Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

E10 Crap

• 10-05-2023 11:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,149 ✭✭✭

Anyone here worried about not having much choice but to use e10 fuel in their bikes?

What type of stabilisers do ye use, what works? I don't fancy having to flush a tank every time I ride a bike here, total pain in the tits afaics

Post edited by amacca on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

It least it'll be a lot cheaper, because it'll have 10% less petrol in it, right?

Post edited by Bluefoam on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭RobertM

As far as I know. E10 was introduced in Europe back in 2013 (ish) and most manufacturers specify that their bikes are E10 compatible. See below some examples I found online.

• Honda for instance say all bikes made since 1993 are safe, while Honda said everything post-1993 is compatible, although carburettor-equipped models could experience poor driveability in cold weather
    • Harley-Davidson say all bikes made since 1980 are fine
    • BMW say every bike they’ve ever made will be alright as long as you get the correct octane.
    • Yamaha and Triumph both said that all models from 1990-on are compatible with E10,
    • Suzuki models made after 2002 are compatible with E10 and those made after 1992 might be but owners should seek advice.
    • Ducati said that their Multistrada 620 and 1000 models were not compatible with E10 fuel, with tanks known to expand or leak in markets with ethanol-rich fuel.
    • Kawasaki said that models made from 2006-on would be ok on E10 but advised customers not to use the fuel in bikes that weren’t specifically approved.

I've seen some E10 additives (protectors) in Halfords. Worth a try? It says multi dosage so I'm not sure how many shots you'd get out of 250ml bottle.

https://www.halfords.ie/motoring/engine-oils-fluids/fuel-oil-additives/wynn%27s-specialist-e10-protector-multi-shot-581494.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭emo72

What about bikes that are left lying up for months on time. Issues with corrosion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,149 ✭✭✭amacca

Defo....if inside of tank not been protected or treated in some way it will turn into a sieve with rust over time. The ethanol is hygroscopic so absorbs water .....then when it evaporates water left behind on surface

You could redufe the problem by not leaving a bike sitting with a tank near empty ....add a stabiliser etc

It would **** help if the fuel didn't have the shite in it in the first place. Its a bolox imo especially if you own older vehicles.

Dyou mind me asking where you are getting the manufacturer/model specific info.....I've a bit to look up

If your engine isn't compatible with E10 I wonder if you could buy a supply in bulk of normal fuel or can you trust additives to make E10 compatible/bring up octane number etc..its a total pain in the hole but at least you aren't damaging it and it's not rendered completely obsolete.....

I'd be less annoyed if I didn't think it was basically a swizz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭RobertM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Has anyone experienced an increase in fuel usage since E10 came in ?

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭WheelieKing

I've noticed my MT09 isn't running as smooth as it had been since the local filling station switched to E10. I've only filled up twice but it just feels like it's a bit breathless compared to before. 2021 bike with only 9000 klms so shouldn't be an mechanical issue.

Can anyone tell me for sure if the higher octane premium fuels aren't e10 or are a way yo avoid them?

Do Circle K all offer the premium unleaded or is it maxol etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Zebbedee

I have the same bike but I haven't noticed any poor running issues with it. I have an akrapovic fitted. I wonder does it make a difference.

What rev range do you experience the hesitancy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Zebbedee

I also have late 80's yamahas which fall into the non compatibility category.

Has anyone experimented with suitable additives?

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭WheelieKing

Standard exhaust on mine have been looking at a full system but can't justify the price. Think i'll get the suspension sorted first. Between 3k -5k revs

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭drakshug

This site will give you which bikes are compatible but it is in Dutch so you may need to Google translate

second drop down box that has motor/scootermerk...

From looking into this, guzzis and Ducatis and others with plastic tanks are a no no. The tanks expand.

Also, the Americans have been using E10 and E15 for longer so if it was exported there it should be good to go.

Thanks, yep....not compatible with this shite....afaics all my bikes.

Such a pain in the hole. I'll have to try and find out what stabilisers or additives really do work.

I'm at a point in life where its not really performance is the issue, I just don't want the machine itself degraded by this ****...and really resent no longer just being able to pull up to a petrol station and fill as normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭myclist

Given that E10 is essentially petrol with 10% ethanol and we have been using E5 for years wouldnt adding pure petrol redress the balance and solve the problem? Or am I being stupid? ''Aspen 4'' is a pure high quality petrol. Very expensive to use alone but might make sense to dilute the E 10 with it?

Look I'm all ears for a viable solution, if that would do the trick then grand...I could calculate the volume of a tank and underfill by roughly whatever volume of the pure stuff I need..then top up with pure stuff...its a right royal pain but its solutions I'm after

I don't want a bike damaged and I'd like to be able to leave it in a garage for a while without worrying about it being fooked when I get back to it....

Where can you get the pure petrol you are talking about?

Google 'Aspen 4' . its available in lots of places. Just been doing some in the head mathematics an you'd have to mix at about fifty fifty ratio to get the ethanol back to 5% so the economics might not be great. aspen is expensive.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭drakshug

Aspen 4 is in Quinn's and most other Agri type shops.. I use it for stoves but it is mainly used for lawnmowers and forestry tool.

It doesn't degrade either.

Make sure you get the pure petrol one and not the Aspen 2 which is 2 stroke premix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭Seweryn

That is a huge expense to get the dilution to 5% (which still contains ethanol, just less of it). Water is a lot cheaper, or free. The only expense is that when you extract all the ethanol from your fuel with water you will be 10% down on volume. It makes sense to do it before filling the tank prior to storage in the winter if you not going to use the bike regularly.

I agree it is expensive. I said that. It depends if the person is confident with his home chemistry skills to extract the ethanol himself. I

Yes. It is ieasy to exctract the ethanol from the mix. You only need a container and clean water. The trickiest bit would be to modify the container for easy separation / drainage of ethanol mix.

I'm not confident in my skills to extract the ethanol....from the above I assume its not simple distillation

Decant? Ethanol sticks to water and petrol is less dense essentially?

Put petrol into a container, add about 10% of clean water, shake, leave the mixture for a few hours. The ethanol (with water) will separate and will settle at the bottom of the container and once the purified petrol above is clear and not cloudy, collect it from the top or drain the water from the bottom of the container.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Industry body: European Association of Motorcycle Manufacturers:

For additive: Millers VSPe (always read the label)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭larchielads

So will that additive do the job or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,553 ✭✭✭✭Varik

The ethanol adds to octane number so removing it reduces it down.

Does anyone after washing it out use an octane booster and what one is cost-effective.

What is the fuel octane rating before ethanol is added?

Maybe it won't matter as most suggestions for adding a booster I see are from Americans were the norm is lower to begin with for their standard petrol.

For their standard petrol it's 87 then with 10 ethanol removed it'd would only be 84, while for Ireland after removing the ethanol it'd go from 95 to 93

Well, I am not sure about that. I think we had 95 octane fuel before ethanol additive was the new norm. I don't think the octane rating would be lowered before ethanol added, so the mixture is 95 octane.

What are people doing with the water ethanol mix they are removing? Where can you dispose of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Ethanol is the alcohol we all know about. Remove any remaining impurities and flavour to taste?

Not your ornery onager

The pure petrol without ethanol still comes in varying octanes, adding ethanol let's them use lower grade petrol to hit the 95 octane. The petrol in the 5% ethanol would be higher grade than the petrol that'll be used with the 10%.

There used to be higher octane available in Ireland normally but they banned over 95 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

What is the actual damage 10% ethanol is supposed to do? Eats diaphragms, seals etc? Or just hygroscopic in a tank?

E85 is around 20% cheaper here in Sweden, I haven't tried the 636 on it yet.

I've heard it does both of the above, I had first hand experience of a tank being destroyed but its the other damage I'm worried about.... its hard to separate fact from fiction regarding the extent and severity of possible damage afaics....

The manufacturer of some of my bikes hasn't listed anything manufactured before 2008/2009 as compatible with e10 so it's a bit worrying even if you know it may be akin to side effects listed on pharmaceuticals....

I added an e10 fuel protector to a tank yesterday as a stop gap, at 17 euro a bottle and only treats 60 litres + no easy means of measuring from the supplied bottle its an expensive pain in the hole...

I'm wondering if I can get away with e10 and flush the system with something like that Aspen 4 and brim tanks before they sit up for the winter but I don't want the bikes fucked up and even greater expense down the line..

If vehicles aren't compatible with this **** according to manufacturers themselves a reasonable alternative should be available...even if its only available in one or two places in a county at least you could stock up....its really poor form to not offer a decent alternative to something like this imo

I'm **** sick to the back teeth of all kinds of obsolescencey, planned and forced ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,505 ✭✭✭✭blade1

This are in Lidl at the moment.

If I think I wont be using a bike for a while I'll be draining the tank.

NOT for petrol; motor oil and diesel only afaik.

Not your ornery onager

Defo not an expert here, but wouldnt you want to be sure every last drop was sucked out, the worst tank I saw had about a half a teacup full of petrol in it that left all the inner surface fir the corrision to work on.....the ones that were fuller fared better

If you can get all of it out then maybe fair enough but I wonder would brimming it with a stabiliser before you leave it up be a better way to go?

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭ThreeGreens

Is there anywhere you can still buy E5?

I understood that the stations where allowed to sell E5 provided each pump had an E10 option too.

But I've not seen anywhere still selling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I'd imagine there's more money to be made by keeping the pumps e10

It is an option and if it was only one or two bikes yeah why not.

But what I have it's it's probably easier to drain them.

Ive no doubt it will. Might set it and you on fire too...

Hahaha mighty craic so.

Definitely doing it now.

I have one, and I remember the instructions said not to use it on petrol.

What could possibly go wrong? 😳

Use a mechanical one.

Not your ornery onager

I have one that pumps by hand but it's not great at getting fuel out of tanks.

What can go wrong?

Well I suppose petrol wouldn't be great for any seals inside.

I'll have to open it up and have a look and try a workaround if I think it needs it.

Most bikes have pumps submerged in fuel that can fail anyway.

I had a pump fail and when I took it out,a wire had a nick out of its insulation.

I'd probably be more worried about a vehicle that somebody uses one of these pumps all the time to drain the oil instead of via the sump plug.

I'm doing work on someone's bike at the moment and the sump had to come off.

37 year old bike, look what amassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,741 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Adding water to petrol when dissolved water is the problem!!! (just letting it sit won't remove all of it) and using chainsaw petrol, jeez I've heard it all now!

Is that Aspen stuff approved by any motor vehicle manufacturers at all? if not you'd be better off taking your chances with E10 tbh.

Ethanol can definitely cause problems when a bike is stored, but ordinary petrol will too if left long enough.

I used to have a Triumph with a plastic tank, owners in certain states in the US had the expanding tank problem even in the 00s. Some places mandated more ethanol and/or other crap than others.

A couple of decades from now getting petrol at all will be a problem...

Definitely think that those oil pumps are a menace, you need to drain an engine properly to get the crap out.

Scrap the cap!

The octane measure they use in the US isn't comparable with ours (look up RON and MON if you're interested) so the octane difference is much more slight than it looks.

Scrap the cap!

What say you re stabilisers or additives...any brands/products etc you might recommend?

Never used any but I ride year round.

Scrap the cap!