Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Likewise, I didn't hear Yates on this today when he was on air. Did he declare an interest? Does anyone know?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Yes indeed. I'm not sure why people are assuming that the presenters who recounted the "truth" about their salaries today are being any more truthful than the one who recounted that he was "taking a pay cut". Until someone digs into the accounts and produces the evidence I'd assume that everyone in RTE is lying right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,912 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

My NUJ branch meeting is starting shortly. Things are going to get interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭AllForIt

After all these years of promises from RTE they have finally managed to produce great drama.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Seadin

I reckon there are more to be caught out here the longer this goes on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭paxreseuropa

I think this is the last straw for the majority of people; especially the younger generations who never engage with RTE productions. This should be the end of the unconstitutional TV Licence Fee. Anybody who's paid it up to this point must feel like a right fool now that its been exposed what mugs RTE take us all for. The threats they've made to everyday ordinary, principled people who have no doubt been struggling financially and most likely mentally were malicious and evil before these revelations, now they've crossed the line to criminal. Chasing money out of people's pockets whilst feasting on inflated salaries calculated through nefarious means, hidden from the public through deceit; they have broken the public's trust. Not that any of them will ever see the walls of the courts they've banished so many to before a judge, they will also most likely not be required to pay back any sums of monies they were unjustly paid. However, the court of public opinion will judge them fairly, and that judgement will linger over them for the rest of their lives, history will not look on them kindly, they will be vilified and treated as what they are, vile, evil, sick, twisted, thieves!! Never to be seen or heard from again, banished off the airwaves and our television screens.

I call for the abolishment of the TV Licence Fee; Complete and full independent and political investigations into the running of RTE and their contractual agreements with employees, and other players; and the dissolution of RTE in its current form, to be replaced with an independent national media service which primarily focuses on factual and educational programming funded by the state as advised by an independent board. It would be funded through general taxation; however, the company would be allowed to gain revenue from private advertising firms, etc. which would be overseen by the aforementioned independent board, and these monies would be used to produce entertainment programmes. In addition the board would also be responsible for setting the budget, including salaries; this would ensure that the company would get its monies worth and would not be paying employees exorbitant salaries that are unjustified and out of scale with the market.

There is no difference between being forced by the state to pay a "TV Licence Fee" (which is really just an annual subscription to RTE) or an annual subscription to other Entertainment Services such as Netflix, Spotify, or Disney+, to name but a few. This should not be legal, it is unconstitutional on the basis of how undemocratic it is, and it surely breaks many, many competition rules and regulations, particularly in relation to EU law. Aside from this, it is morally wrong and unjust to force a population to subscribe to an entertainment service or otherwise against their will, with the threat of imprisonment and large fines if disobeyed, and possibly even a criminal record which could hinder their lives.

We need to be heard, we must demand an end to this shameful money grab by the RTE Elites and their buddies in the Dail allowing this sort of disdain for the public to exist, they can act as shocked and disgusted as they like but Leo, Micheal and Eamonn can save their faux outrage as we can see right through them, and each one of them is just as bad if not worse than the crowd out in Donnybrook. En-masse we need to refuse to pay the RTE Annual Subscription Fee and demand rank and file change at the company; then when the time comes we need to remember the disdain the government held us in and vote accordingly.

Rise Up! Let Our Voices Be Heard! Together We Are Stronger! Together We Will Prevail!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

Something is rotten in the state of Donnybrook.

Tip of the Iceberg, we all know it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users Posts: 6,637 ✭✭✭Feisar

Mods, can ye lock up this thread, we have a winner!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭Strong and Faithful

Joe Duffy, Claire Byrne and Miriam O'C seem to be ok with their RTE declarations. Right and proper the way they've announced their earnings. And whether I think they are overpaid or not their integrity is intact. And that's ultimately all any of us possess.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

If only non NKM people could comment on this, they'd struggle to find anyone.

To be fair Yates has spilled the beans on what goes on and the RTE presenters have mostly not held back.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

Almost worth paying for this entertainment :)

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 2,768 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Lol yeah, where will they go?

TV3 is fully staffed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

I personally think RTE is beyond reform, and anyone trying to reform it is losing a fighting battle.

Tubridy will be back there this time next year, Kielty's full salary and perks won't be published and mediocre stars will still be paid multiples of what they are worth.

If the government were brave, they'd shut it down, and start a new organisation which focuses only on public service. And the LLS is not public service these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭toggle toes

I don't know if they would be banging down the door. Even if they did I couldn't see them paying Ryan Tubridy the big bucks he was getting in RTE.

The Currency are doing an even better job. I know most of their content is subscription only but I'd encourage you to check them out if you're not familiar with them.

Likewise, Eamonn Dunphy did a good podcast with Fionnán Sheahan last Friday or Saturday on this, worth a listen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

Your post makes zero sense.

You don't seem to be aware the reason this came to light was because of auditors. If you have actually read any of the actual reports the issue was identified by Delliote while auditing RTEs 2022 accounts. It's hard to miss on any of they reports.

It's auditors who discovered the issue. Then a separate firm Grant Thornton was brought in to do a full investigation.

It's a case of auditors doing their job.

I'm saying it now, I don't think there's any chance Tubs will be back on air next week. I genuinely feel we may have already had the last ever Ryan Tubridy Radio Show on RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Amazing revelation by the Dunph that he volunteered a 30k pay cut in 2010 at the height of the economic collapse.

It amazes me that so many people would probably see Eamo as a gouger out to make a bob any way he can, while Tubs (until last week) would've been seen as whiter than white.

They should teach this in primary school. How to spot a disingenuous hypocrite 101

• Registered Users Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭downtheroad

Deloitte audited their 2020 and 2021 financial statements. A Mr Richard Howard was the partner who signed off on the accounts.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,282 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

They should declare their connection though if they are going to comment. To be seen to be above board.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Claire Byrne's stated salary today is outrageous.

305 grand for an average presenter. It's completely bizarre that she's paid so much.

He grew up in dire poverty and FF were responsible for his father losing his job, he mentioned to Gay Byrne on What's The Meaning of Life. He has that strain of decency running through him, though he could infuriate you on other issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭batman75

I really don't see a way back for Tubridy now. The initial statement he put out added salt to the public wound and I think left his position irretrievable. RTE need to find a solution to punt him that doesn't cost the public purse more money. It is galling to think he was paid extra money for 5 years for doing nothing when the sponsor pulled the plug after year one. Taxpayers money should never be treated in such a cavalier fashion.

The sheer naked greed from Tubridy to trouser another 345k above his declared income across 6 years is galling especially when we were led to believe he had taken a pay cut. He hasn't a decent honourable bone in his body. Another well connected tosser who felt the organs of the state owed him a luxurious living like his family got through politics. He hasn't a clue about the real world or an understanding of self awareness is. He showed it by taking the extra money and then with the initial statement he put out. He couldn't read the room even if it was on autocue for him.

The sheer neck of Forbes to seek an increase in the TV License Fee knowing that Tubridy was getting money undeclared in his official salary, is something. It irks me that she can just resign and ride off into the sunset unchallenged and without having to answer for her actions. My hope is she is shunned by the public until such time as she faces the consequences of her actions.

If RTE have any respect for the public Tubridy must not be allowed to broadcast again. He is a disgrace. Any private broadcaster would be well advise to steer clear of him as his name is muck. He too should be shunned by the public at least until he pays back the 345k.

And Joe Duffy's really hits me too!

I had to laugh at Brendan O'Connor's piece on the front page of yesterday's Sindo. He normally jokingly comments on the main issue of the week. He stuck to the Titanic sub!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

What seems to have happened I'd that the full 150k was paid in 2022 and that's why the auditors caught it.

I don't see why people are giving out about the auditors. They have done their job, would people prefer this problem not have been identified?

The finance team and senior management have some serious questions to answer. By the looks of things payments were be signed off on that management did not understand. That's a no no for any business. Its basic stuff when it comes to payments to high profile/large staff/suppliers. Ignoring the Tubridy witch hunt for second the question is what other expenditure did these lax controls impact and how much money was wasted as a result.

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭batman75

Eamonn is a working class lad looking to climb the ladder in life so it's so much easier to throw the gouging mud at him. Tubridy is middle to upper class posh Ireland so he theoretically has no need to chase money. In the end he did and looks like his undoing. Very impressed that Eamonn took that cut to be fair to him. It shows honour a quality sadly lacking in Tubridy and his ilk.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,426 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Joe gets over 300,000 listeners. I know,who are these people,but any commercial station with somebody commanding those figures would pay very handsomely.

Like Pat Kenny I presume the audience is loyal to the station not the presenter though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

At this stage, the difference between the Titanic sub and Tubridy's career is that they may be able to recover the sub.

Regards...jmcc