Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Video of haymaking in Co Cavan

• 20-06-2023 9:51am
    Registered Users Posts: 24

Just sharing a video i made for a Cavan musician featuring my neighbour making his hay with his vintage equipment.

Hope you enjoy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭White Clover

Lovely video and the definition of good neighbours is there to be seen.

On a side note, 35 years ago we had a Massey Ferguson 20 baler identical to that one. They were not a fast baler but made good even bales.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,730 ✭✭✭Allinall

Modern farmers and their fancy machinery.

Not a horse, scythe or pitchfork in sight.

Bring back the tramp cocks, that's what I say.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

For a while in the early 90's those Massey balers were cannabilised for their packer drive gearbox's.

They were ideal seemingly if you wanted to make a bench saw.

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

The sight of those small squares dropped one by one without a bale sleigh brings back memories. Not good ones.

Trudging around a field at 10 or 12 collecting them was a sentence worse than being set out picking stones, or pulling ragwort.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭minerleague

Isn't he going wrong way round with haybob? 😁

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭smallbeef

Great video thanks. The older lads are really enjoying it.

I often wonder if in 40 years time our generation will be making vintage videos using Big M's, 50ft rakes and 1000HP harvesters.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Yes he is, on both turning and rowing.

He's essentially gone round in circles rowing. A baler man's nightmare 🤣

Much better for square baling though. When I used to be out baling over 20 years ago, I’d say that 75% of the lads rowing hadn’t a clue. I often set up a tractor and hay bob for a farmer in his 50’s and me 17 or 18 years old!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,590 ✭✭✭roosterman71

2 bits of gear in that video i have and still use. The dexter and the gemini hay turner. Both great pieces of machinery

• Registered Users Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

As someone who grew up in the heart of Dublin city, this is how I remember summer holidays every year when we decamped to our father's family home in the west to save the hay - horse and cart until he got retired and replaced by a tiny tractor (which is what I learned to drive on), pikle (no idea how you might spell that!), and the scythe occasionally got broken out just for old-times sake. Lapping, turning, cock-building (ooh matron!) and the ride home on top of the cart trying not to get bounced off.

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

I doubt it. Todays "vintage" machinery is all simple stuff that anyone with a modest mechanical skill could maintain and fix. Most things can be fixed with a socket set, a hammer and a vice grip.

Current machinery that will be vintage in 40-50 years is all too complex and large to be maintained by the retired oul lads of the future. In particular, everything is electronically controlled now - once that breaks down, the machine is a brick and the best you could do with it is as a static exhibit. In the future there won't be the parts or specialist equipment or skills there to service the likes of Big Ms and Fendt Varios - once they have finished their useful life, there is not really much else for them only the knackers yard.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Yes it looked very odd when he is rowing, plus he never released the lock on the swivel that's why it is dragging after the tractor to one side. Good thing he had only 100 bales to make as he must have broke every second tine doing that.

He used a different type of machine for shaking, I've never used one of those hay lelys but afaik you can go both ways with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

• Registered Users Posts: 5,590 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Yeah ya can. You just twist the tines into a different hole on the arm and it won't spread the grass/hay out as wide. We had a cage on the back of ours and it made a nice row to look at, but wasn't wonderful for clearing the ground. Much better machne at turning and would rival any machine on the market today at that job

• Registered Users Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭MfMan

Been so long ago as I can't recall correctly, but I thought rowing went clockwise, same as baling.

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Silverdream

He used a Haybob, you have to turn anti-clockwise for rowing or shaking with a Haybob. Roosterman has one of those hay Gemini / hay lely which yourman on the video used to shake the hay. You can turn both ways with them, and are a mighty machine for shaking by all accounts

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Haybobs require you to go anti-clockwise , otherwise they throw a "long corner" that gets impossible to follow.

But small square baling requires you go clockwise.

Yer man was going clockwise nice and slowly, and making a decent job of clearing the ground.

Ideally you'd start in the middle and work your way out to the edges, anti-clockwise (as the machine is designed to do) so that you could follow the row all the way into the center with the baler, and not be always crossing rows.

No, both turning and rowing were anti clockwise which had the added benefit of allowing the driver look over their right shoulder on the headland run instead of the wrong shoulder. Baling always followed the mower.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭tanko

Where are the videos of the “hay” being “made” in 85 and 86?????? None of this hay been saved in ideal conditions and lads drinking bottles of heino in the field. Where’s the misery in that??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Remember we were getting the Silage made here.....meadows would be soft at the best of times.......in 86' the only hope was to half fill the trailer loads....and even at that....twice trailers got bogged to their axles meaning another trailer had to reverse to the stuck one and silage was graped from one trailer to the other......talk about hardship!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,954 ✭✭✭amacca

I'd take the bales any day over pulling ragworth and especially picking stones!

My father made us pick 14 acres polluted with ragworth (yellow with it like a field of oilseed rape) 3 years in row until it became manageable...

Spent months on and off picking stones out of 5 acres of reclaimed land, it was like the glacier had just retreated and left ungraded gravel behind..

The bales were only a mild purgatory compared to the two hells above

I also remember being driven to tears helping out on the bog one even when the midges took a particularly liking to me and attempted to eat me alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Cattleforker

Love the lively discussion on this board. Thanks for watching guys 👍

• Registered Users Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I suppose most of us concentrated on the video and didn't really listen to the song. I've watched it a few times listening to the song and it gets better each time. Can you post a link to the lyrics.

As an aside I love the clip of Joxster spitting on his hands before grabbing the steering wheel - what a driver 😀

‘Meitheal’ in Cavan for hay-making music video https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/meitheal-in-cavan-for-hay-making-music-video-ciaran-oneill/

Once again, the farming press get their content from the farming & forestry section of boards.ie !