Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adverts.ie Chancers selling

• 08-05-2023 10:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭

Ive noticed there are numerous chancers selling items far above their market value. Ive reported items to Adverts but they never respond. Is it just a forum for chancers ?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

If you don't think the item is a fair price, don't buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭sugarman20

Why would you report them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Luis21

Trying to rip people off. Describing items as rare when millions are in circulation. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭GavPJ

I use it quite a lot but certain items attract complete and utter idiots.

Luckily enough the things I sell don't attract these folk. The majority of

people on it are lonely/gombeens or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

What sort of items? You can ask for people to pay as much as you want them to pay- but no guarantee you’ll get that price.

I use adverts to buy certain secondhand items- most are way over priced in my view but I bide my time until the right product at the right price is advertised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭amandstu

I think sometimes people list an unreal price (eg 1234) just as a way of not asking for a specific price and that they are open to offers.

Or that it is a service they are offering

Maybe that is what the OP saw?

Well what if you offer what they are worth and youre refused then called a c**t for explaining that is all the product is worth ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭mondeoman72

Its a free market. You can go into town and pay 1 euro for a can of coke. The next shop could be 2 euro. In a nightclub it could be 5 euro. You vote with your feet. If you do not like the price, do not buy. They never answered you as your arguement is without merit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,556 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Adverts.ie has rules and as long as sellers operate within those rules then there is nothing you can do about it. However if they are in breach of the rules then you report them. Some sellers will accept offers but if you try spoiling their ad by arguing about the price and pointing out where it can be bought cheaper then that is also a breach of the rules. You can't blame sellers for being annoyed in those situations. Calling you a **** though is not acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

One of the few fun things about adverts.ie is when someone lists something for a stupidly high price (gouger) and then a tyre kicker (chancer) arrives and starts making offers.

Gouger: PS5 for sale with rare ketchup stain - €1,000. No offers.

Chancer: Would you accept a swap for a vintage 1988 Quinsworth plastic bag?

Gouger: No swaps. Cash only. I might have under priced this item as it cannot be bought anywhere.

Chancer: How about the vintage Quinsworth bag and a barely used VHS of Jane Fonda's Yoga for Beginners? You deliver.

I find that hard to credit.I have dealt with 3 different people (buying from them) and they were totally fine.

I will have to keep looking to track down your "majority" I suppose.

Or are you just talking about buyer/sellers of one particular category?

Why do you feel the need to explain to the buyer what you think the product is worth?

You don't have a skin in the game do you?

Are you bored?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭thomas 123

What gets me is when you make an offer, it goes to PM and you find out something that puts you off buying and you get the "Time Waster" feedback.

I have one of those and 50+ greens - does my head in.

If you didn't like it or thought it was unjustified could you not re-pm the seller and ask them to retract their down rep?(can that be done?)

If they don't you can play that game too.

Ah i've no interest in Playing any games - this one is there about 5 years - Its a bit of a shite system on adverts though since you cant really get into the nitty gritty of anything on offer until PM stage. I find myself writing a disclimer on every offer these days - ie assuming its in condition described X euro offered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,296 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

You should be asking whatever questions you need to ask before you make an offer, otherwise you ARE a time waster.

Good man! I take it your one of the lads who withholds vital information until asked about 40 times or you have never used adverts.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,296 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I never withhold anything that I'm asked, but if you start asking questions after making an offer that you didn't ask before making an offer, you'll be getting a red tick from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Hooked

As with all things in life... there are pros and cons using Adverts.ie (or DoneDeal or FB Marketplace)

You avoid the gougers and ask questions before you offer money or commit to buy.

I renovated a room in my gaff into a man cave (think old style hotel cigar room) and almost everything in it is a cheap (reasonably priced) find on adverts, DD or FB. People RAVE about the picture lights, the chesterfield sofa, the fireplace or the drinks trolley... all absolute bargains from the likes of Adverts.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Hilarious post and was quite intrigued with the idea of the 1988 Quinsworth plastic bag and that it could actually be worth something. A search revealed this article from from years back with someone attempting to sell one for €997, guess you must have read this at the time. Takes all sorts on Adverts but have had good experience with it buying and selling the odd item.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

That's fair. If I have a few questions or want a quick exchange, I will make an offer and state its only for pm purposes. The ad doesn't get filled up with clutter comments and pm chat is cleaner. As long as both parties are clear, there should be no issue. Though its amazing some of the details some sellers forget to include in the ad, but will often disclose in pm before a real price is agreed.

Stay Free

But 1 euro for pm is not permitted as it gets abused. Ticket touts and the like. Also attempts to hide the workings of the deals and plays into the hands of scammers. I have seen complaints that someone got shafted but the item was never sold due to going private.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

I really dislike that "offer for pm" carry on. Why can't it be asked on the thread?

Using expressions like "Rare" when it is one of 2 million issues is a bit much.

People can choose to ignore it if they want. I prefer when people do it if I am advertising something, so the advert isn't filled with cráp. Makes proper negotiation easier and if a lower price is agreed for whatever reason and the person offering decides to renege on that offer, it doesn't become the default price to beat thereafter.

Stay Free

People seem to have enough trouble marking ads as sold. I don't see that there would be many requests to remove clutter. If 2 people are happy enough to take a conversation outside the "ask a question" area, I don't see any problem with that. As long as it's stated as an offer of interest and not an actual offer to buy, then it's a non issue.

Stay Free

Until someone says I paid and got nothing, and because they went off thread, I cannot help them.

Another one is I sent him something and never got paid. Yet I see no sale occured. What can I do about it?

I don't see the point you are making. Exactly the same thing can happen even if the deal is made on thread. Buying and selling on adverts and other similar sites carries a higher risk than somewhere like Amazon, or other properly regulated site. The buyer and seller can choose whatever way they want to best mitigate that risk. For me, I only buy from people with excellent feedback and a few years history on adverts. I only sell to people with positive feedback and at least a few months history on the site.

If I am posting an item, I want to be paid first. I make this clear before agreeing to sell the item to the potential buyer. If they don't want to do that, I won't sell to them, or they can choose to collect. I point to my years on the site and 100% positive feedback. Done properly, the risk of being left short of product or pennies is very low and is more likely to be an AnPost issue.

While that might not be how adverts officially want it done, I am not willing to take unnecessary risk on time wasters and potential scammers.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭JoeCat

The worse from Adverts.ie is that when you try to sell something, there used to be (I stopped selling items because of this) people who would say that they want the item and offer a fair price. You accept the offer and they completely stop contacting you. That's why I stopped selling there and just give away the items to friends or charity now, or sell only to those who are established and have good feedback.

In regards to overpriced items or false advertising. I think that it is onto the buyers side to do their due diligence, whether that item is worth what it is advertised for.