Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users Posts: 33,478 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

OK, did she used to be NKM?

Could have sworn I seen her on the promo photos

• Registered Users Posts: 6,637 ✭✭✭Feisar

Wont post it as don't want to be circumventing a mod ruling. Especially after having an amicable discussion with said mod!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭StevenToast

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 2,768 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Taniste Martin should take a few notes off Pat Kenny on how to handle confrontation and people with different opinions!

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭bureau2009

I've posted before on this site that there should be an INDEPENDENT EXTERNAL audit of the interaction between RTE and Noel Kelly Management.

And tonight we see how badly it's needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Funny listening to all these talentless RTE **** pontificate and dictate to us for years and now that one of their own has done them over it's knives at dawn as the public watch on.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,291 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Given the sums involved Revenue surely should be getting involved.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Sorolla

Howya jmcc,

shocking News altogether - takes me back to the time when we used milk the cows early and invite all the neighbours around for a decade of the rosary before sitting down to a feed of spuds and enjoying the late late show.

Have you been in our old parish recently?

hope all are well.

br

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Sorolla

If it’s a company account you might not even have access to it.

The company could be paying you a regular salary.

• He did go on about doing podcasts, but had been half paying attention … “I think that’s the way we’ll go..”

• Registered Users Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

And I'm enjoying every second of it. Media thinks there's nothing more important than media and there is genuine anger in RTE among staffers. They were/are getting rode with cuts while the top "talent" was taking secret payments obviously hasn't gone down well.

A good civil war that results in a long overdue trimming of the place would make my year.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

Likewise. :) Still around but it has changed drastically.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Dunno tbh. C & A seems to get the classier people whereas Noel gets the dregs, but gets them the bigger gigs and better fees c/o RTE mainly - for some (yet to be determined) reason

• Registered Users Posts: 82,248 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Wonder would he classify himself now as a good or bad egg?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,755 ✭✭✭buried

You just know it's going to turn out bad for both Tubridy and the establishment when the resident boards establishment cheerleader accounts up in this place are about as visible in this thread as the south pole of Pluto

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭boardise

A bias towards the 'FF/FG establishment' you say ? That's interesting because when I hear panel discussions on the Claire Byrne show on Fridays -it's loaded 3 to 1 against the government -two opposition reps and of course the presenter who aggressively interrupts the government rep 4 or 5 times in a few sentences whereas SF , Roisin Shorthaul and the others get a long unhindered run and easy unthreatening questions.

It's pretty blatant and totally unfair -if there are two opposition TDs there should be two government TDs and the presenter should be equally interrogative to both sides . That's balance.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Benmann

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭Strong and Faithful

When you're a public figure like that you need to know exactly what you're being paid for your job. He looks like such a hypocrite with his kindness mallarkey and patronising us during covid when he was being paid extra.

You can tell from the comments here that 50k a year is nothing to some people. But it's really poor judgement of Tubridy not recognising how much that is to an ordinary person.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,768 ✭✭✭thomas 123

I think you’ll find that’s due to them sending one fall person to appear on the show - junior minister or someone with a few degrees of separation from whatever is the topic.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,439 ✭✭✭irishgeo

He is a contractor so probably isn't paying PAYE. It's more than likely paid to a ltd company.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭inajock

With lashings of toast.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭downtheroad

RTE shouldn't have to pay him a cent, he's a contractor not an employee. As soon as his contract is up for renewal they can cancel it immediately, and possibly sooner if they really wanted to. Contractors don't have job security.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,459 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I think this is going to open a huge can of worms and get real messy. There is a huge stink about some of the details. They decided to look into this in March, coincidentally around the same time Tubridy announced his departure from the LLS. Dee Forbes final day at work was Thursday - and the board got the report the following day....

Says a lot that the RTE News was pretty up-front about it - David McCullough looked like he could scarcely believe what he was reading out from the statement from the RTE board - and some of the usual talking-heads were rolled out on Prime Time and they really put the boot hard into the organisation and Tubridy himself, and Miriam just sat back and let them do it. It was surreal to watch at times.

The politicians they had on VM were licking their lips at this open goal opportunity to turn the tables and stick it to RTE. I've never seen rival politicians from SF and FF wait so calmly for the other one to finish their turn to speak, before giving their own view over exactly how outraged and disgusted they, of course equally, were.

There's a feeling of a lot of long hidden knives being unsheathed and sharpened. I didn't think that Tubridy was finished at RTE when the story broke, but, the way in which it's been covered in the hours since make me think that actually he's totally goosed. They're all lining up to administer a verbal flaking: the politicians, the journalists, the unions, the rival presenters, the board, the talking heads, the colleagues... the still images they had of him on VM showed him leering at the camera like some malevolent mastermind.

Have to say it's been great entertainment! Indisputability the best he's ever been involved with that's for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭scrubs33

Possible title of his autobiography: From Toyman to Taxman?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭StevenToast

I always knew there was something seriously untoward about Tubridy.....

You just get this feeling of absolute fraudulent, false sincerity pouring out of him....he cant hide it...

Taking advantage of charlie bird, vicky phelan, christy dignam, all the sick kids....just to promote himself so he can line his pockets further.....

Imagine holding a telethon hawking for money from the Irish public while secretly pocketing huge sums of money from those very same people while pretending to be taking a paycut......this is literally what he has done...

There is no coming back for Tubridy from this.......zero credibility.....

The RTE staffers want him gone, the Irish populace want him gone.....even the usual Tubridy/NKM acolytes that plague this site have gone silent and cant defend him.....

Tubridy is Toast!

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

He is totally useless, but then again how long is Lottie Ryan hanging around RTE, getting paid, for years now they have paid her and what exactly is her role in RTE? She isn't a DJ yet she has worked for years on 2FM. She isn't a presenter. So why are they paying her?

2FM itself died about 20 years ago yet RTE is still flogging it and pumping millions into it.

The people in RTE seem to live in a bubble that is totally unrelated to the rest of the World, I honestly think that they massively rated Tubs and these payments if it comes out was to make sure he stayed. I have still yet to figure out who the hell would hire him or anyone really in RTE.

I think the issue in RTE management is the people they screwed over are the people on the tv screens. RTE are up to their necks in this, during covid didn't they go to the Dail multipe times looking for more tax payers money? all while shoving this money out to a very limited host. The guy they have hired to replace him, is 3-4 times better

• Registered Users Posts: 33,478 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Yeah, if Prime Time is a barometer of what any other tv and radio discussions about this controversy are going to be like, it'll be hard for our Ryan to return to work in rte.

I'd say behind all the fake lovy dovy among the top talent at rte, a lot of back stabbing would go on. Miriam tried to use her caring voice tonight, but perhaps quite a few peers might be glad to see the back of the Toyman?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,878 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

• Registered Users Posts: 9,755 ✭✭✭buried

Yeah you are totally right Z, maybe they did think that, the fact that they live in this bubble where they believe the bull$hit of their own brainwashing importance.

I just find the hierarchy's immediate and forceful stance to try to distance themselves as much as possible from the actual complicity of the act extremely telling. Plus the fact we had this whole bizarre TV funeral procession last month for this gadge's TV retirement. Now tonight, he may as well be one of the lads from mid-century Germany.

They believe their own importance alright. The fact they are trying their damdest to distance themselves from their complicity is a further indication of it.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats