Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ladies footballers and camogie will play 'under protest' over lack of progress on welfare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭celt262

The organisation they play for makes enough yoyos to cover the likes off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

You talk about inability, but quite frankly, the entire integration process is being held up by the inability or else stark refusal of people like yourself to accept certain facts or considerations, and bring proposals on how to address them.

All three Associations support the principle of integration, but there are many sticking points to be overcome before it can happen, and chief amongst them are financial ones.

Put simply, integration won't happen until both the Camogie Association and LFGA take far greater financial responsibility than they currently do.

There's a framework being developed all right, but as it stands, Camogie and LGFA between them haven't brought a single proposal as to how to add more money to the pot. Not one. They continue simply to live in hope of getting a share of what's currently the GAA income.

So as already stated, if more funding is to be provided to women's inter-county teams, this means the GAA either having to slash the funding available to men's teams, or else taking the money from somewhere else, such as the budget for the sort of coaching and facilities that benefit all players rather than just the elite inter-county ones.

Neither of those are particularly palatable, for obvious reasons.

Are you starting to understand now, and if you really do want full integration sooner rather than later, what do you think the Camogie Association and LGFA can do to help bring it about?

By the way, still curious about the real situation with your local hurling/camogie clubs, but you seem to have chosen to ignore those questions completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

I thought these ladies WERE the elite, no? Shouldn't they be subsidising the rest of the ladies' teams, using your analogy? Why would they need to be subsidised if they're the elite?

Also, "setting out the framework" is for the respective organisations to sort out between themselves. The players/members of the organisations don't get to dictate the terms. The LGFA and the camogie heads can barter and negotiate the terms and put it to the members to vote on.

"Why are some obsessed with the money"...........The whole point of this argument stems from money. The ladies' teams haven't got the funding for proper transport, facilities, equipment etc as you'd expect for top level teams. This is because they haven't got the funds to do so, and are looking to integrate with the GAA so that they will have access to those funds (which are currently GAA funds). If they HAD the money, would they be looking to integrate, do you reckon? Cos I sure as **** don't.

You cannot have this discussion without reference to the finances involved, it's literally the entire reason for the integration happening, is it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

If the GAA start subsidising the ladies inter county teams before integration happens then I suspect the motivation to integrate may be somewhat reduced in the LGFA and Camogie Association.

That would suit them alright to have a laying hen.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Lo d

Lots of strong opinions here but I’m not sure they are all so accurate.

My local club clearly treat boys and girls so differently. They also treat the camogie/hurling teams inferior to the football. So a young girls camogie team hasn’t a chance of a good pitch/time slot. In fact the slots and times are being enforced by the Football heads, refusing to allow camogie on certain days. Including walking down the pitches to argue when they seen young girls dual training on a Saturday as this is only a football day….

it doesn’t seem to matter about the success of our county team, I’ve spoke to county players and they don’t even have a set place to train, sometimes no access to showers. But the local football men’s team are guaranteed their pitch, showers and a warm meal after training on a weekly basis.

It should be remembered that local clubs earn a lot of money from membership that is from female players along with male so the attitude needs to change from the top to filter down.

I dont think any of the girls are looking for the same money the Dublin men get, or the same guaranteed jobs. But a little bit of equality….. it’s 2023, change needs to come from the top. And they’ve already agreed to integrate, so whether they want to or not changes need to be implemented asap.

I think you're conflating two separate considerations: access to facilities at a local level, and funding for inter-county teams.

On the first, as mainly a hurling man myself, I'd have concerns about how hurling/camogie is treated by your club. But fact of the matter is that some clubs just do have distinct preferences for one over the other. I know of many other clubs where hurling hardly gets a look-in either, but I also know of many where football is only ever an afterthought. Unfortunate, but that's the way it is in such places.

On other points...not sure so sure all of yours are accurate either, and in fact, I'm 100% sure that one of them is inaccurate.

Firstly, does your club's football team really get warm meals after training on a weekly basis? Not saying it doesn't happen, but it would be highly unusual at club level. Best our lads (hurling or football) get is a few sandwiches if we've hosted a practice match and the other club has come a long distance to play (usually from some other county).

If you're in the habit of throwing out hot dinners to lads just after training at least once a week, you must be a very big and financially well-off club altogether. Fair play to you.

Anyway, the one that simply can't be accurate...your claim that "local clubs earn a lot of money from membership that is from female players along with male".

Not a single GAA club in the country receives even a cent in player membership from females. How could they, when females don't actually play any sport that's governed by the GAA?

And likewise, not a single camogie or ladies football club gets even a single cent in player membership from male players.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Lo d

On the local club points, the senior football men’s team get a delivery of a hot meal once a week. And ask parents/club volunteers to dish up and clean up for them. This is true and it’s certainly not a rich club.

The senior hurling manager resigned as the senior football manager was allowed to give his players an ultimatum of not playing anymore if they committed to any other team whether it be hurling or swimming. So a large number of the hurling players dropped out not wanting the conflict.

In terms of membership I mean I pay family membership of 300 a year and have 2 young girls playing at underage. My club gets their membership and uses it as it sees fit. And clearly to everyone involved they prioritise the men’s/boys teams. Insurance etc is the same for everyone but the rest ?

my issue is more with the LGFA than the GAA as they are useless and are not strong enough at defending their own members interests. The LGFA are the ones in our club arguing and fighting whereas camogie are willing to work together to find solutions.

I hope that explains my opinions better.

Thanks. Still unusual for club players to regularly get a hot meal after training, but if your club manages it, then fair play. I'd say our lads would love the same!

Again speaking as mainly a hurling man myself, I'd be concerned about that other situation in your club, and I'd consider your football manager as being highly unreasonable. That sort of thing would never be tolerated at a club here in Wexford, where more than 90% of club players play both codes. Even if an individual club has a strong preference for one code over the other, or is one of the small number of single-code clubs we have, it doesn't try to stop them playing the other one altogether.

On the family membership thing, are you sure the GAA club keeps the portion of it that's meant to cover the girls? As in, the camogie and LGFA clubs don't actually get membership fees for those girls?

I ask because my club operates something similar with a membership option that has a number of benefits including underage membership for all children in a family up to age 18 (coincidentally, also for €300). Underage membership here is €40 for GAA, €20 for camogie, and €20 for LGFA. If a family with girls playing underage happens to take the €300 option, the GAA passes on the girls' portion of that money to the camogie and LGFA clubs.

So for example, if a family with three boys takes that option, the GAA club gets and keeps €300. But if that family has just one boy and two girls, while the GAA club still gets €300 initially, it only keeps €220 and passes over the other €80. Are you sure something similar doesn't operate in your own place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Aside from the rights or wrongs of the whole issue, what does "playing under protest" actually mean ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,168 ✭✭✭zetecescort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,709 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

The caption is a bit misleading/incorrect.

the full press conference.

From the weekend just gone.

And in Cork - AGAIN !!! Another episode of having both codes on the same day !!!! Wtf ???!!? 😣

Is it a case of the 2 Associations saying "we're not changing the fixture, they can" ?

The LGFA have had their say , but the Camogie Assoc say nothing ??

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

Going to throw the cat among the pigeons here, but just for the sake of Devil's Advocate.....

Does the fact that there are still dual players in camogie/ladies football mean that they simply do not put in the same commitment and effort into either code as the men do, despite what the female players always claim when seeking equal treatment/facilities?

It's been several years since dual players were commonplace in the GAA. Lee Chin was the last of them here in Wexford when he had a year or two with our footballers about ten years ago now, and even then, he was one of a dying breed.

The time, effort, and commitment needed to play either inter-county hurling or inter-county football today is so great that nobody who does one can also manage the other.

So, if an inter-county camogie player can also commit to inter-county ladies football, does it follow that she simply mustn't have to give the same commitment to camogie as her male counterpart has to give to hurling?

As I said, just throwing it out there. Devil's Advocate, and all that......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,867 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Nothing about Devil’s advocate at all, don’t worry. There is no place for Dual players anymore.

Frankly, I’d also question really if some of the dual county players are genuinely in the top 20/25 of both sports in their county. For me it would be considered an absolute freak occurrence. Two completely separate sports and the dual players are in the very top bracket in both in the county?

Still training twice a week for both codes.....?

To me thats significant effort and commitment. And then 'have' to play two games on the same day...

But i dont think the effort and/or commitment is the issue - You are coming at it from the opposite side?

Its that the two organisations are not working together (look at the carry on in Cork for example) ..

Would the GAA put Gf matches on the same day as Hurling? No, no they wouldnt.

Thats the main issue the players have- Im not sure what the players 'levels' of commitment have to do with the players grievances ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

It's hard/rare enough to be a dual player in the GAA.

It must be almost impossible to be a dual player in two different organizations.

Similar to playing soccer and rugby in parallel

"almost impossible" - mainly due to the way the 2 organisations seemingly work against , not with, each other.

LGFA have there tickets prices at €20 for Adults and €5 for kids over 12 for these group games that are going on at the moment. €10 for students.

For a organisation that should be trying to promote their games these prices to me are to high to try and get causal fans in the gate. They were up against the Galway/Mayo game and Tailteann semi finals last Sunday and three other games on Saturday. This weekends games have the All Ireland Quarter finals competing with them for viewers over the weekend.

They are never going to succeed in getting decent crowds to there games the way they are going with the timing of games and ticket prices.

I feel they should only be starting there championship now.

I think you're mixing up the two issues.

Yes, Camogie Association and LGFA should work more closely together to ensure there are no clashes of fixtures for so long as dual players are still involved.

But my suggestion is that if a camogie/ladies football player can find the time and commitment to play both at inter-county level, when no man can, then either:

a) the time and commitment needed for the women's games isn't as great as that for the men's, or

b) these women are superhuman athletes altogether, able to do things that no man can. Not even somebody like our own Lee Chin in his prime, generally regarded as one of the greatest athletes in the GAA.

Incidentally, I can't speak for other counties, but I do know that during the League and championship campaigns, our senior hurlers and footballers were generally training together three times a week.

I also know that our senior camogie and intermediate LGFA teams (the highest grade we have) are currently training only twice a week.

Relevant because each time the female players make a claim for equality in facilities and entitlements to playing gear/meals/travel expenses etc., they argue along the lines of "we put in the same time and effort as the men, so we should be treated the same". I'm suggesting it may be inaccurate for them to say this.

And despite what somebody else said above, still playing Devil's Advocate here.

No need to dress it up, you are insinuating thats women dont deserve it then?

Use 'devils advocate' as a mask if you like, but thats what you are saying.

"they argue along the lines of "we put in the same time and effort as the men, so we should be treated the same"

Not in their released statement do they.

Full statement from the Senior Inter-County Camogie And Football Panels

Today, representatives of the senior inter-county camogie and football panels are here before you, representing our respective teams, as well as our fellow players from the intermediate and junior grades, with their full support.

We find ourselves in a situation we never wished to be in, echoing the experiences of our soccer and rugby counterparts in recent years. Regrettably, we feel, that our National Governing Bodies do not want to hear our real concerns, so we're speaking directly to you.

We will play the remainder of the 2023 championship under protest.

Our representative body, the Gaelic Players Association, released the State of Play Report two months ago, which shed light on significant issues within our training and playing environments.

The main request has been well-documented; we asked the LGFA, the Camogie Association, and the GAA to engage in discussions with the GPA to develop a charter designed for female players to be implemented in the 2024 season. This charter would establish minimum standards for our collective welfare.

Upon the report's publication, the GPA privately contacted the three National Governing Bodies, seeking collaboration to achieve an agreed-upon charter. Our aim was to work together towards a positive outcome that would make us all proud.

Despite initial positive indications, the GAA has since declined our proposal. The Camogie Association, however, did request a presentation to be made to their Ard Chomhairle, which took place last week. Regrettably, the LGFA has not deemed it appropriate to respond.

Their primary rationale is that they prefer to complete the integration process before initiating a charter for female players. Despite the evidence presented, they expect us to patiently endure the treatment of second-class citizens.

We are no longer willing to wait. It has been over 18 months since integration was declared a priority and voted in by the membership of the three Associations. While the National Governing Bodies claim to be listening, it is evident that they are not truly hearing us. Urgent issues affecting player welfare have been brought to their attention, yet they refuse to even engage collectively to discuss solutions.

We as players are not receiving the respect we deserve. Therefore, do not expect business as usual in the upcoming weeks and months.

In recent months Cavan's footballers and Kildare's camogie players have shown us what potentially lies in store for all of us if nothing changes.

We are not willing to wait for 56 more individual battles to arise.

We stand here together, unified. And together, we will remain resolute in our pursuit of a better future.

Maybe read through it fully before paraphrasing things, and playing 'devils advocate' .......................................... 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭crusd

All three associations went for the split season. Female club players lives matter

Relevant because each time the female players make a claim for equality in facilities and entitlements to playing gear/meals/travel expenses etc.

But they haven't asked for equality in facilities and "entitlements". They have asked for consistent access to facilities and a minimum standard of "entitlements".

Also, maybe they would train more often if the received adequate expenses and could get access to training facilities consistently.

They do matter but when their association hasn't a pot to piss in it should be looking at ways to get maximum expose and generate funding.

but all three organisations are planning to merge.

They will still need to learn how to generate funds though they can't expect the GAA to be their cash cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

My daughter wanted myself and the mrs to go to a game that her colleague was playing in. When we saw the ticket prices we declined. She actually thought it would only be a couple of euro and didnt go herself after she found out the price of it. A few other colleagies of theirs decided not to go too. To attract crowds there must be value for the amount asked to attend. There is no value in the LGFA. Tickets should be free if you want people to go to those games. I dont know if its still the same now as that was a while ago.

The orgniasations have zero interest in merging. They only say they want it for the possible positive PR from it.

GAA do not want to start leaking money for a non-revenue generator. Only way they'd make something off Ladies' Football/Camogie is by absolutely ploughing into Marketing for both.

I don't think they should be free but anything more that €10 for group championship game is to much and all kids under 16 should be free.

I would be better off them to get a tenner of 400 people than 20 quid off 200 if they want to get a bit off support behind them.

They may not have used that particular argument in that particular statement, but are you really saying you've never heard a female player make a case along the lines of "we put in the same effort as the men, so ......" ?

Furthermore, whether they're asking for actual equality with the men in terms of facilities and entitlements, or just improvements on what they currently have, fact of the matter is that it still can't happen without finding extra money somewhere. And between them, they still don't have one proposal about where this extra money is to come from, other than hoping it might seep down from a different Association altogether.

And now we're back at the very nub of the problem again.

The GPA arent the LGFA or Camogie association. The 3 associations agreed to initiate a merger and the GPA asked the 3 associations how are they going to going about improving the conditions for female players. That's the nub of the issue

TBH - i cant remember many of them saying that. We have quite a few intercounty players from our club, and they do put in a lot of effort - county training/matches , training in gym and running alone, so while they do put in the time and effort , i cant compare with how much a mens intercounty player would.

Our Club players, do the same training as any of the (junior) mens teams , but the club senior panel would train more than the mens teams.

GFootball - not worth mentioning really, as once you get out of minor you are finished - - they do a bit a junior , but are whipping girls (boys) for other counties at that level.

As i said before, there was 44players on an U14 panel this year here representing the county at a 'blitz' 🙄 - travel there and get hammered by anyone they play - Pointless.

But obviously , thats not the case in most other counties.

Sorry meant to include that.

Theres plenty of money in the GAA coffers.

And when the 3 amalgamate, that money would then be spread between the 3 organisations under the GAA umbrella.

including some of the €21mill in state funding !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

tbh I wouldnt even pay €10. Maybe €5 at a push.

I'm fully aware that it's the GPA leading the current call and the current actions, and that the GPA is distinct from the GAA, Camogie Association, and LGFA.

But since the question being asked of the three organisations is how they'll improve the conditions for female players, the first part of the answer simply has to be "well, first we'll need to find more money for them". And as continuously pointed out, neither the Camogie Association nor the LGFA has a single proposal on how to do that themselves.

Furthermore, CEO of the GPA, Tom Parsons, is already on record in calling for the GAA to provide equal expenses to female players as they do to males. Back to the nub of the issue again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

for a comparison on ticket prices, Ive been to a few Bayern Munich womens professional soccer matches and for the Bundesliga its €9 for adults, €3 for kids.

Even for the champions league knock out game in the allianz arena it was €10 or €15 and for members/ kids/ pensioners/ mens season ticket holders you got a fiver knocked off that.

I presume thats cross subdisied by the men to an extent but indeed, to increase the poularity you need to keep the ticket prices very reasonable.

And there's the nub of the issue again. "The GAA has plenty of money, so let them share it out to the other organisations".

I've explained several times already why it's not as simple as that.

A bit like Sean Quinn throwing money into Quinn Direct from his other business's.

Shambolic ...

Its not 'all about the money'.........

Shambolic fixture appointments, and the half arsed attempts to try fix it - 2-3 days before the fixtures are due to be played.....

Shambolic ......

Imagine what the GAA are thinking when they see the fcuk ups the Camogie and LGFA constantly make !?

With all due respect, the inability of the Camogie Association and the LGFA to better coordinate their fixtures is a completely separate issue from CEO of the GPA, Tom Parsons, suggesting publicly that the GAA should use some of its income to increase the travelling expenses and other benefits for members of other organisations.

Furthermore, the Camogie Association and LGFA don't need to integrate with the GAA in order to better organise their fixtures. All they need to do is talk to each other more often.

There’s no place for dual players at elite level anymore anyway, be it Male or Female. For the tiny minority of county dual players I think they’d need to make decisions for themselves anyway.

I always found it to be a funny concept in this day-and-age that someone who’s considered in the Top 15 of one sport is also in the Top 15 of another completely different sport. A lot of classy players just getting left to the wayside by default.

Thats my point! It might be seperate, but it shows that they arent very well run, or can work WITH each other....

Why would the GAA jump at the prospect of bringing them into their organization?

They cant arrange fixtures/all star holidays/grounds without messing it up.....

Okay. Seems I misinterpreted your previous post. No offence, but sometimes I'm not quite sure what side of the fence you're on - sometimes you seem to be arguing in favour of full integration as soon as possible so that the GAA can wave a magic wand, and sometimes you seem to be on the other side.

I've made a similar point here before, and heard something relevant to it this week. I was at a meeting of Wexford County Board, where some of our senior hurlers spoke as part of a review of the 2023 season. One of them said that being an inter-county player involves a commitment of probably 30 to 35 hours a week, between training, group gym work, personal fitness routines, travelling, etc.

Being a dual player would then surely involve at least 50 hours a week (you wouldn't need to double up on the gym work and personal training). Put that on top of a 35 to 40 hour work week, and let's say 50 hours of sleep (just over seven hours per night), and a bit for everything else, and you really wouldn't have enough hours in the week.

It's no wonder that the days of dual inter-county GAA players are gone. Maybe it's time for female players to face up to this as well, instead of a small number of dual players expecting things to be worked around them, and affecting a much larger number of other players.

That'd be one box ticked along the way to equality!

'No Offence' ...🙄

Im putting forward both sides. Do i have to be on 'a side' ?

Im directly involved in Camogie, and a bit less with lgfa - I know how its run !

As i said from the outset - The Gaa have more to lose out of the integration - The Camogie Ass and LGFA have lots to gain

(*organisationally as well as financially)

*is that even a word ??

...and to be brutal about it, I'd take burn out of the body into the equation too for what it's worth.

I know of girls that are involved in the following all at once: Minor Intercounty Camogie, Minor Intercounty LGFA, Junior Intercounty Camogie, Intermediate Intercounty LGFA. All of that while doing the Leaving Cert.

At what point is enough enough. Can't be berating organisations for that (other than Managers not taking a step back and consdering the girls' well-being).

But yeh, i would agree. I think dual players at inter county elite/top level are not sustainable really.

Its not all about inter county players though !!

Theres lot of Club players that 'have to' play camogie and GF for their club due to lack of numbers etc......

And the lack of organisation/forethought etc is worse at that level !! not far off a shambles ... (in my county anyway)

Okay, thanks for clarifying. And I'll agree wholeheartedly with your final statement there anyway. The GAA have a lot to lose and little or nothing to gain from integration, while it's the exact opposite for the other two Associations.

And on this one...

Being a dual player at club level isn't unique to the women. Here in Wexford, more than 90% of our male players (including our inter-county hurlers and footballers) are dual players at club level. We've probably one of the highest percentages in the country that way.

And while we've had controversy in recent years over whether we keep our "club split season" of hurling first and then football, or revert to alternate weeks, these lads can play both club hurling and club football either way, without there ever being a clash of fixtures.

Also, in fairness to Camogie and the LGFA, they come together at the start of each year to put out a master calendar designating one week for club camogie, the next for club ladies football, and so on. I have this year's here myself.

The Wexford County Boards of both organisations stick to those weeks when making their own official club fixtures. I have all those here as well (I need all these things because one of my GAA roles is pitch scheduling for my club, so I need to know when matches are coming up).

However, there could still be two problems at club level with fixtures:

• Maybe some counties don't stick to the designated weeks.
    • Camogie and LGFA fixtures tend to be more "flexible" than GAA ones, so you could have a camogie manager trying to re-arrange a match for a football week, or vice versa.

I suppose those things are back to the Associations not cooperating properly at local level. But at least at national level, there's some element of working together to avoid clashes of club fixtures.