Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dream big, work hard, achieve your goals - My DCM '19 Journey

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Wow where has the time gone??? A bit of catching up here so I'll make this as brief as possible for me👀

Tues 2nd May - 8*90secs@5:50-6 off 75sec jog

Weds 3rd - Easy miles

Thurs 4th - 10*10 sec short sharp hills with full rec

Out to the park for these, love the buzz of them!

Fri 5th - 6*3mins @5kpace off 75secs

Was great to see the path has been continued all the way around Fettercairn park making it a really nice running loop☺️

Sat 6th - Easy miles

Sun 7th - Rest (arrived in Benalmadena)

Mon 8th - Easy miles finding my way around

Tues 9th - Supposed to be 4*1mile@5k pace off 400

I didn't drink too much the day before knowing this was a tough session. Got up early so I could do this on the strip further down with few people about that early. 1st mile was ok but I knew there was no way in hell this session was happening. In the end I just went for damage limitation, I did what I could & ju 22st didn't dwell on it!

Weds 10th - Easy miles

Thurs 11th - 8*45sec hills @6min miles, jog rec

Found a decent enough spot for these & got them done, very warm & very strange looks from people walking by😅

Fri 12th - Rest (Flying home)

Sat 13th - 45mins inc 20mins@6:55/7

Sun 14th - Easy miles

Mon 15th - More easy miles

Tues 16th - 3*400@6:12/18,3*400@5:55/6 with 200 recs

Weds 17th - Easy miles

Thurs 18th - A little birthday run😊

Friday 19th - Leixlip 5K - 20:02

So this was the race my block was geared towards, being honest I wasn't feeling overly confident especially after the failed session & being away eating & drinking a lot more than usual. Met up with S, C, C & J, always lovely to have great company at races, also bumped into D who was with his daughter. C was going for his PB attempt with C pacing him & J was also going for a PB. S said he would pace me as it had been uncertain during the week due to different factors. I knew after the 1st K that a PB was completely out of the question, my breathing was awful, I honestly don't know how I held on breathing that way! I tried my best for a sub 20, I felt bad for S trying his best to push me & as always always appreciate his help - but it wasn't to be - disappointed? - Yes, end of the world - No.

Was thrilled for C & J both getting PB's, only one thing for it, off to the pub for a pint or two or three😀

Sat 20th - Easy

Sun 21st - Some nice easy miles in the Park.

Base building for Amsterdam☺️

Mon 22nd - EIM 8*400's

Back doing some EIM stuff which I love!

Tues 23rd - EIM 4*1k

Weds 24th - EIM 15*200's

Thurs 25th - 10 easy, 50@8min miles with 30 sec surge every 6 mins, 10 easy

Fri 26th - EIM 4*1k

Sat 27th - Rest (Flying to Lanzarote)

Sun 28th - 20easy, 60@8min miles with 30 sec surge every 6 mins, 20 easy

Mon 29th - EIM 10*400's

Tues 30th - EIM 4*1k

Weds 31st - EIM 15*200's

Thurs 1st June - EIM 4*1k

Fri 2nd - Was supposed to run but woke during the night with cramps in my legs, they were so bloody sore & I could still feel the effects the next day so I decided not to run, 1st time in a long time I've made a call not to run at all.

Sat 3rd - 10 easy, 35 fast with surge every 6mins, 15 easy

Sun 4th - Rest

Mon 5th - EIM 10*400's

Tues 6th - EIM 5*1k

Weds 7th - EIM 15*200's

Thurs 8th - EIM 3*2k

Fri 9th - Rest

Sat 10th - EIM 5*1K

Sun 11th - 14miles Easy - 1st longest run in a long time!

Met S for this & ran along the Canal from Leixlip, a beautiful route, I always love looking at the greenery here after being away, some of the wild flowers were so beautiful & the dragon flies a gorgeous blue colour, safe to say I will defo run this route again😊

So after a couple of holidays & an extremely stressful time with my oldest Daughter being admitted to Hospital for the week before we went away with extreme headaches & vomiting, after scans, lumbar puncture & xrays they thankfully ruled out anything serious & she was literally discharged the day before we flew away(it was a family holiday) they are still investigating her but they managed to help her control the pain so let her fly out with us, what a relief it was to us all💛

Even though I should feel relaxed, I feel & have felt a bit off for a few weeks, I'm also trying different HRT treatments which I know is playing a bit part in it all so I feel a bit zonked if I'm being honest. I have Dunshaughlin 10k this week & I'm not 100% sure how I'm gonna approach it, not sure I'm in the give it a PB attempt mind frame at all so for now I'll just continue the weeks training & make a decision towards the end of week!

Thankfully I am really enjoying this phase of my training & really looking forward to putting in a good block for Amsterdam😁

If you have lasted until now, bless you & cheers for reading🙃🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭ariana`

Sorry to hear you've been having a tough time and that your daughter was so unwell. You've been so consistent despite a difficult and busy time of it. I think you can definitely be forgiven for not logging with all that going on. 20:02 was a great result, you know you have sub 20 in you and will get it again I'm sure when things are better, the conditions definitely weren't ideal for you which makes 20:02 even more amazing really.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Yeah, 20:02, nothing at all wrong with that under the circumstances especially. Sorry to hear about the family woes, that must have been an awful thing to deal with. Good luck with the Amsterdam block, off to a very decent start!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,392 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

You've gotten a lot of great miles in with all that has been going on in the background. Hope your holidays were enjoyable and that your daughter is doing ok. Good luck with Amsterdam training.

Thanks everyone, my post looks like it was a pity party for myself but that wasn't my intention, just want to get back logging honestly like I have previously. I enjoy reading over certain blocks of training to see what I was doing both running & with personal stuff, always good to gauge where the mind was at😊

We all have life stuff going on, some good some bad but as hobby runners it all takes it's toll on us one way or another! Glad to say my daughter seems to be doing well but will be attending a specialist until they know for sure what it was/is.

Onwards & upwards & in the words of Christy RIP

🎶Love is all we need (love is all we need) Everybody's heard the Beatles' song

But I'd rather listen to the Rolling Stones...Anyday

Love is all we need💛

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Glad to hear your daughter is feeling better and here's hoping for continued improvement. Best of luck with the Amsterdam block and Dunshaughlin, whatever way you decide to run it!

Mon 12th - EIM 10*400's

Great to have my own "track" so close to me for these, no trying to cross roads etc, makes life that little bit easier!

Tues 13th - EIM 5*1k

Did this on the "track" also as I wasn't in the mood of the normal route. Got the news of poor Christy passing, listened to his music on my run, so so many happy memories from his gigs & songs. RIP Christy💛

Weds 14th - EIM 15*200's

A beautiful lunchtime for these.

Thurs 15th - EIM 3*2k

Really loving this weather, these felt good, I really like that it's not one continuous easy run, makes them go by so much quicker.

Fri 16th - Rest

Sat 17th - Dunshaughlin 10k - 41:47

Wasn't really sure if I was going to do this at all, my confidence or something had taken a bit of a dip(who's doesn't from time to time) so it was only really decided in the afternoon that I was going to do it after some kind reassuring words from a few off here.

I set off & had loosely said if I was there on time that I'd meet C for a warm up. I felt ok leaving home & most of the way but google maps took me to the wrong place (not too far away but I didn't know that) I got out of my car & walked across the road & asked a few people but no one was really sure where the number pick up was. I could feel me stress levels rising, time was ticking & I was also conscious that C might be waiting. I got in my car & had a bit of a freak out, feeling quite overwhelmed, anyone who knows me ;knows driving to new places really stresses me out, makes me so anxious, I began thinking I really shouldn't have come. Anyway, I drove for a bit & common sense says follow the crowd but when I go into panic mode I don't think rationally at all!!

I arrived(thankfully) parked up & met @AMK who said he had seen @Lazare in the hall so I went in but thankfully he wasn't there & had gone on out for his W/U as I was cutting it fine time wise. Great talking to A who was in great form & ran a great race on the night. I got my number & my hands were shaking trying to put the number on so I did some deep breathing to settle myself. It was great meeting S from my 2019 novice days, she was a really appreciated friendly face, we chatted for a bit & then off I went to warm up.

I got to the start line & seen @Lambay island with @Lazare , chatted for a few mins & explained what had happened, they both wished me well. I wished C all the best with his sub 40 attempt & D was pacing him, both in flying form. Moved back a bit & met @Wottle who was also in great form. It was very muggy but after the stress of getting there I knew I was going to give this a good go.

I'm not the best for details at all & this one really felt like a blur! Off I went, was hoping I wouldn't be too far from my PB so went out hoping to be in or around the km splits for Dunboyne. The 1st few kms felt good, took on water(all in cups) at any chance & poured the rest on my head, the humidity was tough. Got through 5km feeling good, the support was amazing, people outside their homes with cold bottles of water, I grabbed one drank a bit & again poured the rest all over me, god it felt great🤣 I got a stich in or around the 8th km & it shows in my splits, tried to pinch it, then I decided to try just catch my breath slowly, this worked & I was able to pick it up for the last 2 kms. I finished with a decent kick which is something I enjoy so much in a race. Over the finish line, time on my watch was 41:47, not too bad considering I thought I'd completely messed it up with a couple of slow km's!! Only 5 secs slower than my PB which I was really happy with given the whole day. I gave it a very strong effort so not much more could I have given really. As a runner I know it's not always going to be fresh new PBs at every race, so I need to focus on just running as strongly as I can given all the variables at each race. I met up with C & D, C had run 40:02, I know he wanted to go sub 40 but jaysus what an improvement by him, he gave it all he could & with that humidity it wasn't easy!! D was happy too saying what a pleasure it was to pace C. The rain came then(would have been nice in the race) so we headed back to the clubhouse for some tea, sambos & some lovely cakes & of course lots of chats😊

I am really glad I decided to give this race a go, I really enjoyed it, the atmosphere, the amazing field of runners , the tea and food all make this a race I will defo be doing again😀

Sun 18th - Easy miles

Just under 8 miles on a lovely Sunday morning listening to my Da's playlist, Fathers day just felt tough but the music helped, always does💛

Mon 19th - EIM 10*400's

After work run in the sun.

Tues 20th - EIM 6*1k

Headed into the PP for this, feels like so long since I've been here. Met S for this & set off on the Furze/OS loop. Doing this by HR helps keeps things honest, it was very humid so the 1st few reps felt a little bit harder than usual, then the rain came & it lashed, but it was so nice & refreshing. The reps then felt a bit easier effort wise. Running back on the C/D I decided to splash through a big puddle to see how deep it was, felt like a big kid, loved it!!

Weds 21st - EIM 15*200's

Got out at lunch time & the weather was beautiful again. Felt good on this, keeping the 400's & 200's at the upper end of the pace range as my distance is now increasing over all, I really enjoy these 200's, love the buzz.

Thurs 22nd - EIM 4*2k

Out after work, up to 4 reps now. I went back to my usual route for these, felt a little bit leggy on the 2nd rep but it's always a bit harder on this route but again my HR keeps me honest dictating my pace given the terrain etc.

Fri 23rd - Rest

Off to see Dermot Kennedy 😎

That race deserved a seperate write-up. Outstanding to be only 5 secs slower than PB (Dunboyne?) so much later in the year with hot conditions. As I said already, Outstanding. 💪

Aw thanks so much @Murph_D , always great for supporting & encouraging others 🤗

Sat 24th - EIM 5*1k

I was feeling quite seedy when I woke up after Dermot, I swore blind I was going straight home after but that kinda didn't happen & I ended up in Molloys🙈 It was a great night & Dermot was brilliant. Had to be up early for this run as I was heading to the 90's disco with a gang of mates. Set off not really sure how this would go, the 1st 3 reps I did on my usual route then headed to the park, the effort was defo there and the drink from the previous night was making itself known, felt a tiny bit sick but thankfully it sunsided, was very happy to have these done!

Sun 25th - 14.5 miles with a surge every mile

Lesson learnt from Friday night???? Nope but thankfully I did drink some water inbetween the pints & finished up a good bit earlier than the Friday night, was a great day but not somewhere I'd be interested in going again. I'm no shrinking violet but jaysus I have never seen so many jaws swinging in one place!! Glad to say the booze is more than enough for me🤣

Set my alarm hoping to head into the park to meet up with the Irishman running abroad group but wasn't sure how I'd feel. Once up & I had eaten I felt grand so off I went. They were doing 18k so I said I'd join them then keep going. The miles flew by, more or less around the perimeter of the park. I did my surge every mile then the group naturally caught up. Was lovely chatting to some new people, hopefully my long runs will mostly be with company, its just so much better 😊

As requested on his log @Murph_D suggested I go into more detail so my good intentions going forward is exactly this, I think I will try to update more frequently as I find it a lot to writing on a Sunday & usually do it as briefly as possible!

Mon 26th June - EIM 10*400's - 6.94miles - 8:41/mi avg - 1hour

This run involves me running 400 within a pace range of 6:16 - 6:44 then with a 400 rec the 1st 10 secs & 10 secs towards the end are a walk. Today I wanted to keep within the middle range of paces & in general with my mileage increasing to keep these at the slower end unless otherwise instructed. There was a nice bit of a breeze today but it was still warm. Dialled into the efforts quite easily & enjoyed these. My Reps were as follows;

1:37, 1:38, 1:38, 1:36, 1:38,1:39, 1:39, 1:38, 1:38, 1:37

An amusing tale as happens sometimes on my local runs, seen a bloke walking towards me, looked like he'd been in the wars, a huge swollen blackeye & was limping holding his side. He gestured to me as I was approaching so I took out my ear pod, "here luv what are ye runnin for? You don't need to lose weight, you're beautiful as you are" I was gob smacked , I think I just laughed, like what do you actually say to that haha, of course WOMEN only run to lose weight🙄 anyway it gave me a laugh, gotta love Tallaght!!

Forgot to mention I passed 1,000 miles for the year yesterday so happy days😁

Now that’s two kinds of detail that I love - the running and the random encounters! Congrats on the mileage milestone, always good to pass 1000 well before June is out!

I'm sure I won't disappoint on the random encounters, I have one of those faces it seems😉

Yep happy to be consistently motoring along!

This made me laugh out loud, yeah the 90's was when the Ecstasy really took off. I remember I used to be offered some especially walking up Dame street.

You have a seriously strong constitution to do that running after two nights out.

I thought you were going to say he wanted to know if you were running from the cops 😁

I meet all kinds myself as well, at least the people you meet seem to be friendly!!!

I think I have genuinely just gotten used to running the morning after a night out, thankfully its not too frequent 🤣

I genuinely had no clue what he was gonna say but what came out of his mouth is far from what I thought 🤣gave a giggle for a bit anyways😊

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Tue 27th June - EIM 10*200's - 4.57miles - 8:53/mi avg - 40mins 39secs

Went over to the "track" for this after work. Even though it was overcast it was quite muggy so I was sweating after my warm up! The instructions for these were to do them at the faster pace. The pace range for my 200's is 5:30-6:10min/mi. Off I went into the 1st rep, have to say I enjoy how zippy these feel & how my form always feels so much better. I concentrate on trying to lift my knees a little higher, landing evenly underfoot & swinging my arms, I have found when I'm getting tired in longer runs reminding myself of these things really helps. The reps flew by & by the end of it I was absolutely soaked in sweat but feeling good. My reps were as follows;

43, 41, 42, 41, 40, 42, 42, 42, 42, 41

I have found I generally meet the same people(a few times as I loop them) in the evenings mainly out walking. Getting a lot of friendly/sympathetic smiles as I pass by for the 4th time😅 There's one little boy who melts my heart. He's in a wheel chair & does be brought around by his young career. He's about 7 or 8 I'd say but his face always lights up as I run by & I just give him a little wave & smile. Makes you realise it's easy to take so much for granted💛

Weds 28th June - EIM 8*400's - 6.29miles - 8:40/mi avg - 54mins 32secs

This was my usual wfh lunch time run. Set off & the sun was popping out of the clouds, much nicer than the morning had been. The park was fairly empty & uneventful today so not much to report😉The wind felt strong enough on parts of the loop but really nice on others! The reps were good, I was to keep these easy so I never pushed too hard just kept the efforts & form correct. The reps were as follows;

1:39, 1:40, 1:41, 1:38, 1:40, 1:39, 1:39, 1:39

Was listening to mainly Queen & Elton on my run today, always love when Don't stop me now comes on, I'm kinda hoping these lyrics will be somewhat relevant to me Friday night😜

"I'm a shooting star leaping through the sky

Like a tiger defying the laws of gravity

I'm a racing car passing by

Like Lady Godiva

I'm gonna go, go, go

There's no stopping me

I'm burning through the sky Yeah!

Two hundred degrees

That's why they call me Mister Fahrenheit

I'm traveling at the speed of light..."

You're making me nostalgic for 200m reps, nice work there and the stuff about the knees and arms is so important.

Lady Godiva, eh? Careful now. 😱

Well it would help with the sweating in this heat👀🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭ariana`

Nearly spilt my tea laughing at this. Could you imagine... and the chaffing 😱😅

Great stuff going on, as always. Good luck in Kilcock, I hope you can channel some of that Lady Godiva attitude 🤞😉

The chafing would be the least of my worries, could only imagine the tales I'd have to tell in my local park🤣🤣🤣

Thanks a mill E, always here with some lovely words of encouragement, I'm hoping to have another craic at sub 20, not overly worried about it after my last race as in if it doesn't happen then I just need to suck it up & get on with my marathon plan which is my priority 🤗

So yes hopefully I can channel some of that Lady Godiva attitude, either way this song will now make me laugh when I hear it🤣🤣

Hello 🖐️ report?!!! Put down that beer and get writing 😀Congrats!!

Thurs 29th June - Little shakeout & strides - 2.94miles - 9:23/mi avg - 27mins 38secs

Nice little plod with some strides at the end in prep for the race tomorrow.

Fri 30th June - St Cocas 5k - 19:56 - Woo hoo😁

"Courage starts with showing up & letting ourselves be seen"

So anyone that reads my log or runs with me knows going sub 20 again has been a bit of a dark cloud hanging over me, not for anyone other than myself! A 20min 5k at the end of the day is just an arbitrary number, I ran 20:02 a couple of weeks ago & felt so disappointed with it, everyone at home couldn't believe the difference in my mood considering it was only 6 seconds in the difference. Of course it sounds nuts to them but that's why I log here because you all get it😂 This was my last attempt at a 5k, my goal now is 100% my marathon, so it has filled me full of confidence to have been able to go sub 20, not that it really makes any difference to my training times etc but it made me feel so proud to know I could dig so deep mentally & physically to get it!

I set off after a long day in work, questioning why the hell I had booked a Friday evening race. The radio was blaring & I was feeling in good form, nerves were controlling themselves thankfully then Don't stop me now came on the radio & I proper laughed out loud thinking about the Lady Godiva comments on my log previously. Arrived in good time & parked in on the track. Started my warm up around the track & spotted @Murph_D , @skyblue46 & @MisterJinx , a quick wave & smile & I continued on with my warm up. @scotindublin had offered to pace me & I gladly accepted, I headed to the start line & took my place with him. It was very congested so C told me to stand as close as possible. This is when D joined us & there were a couple of C's friends from Donore beside us, also aiming for 20mins.

1 - 3K

After being asked to move back a couple of times we were off, god this has to have been the most congested start to a race I have ever been in. We headed up the road then a sharp right which C had warned me about, it was very easy to see how people could trip or have their heels clipped at this stage. Over a small bridge then a left turn into a lovely leafy path. KM 1 beeped at 3:58 spot on!

Happy with the effort so far & the fact I had 3 Donore men guiding me, felt like Kipchoge at this stage🤣The lovely leafy path & smooth surface continued on, I never really looked at my watch & just trusted my pacer which felt great, the freedom was so nice. KM 2 beeped at 3:58 happy days! C gave me a thumbs up at this stage & I felt quite good.

The 3rd k felt like quite a drag & I could feel myself slowing, I knew the pace was slowing so I glanced at my watch & seen 4:02, sh!t, c'mon Elaine don't start letting the demons creep in, so I made a small increase in my speed, not much but benefited me in the 4th K. KM 3 beeped at 4:02 time to knuckle down!

4 - 5K

This is where the graft comes in, the mental resilience, anyone racing a 5k knows this is when the real hurt begins & what separates you from your goal time is yourself, the voices in your head telling you to stop, telling you this is too much pain, telling you no one will mind if you don't hit your target, telling you that you are simply NOT able to run this time again, telling you why should this race be any different to any of your numerous attempt? It was time to shut that voice down & prove once & for all I COULD do this. I was really hurting here, I do remember thinking I really need to stop, in fact I said it out loud to C, I can't do this I some how manged to say whilst trying to breath, You can do this, you will do this came C's reply. KM 4 beeped at 3:56 WOW!

This was it time to really fookin work hard & bring this home, there's no possible chance I could quit in the last km, that would just be insane(even though that's what I was thinking) I was struggling, couldn't breath properly, at one stage C turned to me & said breathe through your nose, I knew my breathing was erratic, he actually said it a few times, felt like when I was in labour with the kids, only this was worse🤣 I remember feeling so tense so wanted to try do something to help with it & with the feeling I had that I was slowing down so I tried to imagine I was doing my 200 & 400 reps which I had just been talking about on my log, this really helped, I felt like I was moving more efficiently, still tough but a good help! C knew I was really struggling so he said a few things to keep me motivated😏 here's just an example of a few... just get to the next lamppost - there were a lot of lampposts 😉 Only 2 mins of pain left Elaine, only 500mtrs to go Elaine - we run a bit further & he repeats the exact same things, STILL only 2 mins left & 500 even though we weren't in the same spot he originally said it! I swore so much in my head, I really wanted to shout these profanities at him or strangle him but lucky for him I could hardly breathe never mind shout🤣 I had been looking at my watch more fearing I had missed my target, C just turned & said stop looking at the watch, trust me! That was enough for me, we passed a housing estate & C said I promise you that you will see the finish line soon, I did, this was it Elaine, your time to shine, trust C, dig deep, you can fookin do this woman!! I don't remember much other than putting my head down & pushing my little arms & legs as fast as they could possibly go! Over the line & I genuinely wasn't sure if I'd done it, I knew if I did then it was very close, Looked at C with a big grin on his face, looked at my watch & it said 19:56, I was ecstatic!! Ran straight to C & gave him a huge hug grinning from ear to ear, he was thrilled for me. It was such an amazing feeling, even though there was only 6 secs between this result & Leixlip this felt a million miles away performance wise. I guess that's just how racing goes for us all, some good, some bad but all learning experiences as was proven by a mixed bag of results for some fellow boardsies.

There was a lot of hugs & chat after the race with S, C, D, P & V then @AuldmanKing spotted us & came over with a big grin on his face saying are we doing hugs here? So it was one big boardsie group hug🤗😂 This made me laugh, it's so great to be part of such a great community with such nice people, really makes my race experience so much better💛

Sat 1st July - Easy miles - 6.74miles - 9:23/mi avg -1hr 3mins

A lovely easy run still beaming😁

Sun 2nd July - Long Run - 11.90miles - 8:42/mi avg - 1 hr 43mins

I met up with D for this run. A lovely morning around the PP with smashing company, lots of different topics of discussions, all very interesting & some funny, but really enjoyable - this is what makes long runs so much better, the miles simply fly by😀 This run was the perfect finish to the perfect running week💛

Tomorrow starts my Amsterdam marathon block, I am so excited to get stuck into this plan & have S to thank for again having the patience of a saint & continuing to mentor me! Here's to working extremely hard & achieving another target goal😉

Post edited by Laineyfrecks on

Congrats again, that's a great report, fair play for digging in when it counted, that's never easy. Very well deserved result!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Lambay island

Great read and congrats on the result, great perseverance there!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Amazing guts to get the sub 20, never doubted it for a second.....I still maintain there was only one lamppost that I meant you had to get too, you just didn't know which one.

Absolutely thrilled for you and know how much of a confidence boost that was before getting stuck into the mara block.

There will be beers and peanuts at some point to celebrate.

Smashed it 👏

• Registered Users Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Lazare

You're an absolute warrior Elaine, a true inspiration. That was a joy to read, I felt every stride of it.

It takes some strength and guts to pull off that last km and you nailed it. You're gonna smash it in Amsterdam and I'm delighted I'm gonna be there to see it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,377 ✭✭✭diego_b

Cracking report that and very well done to you!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Super report and a great performance.

Will there be anything 'different' to this Marathon block??

Thanks all for the lovely comments they are always really appreciated😊

@scotindublin I can't wait for the pints & peanuts, I defo owe you a few😉 and again thanks so much for your time pacing me & your encouragement the whole way around, you're a top bloke☺️

@Lazare I'm so happy that you will be there in Amsterdam too, we are gonna have lots to celebrate(pints & peanuts😉😅)

@AuldManKing I will be doing mainly an EIM based marathon plan, it seems to work for me & it's a kind of running I really enjoy which let's face it is very important going into a marathon block. I will try be more conscious of my nutrition, recovery, S & C & my alcohol intake for this block so hopefully that part will be a good 'different'!