Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭Jizique

Good point, and as pointed out earlier, where was Eoin Downey, seemed to be doing well in the league esp v LK if I remember

• Registered Users Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

i know this isnt much of a consolation but another year will bring on them younger players alot... Cork more or less matched LK physically yesterday just Tipp last Sunday.... that hasnt happened in a while.. another yr of gym work and the likes of rob downey.. joyce will be flying.. Cork are definitely coming..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭The White Feather

So as the dust has settled, my prediction was fairly accurate. I thought it would end in a draw or a point either way. Sadly we were on the wrong side again.

As I said above before the game, I knew we finished games strong so it wasn't going to be a blowout even though some people said that. We outscored Limerick by 1-6 to 0-3 in the last 14 minutes, while also keeping Limerick scoreless for nine of those minutes. We were very close and did a load right but a few bits wrong. It is almost coming together but just not quite there yet. I think if we played again soon we would be even better but that's it for this year.

The home crowd was the difference as I feared but we did a great job again in quietening the crowd early on. They helped them by doing their job, baying for that "pickup from the ground free" and a penalty so it did tell in the end. The pickup was almost worse as the ref was very far away from it.

I said after the Clare game we got no 50-50s from refs and the bounce of the ball seemed to go against us this year a lot. You think of Harnedys shot against Clare that just went wide. Then yesterday, that penalty, the thrown pass for the limerick goal, pick up from ground as well as Kyle Hayes hit on Fitzgibbon. I thought that could have been red as it was incredibly reckless. It just wasn't our year unfortunately.

Things to improve on.....I would have taken off Kingston in the first half as he couldn't seem to get hold of the ball at all and worse still, they got points from him losing possession. Or at least at half time. Same as Conor Cahalane in the Clare game. Pat Ryan needs to act quicker and not just leave things.

This result, while it stings a lot, will definitely help us next year. Limericks experience in tough situations helped them just get over the line. Another way I look at things is, would you want to play Limerick again next weekend at home? Yes I would and I think we would win. Would Limerick? I would say no, they would be happy to see the back of us as it was so close. Coming from us getting hammered a while back, it is a huge improvement. Coleman, Connolly and Robbie O'Flynn coming back fully fit will be huge additions next year. Robbie was absolutely flying it until his injury. Would he have got a few points? I think he would and it may have been the difference in turning the loss into a draw or win If we add in various under 20 players next year that are coming through, then things look very bright.

Speaking of which, the under 20 final could be a big boost at least . Hopefully we can get more silverware and a great performance. There are some very good players on that team.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,882 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Really looking forward to the U20 final. I've said it before that I thought this was a special group of players and even though Offaly will be a hard nut to crack, I think we will win on Sunday. A pity the minors lost their last game, a double header final would have been great.

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭Bobby_Bolivia

Cork were not the much better team against Tipp.

They were completely outplayed for the majority of the game. Fair play, they stuck in there and got the draw, and who knows what would have happened with another minute or two - the crowd gave them huge energy in the final stretch. But to claim that they were much better than Tipp is outright lunacy. They were a clear 2nd best for the majority of the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭thesultan

Frank's gone with a while. Spacegoat rubbish here

• Registered Users Posts: 18,244 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Laughable comment, dismissing reaching an AI final. Limerick were awesome that day.

Look if you're happy with finishing 4th in Munster then can't really help you. The fact is we went from an AI final in 2021 to a qfinal last year and now this year dumped out in Munster. That's not progress.

Limerick are definitely not the same team this year.

At the end of the day Cork won 1 out of 4 games in Munster and that win was against a brutal Waterford team. There should be no room for moral victories in Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,144 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We lost by 16 points with Limerick pulling up. That's not laughable that's a fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭Bobby_Bolivia

Every team in Munster went toe to toe with Limerick this year.

The 3 teams who didn't beat them will all be able to reasonably claim that they were unlucky not to beat them. And of course, the team who did, deserved to win.

I don't think it carries much weight as a moral victory or a mark of progress when every other side in Munster did equally good or better vs Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Cork will win a senior hurling all Ireland within the next five years imo. I don't think Cork were poor against Clare or Limerick either. The breaks just didn't go our way in both those games.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Nah mate he left a fractured and divided county behind him. It took the county at least ten effing years to get over that third and most infamous strike, and the redeveloped Stade De Frank is proving to be a serious financial burden. We badly need our own version of JP McManus in Cork.😁

Cork is my only concern, and the fact that we were competitive against Limerick is a sign of progress imo.

They were but tactically we were very naive and loose in defence in that final. Kieran Kingston is a nice man and a great Cork hurling man, but tactically he was a very poor manager.

No one is happy with finishing fourth in Munster, but that 2021 all Ireland final was one of the darkest days in the history of Cork hurling, but sure look if you're happy enough with getting belted in all Ireland finals, then there's nothing i can do for you really.

It could have been more as well, but Limerick were happy enough to operate in cruise control mode in that second half. It's both funny and weird at the same time, to see some people holding the 2021 season as some sort of barometer of success.

Much better to get dumped put in Munster early right? 👍

The bare minimum i expect from a Cork team is heart, character and fight, and we showed that in abundance on Sunday. We're closer to winning a senior all Ireland now than we were two years ago imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Cork minor football team to play Kerry tomorrow at 7:30. Game will be live on TG4

1. Billy Curtin (Valley Rovers)
    2. Niall O’Shea (Urhan)
    3. Frank Hurley (O’Donovan Rossa)
    4. Matthew Ahern (St Finbarr’s)
    5. Odhran Foley (Bishopstown)
    6. Gearoid Daly (Mallow) Joint Captain
    7. Trevor Kiely (Doneraile)
    8. Mark O’Brien (Ballinora)
    9. Mark Hetherington (St Finbarr’s)
    10. Timothy Cullinane (Ballinascarthy)
    11. Dara Sheedy (Bantry Blues)
    12. David O’Leary (Ballincollig)
    13. Denis O’Mullane (Kilmurry)
    14. Sean Coakley (Douglas) Joint Captain
    15. Gary Holland (Bishopstown)
    16. Devin Fray (Mallow)
    17. Sean O’Leary (Kilmurry)
    18. Liam Hourihan (St Colums)
    19. Adam Dineen (Cill na Martra)
    20. Oier O’Callaghan (Liscarroll Churchtown Gaels)
    21. Cathal Mullins (Mallow)
    22. Darragh Clifford (Éire Óg)
    23. Luke Shorten (Tadhg Mac Cartaigh)
    24. James O’Leary (Douglas)

Extra Panel Members; Rickey Barrett (St Finbarrs), Jack Cullinane (Bandon), Joe Lyons (Nemo Rangers), Keith Mc Carthy (Dohneys/Sam Maguire), Oisin McCarthy (Valley Rovers), Owen McCarthy (Clondrohid), Diarmuid O’Brien (Glanworth), James O’Riordan (Croke Rovers/Castlemagner), Tom O’Connor (Adrigole),Cian O’Sullivan (St Finbarrs), Cillian Twohig (Kilmeen), Cathal Walsh (Mitchelstown)

The Cork Senior Football Team to play Kerry in Group 1 Round 2 of the All Ireland Senior Football Championship has been announced

1. Micheál Aodh Martin (Nemo Rangers)
    2. Maurice Shanley (Clonakilty)
    3. Rory Maguire (Castlehaven)
    4. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
    5. Luke Fahy (Ballincollig)
    6. Daniel O’Mahony (Knocknagree)
    7. Matty Taylor (Mallow)
    8. Colm O’Callaghan (Éire Óg)
    9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s)
    10. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Carthaigh)
    11. Ruairí Deane (Bantry Blues)
    12. Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig)
    13. Sean Powter (Douglas)
    14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven) Captain
    15. Chris Óg Jones (Uibh Laoire)
    16. Patrick Doyle (Knocknagree)
    17. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
    18. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
    19. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
    20. Paul Walsh (Kanturk)
    21. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree)
    22. Blake Murphy (St Vincents)
    23. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
    24. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
    25. Steven Sherlock (St Finbarr’s)
    26. Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,882 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Minors a goal down at ht but playing well. We need to be a bit stronger in the tackle in defence as we are leaving them in too easily.

Forwards need to take on their man a bit more and draw a few handy frees.

had a good spell after HT, got back level but missed a few too as well as hitting the bar with a goal chance. Kerry back to a 3 point lead with 10 min to go

5 point win for Kerry

• Registered Users Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭eigrod

Dreadful. Enough ball and chances to win by 5 yet manage to lose by 5. It’s so disheartening that this happens so often.

Bit of a collapse from Cork after brining it level early in the second half. Had very little going forward.

Lost it in the first 15 of the second half, leaving 2-02 behind us while keeping them scoreless.

Keeper then failed to kisk the ball beyond the 21, hop ball leading to a stupid free and then the kickout straight to a Kerry fella nad over the bar, 2 points in a minute.

We played a lot of ball and were the better team for long parts but it really was one we left behind.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Seadin

Not surprised by the Minor result at all. We just can't ever beat Kerry when it matters at all levels.

Just home from it. Don't really bother watching footballers but if that's best we can produce at u17 better get ready for another decade of darkness.

Not a footballer between the lot of them.

Work with few kerry lads who were telling me this is poor Kerry side for its level. Grim.

The sad thing was the Kerry lads were much more hungry for it. They played as a team, Cork played as individuals.

Had to admire kerry big time for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Seadin

So Kerry have dished out good wins against our minors and U20s this year when it matters. The future doesn't look good either with that.

Cork have a great chance to put pressure on the seniors today but I have been following Cork football for a long time to know that Cork won't do this when it really matters and at best we probably just get another defeat against them and be celebrating a moral victory of coming close if that was the case. Again I would love to be proved wrong. Kerry have been dominant over Cork teams since 2012. We might be waiting a long time for a 1987 moment before Cork started to be competitive again against Kerry and winning.