Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team 2023/24 [old thread]

• Registered Users Posts: 9,621 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Are you arguing that Stephen Kenny should continue after Monday?

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,001 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

On the one hand a certain poster points out how poor our talent pool is and on the other says that we should try pass teams off the pitch.

The set up was woeful last night. Young Smallbone didn’t know what to do, it was very unfair on him, he needed direction. You can’t judge players when things are a shambles.

The job is too big for Stephen. I really hope for his sake as well as the rest of us that he’s relieved of his position on Tuesday morning.

If they leave him there struggling until next Autumn the FAI should be charged with misconduct and not taking due care of their employees.

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭athlone99

Bang on the money about midfielders. Solly March playing well with Brighton and cant get near the England squad. He would be a guarenteed starter for us.

The squad being poor doesnt mean you throw the baby out with the bath water. If we were starting from a lower base like Wales did 10 years ago a manager would be given more time to try develop the squad and the style of play. Kenny tried that and didnt get the best out of them but that doesnt mean we go backwards to pragmatic defensive football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,490 ✭✭✭pgj2015

We need someone to compliment him in midfield or outwide other than that he might be wasted on us

I think it’s fair to say that everyone here thinks Stephen should be gone as Ireland manager next Tuesday morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,518 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Scotland are better than us, wouldn't say there is a chasm or anything.

They've no Bale or other Maverick though.

I think the wider point is that they are better than the sum of their parts and the manager has alot to do with that.

They are beating Spain and Norway when it matters, we are losing to Luxembourg and Greece and drawing with the Ajaers.

9/9 with the fixtures they've left, they'll surely qualify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Yes, no point continuing.

O’Shea as caretaker would be fine.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Caretaker only disrupts things further imo.

The next appointment is crucial. The FAI needs to make sure it makes the right one. I reckon they'll keep him on (barring a complete disaster against Gibralter) to avoid paying him off and start the recruitment process for his successor in the background.

It's such a shame Jim Goodwin couldn't make the step up from St Mirren to Aberdeen. He would have been perfect. Young, progressive style, up-and-coming and was going in the right trajectory and it just went to sh*t for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Sorry man, it’s over. He needs to be removed. You just get someone from the current staff to cover and you start the search without paralleling confusion and futility at the team level.

It’s also respectful of Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭kksaints

I'd give him until after the September games at least tbh. No manager would want to start with their opening matches against France and Netherlands. It'd put them on the back foot immediately and for a caretaker manager it would damage their chances of getting the job full time.

No no no. LuckyLloyd says otherwise.

He's already being sacked. John O'Shea as a caretaker then Roy Keane will arrive to save the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,109 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Just trying to think about us as a nation over the last decade or so.

We have become easy to play against.

In the past, noone wanted to play against us. We were hard working, battling, a nightmare to play against.

Now we aren't. We are easy. Predictable. Lack an edge. Are soft.

Do we need to get back to our strengths? We can rarely out football a team, but we used to out work them.

Every manager wants to be Pep now, clever arsed tactics and trying to play a game they haven't got the players capable of doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

We'll beat Gibraltar on Monday, then beat the Dutch in September. And on and on the debate will go...

What are 'our strengths'?

I see this all the time but all it screams to me is route one hoofball to the direction of the centre forward and hope they can flick it one or something.

It's a proper defeatist attitude. We were hard to play against because there were always good players across a range of age levels.

Now, we have a bunch of kids (23 and under), a group of aul lads (30+) and very few, who should be in their prime, in between them.

We are here because we prioritised 'playing to our strengths' so John Delaney could have a piss up while ripping the arse out of the Association in the background.

The game has moved on. We need to move on too or else we will never achieve anything. If the likes of Georgia or Luxembourg can over-achieve with a limited panel while playing a progressive style then there is no reason why we can't.

For once I wish there was a 'can do' attitude among Irish sports fans. It's always 'we can't' or 'we need to be more regressive because 'our strengths''.

A progressive style does not mean 'playing like Pep'. Jesus Christ there is more than one style of progressive football. The way Liverpool and Man City play are completely different yet both are progressive.

I have no problem 'playing to our strengths' if it means we actually create chances instead of hitting and hoping. Why? Because the way literally every other nation is playing means 'playing to our strengths' means we'll barely have the ball.

As I say, a defeatist and loser attitude which is part of the reason why we are in this mess in the first place. 'Playing to our strengths' and 'results' is all the majority here care about, instead of actually changing things for the better of Irish football.

Italia 90 was 33 years ago, the game has even changed a hell of a lot since Euro 2016. It's high time many people here accepted that instead of just reverting to type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,109 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

But the modern international game now is like chess. It's slow, methodical, possession based for the sake of it.

How often do we see a team work out to the wings to a good crossing position, but inside 3 passes its back at the keeper. All to keep possession. Sometimes taking the chance of putting a ball into the box might be the right thing to do. But every team plays to the same formula now. They are trying to play a Spanish 2010 era football, or PepBall, but they haven't got any players capable of doing it.

Look at our midfield last night. You want them guys to play possession, tippy tap football? Rte showed a highlight reel, or lowlight, of all the misplaced passes. They were pub league stuff. Awful. If you haven't got the ability to play that style of game, then you have to play to your strengths, which can only be hard work and getting in the face of your opponent. Like Inter did v City in the CL final. They were the inferior team, knew that, but had a game plan to try to stifle City. And it mostly worked.

I think Kenny is more suited to managing a club team, they way he wants teams to play, he needs to work with the players every day, not once every few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,705 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

We're not playing a progressive style. Passing it and keeping the ball for the sake of it are not progressive. There's next to no progression of the ball, little if any real sign of pressing to get possession back, there are generally 2 options for a pass, sideways or backwards. So very rarely is the formation ever fluid to enable any sort of quick passing, give and go type football or allow oveaps.

The 3 5 2 is really a 5 3 2 and very rigid too. At times it feels like we're sitting deep with 8 players.

It should be fluid enough to become a 3-4-3 at times, but there's nothing there to suggest Kenny has any willingness to try something remotely different. Nice guy, and I like the idea in theory, but in practice it's turgid, uninspiring, predictable shite.

It's absolutely no more progressive than lumping it up to the big man. It's entiirely risk averse and we only seem to be able to play when we're already behind, or when it's a big name team and they seem to take some extra motivation.

The saving grace of the group is the Netherlands are not nearly as talented as times pastnd koeman is very hit and miss so we could be going into those games looking to win imo

They're saying they're trying to play that style, but they're not showing ever that they are. Their was purpose to every pass Spain made. There's none to most of ours. Its just to the free person. Spain were moving opposition players around, creating gaps and space and creating overloads a d mismatches everywhere.

I've yet to see this nice brand of football Stephen Kenny is supposed to be playing.

All I'm seeing is a man who Is out of his depth from day 1, delivering awful results , and setting us back years. Someone above mentioned we are a soft touch to play against. I'd agree with that. That's a poor reflection on the manager also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,436 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Hard to know.

The media seem to be talking more about how this is the end for him and even people here who supported him all along are now resigned to the fact that he's a busted flush.

But I think the toughness of the draw could have guaranteed that he would see out this campaign.

With the draw Ireland got there was a very slim chance of a top two finish, so realistically it was to come third, which is still achievable.

So that's the minimum target the FAI may give him, and sure we'll have to wait a few more games to find out if they finish third.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Azatadine

Let's remember.....Collins was dropped by Wolves and his appearances towards the end of the season were poor. He didn't cover himself in glory from a defensive point of view last night either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,082 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

it's a terrible comparison - Alaba was a midfielder at club level and international level right from the beginning of his career. He was a CM for his whole youth career, then he was a CM in Bayern's reserves, then went on loan to Hoffenheim as a CM where he made his mark, then came into Bayern's first team playing CM and DM more than at full back - it was only after that that he moved to Left Back fully at club level, while continuing to play in midfield for his country.

Completely completely different case to Collins who's never played CM at any meaningful level whatsoever in his entire career. (i believe he played a few games at local irish club level around 12 or 13, before being promptly shifted to CB where he has remained ever since)

If he’s a dead man walking relieve him of his position on Tuesday. Then appoint the new manager for next September who will use the rest of the campaign to get to know the players and build a team for the following qualifying campaign. Move on.

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭JPup

Lee Carsley’s name doing the rounds now. I’d be happy with that.

Hopefully we get a win and a few goals against Gibraltar and Kenny can have a nice memory to take with him when he goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭Musicrules

The big pay off is far more than he deserves. Over 500k a year and only 1 decent win under his tenure. If someone tried to predict how bad a manager could have done post Mick, there's no way they'd predict this shambles. Remember, Mick's record was played 10, won 5, drawn 4, lost 1. And he's a past it manager who's had his day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,082 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I'm just not sure what Carsley has done to inspire positivity? He's been around a long long while and still somehow has next to no experience in management. Literally all he's got is 2 months at Brentford and a half decent job with an incredibly talented England U21 team - the bulk of whom play their club ball at higher levels than our senior team - like, if there were fears that Kenny didn't have experience at a high enough level, Carsley is a good level or two below that again. He seems a nice chap, but i'd be a bit worried about him tbh.

I felt at the time not letting Mick McCarthy take the playoff against Slovakia was harsh but it was a weird moment with Covid and the FAI already announcing that Kenny would take over regardless of how well Mick did.

McCarthy’s managerial career has been mostly about getting the best out of limited players and he’d done well in the Championship for years. That’s a better fit for the current Ireland head coach than Kenny’s skillset. It’s fair to say Mick’s best days are behind him now anyway so all that is academic.

The appeal of Lee Carsley is he’s an ex Ireland international from better days. He’s been coaching and working in the international scene for several years, albeit at youth level (although England U21 are probably as good as our senior team!). He also wouldn’t be looking for mega money like some ex premier league managers and finally I think there’s a good chance he’d take the job which unfortunately is no longer a given these days!

Stephen Kenny did the Republic of Ireland a massive service. We needed to blood in a whole generation of players to make up for the criminal neglect performed by the previous regimes all in the name of ‘results’.

It’s astounding that so many people here are short-sighted to the point that they’ll let Mick and MON away with bringing very few players through. The players that we have now who are in their prime have less than 30 caps. Our 30-year-old captain on Friday won 12 caps by the time he was 28 and by that time had two full seasons in the Premier League.

Neither Mick nor MON would have taken on the task that Kenny did - cleaning up their mess. In five years time 9 of the players who took part against Greece will be in their prime years (25-29) - on Friday there was a total of 3. All 3 of whom have about as many caps as the kids. They’re supposed to be our most able performers but they’re still babies at international level.

The sheer disprespect here from some saying Kenny deserves nothing. Short-sighted nonsense and it’s clear these people have forgotten that all the times we qualified for major tournaments and it did absolutely nothing for our future. In fact, it completely hindered and decimated it to the point that we are where we are now.

But no, it’s all Kenny’s fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,202 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Are still trying to claim Lenihan and O'Dowda should have more caps despite not being good enough? Comical

The team would be in a worse state if every Irish professional player was being capped despite being significantly worse than other players simply so they have a nice cap total by their "prime".

No amount of caps would transform Lenihan into our most able performer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭Musicrules

Complete nonsense. Did you want McCarthy to be picking 16 year olds or something? Kenny picked young players because they broke through and were better than the players we had before. Bazunu emerged as a premier League keeper. We've seen the emergence of Collins, O'Shea, Omobamidele, Knight, Molumby, Smallbone, Obefami (returning from absence), Idah, Ferguson and Cullen improving greatly since moving to Anderlecht. Nearly a whole team of emerging talent. McCarthy had a midfield of Hourihane, Hendrick and Whelan to pick with little options available. You're trying to give Kenny credit for picking some of our best youngsters in a generation. The truth is that any manager would have picked them. Don't forget McCarthy had already brought in Parrott and Connolly.

What Kenny has done is introduce these new players to a shambles of a set up. Their first introduction to senior international football and it's into a culture of losing, of constantly coming near the bottom of every group. Our rankings have fallen off a cliff, we mightn't even get a backdoor playoff because of Kenny's awful Nation's league results. You say Kenny has done us a massive service, he's actually set us back years. It will take a lot of work to recover from his tenure. He has done serious damage.

Martin O'Neill gave 26 players their Irish debut. Not many made a mark, but to say he wasn't giving chances is absolute bullshit. Kenny had a fairly good pool of players at u21 level, and that's showing now in his squad selections

Look at our 2014ish u21 squad. Piss all of them made any sort of step up. Hendrick, Duffy, Lenihan and Doherty. (grealish was around then too, or at least being called). Some of our 2010-12ish players had started coming through and were getting into the squads. It was 2018.19 before any of our u21 players were making any sort of breakthrough at that level. If Collins, O'Shea, Evans, Obafemi and a handful of others were available to other managers, they would've been picked, but the players were had at that level for those years, excepting a very small number, were not at the level, and well below that of established players.

Mick was given one remit, get to the euros and move aside. His was a short term appointment and he was on course to meet the goal.

So yes, Kenny is giving young lads a chance, but he arguably has our most talented crop of young players at his disposal than any manager has had in a long time.

His continued omission of Manning is bizarre, for such a specialist position, that he has ignored someone who has excelled there in 2 of the last 4 seasons at a high level, done okay in 1 other and been injured in the other one, all for an aging winger who gets stuck in, or a right back who is not playing for club so he can play an other right back too. This is the type of stuff other managers got hammered for. He gave manning his debut, but he's featured in 1 competitive games in that time, started 1 firiendly and totalled 20 mins in 4 other games.

Kenny has to take his criticism too though. IT's not enough that hes an LoI man. I wanted him to succeed, and his remit was not merely qualification. I genuinely think he'd have been better with the u21s for longer in hindsight, and maybe doing something for the structures because we're always going to struggle until that's fixed no matter who is in charge.

Yeah. That argument makes no sense. Martin O’Neill and Mick McCarthy should have been playing young players despite them not being good enough so that in a few years time they would have more experience that the next manager would be able to take advantage of! What coach or manager thinks like that?

It's not any sort of golden generation, but it's a crop of players who seem to have grown up learning to play football in the sense that it's not just about being direct. They're maligned now, but we'd probably kill for someone like Robbie Brady to be plying his trade at a low level Prem/Serie A/La Liga club, and we'd definitely love if a new Coleman suddenly appeared, but it's not likely. We do have a crop of players who are at a decent level though and with their clubs at least, seem to want to get foot on the ball and play a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,195 ✭✭✭Xander10

Is there any point sacking him next week. For me, he might as well see out this campaign and make a proper assessment then.

Good point. Sure Van Dyke scored a similar goal to Collins when he was playing for Celtic and he is better player than collins but no one ever played him in midfield as far as I know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭McFly85

Agreed - but people who have wanted him out from day 1 want to give him no opportunity to get a good result or two and possibly open the door for an extension.

FWIW, as someone who backed his appointment and extension, and don’t consider it a mistake of any kind, even some good results in the back half of this campaign shouldn’t save him(unless he somehow managed qualification!). The inability to retain a basic level of performance from one campaign to the next should mean that someone takes over for the WC qualifiers.

People here want Ireland to go back to a more pragmatic style. There definition of that is kicking the ball away and sitting back and defending.

Kennys pragmatic style was to actually keep possession all be it slow and ponderous most of the time. I would rather try keep the ball than camp on our 18 yard box.

Our player with the highest potential and highest ceiling plays in a team that is far from pragmatic. If Ireland revert to a pragmatic style as many want that means not playing to Evan Fergusons strengths or in fact the strengths of any of our forwards.

So in that case how do we actually move forward and try and create and score? Who plays up top? Whos our big man to run the channels, win flick ons?

The Collins to midfield idea is total nonsense, as it’s practically being used as an imaginary stick to beat Kenny with.

Collins has no professional experience as a midfielder and Kenny would have been crucified by some here if he moved him there and it didn’t work(which is highly likely).

Honestly some people here want the entirety of football to go back about 30 years.

Some people seem to want Keane as he’s a no nonsense old school footballer, regardless of his actual managerial record, as if sticking the boot in will solve all of our problems.

Top level football has long since moved on and we will get nowhere with that approach imo.

I'm basing it on him being more composed in possession and and having better distribution than anyone else thats played beside Cullen to date. Both of which are pretty key attributes needed for a midfielder in a possession based game, yet our midfielders (outside of Cullen) dont really possess that. Not just a wonder goal.

I know jeff hendrick takes a lot of stick from Irish fans but in his prime he was far more talented than any of our midfielders these days.

And as others and I have said its a different story being composed with the whole pitch in front of you verses having to know whats around you in 360 degrees. He would be lost.

Have you ever played football? If so what position did you play? Ive played at a high level here in Ireland, played right back and centre midfield and i can tell you now right back was a hell of a lot easier and i had an extra few seconds on the ball compared to centre midfield. Theres a reason it doesnt happen anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,003 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

And if you were forced to pick one CB to move up into the holding role it wouldn't even be Collins imo.

I've played CB and full back for about 13 years at a very low amateur level and for what it is worth I totally agree.

Receiving the ball with he back to goal, knowing the tackle could come from 360 degrees, the sheer amount of additional running etc.

I'm alone in think Cullen played ok, think he is generally one of our better performers. He's just a workhorse and does that well, just not complimented by the team he's in

You keep defining a style change in a quote binary way.

It's either ponderous possession in our own half, weak underbelly and still only scoring from set pieces

OR

Whatever Mick, Trap and MON had us doing. Of course I don't agree that they were always hoofball either, there was definitely degrees within.

I think that was the sense when we lost to Luxembourg.