Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barbie (2023)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,922 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

The film’s going to be a mega hit. Actual projections are massive and the marketing blitz is fairly unprecedented. But anecdotally speaking this film has broken through in a way I haven’t seen in a while - I’ve spoken to lots of people planning entire days out themed around going to see this.

And of course it’s going to body slam Oppenheimer, but one’s a three hour long serious drama about the creator of the atomic bomb and the other is a bright, summery comedy based on a children’s toy. Not exactly apples and oranges, but sure cinema is better with both of them and I’m sure both teams are delighted with the cross-pollination that’s going on in the promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,918 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Not sure about that Johnny - loads I’ve talked to seem to think it’s a cheapo tacky kids film and no intention of seeing it...

”my little pony” effort was one comment.

then of course there’s the feminists/trans crowd and other groups planning on protests at screenings in the States and UK.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,922 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Tracking numbers are obviously just a forecast and could change, but latest ones have it opening to Mission Impossible sized box office, if not bigger, in the US - and having a long tail too. https://www.boxofficepro.com/long-range-box-office-forecast-ninja-turtles-mutant-mayhem-and-meg-2-early-prospects-barbie-tracking-soars/

Anecdotal evidence will obviously be different depending on social groups, but cinema screenings for opening weekend are already selling out or doing exceedingly well in some cinemas near me. It’s almost certainly going to do very well for itself.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

If the actual movie is crap though, word of mouth and disappointment will kill it super fast. Hype can be a double edged sword.

I'm still not sure how I feel about this film. Self aware brand management is still brand management and it's a little depressing that the biggest excitement of the years is Mattel effectively producing marketing masquerading as a movie. suppose we have The Lego Movie to blame for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,178 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

If it's half as fun as the trailers make it out to be it will be a smash it.

The world needs some lightness and fun in it right now.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

The Lego Movie was the exception of being a genuinely good, fun film that happened to be based on a toy - and indeed managed to get a lot of fun, inventive gags out of that origin.

I haven't seen Barbie, but the fact that the first trailer had a great visual gag riffing on 2001 sold me on the idea that this might be a similar situation where the creative team manage to go beyond "it's a toy ad" and deliver something actually good in its own right.

Time will tell, of course, but compared to the bland, fairly artless feel of e.g. a lot of MCU films in recent years (and other Hollywood output to be fair) this at least looks like it's trying to do something very specific. I'd much rather things like this than the four-quadrant Generic Hollywood Film approach, I know that much.

In Gerwig we trust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,603 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

A few film journalists I would trust have opinions up on Twitter e.g. Helen ohara she loved it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,022 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I think as well with it being Barbie, it'll push away a lot of men from seeing it. It's going to outgross Oppenheimer obviously but not sure in comparison to Mission Impossible

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,940 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I think any men who just like films and have seen any of the trailers or clips from Barbie will still see it. But I assume that's what the Oppenheimer counter programing was about. For the kind of man who couldn't possibly go to Barbie.

Funnily enough I was talking to some friends the other day who are chronically online, and they laughed at me when I mentioned going to see Barbie, and when they realised I was serious they were very confused. They had no idea what it was about, who was in it, hadn't even seen the trailer. I was shocked because of how much time they spend online and on social media but they hadn't gotten one bit of the Barbie hype that seems to be everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Really goes to show that everyone's online experience is different, depending on what the algorithms decide to serve them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

it certainly isnt a lads film or a father son film, It's going to appeal to groups of young people, teens and twenty somethings that just see it as the collective cool thing to watching at the moment.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Greengrass53

Same here. I couldn't believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Greengrass53

Saw a trailer before Indiana and did LOL. Wouldn't have dreamt of going to it but can't wait now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

So basically, the primary, most important demographic Hollywood has focused on for the last 15 years? 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Absolutely and Oppenheimer being the non intersecting Venn diagram more or less, hollywood has been dire with the lack of light/comedy type films for whatever reason so hope it does well ,

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Yeah, I just felt like Barbie is absolutely everywhere, intersecting all areas of interest, but I was proven wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,344 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Barbie review embargo tonight at 12, and Oppenheimer tomorrow evening I believe. Hope they both get very positive reviews, thou I look forward to seeing both

There's already reviews for both online from places that wouldn't break an embargo.

I gotta say though, whilst it has been broadly in good spirits the way Barbia & Oppenheimer have been pitched against each other as rival films, is very weird.

I would say the general cultural mood around the two films has been broadly positive - a genuine celebration of two auteur blockbusters at opposite poles of the tonal spectrum being released together. The trades might be playing up a rivalry, but the cultural consensus is very much ‘Team Barbenheimer’ and only playing up the most playful of feuds.

That said, if there is a rivalry it’ll be between Nolan and his former studio Warner Bros. The breakup there was nasty, so I’d say he’s likely peeved that they’re programming their bigger summer film against his.

I think the vast majority of it had been in good spirits. Anyone taking it seriously probably needs to get out more.

It's been interesting to watch though, this kind of self spawning promotion though. I doubt even the most savvy of PR people could have made any of this happen on purpose. There's just something so ridiculous about the content of the two films being compared that it has just gone beyond the classic counter programming that's been happening for ever.

If anything it probably benefits Oppenheimer the most. Nolan is a film maker that appeals to some but not all, and I for one would have had very little interest in seeing Oppenheimer in the cinema, if at all. But now it feels like seeing both is a cultural moment and maybe I'll go and see it after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,643 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Well I was just looking at booking for both this and Oppenheimer and there is actually some screannings sold out for both already which is great to see but more for Barbie than Oppenheimer.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Bit annoying for the OmniplexMaxx screenings as they're both sharing one screen. Barbie during the day and Oppenheimer at night.

Ms

That must be annoying all right.

I considered doing both of these in one day at the Vue nearest to me but it just does not work out for me. Too late for my liking.

Decisions decisions lol and I just remembered there is a history walk on local to me Friday I am thinking of going on too :)

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Oppenheimer is 3 hours long, there's no way I'd be trying to do both on the same day.

Reviews are coming in and, in the least surprising news ever, Gerwig has seemingly done it. Never in doubt.

Ya, if it was the Omniplex here, i'd be doing Barbie at 5 (so leaving house at 4.20ish) and Oppenheimer at 7.40 so wouldn't really be done in the cinema until close to 11 when you take in ads. I probably could have done it when I was younger but not now

If I was to attempt both in one day I think I'd want to do Oppenheimer as early as possible, have a few hours break, and do Barbie in the evening.

I saw one Letterboxd review of Oppenheimer that said "now I have become deaf, the destroyer of ears" which is very clever, but also suggests its not something I want to be watching late at night and trying to wind down after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88,568 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭nachouser

Barbie, Drive, Oppenheimer, 28 Days Later, The Wolf of Wall Street for the win. It would leave you with a smile on your face, at least.

Ms

No fear of that happening to me anyway. I am already half deaf :(

I probably could have done it when I was younger but not now

Ye the same here.

I even remember going to see 3 films in one day once. No idea which films they were lol but no way would I do it now.

Crazyiest Cinema thing I ever done was seeing Star Trek 09 eight times over 4 days in 4 different Cinemas lol. That was back when you could. But when I think of it now I think what a waste 4 times or even 2 was enough.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Booked tickets for Saturday to see Barbie in the lighthouse, only tickets left are for early and late night showing everything else sold out.

There's 13 showings of Barbie in my local smallish cinema today, and all the evening ones are pretty much sold out, and the earlier ones are filling up fast.

I genuinely don't think I've ever seen anything like this. Even when a new Marvel comes out, the first day might be pretty busy but they'd never have that many screenings of it.

The sales in the Light House are mad. I know that's basically the flagship cinema in Ireland for the film (along with the Stella) but definitely have never seen virtually every screening on opening weekend sold out.

Had thought it was because it was shifted to a smaller screen because of Oppenheimer 35mm, but nope - screen one is included! That's 277 seats per screening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,470 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I suppose it hits a lot of different demographics. Comedy, PG-13 so younger audience can go, girls/women day/night out, date movie. And then plenty of guys plan on seeing it as well, with or without Oppenheimer.

Ms

Yep that's it. Seen one guy sitting in front of where I was sitting this morning watching Oppenheimer with his Girlfriend and she was clearly dressed for Barbie. Fair play them if they do both on the same day.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Speaking as a power-mad CMOD, I am wondering if I should just merge the Barbie and Oppenheimer threads together - just for the sake of cultural consistency?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,944 ✭✭✭hynesie08

I did Oppenheimer at midnight and Barbie at 1in the afternoon so technically both in the same day.

Barbie is brilliant, well written, well acted, well directed and just a tonne of fun. Anyone who writes it off as misandry or toxic is a moron incapable of understanding subtext.

That's the front of my Letterboxd this evening! I can't see it until Wednesday now and I'm feeling very left out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Shelga

Saw it last night. Thought it was good but not absolutely amazing, if I’m honest. The concept is just weird and I found it hard to get on board with caring what happened the way I would with a “normal” movie. But at the same time, it’s obviously very original, which is great!

Ryan Gosling is great and looks like he’s having a blast. His musical number is a highlight 😆 Margot Robbie was made for this role and does the heartfelt bits really well. I dunno, I just found “the message” was extremely heavy handed at times, even if that’s how Gerwig meant it.

I’m glad it’s getting great reviews and it’s great to see the cultural moment it’s having, but I’d be curious to see what other Boardsies make of it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭santana75

I was sitting by the window of a cafe thats very close to a cinmea yesterday and in the time I was there I saw throngs of women and young girls decked out in pink, obviously heading to see this movie. I'd guess its gonna be a big hit. Interesting side note.......saw an interview with Tom cruise on the red carpet some where in the world and he was asked if He would be gong to see "Oppenheimer" or "Barbie". Tom's very earnest response was that he would be going to both, back to back, on the same day. That guy genuinely loves films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,801 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Looks like it's going to land above $150m opening weekend in the US - even higher than the Super Mario Bros movie.

An absolute riot.

Very funny, subversive, weird (in a good way) and with a sweet message at the heart of it. Time flew.

Stuffed cinema, lots of pink, laughs throughout people clapping at the end. Lighthouse jammed but lapped it up and well behaved (all sold out).

It's called Barbie but it's stolen by ken, he has a lot of the best lines, Robbie is great but Gosling wowsers.

Also the set design, staging etc is a thing of beauty. Small little touches throughout.

Oppenheimer tomorrow!

Oh Allan and weird barbie and her toy accurate dog, get some good laughs too

Post edited by gmisk on

Just out of 1225 in lighthouse zero seats, all sold out as well as all Oppenheimer showings. Great to see.

Terrific fun and easily the best communal cinema experience since seeing Glass Onion in a full-house.

It's a giddy, goofy film first and foremost - overflowing with jokes, self-awareness and playfulness. It's a reminder of some of the big broad comedies of the 90s and technicolour musicals of the 50s and 60s, but really its well of cinematic references run a lot deeper. Some very overt references and homages to some unexpected (and named) films throughout, but it's also drawing on films as diverse as Toy Story, Hausu, The Brady Bunch Movie, Playtime and more in the way it presents itself. All bathed in garish pink, of course - it shouldn't be any other way.

But yes: incredibly funny film. So many great laugh lines and visual gags (and even maybe the funniest narrator intrusion I've seen in a film), and that's why I'd definitely recommend trying to see it at a busy screening if at all possible. Gerwig is a fantastic comedic director and writer, and her cast is packed with great comedic performances. Robbie is in some ways the most grounded and emotionally-demanding performance of the lot, but she gets plenty of moments to shine as a comedic actor though. But it's definitely Gosling who gets the really juicy stuff here - his Ken is a delightful idiot, especially in the second half of the film as he learns about his bizarre idiot-version of the 'patriarchy'. It might be too broad to go the distance, but really it's an award-worthy performance IMO.

It's definitely 'a Greta Gerwig film', rising above Mattel's cynical motivations to craft something that feels like a distinct and worthy film in a short but increasingly impressive filmography. From her sheer efficacy in being able to do a lot in a very short scene to her wonderful work with ensemble casts, she's a brilliant filmmaker. You know when people give out about a director's voice being drowned out in a Marvel movie? This is a good example of why a corporate blockbuster need not just be a 'for hire' gig.

There is a satisfying emotional core here, and the film almost gleefully embraces the complex social status of the Barbie doll and gender stereotypes - this is relentless in referencing, mocking and deconstructing it all. And of course it reflects its own status as a corporate product that's as much brand management as auteur cinema. But while it certainly has a point-of-view, the film is so endlessly good fun and good-natured and all-consuming in its satirical targets.

Will it hold up as well as Lady Bird or Little Women on repeat watch? Probably not. The film is so restless and busy with ideas some definitely don't land, and of course it can't overcome some of its own inherent contradictions. But I can only repeat that I had a magnificent time. And seeing it with a delighted crowd, laughing along with seemingly boundless enthusiasm, reminded me of that particular magic of the sold-out cinema experience. Sometimes all you need is that one first screening with a game crowd for a film to leave a long-lasting impression.

Very fun little read on some of the random discontinued dolls that pop up in the film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Terrier2023

i hated it !

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭quartz1

I hated it also. Was too bored to pay any attention to any message or story in the movie . Couldn’t wait for it end but then I am not it’s target audience . Parents had brought little girls along and they were bored from what I could see.