Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does the future hold for Donald Trump? - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

A lot of people don't care about the FBI and CIA interfering in elections because it was against trump. Pretty sure theyd be singing a different tune if the same **** was done to their preferred candidate. Like is it not actually shocking that government agencies behaved in this manner and purposely lied to the American people, regardless of what you think about trump? It is to me anyway and no I'm not a trump supporter. People still parrot the Russian collusion/golden showers line even though it was made up. The absolute state of American politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,408 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

It was shocking.... 4+ years ago.

The report outlines at least 17 “significant errors or omissions” in FISA surveillance applications for Trump campaign aide Carter Page, but does not claim that intentional misconduct occurred.

These errors were so significant that IG Horowitz’s report launched an internal Department of Justice audit into the way the FBI applies for warrants to conduct surveillance on U.S. citizens.

The charge that this was election interference is clearly not supported by the facts or even those seeking to examine and prosecute it.

It was the release of some of that stolen material by WikiLeaks beginning on July 22, 2016, that triggered the Australian government’s outreach, in fact, as Durham himself notes. That release triggered its concerns about what Papadopoulos had said … but the FBI was overreacting by launching an investigation?

Durham’s report focuses on other aspects of the Russia probe, too. There’s a lengthy look at the dossier of reports compiled by former British intelligence officer Christopher Steele, a packet of material that’s been thoroughly adjudicated and which was elevated as dubious in Horowitz’s 2019 report.

Durham also considers what he calls “the Clinton Plan,” a theory that has been particularly popular on the political right over the past few years. It centers on something the intelligence community learned “during the summer of 2016”: It had picked up Russian intelligence claiming that Clinton had approved a plan to try to link Trump to Russian interference efforts. In other words, to suggest that Trump was colluding with Russia.

For many of those ideologically sympathetic to Durham, this is all the needed proof. Clinton was planning to imply collusion just as collusion was implied? What more do you need?

We can start with the genesis of the rumor. It originated with the Russians themselves, with Durham admitting that he could not determine “the accuracy of this allegation or the extent to which the Russian intelligence analysis may reflect exaggeration or fabrication.”

Then there’s the timeline. The point at which the government picked up this information is unclear, but Durham describes a meeting between senior officials and President Barack Obama on July 28 when the subject is raised, suggesting that the information was received not long before. By this point, you’ll recall, all of the aforementioned factors were already in play: Trump asking the Russians to hack, his hiring Manafort, Page’s Moscow visit, the hack of the DNC and release of material from it, the Australians getting their hackles up.

If Hillary Clinton was behind the plan to link Trump to Russia, she had a lot of very unexpected allies in doing so.

This — that Durham picks out isolated trees as suspicious in an effort to obscure the forest — is the central flaw of his investigation. It has always been the central flaw.

Oh gods yes please launch another Hillary investigation, the body politic needs that like another theatrical re-release of Sony's Morbius.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

What lies are you talking about? The golden shower was an allegation and presented as such. The colluding with Russians was admitted by Trump Junior himself and that meeting was even described by Bannon as "treasonous". It might not have reached the bar to criminal conspiracy and charges but that doesn't mean the meeting with Veselnestkaya didn't take place. We also know that the Trump campaign chairman was sharing polling data with the Russians who in turn were helping Trump. This lead to Manafort being arrested, charged and convicted. When you say there was no collusion what exactly do you mean? Are you saying that these events that happened never happened? Do you even know the meaning of words?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,703 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Philip Bump, yeah Im sure he will be objective.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,454 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

But the "analysis" provided by the guy from Turning point that you breathlessly posted is????

Ah yes, the answer to every single failed attempt by the GOP to find evidence of anything by anyone - BUT HILARY!!

Enough of the games , what I posted was a page from the actual report and the tweet was 100% factual

It said

"DURHAM REPORT: According to his handwritten notes, CIA Director Brennan subsequently briefed President Obama and other senior national security officials on the intelligence, including the “alleged approval by Hillary Clinton on July 26, 2016 of a proposal from one of her foreign policy advisors to vilify Donald Trump by stirring up a scandal claiming interference by Russian security services.”

To compare that to an article by Philip Bump, a man who literally has a daily hit piece on Trump is not credible.

Just likes its not credible to say that Trump never had one decent policy during his term.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,454 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Indeed - But he left out the lead in to that quote in his tweet - The bit that I quoted that said that the suggestion that Clinton somehow arranged/approved a smear campaign on Trump had come from Russian Intelligence and that they had no idea it was a complete fabrication by the Russians.

So again , the truth of the FULL quote is "The Russians claim that Hilary orchestrated a smear campaign alleging that Trump colluded with the Russians in 2016, but we have no idea if that is true or if the Russians are lying (again!)"

That reads a bit different than the credulous "Would you believe that Brennan told Obama that Clinton did it" vibe of the tweet now isn't it??

Haley full in the tank trying to hype this up as way more than it is, and conspiracies that it is not.

Trying to appeal to the drive-by tweet voter. She's already hand-waved Trump's sexual assault liability, and previously openly called for a Black US Senator to be deported because she didn't like him holding office. Did she fight those things at the UN too?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,519 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

You dumped a tweet from a grifter. Honestly, what were you expecting. You put in zero effort and expect people to behave as if they're MAGA cultists.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

@MisterAnarchy "picks out isolated trees as suspicious in an effort to obscure the forest" and then obscures half of that one tree.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

You're either lying or being fooled by liars again. The piece that you quoted gives a very different impression in isolation from the sections that preceded it. Like I said, you're either trying to deceive people here or are just too gullible to know when you're being fooled.

1. Factual background The Office also considered as part of its investigation the government's handling of certain intelligence that it received during the summer of 2016. That intelligence concerned the purported "approval by Hillary Clinton on July 26, 2016 of a proposal from one of her foreign policy advisors to vilify Donald Trump by stirring up a scandal claiming interference by the Russian security services." 391 We refer to that intelligence hereafter as the "Clinton Plan intelligence.'' DNI John Ratcliffe declassified the following information about the Clinton Plan intelligence in September 2020 and conveyed it to the Senate Judiciary Committee:

• In late July 2016, U.S. intelligence agencies obtained insight into Russian intelligence analysis alleging that U.S Presidential candidate Hillary Clinton had approved a campaign plan to stir up a scandal against U.S. Presidential candidate Donald Trump by tying him to Putin and the Russians' hacking of the Democratic National Committee. The IC does not know the accuracy of this allegation or the extent to which the Russian intelligence analysis may reflect exaggeration or fabrication.

• According to his handwritten notes, CIA Director Brennan subsequently briefed President Obama and other senior national security officials on the intelligence, including the "alleged approval by Hillary Clinton on July 26, 2016 of a proposal from one of her foreign policy advisors to vilify Donald Trump by stirring up a scandal claiming interference by Russian security services." 

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,519 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

So, just another conspiracy theory. The latest in a long line of desperate attempts to defend Trump from someone who doesn't even like Trump.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

What was I expecting ?

I expected exactly what transpired on the thread, the usual apologists/propagandists trying to deflect and bury a damaging damning report.

Nothing to see here, nope look over there at Rudy.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭I.R.Y.E.D

Are choir boys normally found liable for sexual assault and have supporters cheering them on?

Aye, how dare anyone discuss Donald Trump on the Donald Trump thread. Typical Trumpster whataboutery.

H. H. Asquith

There is nothing to see here Burty, Jake Tapper saying its devastating to the FBI and Trump is exonerated is a nothing burger.

Well, how about some evidence instead of a tweet dump from an online disinformation factory?

H. H. Asquith

I expected exactly what transpired on the thread, the usual apologists/propagandists trying to deflect and bury a damaging damning report.

How is unburying the parts of things that your fly by tweets ignored, "burying?"

You've your own shovel, tell us what's so "damaging" in the report, like you ran off for a few days after being asked to evidence your naked assertions that the media was propaganda for Democrats?

Jake Tapper, who gets his income from the same esoteric minds that put on that disastrous town hall event last week?

Evidence to suggest he was ordered to say that, as his own analysis contradicts what he put on in your soundbyte to woo the MAGA crowd

Tapper did not say Trump was exonerated. What?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,409 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Lads, do you intend discussing matters with everyone else, or will it just be a back and forth between the two of ye?

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭Burty330

Election interference, election meddling, election denial. When the democrats say these things they are looking in the mirror at themselves. And because this was an elaborate strategic scheme put into action over many years by the highest levels of law enforcement to undo an election, that makes it 100x worse than the brigands who got rowdy on Jan 6th

They killed people in that attempted insurrection and you're cynically exploiting their deaths so you can push more Trumpster drivel replete with a link dump and conspiracy rhetoric.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 29,405 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Rowdy brigands? Seems like you were watching the Pirates of Penzance not the news - because your post does not connect to the reality of January 6th or how Trump tried to subvert the election process in any way.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,133 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

There appears to be a very good chance that Trump will be criminally indicted sometime between 11 July and 1 September 2023: State of Georgia vs Donald J Trump.

The recorded telephone conversation between Trump and the re-elected Republican Georgia Secretary of State, Brad Raffensperger, with several Republicans on the line as witnesses to this conversation, where Trump asks the Secretary to find an additional 11,780 Trump votes so that he can win Georgia will obviously be played before the jury. Wonders how Trump’s defense will handle this?

Post edited by Fathom on

• Registered Users Posts: 17,964 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

36 year old divorced grandmother.... The party of family values

• Registered Users Posts: 19,409 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Well, if a libertarian comedian says so...(yet another drive-by linkdump).

To claim that the Durham report says what you say it does requires either huge disingenuity, gullibility, or simply a failure to comprehend. Or, of course, the other reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,593 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

I am a little bit confused on this Durham report. Has it proven that something illegal was done? Seems to me that it raises questions but nothing concrete or actionable.

Wasn't this report completely arranged and funded by the GOP, or perhaps Trump himself? AFAIK it wasn't a bipartisan investigation.