Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying silage

• 02-06-2023 10:03am
    Registered Users Posts: 47

I am going to buy baled silage of neighbour silage delivered to yard €45 it along time since i bought silage does seem a bit expensive

Answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,344 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

someone could probably put up the costs that go into a decent round bale of silage, but that does not seem too far out of the way. they have to make a profit on their work too !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭148multi

It would depend on quality, if good quality might not be dear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Packrat

How much does your own cost you to make it?

That plus delivery should be the absolute minimum he'd sell it for.

If you don't make any, then there's numerous threads here with cost breakdowns.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users Posts: 47 westeast

Very good quality

• Registered Users Posts: 848 ✭✭✭dohc turbo2

Bass had it up his bales were costing him just over 30, so add delivery and the farmer would want to be getting it all

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭Rusheseverywhere

My working of cost would be 3 bags of 18 6 12 at €690 to acre. 8 bales to the acre is €13 a bale in fert and no allowance for cost of collecting fertilser and spreading it. €15 a bale to make and €4.50 a bale in plastic. €32.50 a bale. A euro a bale to draw in from the field €33.50 and if you were renting the field for one cut of silage at 100 an acre and 8 bales to the acre cost of €12.50 for land per bale. So cost of €46 euro per bale before even get to you.

My figures worked out for old silage ground not reseeded and a fusion bale. Harmless enough profit in selling bales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭grange mac

Can ye advise what I should be charging for growing grass that got slurry & 3 bags can... Buyer will pay for everything from including cutting... Just need work out land charge, slurry and fert...

Was thinking roughly 18 euro bale.. Ballpark?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭DBK1

Why would you charge by the bale? You’re setting a standing crop, agree a price per acre and job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭epfff

Has demand not got as big of an influence on the price of a product as the cost of manufacture?

In the case of silage outside dairy areas I'd be thinking supply is greater than demand making it another farm product that is sold bellow cost with the SFP (or other income in case of hobby farmer) covering the shortfall.

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭Rusheseverywhere

You are right see plenty of what seems to be good silage bales May 23 in Kilkenny for 35 a bale on Done Deal. It actually makes no sense saving silage if you can get it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

For good silage that's a fair price, my own is costed at 34 stacked in the yard but that's at 2.5 bags to the acre.

Thanks for all the reply s .the bottom line is do everybody here think €45 is around the price or a bit on the dear side .i know every man has to live .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭epfff

'every man has to live'

Any chance you could have chat with the processors/retailers/consumers I supply beef .

What most of ye haven't allowing for in yeer cost calculation is the European payment you are recieving to bellow cost produce on that acre.

I produce my own because of the per HA payment I receive and nitrates constraints I'm already struggling with. If they didn't exist I would be buying 100% of my requirements.

Sellers out number buyers locally because of reducing livestock numbers over last 20 years. I have heard more silage traded locally at 25 than 30 over last few years without haulage.

I have also heard of haulage costing from 2-10 euro and usually wonder how they can run tractor and trailer without government aid for the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I've delivered bales to yards this year at €34/bale. €45 seems very high unless there's land rental costs pushing up the prices or a lot of fertiliser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Good loser

I was offered 'good' silage today for €40 per bale delivered. Didn't take up the offer. Would have paid €35 if offered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

How far of a draw has yer man with the bales?…….need to allow for that too.

About mile and half i am in more tillage area than silage area

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Dan Gibbons

Everything is expensive now.

Anybody know any more about bale silage price this year i was asking around and looking up done deal not alot to go on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Round bales of Hay are 30 in the field or 3.50 for a square. I haven't seen any silage for sale, the lads that are usually selling are taking advantage of the good weather and making hay. Hay always seems to be more saleable than silage bales

My mistake, that was for last years hay. This year they are asking 40 and 4.50

It's not costing that to make. Can't see how prices of feed has gone up from last year. Apart from land rental, where's the extra costs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭kk.man

Crops are much smaller in these parts. Fuel and contractor charges have increased too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Fuel? Are ya serious? Fuel is way down on 12 months ago. Contractor maybe up 50c/bale but even that is hard to justify. Plastic back a notch too. I suppose scarcity of crop could be a factor alright. Around my area crops are good though

I think 40 a bale is too much, it's very early yet for Hay, the bulk of it comes online after July, so it should come back in price again. May/June Hay is usually top quality fit for horse feeding or Calves so that adds to the price too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Fertiliser would be dearer this year for the 1st cut ,35 euro would be well under the production cost

Was it? Unless you had bought it very early on. Mid March it was dropping by the day. Still higher than it should but lower than last year too. I've production costs at €28.50 which is low as my fertiliser spend per bale is low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Great when you have the use of the land for nought

,I wouldn't mind getting the use of a few free acres myself!!!

not to mind you are mining your ground of p and k when selling silage but don't mind me once you are happy selling for 34 euro

Yeah we own the land. Hardly a crime. Wouldn't make sense to be renting land to be in the business I'm at. Be uneconomical to do that. I understand the P&K problem and it does need to be brought up. I'm working on that too so it will take time to build it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭kk.man

I knew someone would mention it but my calculations are based on fuel I bought last year and plastic too. I'm like most smaller farmers we buy about 1000 lt which do us a year or so. Plastic was going through the roof last and I had none on stock ...so the effects of the war and prices are still being felt.

Crops are way down in the south east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

There's no future in sellling silage and not charging full price. every bale takes the equivalent of a third of a bag of 0 7 30 out of the soil. so you're not building anything up until you've replaced that and That's about €10 on it's own,

I know I've to add more P&K which will be done next year all going well and will be added to things next year. I'll spread MOP or 0-7-30 along with slurry/dung.

I wouldn't be at this craic if it wasn't paying. And I'm not riding the lads I sell to. If I'm able to make it relatively cheap then I can sell it the same and everyone is happy. What's the problem? I'd sell to ye too if ye wanted :-)

I wouldn't be at this craic if it wasn't paying

Some men don't put any value on their own time or consider wear on tear on machinery when calculating costs.

Do you stack in the customers yard for €34/bale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭emaherx

I'll probably be laughed at but..........

I wonder how anyone makes any money with the production costs quoted in this thread, I doubt much of the silage for sale has anywhere near these sort of inputs, it just wouldn't make sense. I haven't made any silage yet this year but baled 160 bales of hay this week, its after costing about €5 a bale to mow thead row and bale (with my own equipment, including diesel, net, 2 haybob tubes and 2 tines).

No artificial fertilizer applied ever, just FYM and Slurry (Soil samples show P and K indexes between 2 - 4). Not going to worry too much about mining as land will be developed in the next decade or 2, but will target the fields with lower indexes with a bit more FYM just the same. Probably another €3-4 euro a bale in spreading costs, but it's also a cost of keeping cattle anyway and must be spread even if no bales are produced. Could possibly factor in the cost of buying straw, which I buy on the flat from a neighbouring farm, costing about €15 a bale by the time it's in my yard, but I produce 5 times as much fodder so another €3 a bale of hay/silage (this is also a cost of housing cattle).

So costing €12 with organic fertilizer spread and bedding/spreading costs covered (about €15 when plastic applied for silage).

There is some rented land but, the SFP covers it with surplus + the top up schemes, so the land is in profit before touching it.

Probably not going to achieve the heaviest crops but there is scope for profit per bale even with wear/tear and depreciation + time etc added. Baler/wrapper are 25 years old so depreciation is no longer a factor, bought a fresher tractor end of last year but had the old one 20+ years.

I do. I charge €5 a bale for delivery which includes stacking. Depending on the draw but I'd move between 14 and 18 an hour. I'm lucky in that most yards are big and I can unload quickly. Bought the elephant trunk a couple of years ago and I can move approx 2.4 bales/hour extra with it.

Most men simply are not in a position time wise or knowledge wise to run 25 year old mowers/baler/wrappers.

I'm heavily involved with a neighbour at silage every year using equipment like such.

There is a fully equipped workshop with 2 mechanics & a combined experience of about 70 years as agricultural engineers.

Even at that, we've often been beaten by breakdowns & had to use local the local contractor to finish fields.

Your silage production costs are at the lowest 1% of the country I'd say

I acknowledge that and obviously I suffer breakdowns too and not every crop will be saved at such low expense (but close to it), but I'm offering a contrast to the lads claiming the highest possible production costs, there are many people producing fodder at prices between mine and theirs though.

One thing I should state on my setup is that I'm really dependent on good crops coming off the field or, obviously, the price of production per bale will be higher. I expect by the end of the year when I'm finished my costs will be higher as second cut will yield less, albeit with less inputs in terms of fertiliser. We'll revisit come September and see how things worked out

Apple and Oranges comparing an organic system to conventional. For a start the conventional crop is grown over a period of 5-7 weeks, the yield from conventional is much higher. Before anyone jumps down my throat I am an organic farmer, I know the production differences first hand. An organic meadow without a heavy coat of slurry takes at least 12 - 26 weeks to grow a half decent crop. The time cost of organic Silage/hay is far higher than conventional. So yes you can have bales from no fertilizer by leaving meadows empty for 6 months and then its only cost the price of the labour or contractor, but it's a stupid argument really

Hardly a stupid argument when we are discussing putting so much chemical fertilizer into land that bales produced barely break even or are even going to end up loss making due to oversupply. One thing to put so much effort into making high yielding quality feed for your own stock, but madness to apply the same inputs to bales for sale. One doesn't need to be completely organic either, but spending almost €40 a bale to produce is never going to make sales profitable, my argument is I doubt very much that the majority of fodder for sale has seen anywhere near these kinds of inputs.

Yes selling silage/hay at less than costs is not a good thing to do. The stupid part is when one tries to justify an alternative method but fails to acknowledge the cost of having the land tied up for so long, the cost of depleting the land of nutrients, the cost of reduced production/acre, and finally not costing there own time or equipment.

I disagree with your 6 months to grow a decent meadow around here anyway.

I actually have covered / acknowledged most of the rest if you read my posts, except my own time, (I don't think others had costed their own time in their figures above) and the cost of reduced production, which is an interesting one, it seems some lads will do anything to keep production up even at the expense of some proffit. Is it better to over produce grass to the point you have to keep cutting it and selling it at a loss?

I've also said a few times there are many other farm types between my low input system and the other high input systems discussed in this thread, there is plenty out there producing fodder without it costing €35-40 a bale or there simply wouldn't be so much fodder for sale every year.

There is no Silage produced this year at anything less than €35, the yields just aren't there. This year every bale is taking about €9 worth of nutrient's out of the soil before any other costs are added on.

Yes if you tar the field with Slurry you'll have a crop in just as quick a time as conventional farming but that isn't viable in Organics. 6 months is average on many Organic farms for meadows as they just don't have enough FYM or slurry. I know farms that meadows are only cut once and it would be late august before a crop is on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭trabpc

Not true.. took 7.5 bales to ac off organic meadow 31st may. Got slurry only 10 Apr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭trabpc

Up to 10 apr. Was late due to weather. . If i had any crop growing up into august organic or not it would be lodged and starting to grow again. It got 2000g slurry In jan and 2500g again to the ac in April. Reseeded in 2009 nice bit white clover still in it.

What will baled silage make this year ...I will be buying 40/50 bales they will be first cut deliver from 1 mile away and will have 6 layers of plastic .buying direct of field when baled...any one know what there worth....