Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Prison Service (Prison Officer) to Civil Servcie (EO) - Incremental Credit?

• 05-06-2023 11:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭scullersky

I work as a Prison Officer (we are classed as Civil Service). I applied for EO in the Civil Service for several personal reasons and I was successfull.

As my job as a Prison Officer was also Civil Service, does anyone know how Incremental Credit would work?

For example say I am now on €47,000 basic pay, should I be put on the nearest increment when I take up the new role or start at the bottom?

Any thoughts welcome....

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 33 michael031987

Incremental credit only applies where the roles are similar in nature. A prison officer duties would not be considered similar to the duties of an EO. Therefore incremental credit will not apply and you will take up the new role at point 1 of the EO scale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭scullersky

It is more similar than you realise! Also a funny thing I recently learned was that each rank in the Irish Prison Service payscale is linked to a Civil Service Pay grade. For example, Prison Officer is actually aligned to Staff Officer grade! I really don't mind either way, of course it would be better if I got some incremental credit, I am just really looking forward to change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

What are the similarities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭scullersky