Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Navan- disgusting homophobic attack on schoolboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

I **** hate bully's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,414 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

Absolutely revolting. Hope the poor child is alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭I.R.Y.E.D

Going by some of your other posts here about gay people, the only issue you have is the skin colour of some of the scrotes as per party dogma .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Disgusting.

I hope the do gooders accept these animals need to be both expelled and receive court sentences for this.

I've already seen some do gooders asking for them not to be expelled as it might affect their life chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Perhaps you can quote some of these posts?

White? Who mentioned white? Perhaps you might want to point out the youths doing the assaulting that you believe are from local stock? I would state with condidence that most of them are not, including the generously bearded schoolboy who does most of the attacking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Whatever the little scrotes want to argue was the real reasons, the actual watch of the attack is it's just cruelty for the sake of cruelty. What will be the consequences though: SFA? Some of them could seemingly do with being dragged through the courts and forced to listen to a victim impact statement while pissing themselves over a suspended slap on the wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭nachouser

Ah yeah, this'll be meat and potatoes for a certain type of poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

I didn’t hear or see anything in the video that explains the reasons for the attack. Maybe I missed it but I wonder why this is already called a homophobic attack when nothing has been confirmed yet.

I think the minimum standard should be hearing from the victim or their side.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

According to a twitter account purporting to be a friend of the victim (take with a pinch of salt) his injuries are supposedly pretty severe - broken teeth, concussion, possible fracture on his back and possible brain swelling

Did they say anything about homophobia

They really messed up his face according to the Independent.

Some of the usual jumping to all sorts of conclusions. But clearly if we know anything about teenage boys, they target the weakest and the people who are a bit different.

Irish kids were awful to me, incidentally. One asshat even tried to set my leg on fire in the middle of class. This 'hooliganism' tracks.

Then the thread title should be amended until it’s been officially announced. Misleading click bait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,213 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

thats just nuts…

the pure anger, the aggression, the intensity and power in those punches and kicks to the head while he is lying hurt on the ground…it’s not a fight, not roughing someone up….just violent homophobia. Absolute scummy cowardice of the highest order.

That is a scary video…I’m genuinely someone who isn’t shocked easily… but by watching that I have been….kid could have suffered a fractured skull…

knowing this despotic woke kip…. The perpetrators will still have a school place and a clean criminal record to boot… politicians and NGOs will all rally around… others will be blamed of course for not foreseeing the challenges these little new arrivals and families might have….but that makes them immune from accepting responsibility for their actions eh !? Some comments seem to think so.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

GCN have said in their article that it is being investigated as a hate crime, but I have not seen that reported by anyone else

https://gcn.ie/hate-crime-assault-school-student-navan/

While the statement did not mention whether any hate-related motivations were being considered as part of the investigation, a spokesperson from the Garda Community Engagement Offices later confirmed that the incident is being investigated as a hate crime.

The person in the blue is a particular pyscho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,021 ✭✭✭archfi

Hopefully, the young fella recovers fully from his physical injuries and also his mental health.

The attackers I really am assuming they get the full harshness of whatever their punishment will be - I understand young school age children can be rehabilitated (and I hope they will be) but they should be heavily punished, no getting off lightly with this rotteness.

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

The guy recording might not be so great themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

Virgin Media had a report on it. They were saying not to share videos of it yet they showed a clip. Go figure...

So full expulsion for all involved? Nothing less?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I hope school expelled, named and shamed, punished severely, juvenile detention or if aged prison etc., AGS should have enough to prosecute with the footage, make arrests

Or just the biggest idiot in the group who allowed himself to be egged on while being filmed.

It’s not like this is something new or unique but you got to wonder how stupid these people are to let themselves be filmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,021 ✭✭✭archfi

I don't know the school's policy, but yes. 100 lines or suspension for a week won't cut it.

And whatever else can be proportionally leveraged as punishment for the criminal harm they did.

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

I'm a grown man. I've never done anything like that in my life. Have you?

Well if you were deciding the punishment. You'd expell the lot of them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

Sad day when a person can't just be themselves without getting **** like this from people clearly too afraid to do the same. I seen it all before and most eegits like this grow out of it and grow up, but you have the odd idiot who becomes stuck in their ways all through life - some on this thread being an example of that.

Anyone who has an issue with someone being different than themselves has nothing but insecurities.

Beverly Hills, California

Yes I have. Not proud of it but not ashamed either. It happens frequently enough.

Homophobia was never a reason for it so I am intrigued why/if it’s the case here. Not condoning it btw.

I suspect most men have not punched and beaten a defenceless fela.

It wasn't a fair fight. It was not normal behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,052 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Absolutely disgusting. All sorts of rumours about what led to it, some dubious claims. Regardless, there is zero excuse for any human to lay hands on another like that. Animals. Hope the lad makes a full recovery.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

As an adult now, you should be ashamed of taking part in group beatings of defenceless kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

While it was a reprehensible attack it's nothing that doesn't happen every day across the country outside schools ,the school will release a statement saying how they are an inclusive are and take a Zero tolerance to bullying ,the guards will go quite and no charges will be brought and it will be referred back to the school to deal with,the victim might get to make a statement about how they don't feel safe anymore and the Story will disappear in a few days,

The school will refer several for some restorive practice.....

Why? It won’t change a thing.

It happens and it should be investigated, and the culprits should be apprehended. I just don’t like that assumed reasons are broadcasted as facts when they aren’t even clear yet.

We need to stop treating teenagers as if they are somehow lesser responsible for crimes. I knew right from wrong when I was 9, let alone 11 or 13 or 15-years old. People, including youth, are aware that their actions have consequences.

I understand why youth are treated differently but it doesn't make it right. These teenagers should be punished in exactly the same way, if not worse, as adults would. You cannot expect teenagers to change their behaviour if it's considered anything less than a crime of equal nastiness (irrespective of whether it will be classified as a hate crime or not).

Then, let the teachers in schools around the country tell their own students what happened, and how the lives of those teenagers have now been destroyed by at least 10-years in prison.

That would act as a massive deterrence. Not completely, but better than the system we currently have.

The original tweet which contained the video made reference to the fact the perpetrators were Muslim and they did it for religious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Reading some of the comments on this and it seems that when the parents first reported it to the gardai they were told by the gardai that they had better things to do. Now whether that is true or not, I am hoping it's not true but if it is the Gardai have questions to answer as well as to why the parents were dismissed when they first reported it. As for the people involved in this they should be removed from the school and should be charged. Disgusting.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

I've found unedited video of the attack, the male victim has pink hair big fuckin deal pink hair and theres roughly 12 or 14 youths aged 14ish-older taking vids and doing the beat down. Most aren't locals, the kicks in the face he gets are from a local kid aged about 14 with blonde hair. It's pretty nasty but I think he was set up by his own, if thats your pal you go in feet and fists first take no prisoners defending him. Nobody defended him.

That's the problem with these stories.

The rumours are the real killer here

All sorts of stories about the bible /Quran getting burned,etc and gardai claiming they had better things to do.

I do not believe the Gardai said anything like that, probably spread by lads who have grudges against the Gardai, we know the kind. Maybe we'll find out later on.

As for the book burning. Stupid idiotic thing to burn books, any books, that sh1t stays in the past. If it even happened.

But regardless of that, it does not excuse, there is Zero excuses to pummel a kid like that. That is just assault, plain and simple.

teenagers should be punished in exactly the same way, if not worse, as adults would.

What then? Send them to Bakhmut to fight real Big-B Bullies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Judges struggle to hand out 10 years sentences for serious crimes let alone for kids bullying and fighting which happens day in and day out,our prisons are practically full as it is ,let alone banging up teens for bullying or fighting,

No country has gotten a handle on this type of behavior,now the bullying is a 27/7 thing and there's zero protection anywhere

As I said maybe I missed it, but I didn’t hear anything in the video that would confirm this. It’s possible of course.

There's a big difference between two school lads settling it out with a few punches (seen it plenty of times, it's still wrong, but often those lads are fine with each other after) and a group of lads targeting a particular individual and landing them in hospital.

The bullying thing is scary as back in my day, bully's were confined to schools, but thanks to social media, they can be so insidious and right inside your home.

The only solution I can see is to bring a hammer down on lads and girls like this. They have been educated on this, they know its wrong, but they also feel there is no consequences to their actions because they feel the law protects them and not their victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭nachouser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Very shocking video.

Feel very bad for the kid beaten.

I see the school has turned off comments on their facebook and twitter accounts.

That means the law and judging system is wrong.

People should be punished with the full force of the law. If that means longer sentences and more prisons, then so be it.

I don't want people like those who effectively almost killed a person, roaming around the streets. Some people, whether we like to admit it or not, are beyond help and will always pose a threat to other people in society.

Ridiculous question.

To ask you what you yourself mean when you say teenagers should be punished worse than adults? Feel free to elucidate.