Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Body and soul 2023 (initial line up announced)

• 25-11-2022 9:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭Fanirish

Initial line up is out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭RINO87

Moderat.....ooooohhhhh that's tempting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,745 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Hopefully they won't have the same sound problems Modeselektor had in 2019 B&S, but that's a nice announcement, they always put on a good show.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Hmmm...very underwhelming for me.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

Feck it, ticket bought! Raging I didn't go see them in Berlin last summer, so not missing again. Have seen them twice Vicar st, and at the picnic in 2009 or 10 I think, there were less than 200 in the tent at the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Prefab Sprouter

Shanti Celeste is well worth catching.

I think this was the last time they played Ireland in 2017 at Forbidden Fruit. The tent was absolutely packed out and it was hot in there.

I know this get mentioned every year for B&S but I think it would be brilliant if the festival could procure Bjork, maybe with a scaled down set for the main stage, get her to curate one of the nights like Karin Dreijer did on the Friday of the 2018 edition. Of course, Fanirish will come along and crush my dream in seconds, but I think she would fit the festival although probably not affordable considering she's played EP twice now.

More added.

Well BTP blows this out of the water but my loyalties lie with B&S so here's my picks from this line up.

Moderat, Berth Orton, Haai, Junior Brother, Kurt Vile & the Violators, Kormac, PSB, Thumper, Tinariwen, Weval, Ye Vagabonds and I'm sure others will be added and some discoveries too.

Nice to see Kurt Vile added, thought he would be higher up the bill to be honest...overall tho still a little underwhelming. I think I've seen just about every name on that list at festivals in Ireland before.

• It’s not great and especially comparing to beyond the pale. Going to body and soul this year instead of ep and thinking we should have gone to BTP

I'd be curious about the Fabio & Grooverider thing, be a nice change to hear some DnB in Ballinlough. Could be a bit cheesy though!

Saw Kurt Vile at B&S about 10 years ago, he was ok. Caught him in Vicar St a few years back and it was one of the most boring gigs i've ever been at in my life, apart from 2 or 3 songs in the middle of the gig. Vowed 'never again'.

Beth Orton, Gwenno, Thumper, Tinariwen. At a push PSB, Kokoroko and Murder Capital. Not the most exciting of music really.

• But again the majority of them acts are Irish and I can see them in Dublin for circa 20 notes possibly twice a year.

And I have seen Haai and Moderat I dunno how many times in the last 5 years.

Body and Soul is like a punch drunk over the hill boxer that should have retired many moons ago.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Stillill42

I mean Beth Orton, Kurt Vile, Gwenno and Public Service Broadcasting are exactly the type of acts that they should be signing. Plenty of quality in there. More appealing to me this year than the last number of editions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭citycentre

Lots of properly interesting acts on this lineup in a beautiful location and setup. Super excited about Moderat, Tinariwen, Public Service Broadcasting, Beth Orton and Kurt Vile and there's lots of excellent Irish acts that will be great to see on the festival stage. Good to see a properly thought through, well curated selection from Body and Soul.

That other festival has plenty of great acts I'd like to see too but this wins hands down for me. Just a shame BTP decided to go head to head.

Of course it's not all about the acts and I doubt, going by last year's slightly shambolic setup, that BTP will ever be able to match the magic of the woodlands and the walled gardens in Ballinlough.

Hennessey Stage announced:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Norasheen

Alison Goldfrapp!

Poster.

Alison Goldfrapp and now Fever Ray too... This is shaping up into something really special. Fever Ray is something else live...

Poster for Fever Ray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭Fanirish

The blaze added as another headliner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Granite Head

Started slow but B&S is shaping up to be a lovely festival.

2024 Gigs and Events: Jarlath Regan, Depeche Mode, Roisin Murphy, Pip Blom, Gruff Rhys, Nouvelle Vogue, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Murder Capital, Pixies, The Stranglers, Liam Gallagher & John Squires, The Jesus & Mary Chain, DJ Shadow, Cam Cole, Fight Like Apes, Somebody's Child, Kacey Musgraves, Sprints, Nadine Shah, Jane Weaver, Bob Log lll, Jimmy Carr, Coach Party, Beyond The Pale, LCD Sound System, Patti Smith, Night & Day Festival, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, The Beat, Muirean Bradley, All Together Now, Bonny Prince Billy, Phosphorescent, Ride, Dirt Birds, Katel Keinig, Tommy Tiernan, The Libertines, Godspeed You, Black Emperor, Melts, The Last Dinner Party, St. Vincent, Los Bitchos, Iron & Wine x2, John Grant, Okervil River & The Antlers, Therapy, Public Service Broadcasting, Liz Lawrence, Fat Dog, Ezra Collective, Nick Cave, Peter Hook & The Light, Gruff Rhys & BRJ, Idles, Nada Surf, MJ Lenderman, Khruangbin, Gurriers, Vampire Weekend, Lightning Seeds, Fontaines DC, Adore, Confidence Man, Amble, These Charming Men, Something Happens.

The Blaze, wow!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,956 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Ah man, I'm so jealous. Would love to see Fever Ray again. Guessing that means no other Irish gig for a while

This is starting to look really interesting. Nice core of stuff I'd already be interested in, PBS, Gwenno, Murder Capital, Kurt Vile, Junior Brother, Beth Orton etc. but also, for a primarily guitar kind of guy, there are some intriguing acts just over the Electronica border that I'd be interested in having a look at, Fever Ray, Alison Goldfrapp, the Blaze surely amongst the most interesting acts that have been dropped on the long suffering Irish public in 2023. Plus I've never been, site, vibe, crowd sound cool. We'll wait to see what ATN and EP come up with but this is certainly a runner now. Glad to see it back in the conversation. Fair play.

The Blaze are dreadful. Their set at B&S a few years back was one of the worst i've ever endured.

Ha! Fair play Dreamweapon!

Sarcasm, surely? That was one of the best gigs I've been to, ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭dav09

Body and Soul is really heating up now, looking forward to seeing what else is left to be announced, trying to chose between BTP and B&S still like a few people, have been 4 previous times so leaning this way now again particularly with the lineup additions, B&S was great last year and always an amazing overall experience.

Wouldn’t expect much more in the international acts stakes, Irish djs/producers etc for sure

Enjoying all the headliners added but in a way a bit lazy from B&S apart from Moderat, all the others have played various editions, I think this is Goldfrapp's or Alison's third visit, the Blaze headlined Sunday night in 2019 and Fever Ray headlined Friday in 2018. But I suppose they still had their phone numbers so easy to rearrange again. At least they're not making the mistake of booking an indoor trad act like The Gloaming in 2016. Don't get me wrong, I like a bit of the gloaming from time to time but I thought they were the wrong choice to close the main stage on the Friday, too mellow, quiet and slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭dav09

Modeselektor did play in 2019 too (who are apart of Moderat). It would be nice to have a few headliners we haven't seen but hoping there's still a few more to be announced, the undercard is quite strong this year and mostly acts that haven't played/ I haven't seen yet. I agree, in fairness B&S always seem to get it right atmosphere wise and the additional stage last year made a big difference late night after headliners finished. I'm sure the competition with the other festival and recovery from Covid (much smaller festival last year) all play a part in who they can book, just very glad the festival is still around and would love to see it grow again in future years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Seconded. One of the best acts I’ve ever seen live at an Irish festival.

• Mother djs only playing Sunday evening. They usually have a stage all day don’t they? I’m remember them having that reckless in love stage and played out sat night or sun?

Only played before Roisin murphy last year. 2019 they had a stage to themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Landers11

How do you know the schedule? Have the day schedules been released?

• Mother djs themselves had it up on their socials. Playing beyond the pale sat night, body and soul sun evening

Body and soul posted this to socials. Looks like it’s the final line up poster.

wouldn’t expect much more to be added

It is indeed a lovely little lineup when viewed on the poster like that.

Hats off to B+S, they always mange to put it together.

Ha! I was thinking the exact opposite when i saw it all laid out 😄

I mean where's the excitement? I see some nice, pleasant stuff and the obligatory B&S blandness, but where's the music to get the heart pumping, juices flowing and head travelling to outer plains? Aside from Thumper and possibly Fabio & Grooverider i'm not seeing a lot there to take me where i want to go.

It takes all kinds I suppose! This is an absolutely cracking lineup with at least 11 on there that I'm really excited to see (hopefully no clashes!)... Thumper aren't even one of them so looking forward to being converted...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,622 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Yeah I think they've thrown together a good lineup this year in fairness to them. Big improvement on last year's anyway. They kind of announced it differently to most others would, they left their strongest acts until the end. I wonder have many people already committed to other festivals? I have anyway.

I agree they did themselves no favors leaving it late to announce the final names, maybe they didn't have them in the bag til now. If myself and herself didn't miss out on last year due to both of us having covid, I don't think we would have jumped on getting tickets as soon as they were released, and would 100% have given BTP a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭crl84

Strongest B&S lineup in years for me, but have unfortunately already committed to BTP.

Definitely would be likely to go if BTP wasn't on, but most of our festival crew kind of gave up on B&S in the few years before covid, as the lineups were less than impressive, and the focus seemed to be more on wellness areas and "vibe", instead of music acts.

Same, last B&S for us was 2017, I think, having been to them all before that. We know they have no problem putting on a great festival so a few years off had us chomping at the bit for last year, only for us both to be stuck to the bed with covid on the Thursday before

Any sign of a day by day schedule yet?

Anyone know can you use a tent style awning with a campervan in the camper site?

Nearly every camper had awnings or tents by their sides all previous years. No problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,295 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker