Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users Posts: 33,689 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Yeah in fairness to Munster, I actually don't think there's an issue with GOL bringing her husband as a +1 to these events. Focusing on that in her questioning sounds good, but lacks substance in the context of everything else that she could have asked questions on, was needlessly personal and antagonistic, and just isn't a great point to make.

It's not that GOL brought her husband as a +1 to these events that's the issue, it's why these events were attended in the first place. Advertisers weren't going to spend as much buying ads on Ireland's largest TV & Radio platform unless they were brought to a Phil Collins concert? A few drinks while watching Fleetwood Mac convinced them to increase their spending?

I understand maybe taking them out for a nice meal as part of hospitality if they're over for meetings etc, but concerts & sporting events? F*ck off. RTE has the largest TV & Radio platform for advertisers. If advertisers want to sell ads in Ireland, RTE would be the first call they'd make, and they need RTE as much as RTE needs them, both for reach and a better deal on quantity of ad buys. You don't have to bring them to concerts to sell them on it.

If ad execs are over for meetings, take them out for a nice meal and a few drinks. Fine. The concerts have to mean that once the concert is announced and tickets go on sale, you're buying tickets and then organising your meetings with ad execs to coincide with the concert. That's pure bullsh*t, and Munster should have focused on that rather than GOL bringing her husband to the events as a +1.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Field east

Yes, you are right Sxt ‘he is the most charismatic of the lot ‘ just ahead of Ray Darcy and Lottie Ryan !,,,,,,,,,,!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Bulmers

agreed, there was no consideration given to the cost of the jollies, which for an organisation was preaching to up the licence fee and we need more money - why wasn't their stricter cost cost controls. Commercial do need to entertain clients but the days of foreign trips , stuff like that is long going in in private company. Most companies in the state RTE said they were in, anything extra like travel, etc would be nipped in the bud - low hanging fruit and easy cost measure to implement.

They we just having the craic to be honest...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

I wonder did they count the loss of ad slots to other purchasers in the losses, and advertsing costs in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,092 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The committee were asleep - should have tag teamed there. Asked the Head of Commercial what the value of the ads were.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,627 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

And the head of content Jim Jennings i think his name is ... sick note also

• Registered Users Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

jennings guy is in hospital after an operation that was scheduled months ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

RTE radio show, presenter repeatedly talking about, the Toy Story the musical

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭jonnreeks

All the hierarchy at RTE are culpable with the ongoing miss management of funding over the years!

PBS me as_ ! 🙄

Something doesn't add up in all this. Who were these advertisers?

Most companies have rules around the receiving of gifts and rightly so. Receiving inducememts, kickbacks, etc could lead them to spend more than authorised or more than they normally would.

Its odd that some companies wouldn't advertise with RTE unless they received huge gifts in return.

You just know those who received the gifts were friends or relatives of those working in RTE who happened to advertise with them.

There's always been a fine line between entertaining clients and bribing them. I believe the line is related to amounts. Bringing them for dinner and drinks, fine. Giving them a rolex (not rte example) or all expenses trip to the world cup, not fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,627 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

• Registered Users Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Cue GDPR breach, a solicitors letter, and enough payout to pay for the BIK owed for the last 5 years 😀

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭CONSI

Toy show the Musical was never going to work so how that got sign off is the real head scratcher, they really all bought into the Toy show mystique. It is a saturated market with Panto's at christmas where kids love to interact, musicals and big productions make money from touring and being on all year round, look at the shows now regularly coming to the Bord Gais, if you want to see a musical you can go there or you can go to any of the local panto's that are run by smaller local groups each year...I understand corporate spending and entertaining clients, thats a necessary evil when it comes to doing business, but normally there is a budget for that kind of activity..it seems like RTE execs/sales people etc had a bottomless pit of money and could do whatever they felt they wanted to close a deal, now again, 1.6bn in revenue is great to secure, but whats the competition here, you are advertising and want to get to the largest number of people, you advertise on the largest broadcaster, RTE didnt need to lavish them with gifts, trips to close the deal..€5k on flip flops, normally a summer party or event would be outsourced to an event planner, so again it seems RTE got known as a soft touch, "sure lads its RTE, spend what you want, they will sign it off"...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

….

• Registered Users Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Gusser09

FWIW Callan is a breath of fresh air on Radio 1.

Ultimately what do people think will be the outcome from this. A slimmed down RTE, max salaries of €200k for on air presenters but a lot more out of them, these 1 hour a day shows have to go, minimum should be 2.5 hrs a day, no dealing with agents, if you have an agent go elsewhere...split out of 2FM as its own commercial entity, let it compete in the market, Radio 1 can cover the public broadcast element. More focus on RTE spending on what is Public service broadcasting...news, current affairs, sport, removal of GAAGO

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

It's already out if the TD knew about it. They can't say the name on TV or in that interview yesterday because that would be a GDPR breach.

But if it comes out in the press in a few days who exactly are they going to sue? im sure if people are hanging around the "stars" all the time they will notice that suddenly one of them has a new car after the car they had for the last 5 years is gone. That's just the press

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I'm definitely not disputing the popularity of the show. That is clear. It is a bizarre Irish tradition.

But my point is that if you added a subscription to watch it, attitudes towards the show would change. Deep down we know it's amateur RTE rubbish - we only watch it because it's free.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭TruthorBust

Smyths stopped sponsoring toys for the toy show a while ago. Obviously they must have felt it was pointless as it’s not a toy show it was a variety show starring bollicky himself as the lead

Incorrect, its a huge event for a lot of people and even in school today the kids need to have watched it before they go back on Monday as everyone else will be talking about it.

You can rubbish a lot of RTE stuff if you want but the Toy Show is a huge event. Picking a silly number liek 30 euro to watch one show is unrealistic. In reality people do pay to watch the Toy Show, 160 per year so it's not free

They didn't sponsor it years ago it. Not sure what relevance that is

The Toy Show is an event. Not sure why people need to complain about it. It's a tradition in Ireland. Don't like it then don't watch it. Don't complain because others do.

The TV Show Musical was a silly idea. The sort of thing Tubs I am sure was stuck in the middle of it.

Smyths are the only game in town when it comes to toys in Ireland, so someone in their leadership team clearly did a cost benefit analysis and said, this costs us X, we have no competition, so why are we spending X when we dont have to....

No they haven't. They get more airtime than any other party because RTE like everyone else is aware of the amount of people running around after them. Stick SF name onto a TV show and they automatically get the a load of people that would never watch it normally.

Munster lost the run of herself and she missed her point. She pulled no punch's to be honest, this was all covered last week. She ended up losing the discussion in the end, rambling on about her husband and the canteen? she could have won it if she asked the lady to explain the 1.6b but she didn't.

She was too busy thinking about what would look good online, like a lot of TD's now. SF are not the only ones. Maybe if she stuck to the topic like she did the previous week she would be a lot effective.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,689 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Maybe GOL can bring them to see Taylor Swift and get them back on board for a few years.

I bet tubridy pushed hard for the musical but Noel wouldn’t let him be put his name on it

• Registered Users Posts: 7,402 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

NK and Tubs to appear before the PAC in public session next Tuesday afternoon.

Oireachtas TV goes box office!

If his name was on it he would be entitled to image rights when it was going to become the World Wide success it was always going to be....making tubs a billionaire and a household name across the World

That would be the deluded thoughts from RTE and Tubs

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The failure of the musical makes my point - people wouldn't pay for the Toy Show.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,649 ✭✭✭Floppybits

The Toy Show has been ruined, not that it was ever great but it was more about Tubridy getting to live out some fantasy of being the star in a musical or something and less about the toys. My own daughter, who is 8, sat down to watch it last Christmas and during the show she says why all the singing and dancing. Looking at what has come out in the Oireacthas did they change the format of the show to singing and dancing so that they could then try a create a musical out of it?