himself? Surely can't have been ruled a regather?

Ralston is one of the best defensive winger I've seen in a long day, did some great work out there.

Alright ulster, let's be aving you!! Great to have knockout rugby to look forward to, and probably champions cup.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Thrashssacre

Thought even with the wind carty should have really had a crack at the posts there.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Lancey Howard

Many unkind things have been said here about players and especially management. Perhaps now with playoff and (almost) Heineken Cup secured it is time to acknowledge the huge progress that has been made this season

Agreed there is a lot of room for improvement but the constant negative posting from some people just does ny head in. Criticism is fair and I'd be vocal enough of discipline issues and basic errors but also credit needs to be given where its due. From the start we had to the season it's been an incredible turnaround. Is there room for improvement? Absolutely. But I see that as a positive in a way, if they can improve in some basic areas there's a pretty high ceiling.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Porch obviously played a part but Shane Jennings looks like a really explosive athlete.