Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 24,213 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I answered your question, it'd only be good manners for you to answer mine:

Why are you in favour of allowing Putin-supporting Russian scum to remain in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭timmyntc

We are a liberal democratic country and don't deport people simply for holding unsavoury views, unlike some autocratic regimes.

Ironic that many here who also hate Putins regime would be in favour of similar authoritarian steps simply because its people they don't like.

Also you did not answer my question - you accused me of strawmanning (I did not) and then responded with a strawman argument of your own! This kind of projection seems like a trend.

So ill rephrase for you: why would you see it fit to deny Russians their rights under the 1951 refugee convention but not people of another nationality? Is it racism? Where do you draw the line?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Sigma101

Seems like the EU is finally planning to address the issue of smuggling of Russian crude oil by tanker into Europe. After the EU banned the import of Russian oil by tanker last year, Russia acquired a large fleet of old tankers. Some of these have been tracked in recent months making long, seemingly aimless trips into the north Atlantic. They disappear by turning off their transmitters for a period before returning again to port in Russia. It's speculated that significant amounts of oil are being smuggled to Europe through ship-to-ship transfers from these to non-Russian vessels.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

• Registered Users Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

When it involves supporting modern Day Nazis? Most Irish people would agree we don't want this type among us.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,412 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Cannot deport them for unsavory views. That's a price we pay for our open democracy and freedoms we all enjoy.

We can however, using our own freedoms, expose these people, monitor them, and use our speech to tell them exactly what we feel about Putin and his merry band of orcs. We can also stop doing business with places that has employees or employer /owners that support Z views.

All Eyes On Rafah

• Registered Users Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Economics101

As far as I am aeare, you cannot revoke citizenship of those who have been naturalised unless they also have citizenship of somewhere else. in this case Russia. You don't want to create a load of stateless "martprs".

Someone might clarify international law on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Field east

There is a simple way of ‘ managing’ For example, the Russian demonstration such as by one of the following :-

(1) the Irish Gov decides what groups / type of groups / nations are outlawed because of their ‘carryon’ and any group supporting them with their activity - like flag waving, emblems on clothing / vehicles while out demonstrating are breaking the law and a possible punishment could be up to deportation

(2) there is a long list of items that we cannot discriminate against, such as gender, etc, etc, etc, etc, and I am sure that there is a similar list that individuals can object to because it upsets them and others such as noise, lights flashing all night outside your bedroom window , vile smells, cruelty to animals , etc, etc, etc. I am sure that the occurrence in Kildare upset a lot of people that these can be public ally supporting the purveyor of the war in UKr. So could some wording be used to capture this type of happening and make it illegal as it seriously upset a lot of people

• Registered Users Posts: 5,931 ✭✭✭Cordell

They deserve to be deported, they deserve it, that's all. It would be great if that will become a public statement, something like having some senior state representative, maybe Leo himself, stating something like "russians who support the russian aggression don't deserve to be living in a free and open country like Ireland".

Russians can still be refugees - there are more requirements than just a nation at war.

Citizens who would be persecuted in their home country can get refugee status for example, so anyone anti-Putin could qualify as they risk internment or poisoning.

Who claimed they were refugees exactly.

So far only you

• I listened to Clare & Mick's rambling musings of their recent all expenses paid junket to China a while back. They mentioned Russia towards the end and one says: "yes, the Russian invasion was illegal." "But they were provoked" the other one pipes up immediately. Interestingly enough here's a tweet by Ruth Coppinger of the Socialist Party blasting Wallace for his support of such regimes.

Brendan Ogle calling a spade a spade as well last October. Called Putin "that imperial fascist in Moscow." So there appears to be some honourable exceptions among the left.

No, @Sleepy said that Russians should not even be granted refugee status so that they remain in Russia to oppose Putin - a move which would deny them their rights under the UN asylum declaration.

see his below post that started this:

I'd be hesitant to even allow Russian refugees in tbh. If the West keep accepting Putin's opponents/victims who's going to be left to overthrow him?

We wouldn't be deporting them for holding unsavoury views, we'd be deporting them for holding an event to celebrate and promote their nation's genocidal war.

By virtue of the very fact they're celebrating Russia's actions in Ukraine, it's safe to say they're not refugees.

You still haven't answered the question though: why are you in favour of allowing them to remain (or indeed to allow any other Russians in)? Does their presence enhance our country in any way? Or should we just use Occam's Razor and deduce that you somehow benefit from their presence personally?

Perhaps English isn't your first language comrade: "I'd be hesitant to even allow Russian refugees in tbh" is not the same thing as "Russians should not be granted refugee status".

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,701 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'm certainly not going to make friends with any of them. I don't really understand how people can't see that deportations for technically political views is not a wise road to go down. We have not officially declared Russia "modern day Nazis" - maybe we should but we haven't. Ukraine are being invaded for trying to align more closely with Western Europe and its ideals - one of those ideals is a fair legal system and due process and not arbitrarily deporting people.

They're quite obviously not going to be deported anyway - they attended a perfectly legal event. There is no basis to deport them and I doubt it would survive a legal challenge.

It's not illegal to deny asylum,

You're entitled to apply for international protect but there is legal entitlement to it ,the biggest problem is we have is the lack of any real deportations over the last 30 years

Another in need of an English lesson?

"I'd be hesitant to" means I'd be reluctant to support something, not that I would actively oppose it.

I'd be fully supportive of an EU-wide move to refuse visas to all Russian citizens until their army withdraws from the Internationally recognised borders of Ukraine and they cease all hostile actions.

I'd like to see the scum that attended the event in question deported since I don't like seeing them enjoying the benefits of living in our free and democratic country while cheering for the war-mongering, genocidal mafia boss that runs their own country. I'm not saying that they should automatically be deported for it but their attendance at such an event would warrant an inspection of their legal status in our country by the DOJ and their activities here by the Gardaí.

It is illegal to deny asylum when a valid claim exists.

Denying claims from an entire nationality would absolutely be illegal.

Other than 1 middle aged woman in a Z tshirt, how did the V day celebrations 'celebrate and promote their nation's genocidal war'?

I am in favour of not deporting them because I live in a liberal democratic country that affords certain freedoms to its inhabitants. This event falls squarely within all those freedoms.

It is illegal to deny asylum if a valid claim exists and a blanket "no russians" policy would not be legal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭pcardin

We can, and most certainly do. On the personal level. But we need government and its institutions also to do their part. Not being bothered is what encourage Z-tards to go even further next time and totally disrespect country and its laws they reside in. And it should start from small things. For example - there was a black beemer with its reg plates changed to plate that says SERGEJ. Garda was there in numbers, do you think any of them even bothered to cop on. Why was the 'hero' Sergej not approached by Garda and asked to eat remove this false plate on spot?

And speaking about businesses...what do you think about this? A van of a very well known Irish landscaping company (which I can not name here) with modern day nazi flags. Does the owner knows his van is used for this? Is it owner themselves driving?

None of them are asylum seekers.

You have no point

• Registered Users Posts: 25,527 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

• Registered Users Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Addmagnet

The picture of the van should be plastered all over the social medias, drum up some bad publicity for the company involved.

There are other options to prevent Russians from celebrating their genocide

Like Estonia have done

Latvia banned use of soviet flags and sybols at the same time they banned Nazi Germany sybols. At least 20 years ago. It didnt stop vatniks.

Owners might not be aware their van was participating in this farce. If they knew, then of course, but somehow I doubt owners knew what Ivan was using their equipment during weekend for. BTW, is commercial van even ensured for non-business activities?

edit: just noticed somebody has already added a quality picture with this van and flags on their Google reviews and now the 1 star ratings along with pics of ruined apartment blocks in Ukraine. All over their Facebook page too. Owners have replied ans said they are taking this very seriously and it will be dealt swiftly. Looks like Ivan will be subsidized by taxpayers soon.

Post edited by pcardin on

• Registered Users Posts: 13,720 ✭✭✭✭briany

I don't personally see the need to go that far. I would say they should be outed for what they are via a parade, and especially the ones wearing Z symbols should be named and shamed, and their social and financial exclusion from Irish society should be openly encouraged.

We are talking about parades and public gathering now as well