Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things you just don't get...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The ACAB movement.

Wonder who they call when they've been victims of crime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,039 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

That’s a movement?

I thought that was just something kids, who think they’re hard, write across their knuckles in school or that little scrotes graffiti on walls around shops or parks.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭hayrabit

I don't get how some folks' profiles appear to be on private - altho one of higher ups stated that all profiles would be off private setting as part of new migration 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

If you're dropping €20k+ on a new car, another grand for a nicer colour that doesn't always look dirty save for the 5 minutes after a wash. But, ok, I can understand it a bit better on cheaper cars. But why then people get white when spending stupid money is beyond me, ie: white Landrover PayAttentionToMe Evoque. The cheapest new one, direct from Landrover, is €72k. It's another €1300 to change from white. Worth it, and probably pocket change if you can drop €72k on a base vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Young people don't know how to talk to others, that's the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

They haven’t even learned the correct way to converse with their own selves, as a matter of fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,521 ✭✭✭✭Esel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

Harleys and loud mufflers, loud boats, snowmobiles, and anything that doesn’t have to be loud but is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Casinos. Fellas throwing their money into random number generators and vending machines that don't sell anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,612 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

People who say ‘Catcher in the Rye’ is a great book . I read it years ago and then reread it . A load of crap . Imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Why anyone would want, yet alone pay for a lap dance. I just don't see the appeal of it. I have been in lap dancing clubs with friends but always turned down an offer of a lap dance. even if it was free I wouldn't want one.

The thrill of getting something you wouldn't normally get? I mean, I'd get a lapdance before I'd buy a soccer jersey, but more people buy jerseys than get lap dances so...

On that point, people who buy the new kit every year. Was bad enough when it was every second year, but now the blatant money grabbing is front and centre and still people flock to buy the latest.

Each to their own.

Yeah but what are you actually getting? getting worked up over nothing. it is pointless.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

The popularity of David Beckham and how he's considered some sort of style icon.

Good player back in the day but he's a complete empty vessel as an individuals no interesting opinions on anything clearly spent his life following a script given to him by his advisers and yet for some reason he's very popular.A complete corporate shill.

He's also really scummy looking now with those horrific tattoos he has and yet for some reason he's considered a style icon.

Women who don't shave their arm pits, why? 🤮

such a turn off, thankfully I have never hooked up with such a woman.

Most things are pointless, and you don't have to end up worked up. There can be a beauty to it, doesn't always have to be filth (albeit a very fine line). That's why not just anyone can give a good lapdance. Up there with watching porn. May be pointless, but also extremely popular.

• My late father, a man born in 1922, used to go on business trips, buying engineering plant in Germany & Netherlands. One of the Dutch engineers brought him to a lap dance club in Amsterdam and he reported back to my mother when he got home that his overwhelming unpleasant impression was one of the stench of very stale semen emu sting from all around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Bracken81

Gaelic Football........teams hand passing it to each other for 70 mins, followed by scoring easy points over a bar

The fact Sky dropped it quicker than Phillip Schofield tells you everything!

Alcohol.....more the point of people talking about it like its this amazing thing we must all live by is hysterical! We're not in the 1970's anymore

Each to their own, but ill never get drinking to excess every week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Did you see the promotional video he did extolling how great Qatar is and how much he loves it before the World Cup? Confirmed he can’t act either.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

loved him as a footballer but a dose of an individual these days… always seemed a very happy go lucky, smiley and carefree lad in his youthful footballing days.… when he started getting hooked up with herself and was just a celebrity aside and headline grabber.. ughhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

The rise in popularity of Mac and Cheese. It's bland and extremely fattening.

People giving out about having to pay the TV licence fee. The fee costs less per year than Netflix, way less than SKY, xbox, playstation etc. Like it's not perfect, but you get great current affairs, documentaries, radio, sports coverage, archives, free news website, funding orchestras, independent production companies, TG4 and very many other things.

Seems like good value to me. Properly funding a public service broadcaster/media organisation seems to really rile up a certain amount of folks these days.

That'd be all well and good if it was a choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Duke of Schomberg

Danny Healey Rae and Mick Wallace . . .?????FFS!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭hayrabit

a lot of phrases / sayings, eg: "the person who stands by and does nothing <while mayhem is ongoing> is worse (supposedly) than the scumbagge what beginneth said mayhem" 😒

makes no sense; unless the "idle standing byer" person is in charge of the scumbagge and/or is a member of police force/security etc, then that person aint even in the ballparke of scumbaggerishness compared to the instigator.. infacta, if we consider the mayhem starter a Division1 scumbag, then the "idle standing byer" would have to be considered, at worst, a "non-league" one, imo

folks what laugh at comedy gigs because they "got" the unfunny <usually> joke / reference, which is oft scarce a 3/10 on the mirthometer - if a joke aint funny, then it aint funny, regardless whether or not the gag was a relatively obscure or current one...

it's like they be thinking, "look how smart i am - i understood that joke.. " ... no ya aint; end product was ya laughed, ya kunnt, at summat what were no funny. instead of looking smart, ya just look like an idiot to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

No you don't, if you are under 50 then 99% of what RTE offer is utter Sh**e, in my opinion RTE offers terrible value for money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

People who demand inclusivity, but in reality prefer exclusivity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭StevenToast

I dont get tea or coffee....

People go mad for them.....never drank either...

Even when its roasting hot weather.....i could maybe understand it if its cold and you are looking for a hot drink.....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,835 ✭✭✭Allinall

Do you really think under 50’s are not interested in current affairs, drama, sports etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

They are interested, it's just weak options compared to streaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

In fairness, the radio, archives and website are free of the licence fee.

In the digital media age funding should come from central Government. It’s an unfair tax on people and the Law for it hasn’t even kept up with the times, people just use computer monitors or projectors and they can validly avoid the charge.

Pat Rabbitte did his best to protect them. Overruled a more sensible eircode system with the current one. There was no need to uniquely identify every unit in an apartment block with an eircode. One eircode for the relevant door with postboxes was all that was needed. Uniquely identifying them made it easier to track them for the licence fee. He almost got his Broadcasting Charge legislation through too.

Most of the few payers will continue to age out into the free fee system or pass away. They don’t have a new generation coming up who’ll replace them.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The content is staid and boring, drama is mainly imports one can watch anywhere else or home produced muck, ie Fairly Sh1tty. I can get current affairs online or radio without having to wait for a 6 or 9pm news slot.

I don't watch sport so the quality or otherwise of that is lost on me. I haven't regularly watched scheduled tv in years.

Why people pay to go to watch those England charity football games. awful football by fat old pros, useless celebrities and women on male teams.

How Premier league club scouts are so bad their clubs pay 80 million pounds for the likes of Harry Maguire when they could surely buy 10 players who are better for that money and have the whole world to find them in. same with how Arsenal are about to pay 100 million for the overrated Declan Rice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I have subs for the Irish examiner and Irish times. same goes for the guardian for uk/world news. I watch channel 4 online to get see world news. I didn't even have a TV package in my last Irish apartment. I just stream everything I want.

Greed. I dont get it, the greed of people like sean quinn, ronaldo, messi, David Beckham, there is a wolves player now who is moving to saudi arabia at 26 even though barcelona want to buy him. Im sure other clubs in strong leagues would want him, why throw away your career for money, say barca or another team offter him 150,000 euro per week but this saudi team offer him 400,000 a week. would 150,000 per week not be enough? You would say no to this so you can go play in a $hit league in saudi arabia and and in a horrible country. ok but I dont get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

Most people's careers are about making money. So saying why throw away your career for money makes no sense to me.

Yeah but not making money at all costs. That Wolves footballer would make a lot of money if he went to a team in a decent league. its just pure greed to go to Saudi Arabia.

you aren't testing yourself by playing in a pub league when you can play at a far higher standard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Because the Saudi league is hardly CL standard and 150k per week is already an insane amount. How many private jets do you need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Football careers are short. Not making as much money as you can while you can would be foolish.

See thats what I dont get greed and the obsession with making as much money as possible. And thats coming from a workaholic but its not money that drives me. would you want your kids growing up in Saudia Arabia? more to life than money.

If they are 26 they have about 6 years left to make good money. The money they make in their career will probably be the bulk if the money they have for the rest of their lives. Like I said, foolish not to.

Yes but 150k a week for any period of time is enough. It's not like they are paid 15 quid and hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,274 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

The obsession with women with huge arses. Something thats crossed over from hip hop to mainstream. I like a shapely rear on a lady but not gone on the whole "butt" thing where theres this overt gravitiation towards bigger and rounder backsides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

is it just me , i noticed it the last 2 months, young women wearing semi transparent dress,s so you can see exactly what lingerie they are wearing .its the middle of the day, they are not going to a night club.also more women wearing tops ,where its obvious they are not wearing a bra. i cycle around every day .maybe its just a summer fashion trend i never noticed before