Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭archfi

Now Citizen, I was lambasting MOST Oireachtas members as useless as pigshit because on today's evidence, they are

Don't worry about it. <ignore>

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

He's much more polite when addressing someone face-to-face. It's much easier to vent when your target isn't there to answer back.

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Bulmers

so I was working all afternoon, catching up..

are the lads in the clear and out the gap?

• Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 276 ✭✭Jazz Hands

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭hamburgham

It’s because all he’s really interested in and what drives him, is criticising or appropriating from the private sector. He doesn’t care about public sector waste.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Normally he could call for RTE to be nationalised but since its already nationalised he was at a bit of a loss what to do...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,527 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

I think he actually used the phrase fog of war at one stage when I was looking at it. Referencing a seminal American documentary from a few decades ago that dealt with grave matters like US foreign policy in the 60’s and 70’s IIRC. Perhaps Tubsidy thinks his career on Telly Eireann is significant internationally. The guys head has well and truly disappeared up his arse many years ago. The unwarranted big money he was on probably has lead to such delusions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭ZookeeperDub

Never had a cup of tea with her.

Now one week you have RTE in talking about all these junkets and how it the only way to do business.

next week you have the local "super agent" who doesn't know anyone in RTE, never got a freebie or gave a freebie in his life. Hasn't had a cup of tea with any of them.

Sorry to tell you but RTE are kinda right in terms of events but maybe not the free for all they had, no chance in hell NK is dealing with RTE all these years and doesn't have any relationship with anybody while running contracts for over 70? people wasn't it.

Ireland is too small, in any of these circles everyone knows everyone else. So how the hell does he know nobdoy?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Tubridy offered very little of substance other than explanations of how he was personally feeling at a particular in time. Any question relating to payments, contracts or agreements with RTE or Renault were deferred to Noel Kelly.

Describing it as a "performance" is at least appropriate, he played the role but gave nothing of value to the committee outside of his opening statement.

It felt like a calculated division of responsibility where Noel Kelly was used as a shield to field and take responsibility for the difficult questions and deliver the answers lacking in credibility. Tubridy fielding the soft questions with flowery responses by comparison.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,778 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Tubridy would have stayed for as long as they let them, I feel the way he viewed it the more questions he could answer the more it would repair his reputation - plus he was very comfortable in front of the mic.

Noel Kelly was well out of his comfort zone - but yet despite the Committee only cracking him once about the percentage he got from Renault (saved from answering the question by not being in the committee's remit) - he did not get flustered besides that. But yet he was not very believable in the answers he gave.

--

Neither of the pair were 'called in' they voluntarily presented themselves to the Oireachtas Committee's. I don't know why the Committee's would want to call them in now - unless there is a dramatic new revelation.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,620 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Will you put my name on the INVOICE? 😁

TL:DR.

Kelly had much tougher questioning, fake invoices, changing payees on invoices, only doing what RTE told him to do despite Sherlock and Cannon getting to the nub of it that payment for gigs not performed were paid for and that Ryan's pay cut was in fact paid back and more .

Rejected secrecy about deal with Renault . Looked like he was going to collapse around 6 PM.

Ryan meanwhile will give it all back if he can keep his job ( Friday is the d day )

His heart and soul is in it and the Children of Ireland will be reading books with him . People are catching him by the ..elbow , and sending loads of cards to Ryan , Dublin , and he would love to work with all his colleagues and everyone in RTE . Nevermind him and Noel blaming RTE for telling them to do what they did !

He knows nothing about money or invoices . He leaves all of that to his friend and agent Noel Kelly , it's all a " fog of confusion" created by RTE .

. Noel had to answer questions about Ryan's pay because he could not speak for himself , because he so upset over the last few weeks over " a humanity bypass " apparently , yet the People of Ireland who are in very dark times , are behind him and he will pay the money back if he doesn't get the chance to work those gigs .

The two delivered a 35 page sheaf of documents and emails to the PAC this morning at 8.28 am . The committee was meant to have that information yesterday .

One would think that Mattie was the man of the day but it turns out he was socialising with the pair in the canteen during the break , so we should maybe start looking at Mattie a bit closer ....

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users Posts: 10,922 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Homophobia what the hell!! Or have you just outed 2 people. I be careful there

• Registered Users Posts: 9,527 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Must be on Tubsidy’s payroll. He has a few bob to throw around to get eejits to say nice things about him

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Downlinz

It's all up in the air at this stage.

The summary for today is Tubridy and Kelly blame RTE for everything and anything suspect they did was following direction from RTE. They also claim RTE execs repeatedly gave false information to the committee.

It's hard to form a full picture on anything said today until we hear RTE's rebuttal.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Given that Renault didn't pay anything, how can he give Renault the money back?

The money came from RTE, so it goes back to RTE.

As for future Renault gigs going ahead, just no. It would cost over 100k to put them all on and it would be to keep the long running scam going that Renault not RTE were paying.

I honestly think its time the new DG called in the gardai to take a look at this tripartite deal because it was so blatently a scam which also included bogus invoices. One big scam.

Post edited by tobefrank321 on

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Outside of the very dodgy invoices, (any accountant would be waving two red flags), two things arose. One, their is no legally binding tri contract as pointed out by Brian Stanley, Renault signed it, soneone in NK's office signed it belatedly, no one in RTE signed it.

Secondly, on the 3rd May NK gets a legal notification that an external audit is being done, later he even has a meeting with the auditors but RT doesn't learn about it until Mid June. Six weeks and NK didn't tell his client???

• Registered Users Posts: 4,914 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

I have no idea what you were watching, the only thing Tubs wiped was his eyes after his fake tears.

• Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 276 ✭✭Jazz Hands

• Registered Users Posts: 6,875 ✭✭✭sporina

So, what's Ryan's story? innocent or guilty? please - facts only.. TIA

• Registered Users Posts: 13,620 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

He was left waiting till the very end and the chair intervened and his questions were not even getting answered.

Not a PBP fan but why Mattie got 10 to 15 mins each time I don't know .

• Registered Users Posts: 30,137 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

It is a blatant deliberate attempt to create sympathy for Tubridy by dog whistling ie false flag attack trying to actually cause such attacks.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,922 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

What station were you watching even Mr. Tubridy was getting nervous with Mr. Kellys answers towards the end. All on RTE never once checked anything just following orders and his Lawyer was getting his leg day in today. Mr. Tubridy flustered and flounders thought he could bring up charities (money made by the public during Covid BTW) and children to make him look good. There is no way a rational person looking at that could have said they were shown innocent of pure greed IF there is more scrutinizing on these invoices Mr. Kelly and RTE will be fielding a lot of questions from 2 other groups that are not Dail committees.

I will agree with one thing he would have kept on talking not because he was at ease but to wear people down and think it would not prove his pure unadulterated greed and he does not give a crap about anyone. Just because you promote charities or child welfare does not mean you can also be a nasty greedy person

• Registered Users Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭valoren

So it's "I have no idea about how the financials in contract negotiations or accounting best practices actually work but I know that RTE is definitely to blame for everything"

• Registered Users Posts: 18,778 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Comic relief I think Mattie is. The pattern seemed to happen the same in the other committee hearing. Mattie getting a load of time, annoying the Committee chair - and RBB turning up at the end or only getting a question at the end.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,433 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Guilty of not declaring his true salary,as much as that makes him guilty.

Reackon RTE might take him back,just to absolve their own guilt a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

I’d guess a majority of his own audience probably bought the performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭tromtipp

A couple of times early in the fog fest Ryan complained about being underpaid and how that was unfair - I can't read back all today's posts, can anyone remember what that was about?

I'm none the wiser after 6 hours.

I still don't trust them.

They think we're eejits with some of the repeated answers they gave.

What was not said speaks more to me than what was.

I thought it was bad form bringing in mental health and their families to illicit sympathy and deflect.

Tubridy, for all the books he alleged reads and political family he has, is not an intelligent man it appears.

This trait has appeared in his interview style also over the years.

All the emotional and personal stuff from RT was cringe worthy and shoe horned in at available opportunities.

And I'm having my doubts now about where things will go from here.

I have this feeling it will be business as usual on some level soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭Hungry Bear

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭troched

I assume it was a (too subtle) reference to the recent Phillip Schofield scandal.